We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit disappointing”
Review of Pelangi Bali Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pelangi Bali Hotel
Ranked #80 of 143 Hotels in Seminyak
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A bit disappointing”
Reviewed 17 October 2010

Whilst staff were friendly, the hotel did not meet my idea of the hotel. The room was very ordinary, and we had a number of issues with leaking air conditioning, and toilet problems. The door was constantly getting locked and the key difficult to turn. I became aware having been locked out how easy it was for staff to break in through the porch door which was a little disturbing. Above all, no matter how good a deal they give you DO NOT use the hotel spa. I used Carla down the road which did great massages but decided to treat family to a hotel pedicure and manicure thinking it would be more hygeinic and more luxurious. They used the same tools for all family members without cleaning them and the room had no air conditioning. So we paid double for a hot pedicure that was substandard. If you hate stairs do not stay here..my mum could not cope with the huge staircases. Pool and pool bar looks a lot bigger in pics

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SMG73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,028 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    293
    456
    166
    73
    40
See reviews for
189
461
57
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2010

We just returned from the Pelangi and as veterans of Bali and Asia, found this property to be about right for Aussie families and young couples in the 3 to 3.5 star range. Rooms were basic but clean and tidy with usual amenities. Breakfast was fine and good choice of foods. Location on Seminyak beach is a winner with good beach huts for cheap eats and beers close by. 20min walk on the beach to Kuta. Good choice of restaurants near the hotel.
Staff are young an usually very attentive - thumbs up for their friendliness. It's a long and narrow property which limits the size of the pool but the kids coped as did we! Unfortunately, the sunworshippers get out early and towels on the lounges by 7.00am was very annoying. Too many Aussies on holiday packages in large groups but clearly, that's where the property is pitched. Staff HAVE TO ban people from drinking bottles of beer all round the pool. Has a small gym with only one running machine....time your visit!

General feeling is the mob would return to this property but it is starting to age and look a little tardy. Needs a refurb in areas but otherwise....very good.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sivijs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 12 October 2010

fantastic location and service second to none, extremely friendly staff and guests.. would have no hesitation in staying there and recommending to others

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2010

This hotel is perfectly located right on the beach, and a few minutes walk to a variety of bars/restaurants. On arrival check in went smoothly, we had booked four superior rooms (9 family members). All rooms were located on 2nd floor and were all next to each other, very handy. The staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble.

If required the bedding would be changed each day, and fresh towels were available each day, and a bottle of water per person was also left in the room each day.
We had had requested three single beds in our room, and although the third was a "put me up bed" it was ok. we only had six clothes hangers, but a quick call to reception provided us with extra ones.

Breakfast was sufficient,and the Egg Station, provided freshly made omlettes, boiled, scrambled, fried or poached eggs on request.

*BEWARE* - My sister had her handbag snatched out of her hand, whils't walking along the main road, by a moped pillion passenger. The police informed her that there are gangs coming over from Java, who are carrying out the crimes.
After immediatley returning back to hotel, the hotel manager and a member of staff kindly drove my sister and brother to the police station to report the incident.

One of the best eating places we found was " Lucky Days" great food, although it did close at 11pm.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CheshireQueenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kincumber, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2010

I stayed for 10 nights with my 2 girlfriends in september. As a frequent traveller to Thailand I was a bit sceptical. I could not have been more wrong. I an now completely in love with Bali. The pelangi exceeded all my expectations. Perfectly positioned on Seminyak beach, literally 10 steps until you reach the sand, what better place to watch the sunset each day. Set off by a cold Bintang provided by Froggy, who runs the drinks stand out the front!. At night the resort was perfectly quiet. Close enough to shop in Legain and Kuta, but far enough to be pin drop quiet for sleeping. We stayed in a superior room which was pretty good as we had 3 of us in it, I managed to look inside a deluxe room which looked bigger. In my opinion the one to go for. The Balinese people are lovely and friendly. Nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was pretty good, other reviewers had whined about the lack of choice, but we had no concerns in this area. At times the egg station was overcome with orders, and with a casual fllick of the wrist, all the eggs were binned, and the orders started again. This was hysterical to watch. Organised chaos I would say, but with a good result. I can't wait to take my family back to Bali and especially the Pelangi. The problem now being that it is so popular, I might have to wait a few extra months. Not too worry as all good things come to those who wait!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tudish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutherland Shire, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2010

Location awesome. Stayed 3 nights at the start of our 2 week holiday. We had a super deluxe room, one of four in the hotel. It was a decent size for our 2 small children and closer to the pool.The breakfast was great. Previous reviews had me worried but overall it was clean and tidy hotel and reasonably priced. I have stayed in lots of hotels for my work and although this place is definately not 5 star it is comfortable and you do get what you pay for. The beach warungs out the front on the beach were good value for money and the mie goring noodles delicious.around the pool your typical sun lounge poachers lay towels down and do not show up for hours after to claim their spots, be careful as I found these type are
quite rude and will tell you if you have stole there lounge even if there towel has mysteriously disappeared. Overall we were more than happy.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rennie74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bali
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 September 2010

I have not one fault to say about this hotel it was always clean the pool area was beauitful everyone was so nice and pleasant they would do anything for you. the rooms were very big great for my 2 small children. i would recommend it to eveyone

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nudge1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.1 mi away
Puri Saron Seminyak
Puri Saron Seminyak
#100 of 143 in Seminyak
659 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection
0.2 mi away
The Breezes Bali Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Bali, Seminyak
0.7 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Bali Seminyak Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelangi Bali Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelangi Bali Hotel

Property: Pelangi Bali Hotel
Address: Jl. Camplung Tanduk, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Seminyak
#40 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#60 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pelangi Bali Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pelangi hotel Bali is located in beautiful, serene Seminyak with its white sandy beaches and rolling waves are perfect for the keen surfer or those who wish to indulge in the warm sun and outstanding landscape. Not only will you experience a rich culture unlike any other, you will carry memories of people, places, sounds, smells and a fantastic getaway.Pelangi Bali Hotel also have direct access to the beach ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TravelUp, Ebookers, ACCOR, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pelangi Bali Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelangi Bali Seminyak
Hotel Pelangi Bali
Pelangi Bali Hotel Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing