We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“if only its bigger”
Review of L Hotel Seminyak

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
L Hotel Seminyak
Ranked #49 of 146 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Surabaya, Jawa Timur, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“if only its bigger”
Reviewed 1 January 2013

we went on new years holiday with family and small children. so to make it short, the one who booked this hotel didnt know the diff between boutique and family hotel or resort hotel. the one who paid for our trip felt disappointed. for them the rate was around 3 mill rupiah but they was hoping a resort like Ayana in Jimbaran. So the place is modern luxury but not luxury luxury.
first of all:
1. no parking space.
2. small lobby dont expect grand entrance with big welcoming party.
3. elevator very small for 4 people.
4. rooms is small but very comfy. bad insulation. you can hear upstairs showers like waterfall. and like everyones review dont take room facing road. unless you can stand the noise from the road.
5. the cleaned your room twice a day. not bad if only they did it perfectly. one time they cleaned our TV remote control to, another time our cell phone charger which didnt show back up until now, and the next day they forgot to put back our bathroom math. they do it twice a day but try to remove the table and you can still see thick dust on the floor.
6. the bed is the best considering its still a very new hotel, so the bed must be brand new. the choice of pillow is one of things that impressed me.
7. shower is another thumbs up. the amenities add another point.
8. for the breakfast, its nice of choices, but not for longer stay, u will get bored with it. its not buffet kind of bfast, but you have to ordered per table. its looks nice at first, but tried it when its full house, the service getting worse and worse. in one morning we have to wait for one hour for bfast. another morning some of the ordered food didnt show up. etc2x. but the food quality was great, the french toast cinnamon, the poach eggs.
9. staff tried to be committed to the guest and nice to you all the time but their services looked like that they need more experience in handling crowded hotel.
10. for the rest its already describe perfectly by other reviewers.

so overall for brandnew hotel its stil in top shape, but its going to be hard work to maintain the quality and sevices since there are also alot disadvantage. Management was nice, staff nice, service not the best, interior good, building not that good for pricy hotel, bfast very good but need more choices.

Room Tip: dilemma. since the room is small it makes the insulation become worse. so any floor you choose as lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LHotelSeminyak, Manager at L Hotel Seminyak, responded to this review, 6 February 2013
Dear Chris T,
Thank you for taking the time to write an honest review of your stay at the hotel. We are disappointed and apologize that the hotel did not live up to your expectations. We hope we can address some of your concerns, and please contact me personally if you would like to discuss further.
1. We do have parking space allocated in a nearby location, and we will improve our speed of valet service to ensure that your cars arrive quickly.
2. Regarding the insulation for sound, it is something that we need to address quickly, and we will do so by increasing the insulation between rooms.
3. For the inconsistent cleaning service that you experienced, we have highlighted again to our teams the importance of standards and that guest belongings should be left where found. We will ensure such does not happen again.
4. While we are happy to hear that you enjoyed the food at breakfast, we apologize that it took so long for your food to arrive. We were running at a high occupancy but there are no excuses and we will take initiative to ensure our operations work more effectively in future.
Again, we thank you for your very honest feedback and we will do our best to achieve a higher standard to make sure you enjoy your visit,

Regards
Budiman Widjaja
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    412
    183
    43
    23
    12
See reviews for
59
335
90
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013 via mobile

We stayed at L Hotel Seminyak for 2 nights. This hotel is still new in town so I found it's kinda hard for taxi driver to know where exactly the hotel location. Just ring a call to L Hotel, the front desk staffs are very friendly and happily explained.

First impression we got once we entered the hotel, it's just like the other boutique hotel, small with modern chic design. But what surprised us, the staffs at the front desk directly let us to go into our room without any check in and we found a letter with my boyfriend name inside the room. Until now we still wondering how can they now it's us?

Well, forget about that. We stepped into the room, the first word is Loveee! Love the room design, the cleanliness, the Kiehl's amenities, the all-free-beverages inside the refrigerator, the L logos on every amenities, well forget my narcism of loving the L logos since my name is started with L. ;p

Most of all, we loveeeeee the 24 hours butler service, it's like you're having your personal assistant. They helped us to make a reservation at the restaurant, helped us with our laundry, and arranging shuttle for us. Forgot to mention that L hotel provide free shuttle car in and around seminyak area. Another loveeeeee again!!!!

The breakfast was great, even it's in a small restaurant and sorry to say, the pool is awful :( If you're going for a pool then this is not the right place to stay.

I would mostly recommend this hotel to the lovebirds, since the bathroom is 'transparent', I'm sure you'll end your stay in L hotel with more & more Loveee! ;p

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liusfrancesca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LHotelSeminyak, Management at L Hotel Seminyak, responded to this review, 6 February 2013
Dear Luis,
Thank you so much for your kind comments!! Yes we all Love the Letter L ;p
The butler service is something we knew our guests would enjoy and am also happy to hear that the front desk and other service teams were equally helpful.
Look forward to you and your lovebird staying with us again…
Regards
Adeline Quek
Resident Tastemaker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2012 via mobile

We ended up at the L Hotel by accident in that we decided last minute to extend our holiday and our resort had no vacancies.

The L Hotel, once inside the room, is like any other boutique hotel room - not unlike many hotels in many cities. But probably not Bali. Firstly the room is small. Small as in London boutique hotel small. But reasonably nicely laid out - clever little toilet hidden in a closet, open bathroom with only a shower cubicle etc. but perhaps not a luxury boutique hotel.

Tick - box for boutique interior and small room.

The hotel has all the amenities and services - butler, shuttle service, free mini bar, roof top lounge, Japanese tepanyaki restaurant, gourmet restaurant, spa, personal training studio, 2 pools etc.

Tick - endless list of services and amenities. Shuttle bus was particularly convenient and free!

Tick - great location in Seminyak

Tick - friendly service - actually great service.

TICK - good breakfast

Tick - great bed, linens, pillow menu etc

Tick - Kiehls amenities

However....

- the pools are small. Like 2m x 4m small - that's the big one....

- tepanyaki is a single table in a little corner on the roof

- gourmet restaurant is another little corner

- rooftop lounge takes up the remainder of the small rooftop

- spa is clean but not luxurious. Staff work hard at it but seem inexperienced

- gym is again small. Like 3m x 5m small with one elliptical walker and one reclining bike. Good selection of medicine balls etc though.

This little hotel has a lot going for it and we liked it. But we didn't spend much time there.

How it could improve for all our views are worth....

1. Turn the rooftop lounge/bar/tepanyaki/restaurant into a rooftop pool bar and hold regular pool parties. It has a view and would be a great placed to have a night cap and party on at the edge of a nice infinity pool.

2. Improve the spa. Make it a very high end spa. It's now too small and frankly not up to the standards of a luxury boutique. Improve it and charge more. Go the whole boutique route.

3. Get more sound insulation.

In all L Hotel felt like an exercise in a small boutique hotel undertaken by a hotel developer who tried too hard to just tick all the boxes and then relied too much on a clever interior designer without trying to really conceptualise what the end product should be.

Would we return? Perhaps if we're stuck without a hotel again but probably not as a Bali destination.

For younger crowds who only sleep at the hotel and spend all their time at Potato Head etc or clubbing and then have breakfast then start the day again then it's probably a decent value hotel. As I said the bed is great as is breakfast.

If they opened a rooftop pool bar, we'll definitely go for a sun downer and enjoy looking over the Bali skyline.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KIMBO777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LHotelSeminyak, Management at L Hotel Seminyak, responded to this review, 6 February 2013
Dear Brad,

It was nice meeting you and thank you for your constructive feedback into things that we could improve at the hotel. We are firstly pleased to know that you did feel like the hotel has a lot going for it and that the details, design and comfort of the room met your expectations. To address your concerns:

1. Previously we have thought about a pool on the rooftop, however, such a pool is not allowed by the authorities in Bali and thus we had to let that idea go. We are, however, looking for a solution to have another big pool for our guests, possibly in a close by location that will be convenient and easy for guests to use.

2. Your comments about the spa are also highly appreciated and we will train the staff and remodel the entire experience to reflect that of a luxury boutique property.

3. We will also look for ways to increase the sound insulation, such as seeking better materials that could assist with the soundproofing.
While it will be difficult for us to increase the size of our facilities, we certainly appreciate your feedback and will look for ways to improve our services.

Thank you again, and we do hope to see you in the future again,

Regards
Budiman Widjaja
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 December 2012

Nowhere near the beach and right in front of the main road. But fret not, it's an awesome hotel. Tastefully decorated (i've been into other boutique hotels that tried to be niched, but ended up with gaudy decorations).. The bed is huge and clean. and you can choose your pillow types.

I got a room facing the road and expecting to have a sleepless night, but that wasn't the case. As for the bathroom.. if youre travelling with good friend(s), there might be a problem. Its a glass bathroom with halfway blind.. and the toilet? that the funny part.. you have to be there to experience it..

Moreover, you'll get 25% off for the spa/massage and the breakfast is amazing! I went there quite often I hardly had time for the beach..

The staff are amazing and genuine.

Room Tip: there's only one elevator, try to get the room on the 1st floor so that you could use the stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrobb99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LHotelSeminyak, Management at L Hotel Seminyak, responded to this review, 29 December 2012
Dear Chrob99,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at L on Tripadvisor. Glad to hear that you found the rooms comfortable and tastefully decorated. The design of the hotel was created to be very modern yet keep touches of Bali, and also to be intimate and engaging and we hope you felt those emotions during your stay.
Also happy to hear you enjoyed the food and spa options at L! Our service team is grateful for your compliments and we look forward to your next stay,

Kind Regards
Adeline Quek
Resident Tastemaker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 December 2012

We stayed in Seminyak for a few days in December and found L to be a great accommodation. L Seminyak is a boutique hotel, true in every sense of the word, from the small size yet made up by the amazing service. I know some guests have mentioned problems with the small size; but I'm accustomed as it's pretty similar to hotels in NY. However, you do have to plan accordingly if you travel more than 2 people.

The best parts about L are truly the free shuttle around Seminyak and the wonderful service that Budiman (Hotel Manager) and team continuously extend. When you stay in Seminyak, you really want to be able to use your hotel as a base to shower or drop off your shopping bags before going for a night out. That's when the shuttle comes in handy - no need to show up at Potato Head looking like a sweaty kid! The team is also always happy to help and so very quintessentially Balinese in their friendliness - couldn't ask for a better team.

The only feedback that you should know is the bathroom doesn't have a full separator. It has an electric blind that comes to mid length (but the vanity counter sort of blocks the rest). It's great for those who go on a romantic tour, but for the rest, maybe not so much. Can be avoided by planning accordingly (we booked 2 separate rooms).

All in all, I had a lovely stay in L and if I'm ever in Seminyak again, I certainly would consider going back to L!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LHotelSeminyak, Manager at L Hotel Seminyak, responded to this review, 29 December 2012
Dear David,

Thanks for the review and good to hear that you had a good stay at L! Yes, L is very much an urban chic boutique hotel in Seminyak. Personalized service is a promise at a boutique hotel like ours and we are glad that you felt this during your stay. I will pass your compliments to our team. The shuttle service is there because we know that guests love to travel around Seminyak, be it for shopping, dining or nightlife.
Our rooms do feature sexy open bathrooms, :p , but we provide the electric blinds to facilitate friends traveling together too. It was a pleasure for me to have met you and we look forward to your next stay!

Kind regards,
Budiman Widjaja
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corner of Earth
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2012

Our stay could have been a disaster but to all the excellent staff of L (all of you with special mention to Sukma from front desk), you have managed to salvage it quicker than I can ever expect.

Reading many positive reviews of L I was looking forward to a good stay. From reviews the cons are minimal except for one repeated concern of size. However, it seemed that it shouldn't be a problem from the hotel's description of its room so we went ahead to book. But we turned up and was almost speechless to find that the size is a real concern for us. However, the speed of problem solving and customer service was so good I should say I've not seen any hotels going to that length to make sure their customers leave happy. I'm not only grateful but very impressed as well.

We were truly happy with all other things. Beautiful design, fabulous staff, good breakfast, good bed, transport within Seminyak, 2 aroma diffusers in the room, free mini-bar, butler with free pressing service, designer bathroom products etc. I like to look out of the window by the sink and see thatched rooftops of other properties. Really calming and Balinese at same time. We even had a very nice spa for 2 in our package. I should say if the hotel fits your need, grab its offer now.

If I have to find another con to the hotel it would be that water from the tub and sometimes shower (if you don't close tight enough) can splatter over the bedroom floor due to the room design. It felt like design took over precedence of function. But I'm happy to note that quality materials were used everywhere.
Oh and one should bear in mind the pool is their shortcoming. But not a problem if you want to spend your time at the fabulous beach clubs around.

This is really a hotel that strives to be good. If you are one that wants quality and service it would deliver. But you should be aware if it satisfies your needs since it seems to have a specific consumer target.

I have to say a big Thank You to Budiman, the hotel manager, for tending to our problems so fast. He came over to say hello when we were having our complimentary drink at the rooftop bar (nice place!). We gave a feedback when asked, not expecting anything to be done and were very surprised that it was not kept in the pocket and forgotten like every other establishment does. This is service. I have to say that during the booking process, Adeline from the Singapore office was also an excellent help.

I would give a 4 1/2 star but TA don't have that. Keeping that last star simply because it is so unfortunately, too small for our needs.

Room Tip: Go for the Luxe Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smelltheflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LHotelSeminyak, Management at L Hotel Seminyak, responded to this review, 29 December 2012
Dear NANAnana,

We thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at L Hotel Seminyak. We regret if you found the room size to not be large enough. We apologize if you experienced some inconvenience during your stay because of this. We understand that our rooms are quite compact but we do our very best to ensure that the rooms are equipped with luxurious facilities such as quality linens and pillows, iPod docks and even the Pillow Menu to make guests comfortable.
However, we are glad to hear that our service team attended to your needs instantly and Mr Budiman handled your situation effectively, together with the rest of the team. Our focus is always on guest satisfaction and we are glad that we were able to achieve this goal through our facilities, service and gastronomic options.
Was a pleasure to have you stay at L, and please contact us personally if any problems in future.

Kind regards,
Adeline Quek
Resident Tastemaker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 December 2012

It was a wonderful experience for me and my family. The service was excellent right from being received at the airport to leaving for home. Moreover the staff were really friendly, approachable and advised us well on the good attractions of Bali. Food was absolutely delicious be it breakfast or dinner. Furthermore the transportation provided by the hotel was a big aid for us tourists who are new to Bali. All in all the rooms were charming with their well chosen decor and room service was very good. We loved our stay in the L Hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skv73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LHotelSeminyak, Management at L Hotel Seminyak, responded to this review, 29 December 2012
Dear skv73,

Thank you again for writing such a positive review of your stay at L Hotel. It is very satisfying to us when we hear that our guests had a wonderful experience during their stay at , and we will make sure that our team receives your commendations as well. We would love to see you back here again, and please contact us should you ever require anything,

Kind regards,
Adeline Quek
Resident Tastemaker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.7 mi away
Ize Seminyak
Ize Seminyak
#48 of 146 in Seminyak
960 reviews
0.3 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Bali, Seminyak
1.9 mi away
TS Suites Leisure Seminyak Bali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Villa Coco
Villa Coco
#27 of 146 in Seminyak
616 reviews
0.4 mi away
Golden Tulip Devins Seminyak
Golden Tulip Devins Seminyak
#79 of 146 in Seminyak
485 reviews
0.7 mi away
U Paasha Seminyak
U Paasha Seminyak
#45 of 146 in Seminyak
1,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L Hotel Seminyak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L Hotel Seminyak

Property: L Hotel Seminyak
Address: Jl. Raya Petitenget no. 8L, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Seminyak
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Seminyak
#27 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#33 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#41 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#44 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — L Hotel Seminyak 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L Hotel Seminyak is a quintessential 30-Suite hotel brand with a contemporary chic decor, marrying heritage and modernity. Its unique feature is service personalization and designer led experiences, providing the discerning traveler a refreshing, intimate and engaging stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your L Hotel Seminyak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
L Hotel Seminyak Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing