We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great value for monay”
Review of Vila Rumah Manis

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seminyak
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Vila Rumah Manis
Ranked #353 of 417 Speciality Lodging in Seminyak
Sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“great value for monay”
Reviewed 20 May 2006

I stayed here with a friend in July 2005 on a recommendation. it had a lovely atmosphere, lush overgrown gardens giving an authentic Balinese feel. I stayed in a 2 bedroom villa which was $AUD80 a night, split between two is very cheap!
Our villa had a private courtyard that was partially covered, so great for all types of weather. The lounge was very comfortable and i was tempted to sleep outside at night. It also came with a small plunge pool, great for a last minute dip before bed. The outdoor shower was great, lovely to shower under the moon and stars.
The room service food was very good value for money $AUD8 gets you dinner for two. The food isn't amazing, but for these prices who cares!
The staff were very friendly, remembering our names and room number off by heart. They were able to promptly organise everything from hiring a driver and car to booking dinner and finding a good tailor.
The resort is a 15min walk from the beach, but just take a taxi as they are ridiculously cheap. The roadway outside is quite narrow and busy, so not very pedestrian friendly.
I wouldn't recommend this place for people with toddlers as all the paths are uneven stones, so easy for kids to trip over.
Great for young singles wanting a quiet peaceful hideaway.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TropicalOasis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    3
    1
    3
    7
See reviews for
2
2
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2006

There is no free lunch - entire Agung Villa for USD40 was too good to be true. The place was old and disappointing, I would rather spend more and stay in something more cheerful, feel more pampered and newer. Place is run down. The attached small pool is well old. Rooms are poorly lit (DO bring your super duper torch light if you still want to stay there). Oh yes, there must be zillions of termites if you see the termite infested wooden beams. If there is a future reviewer, please post a review to let me know if it is still standing upright.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IslandTrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Seminyak hotels

Toronto, ON Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2006

Stayed in the same Villa as What a disappointment! She's absolutely right! We would not stay there again and would not recommend it.

To add, it's located on a side alley that is very busy and somewhat dangerous to walk along due to the traffic.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Retiredactive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2006

We stayed in this hotel at a recommendation of a travel agent. We had big group (10 of us; 8 adults, 1 child and 1 baby) and frankly we checked out the hotel as quickly as we could check in. We had two attached villas one with 2 bedrooms and one with 3 bedrooms. Both villas faced 1 private pool.

Let us start with the positive

Positive
* Nice private pool and the Vila's over looked the pool directly which was great since we had small children and need to keep an eye out for them.

* Great Balinese People (with the emphasis on the Balinese People). It is in their nature to please their guests to their best of their ability/resources. More on this later.

Negative
* FLOODING - Every time we swam in the pool, the water would overflow into the garden and flood the front area of our villa. The garden and paths leading into the villas would become a muddy mess. Basically every time we left the villa, we had play hop scotch to avoid the flooded/muddy area. Not a very great design/landscape feature!

* NO HOT WATER - There was no hot water on our first night. There was notice in our bathroom if there is no hot water to leave the hot water running for 5-10 minutes due to plumbing. Well I left the water running for 1 hour and no hot water, not to mention what a waist of resources. We actually did not complain about this until the next morning since we were just too tired that night. When we did complain, within 30 minutes we had hot water. Not sure what happened but at that time I had the attitude "It happens, let's move on!"

* BATHROOM SEWAGE SMELL - In one of our villas, the bathroom reeked of sewage. This was very gross and annoying at the same time. We complained about this and they solved the problem by giving us a can of air room freshener. (HMMM!! We are masking the problem here not fixing the source.) We sort of solved the problem when we discovered that the smell isn't so bad if we don't turn on the exhaust fan in the bathroom. I guess there is no air movement in the bathroom and hence no stench being pulled out of the sewage.

* FUNGUS - When we entered our room, there were lumps fungus growing on the ceiling (about 10-15 cm; green/black moldy type). My children where suppose to sleep in this room and with my son's asthma condition this was unacceptable. My wife immediate called the front desk and they rectify the problem within 30 min by scraping off the fungus and painted it over. Instead of fungus now we have paint fumes in the room.

* MANAGEMENT INSULT - When we checked out, the manager (all I will say is that he is not Indonesian) came by to see us. At that time my wife was in the hotel alone with the baby. He asked her what the problem was and she pointed out to the fungus in our room and flooding in the bathroom (did not mention in the list above). The manager response was that this is standard for this country. What do you expect from a 3rd world country? You should expect fungus growing on the ceiling!! My wife was so angry with that comment (my wife is Canadian/Indonesian) that she just shut him up by saying a few things about how Indonesian's don't like to live in fungus conditions!!!! Fungus hotels are NOT standard in BALI. This just confirmed, our believe to check out this hotel immediately.

In the end we were suppose to stay for 4 nights, 5 days and checked out after the first night. They only gave us 50% of our money back (2 nights). 1 night for penalty fee. We moved to Hotel Paradiso in Kuta which was a lot better experience then what we experienced in this hotel.

Yes, the hotel was cheap given the accommodations but I rather pay a little extra and avoid the pain that we had to go through.

One of the front desk staff sympathize with our situation and actually encouraged us to write to the owners of the hotel. Apparently there are some staffers that are unhappy with the manager.

Net, net, I don't recommend this hotel based on our experience.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank 157Johan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level Contributor
69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2005

We spent 10 days here on our way to work in Britain and it was the best place I have stayed in Bali.We travel all over the world and thought the villas were amazing value.It takes about 15 mins to walk to the beach but its a lovely walk.The gardens are lush and the architecture traditional with modern conveniences.The upstairs bath is huge.Lovely to lie in the big 4 poster beds and laze around our own little private pool in the beautiful courtyard.No complaints.We are going back next month for another visit.

  • Stayed December 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 46susan46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2005

We were at the Vila Rumah Manis for 10 nights in 2004 and totally enjoyed our stay. We were travelling as a party of 3 'mature-aged' adults (1 couple + 1 single), and the ample space of the two-storey Agung villas totally suited us. With the main double bedroom with ensuite being upstairs, and two twin beds with a toilet and traditional Balinese outdoor shower being downstairs, the bedding configuration and two bathrooms was ideal for privacy, whilst we were all able to enjoy the communal space of the outdoor private garden/eating area and, of course, our own private plunge pool! The staff were exceptionally friendly, often referring to us by name, and always prompt to attend to any requests. The prices of the accommodation, meals, room-service, mini-bar and drinks from the bar were very reasonably priced by anyones standards, and all services were readily available 24 hours. The breakfast buffet that was included in the tariff was great, complete with traditional Balinese musicians playing gentle Balinese tunes to start each day. We particularly liked the fact that the property was reasonably small (40 villas) and therefore uncrowded and personal. There were very few children present during our 10 day stay (a + for us oldies!). We did find that the air-conditioning in the upstairs bedroom was somewhat inadequate (as mentioned by the previous reviewer), mainly because of the open-style of the villas. We did not find mosquitoes to be a problem however, but we did take advantage of the mosquito coils that were provided so we can only assume that they did their job! The location of the resort is directly adjacent to some of the best shopping and dining in Seminyak, yet tucked away to avoid the hustle and bustle. It's not exactly 'beachside', but this didn't bother us as it is only a 10-15 minute walk to Legian beach, and we aren't exactly beach-bunnies anymore ;-) The three of us are all planning on returning to Bali at the end of the year en-route to Europe, and are very much looking forward to staying at the Vila Rumah Manis again. No - it's not a 5 star property - but it's other features make it ideal for small groups of adults travelling on holiday together.

  • Stayed January 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank marcus007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 27 January 2005

Look, I know the hotel was not expensive, and that things in Bali just seem to not work as well as they do here in Australia... but there were a few things I would have changed.

Don't get me wrong, there were lots of great things, the outdoor shower with the sun shining on me every morning (and afternoon, and night) was beautiful, the staff were all very well mannered, and when something in the room went wrong, they were straight there to fix it...
The private courtyard and plunge pool were fantastic, and the 4 of us spent a lot of our holiday there.... just laying, reading, playing cards and relaxing.
The beds were comfortable enough and the dual level Villa was huge for the 4 of us.

HOWEVER- the air con just did not keep things cold enough, the rocks in the courtyard are not really comfortable to lay on, the mosquitos in the vila were amazingly bad and the one bad taste-in-our-mouths was when we were checking out they charged us about $4.00 for a coke that we never drank.
There are also some nasty tricks which are obviously western greed, if you take their stuff out of the fridge to put your own in, they charge you $10 a day.
The position is ok, it's a walk (or $1 taxi ride) to the beach, the walk up to the main part of Seminyak gets a bit tiring after a while. Let's put it as 'secluded but not too secluded'

All in all a nice holiday, but I might spend a little more next time and try somewhere else.

Please feel free to contact me if you want more info!

Helpful?
21 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
2.8 mi away
W Bali - Seminyak
W Bali - Seminyak
#19 of 143 in Seminyak
3,235 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
2.4 mi away
The Legian Bali
The Legian Bali
#7 of 143 in Seminyak
1,495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Courtyard Bali Seminyak Resort
1.7 mi away
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection
1.8 mi away
Amadea Resort & Villas
Amadea Resort & Villas
#32 of 143 in Seminyak
1,865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Rumah Manis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Rumah Manis

Property: Vila Rumah Manis
Address: Jalan Nakuta No. 18, Seminyak, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Hotel Style:
Ranked #353 of 417 Speciality Lodging in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Vila Rumah Manis 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Also Known As:
Vila Rumah Manis Hotel Seminyak
Vila Rumah Manis Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing