We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best service in Bali, worst bathrooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of L Hotel Seminyak

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
L Hotel Seminyak
Ranked #52 of 143 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Perth
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best service in Bali, worst bathrooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2012 via mobile

Amazing hotel. Best service in Bali, particularly their butler service and restaurant staff. Food in the hotel restaurant was great. They also include great extras like free mini bar, clothes pressing, breakfast, kiehls bathroom products, butler service, use of the hotel driver. But I would stay there again for two reasons. Firstly the pool is located right next to the restaurant, with people eating sitting right next to it. Also there is always lots if staff around for restaurant service so we never get comfortable swimming or relaxing by the pool. Definitely not the place to stay if you want to sit by the pool. Secondly the bathrooms and toilets were in terrible locations. The toilet was next to the head of the bed located in a cupboard. It offered very little privacy. Also this hotel has open bathrooms. Also no privacy here. The shower had a roll down screen but it only came to chest height and the mirror location meant to could see straight in anyway. The screen also cut the bathroom area in half making it difficult to navigate in and out of the shower. I share with a friend so the bathroom situation made using the bathroom very awkward. Pity because it such a lively hotel but I wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LHotelSeminyak, Management at L Hotel Seminyak, responded to this review, 23 November 2012
Dear Rebecca,

Thank you for taking the time to write and share your stay with us at L Hotel Seminyak. Glad to hear you enjoyed all the personalized services that L offers, especially the Butler Service; it is these services that create the magic and experience of L.

We take note of your feedback regarding the swimming pool and toilets and apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused. We do realize that it may not suit everyone and will find ways to improve the privacy of these two facilities.

Please do contact me personally at below address if you would like to discuss the issue further,

Best regards,
Adeline Quek
Resident Tastemaker
adeline@thelhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    397
    175
    43
    22
    11
See reviews for
59
314
89
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2012

Stayed here for four nights in oct 2012. This is a new boutique hotel in seminyak, offers all that a larger 5 star hotel would offer ( with the exception of beachfront or large pool). However they have a connection with a sports club nearby that hotel guests can use free of charge with a huge outdoor pool and tennis courts.

The rooms are small but didn't feel crammed, the space is used efficiently. They are clean, and modern with first class appliances. We are from canada and usually stay at 5 star hotels. This met our standards.

Short drive to town, free shuttle offered by the hotel whenever we needed it.

Best breakfast. Enjoy.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank veronicapmjohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LHotelSeminyak, Management at L Hotel Seminyak, responded to this review, 23 November 2012
Dear vpmjohnson,

Thank you for giving us feedback about your stay. While we do not have the huge outdoor pool, we are glad you were able to use the outside facilities. We hope you were also able to enjoy the butler service to the Beach, where one of our Butlers personally escorts you to the nearby beach to set up sunbeds for you. Glad to hear you enjoyed the shuttle service around Seminyak.

It is our pleasure to host guests from far across the world like Canada, and we would be most pleased to see you back in Bali again!

Regards,
Adeline Quek
Resident Tastemaker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

I stayed in the Luxe for 3 nights on a business trip last week and loved it. The L is located about 30 minutes from the airport in the most fashionable area of Seminyak. As you enter the building the entire staff greets you by name and continue to do so until you leave. The L is just cool as can be with hip rooms, a great pool/bar/restaurant area an awesome roof top bar/restaurant and awesome rooms. The bed and pillow menu are plush and the free standing bathtub is luxiourious. But what I really loved was the food... I tried just about evewrything on the menu and loved it! The caramalized pork belly is sticky, gooey heaven, the Waygu steak cooked to perfect and the molten chocolate cake will send you into a blissful coma. Whats even better is that the rooftop restaurant has a totally different menu than the roomservice/lobby restaurant, so evern more to try! The bartender is also spot on with his drinks, inclduing some interesting twists on fresh juices that are unexpected (but delicious). I obviously really love this hotel and cannot wait to come back. BUT, as a father I do not see this as a hotel where I would bring my family. This is NOT youyr usual Bali resort with giant pool and lots of green space to run around in. Instead this is a beuaitful little gem hidden away for business travelers who want to be pampered and for romantic couples seeking their dream holiday.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LHotelSeminyak, Management at L Hotel Seminyak, responded to this review, 23 November 2012
Dear Nick H,

Thank you for choosing us during your business stay in Bali and we really appreciate your feedback and comments regarding your stay.

Great to hear you enjoyed the food at L! We have a huge passion in Food & Beverage and it is our strong desire to provide our guests with a complete luxurious stay with exciting gastronomic delights and we are glad to hear that you found our Pan-Asian selections delicious. We hope you tried the signature Beef Wellington and Tandoori Duck Leg at the rooftop Luna Bar & Restaurant!

Happy to hear that you enjoyed the rooms as well, and thanks for your comments about L being a escape for couples and business travelers. However, we hope you will bring your family with you on your next visit! We have had families stay with us before and they have enjoyed their time too, because the children love the pool by the bar.

Either way, we would love to have you stay at L again, so please come back next time you are in Bali,

Regards,
Adeline Quek
Resident Tastemaker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2012

Hello,

I stayed with my wife at L Hotel Seminyak last week (Oct 2012) and it was absolutely blissful. The service is impeccable, the staff are very friendly and ready to help you at all times, without ever making you feel "pressured" or annoyed, so I give them top marks.

The hotel itself is a boutique, which is exactly what we wanted, as we were going to be moving in and out of the hotel to go to our daily excursions all day, so the last thing we wanted was the need to walk through very long corridors with hundreds of rooms before we reached ours.

The hotel can drive you at your own convenience within close proximity (restaurants, beach, etc) and this is included in the price, as is the drinks in the mini bar, and every evening you are given a free cocktail and some canapés. It may seem trivial, but these small touches makes you feel 100% at home. Each guest has a butler service included, and they help you plan absolutely everything about your stay, from drivers for the day, to tours, shopping, etc...Ms Reni was our butler, and she was fantastic. The breakfast is delicious - eggs a la Putu is my favourite.

There is a Spa next to the hotel which belongs to the hotel, and my wife and I actually thought it was better than some of the other upmarket famous ones nearby.

If you're looking for a big resort, this isn't the place for you. But if you're looking for a cosy funky base with top notch service from which you can zip around the island for your daily dose of Bali, this is the place for you.

Room Tip: Make sure you're comfortable showering in front of your partner, because the shower is inside th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cstelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adeline Q, Management at L Hotel Seminyak, responded to this review, 7 November 2012
Dear Carlos & Neha,

Thank you also for choosing to stay with us for your 3rd Anniversary! Firstly, would just like to thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review of our hotel and giving us helpful feedback about our services. L Hotel is exactly what you say, we are not a big resort but rather a chic and urban boutique hotel.

We feel very happy that you enjoyed the service from our staff and that they were there not to pressure you but to assist and make your stay enjoyable. Reni is grateful for your comments and sends her regards to you, and so do Chef Rutger and Chef Putu, the creators of Eggs a la Putu!

The shuttle service we provide is something that we felt would be a nice touch for those looking to zip around Seminyak so we are glad that it is a service that is being enjoyed.

Look forward to meeting you guys soon, either in Bali, Singapore or London!

Regards,
Kunal Pawa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012

The great service is definitely to be highlighted in a review. Anything you want to do or see, or anywhere you want to go, can be arranged. The breakfast is simply amazing. The only point of improvement I could think of is the Spa; although the massage was amazing, the pool and facilities were only average. If you feel like pampering yourselves, then go for L Hotel. I travelled solo and had an outstanding stay, feeling refreshed now.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris_S_88188590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LHotelSeminyak, Management at L Hotel Seminyak, responded to this review, 22 October 2012
Dear Chris,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. Breakfast at L is amazing! I only wish I dined there more often myself!

Our butler service is created to be your personal companion during your stay and we are happy to hear that you found that service useful to make your trip arrangements, leaving you comfortably relaxed for the rest of your stay. We thank you for your comments regarding the spa facilities and will certainly find a solution to make sure our facilities are improved.

Thank you and we look forward to seeing you soon again,

Regards,
Adeline Quek
Resident Tastemaker
E: adeline@thelhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2012

The Service at the L Hotel was the best we have experienced in the world. On arrival the Reception staff were friendly, genuine and helpful. The L Hotel offers a free private butler service, our Butlers (Deddy, Eka and Wulan) were outstanding, the each went above and beyond to make our stay enjoyable and memorable. The bar and wait staff were friendly, helpful and professional. The roof top bar is a must if you are in Bali. From the moment we arrived to the time we checked out ALL of the hotel staff couldn't do enough to make our stay relaxing and carefree. The rooms are luxurious and have every extra you could ask for. The L Hotel is an intimate, luxurious and beautiful Hotel. Only reason for not rating a 5 is the noise in the hotel's Day Spa (due to personal training activities) and although the pool is gorgeous, it doesn't have enough sun lounging area. Thank you for a wonderful stay! Gerard & Jessica

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LHotelSeminyak, Management at L Hotel Seminyak, responded to this review, 22 October 2012
Dear Gerard & Jessica,

Our staff are thrilled to hear your fantastic review of their service! The butler team, including Deddy, Eka and Wulan remember you fondly and await your next visit. As a small luxury hotel, we place a larger emphasis on offering personalized services and we aim to provide the kind of guest satisfaction that you received during your stay; it brings a huge smile to the team to know that we were able to give you “the best service” you have ever experienced.

With regards to the disturbance in the spa, we have alerted the team to reduce the volume levels from our fitness studio, so that the spa remains to be that relaxing abode for you to escape to.

Please contact me personally if you feel a need to highlight any other issue, and we would be most happy to hear from you again,

Regards,
Adeline Quek
Resident Tastemaker
E: adeline@thelhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2012

When I booked L Hotel I knew it was new and a bit quirky. My wife and I returned to Bali for some R and R. We wanted to sit around the pool read swim and generally relax. Unfortunately the pool at L doesn't lend itself to this. I had booked ten nights and paid in advance. After visiting the beach club, casual membership included and seeing the beach area we decided that the hotel just was not what we were looking for. When we mentioned that we would check out earlier the hotel went into overdrive to help out. We were offered a number of alternatives including luxury houses. No other hotel I have stayed in tried so hard to assist. This is some hotel. Not for everyone but the staff are fab the service superb and the kitchen can cook up a storm. Except toasting their great country loaf!
If a pool outside is a must you will be disappointed. If not you can't go past L. Butlers, drivers, waiters room attendants and front staff all go that extra mile to help and make your stay a pleasant one.
Others have written about the rooms,some drawers would be nice. The bathroom is quant with its open plan but everything works.
Just a post script the hotel contacted my booking company. Shortly after a phone call and email confirming a refund for the rest of the stay. Can't ask for better service.
I know some may not see this as a review of the hotel as such but I wanted fellow "Trippers" to know that this hotel is special in a different way
.

Stayed October 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Jobbo23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LHotelSeminyak, Management at L Hotel Seminyak, responded to this review, 22 October 2012
Dear Jobbo23,

We would like to thank you for writing such a great review of our service. We wish that you had continued to stay with us but we understand your reasons for shifting. L Hotel is a chic, urban boutique hotel and our hotel is designed to create a new experience of the traveller to Bali, and in fact, to give our guests a look into the modern beauty and creativity in Bali. We do have 2 pools and a beach area with our sunbeds to offer to our guests, however, we do realize that some guests prefer to have a large sunbathing area.

We are glad we were able to work out a solution for you. Our team take great pride in our dining options and our service and are happy that we were able to impress you in that respect.

Best Regards,
Adeline Quek
Resident Tastemaker
E: adeline@thelhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.7 mi away
Ize Seminyak
Ize Seminyak
#47 of 143 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
0.3 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Bali, Seminyak
1.2 mi away
Bali Ginger Suites & Villa
Bali Ginger Suites & Villa
#28 of 143 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Dash Hotel Seminyak Bali
Dash Hotel Seminyak Bali
#35 of 143 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
0.7 mi away
U Paasha Seminyak
U Paasha Seminyak
#45 of 143 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,030 reviews
1.6 mi away
Villa Coco
Villa Coco
#27 of 143 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L Hotel Seminyak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L Hotel Seminyak

Property: L Hotel Seminyak
Address: Jl. Raya Petitenget no. 8L, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Seminyak
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Seminyak
#27 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#33 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#44 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#45 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — L Hotel Seminyak 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L Hotel Seminyak is a quintessential 30-Suite hotel brand with a contemporary chic decor, marrying heritage and modernity. Its unique feature is service personalization and designer led experiences, providing the discerning traveler a refreshing, intimate and engaging stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your L Hotel Seminyak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
L Hotel Seminyak Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing