We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for the price!”
Review of Pelangi Bali Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pelangi Bali Hotel
Ranked #81 of 148 Hotels in Seminyak
Reviewed 22 June 2010

Stayed at the Pelangi for 6 nights with my other half last week.

The hotel itself was lovely, we stayed in a superior room, which was nice, air-con worked well and room was exceptionally clean. Even though the room was basic it worked really well for a Bali holiday as all you tend to do is sleep there!

The pool was great, swim up bar was a bit expensive so we bought our own Bintangs down from our room. Watching the sun set from the pool was great though.

The upstairs restraunt was divine, definately worth the extra money, gorgeous view even once the sun had gone down. Breakfast was fine, same things every morning but it was all nice.

Beware of Kelly and her friends down on the beach as they try to charge 850,000 Rp for getting your nails done and they will constantly hassle you anytime you walk onto the beach.

There is also a little hut cafe right infront of the Pelangi on the beach with cheap cocktails and yummy food, you can also see all the planes land there!

The internet is quite expensive but there is a lovely restraunt across the road with yummy spring rolls and free wi-fi. The safe deposit boxes in reception are very secure, something that I was very sceptical about.

The real downside of the Pelangi is the road that it is on doesnt allow empty taxi's down it. Hailing a taxi on the main road is easy but trying to catch a taxi to the airport proved difficult as we would have to lugg our luggage to the taxi rank. We ended up booking a driver through the tour man in reception costing 80,000Rp not heaps but still a bit of a pain!

A word of advice in general with taxis is to only catch the blue bird taxis. ( they are the light blue corolla looking ones) as they wont rip you off.

We walked to Kuta everday, only about a 1/2 hour walk.

Would definately stay at the Pelangi again, shame it isn't a bit closer to the legian strip.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nic_Brennan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,083)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

916 - 922 of 1,083 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2010

If beachside location is a priority at an excellent price then this is your seminyak hotel of choice. We had room 601 deluxe room on ground floor with a small outside area to sit. The room was very spacious and clean. Very comfortable large bed. Staff as always in Bali extremely nice. Breakfast a very average buffet we gave up after 3 mornings and ate out instead. Pool area nice and you can sit and enjoy the sunset from within hotel grounds or a one the small warungs in front of the hotel on the beach. All in all if you are not very fussy and are happy with a bog standard 3-4 star hotel then this is your place.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moorecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2010

I booked this hotel on the internet in January and spent 5 months reading the mixed reviews and was looking forward to seeing for myself. I would now recommend this Hotel to anyone - Staff are brilliant, friendly and helpful and always considerate. We made sure we went for the deluxe room and were absolutely delighted - located closer to the back of the Hotel and pool, the room was great and the aircon a lovely cool change from the steamy nights.
Breakfast was good - not over the top - brilliant Omelettes and nice crispy bacon.
For the price and the more quiet location in Seminyak I would say the Pelangi Bali Hotel made our first visit to Bali for my wife's 40th absolutely memorable.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LADI070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2010

An appealing sight is the Guards on the front Gate whom are there to protect the patrons of this hotel.
However, rarely did they do their job efficiently IE check handbags or shopping upon return to the hotel.
The Front Lobby is OPEN to the PUBLIC 24/7
Which is of great concern due to The robbery which took place in our Lobby on the 1st night that we were there !!!!
3 young Aussies were held up at knife point and ROBBED. I spoke with these people hours after the crime!
The Hotel naturally denied this claim saying that the robbery took place on the street in front of our Hotel Guarded Entrance !! Were the Guards ASLEEP lol don't think so.
A very unsafe feeling stayed with us for the duration of our stay we were politely warned by MANAGEMENT to mind our own business and that we were mislead by the Victims!
What an International joke. If you are foolish enough to stay there,
be on guard 24/7 plus its the only Hotel beach that allows HAWKERS to invade our beach time so you cannot use the beach !!! A guard is on the gateway to the beach he's quite friendly with the cunning persistant 21 Hawkers who STUNG me and all in all Hotel rating 2/5 as we could lock our room ! oh and a Bell hop had the hots for me he Kept ringing my room to see what I was up to........................

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RobynShepparton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2010

stayed only 4 nights and 5 days but wouldn't hesitate staying there again. the location was right off Seminyak beach and close to Seminyak "village", everything... shopping, restaurants = warung's, etc, was all in walking distance. eating at the hotel, we were provided with delicious meals and excellent, 5 star service. the staff was on top of everything and always with the trademark Balinese smiles and friendliness. swim-up bar in the infinity edge swimming pool, wonderful decor, location, great service and delicious food, made our stay the highlight of our visit to Bali. we enjoyed especially finding the local restaurants with delicious local fare at unbelievable prices! as surfers though, we'd probably hire a local guide our next visit to find better surf. overall, i would not hesitate in the least, to recommend this wonderful resort to anyone!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shane_V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2010

Overall the rooms were fairly clean, however "well used" and in real need of a facelift. The fridge was noisy and constantly woke me up, along with my friends staying in seperate rooms, it also failed to keep anything cold. The shower curtain was filty and had what looked like dried shaving cream and whiskers caked on it. The bathroom products were like dishwashing liquid and towels a disgrace-small., grey and stained, as opposed to fluffhy, white and crisp white! The wardrobes really need replacing, or lining at the very least. One of the light globes was blown and hadn't been replaced. I was also placed in a smoking room, when I specifically booked non-smoking, there was an ashtray and matches on the coffee table. There was also a suspicious white stain on the seat of one of the room's cane chairs, which I don't even want to think which bodily fluid it came from. There were no bin liners in the bins, which were filthy black. Thankfully it was a gir's trip away and not a romantic interlude with my husband I was looking for. On the plus side, plenty of TV channels, clean windows, and I must commend how quiet the hotel was at night. Lots of other Aussies were staying at the time of our visit and all commented how disappointed they were with the property. Breakfast really below standard. Coffee terrible and we smelt the bacon getting cooked each night around 11pm at night for the following morning service. Newly renovated rooftop is quite nice, but the cocktails were very average. Nice pool however, however not recommended for older people, as the steps are few and very deep and slippery and the pool is quite hard to get in and out of! Used spa on 3 occassions and very disappointed. During the facial the operator stopped to gossip to her colleague in the next room about 7 times, interupting the treatment. Similar experiences also for my mates. Horrible products also that really did nothing for my skin.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelbourneTourist_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2010

What a disappointment of a hotel.
For what you pay the facilities are severly lacking!
However this is insignificant in comparison in that we were mugged/robbed at the entrance of the hotel while the security guard chatted to our assialants.
Do they have an agreement with the local thugs??
DO NOT STAY AT THE PELANGI!

Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
3  Thank hugh_hagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.1 mi away
Puri Saron Seminyak
Puri Saron Seminyak
#105 of 148 in Seminyak
697 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection
0.7 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
TS Suites Leisure Seminyak Bali
0.2 mi away
The Breezes Bali Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Villa Coco
Villa Coco
#25 of 148 in Seminyak
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelangi Bali Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelangi Bali Hotel

Address: Jl. Camplung Tanduk, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta District > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Seminyak
#40 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#61 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range: £61 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pelangi Bali Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pelangi hotel Bali is located in beautiful, serene Seminyak with its white sandy beaches and rolling waves are perfect for the keen surfer or those who wish to indulge in the warm sun and outstanding landscape. Not only will you experience a rich culture unlike any other, you will carry memories of people, places, sounds, smells and a fantastic getaway.Pelangi Bali Hotel also have direct access to the beach ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Splitty, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Pelangi Bali Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelangi Bali Seminyak
Hotel Pelangi Bali
Pelangi Bali Hotel Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing