We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Am a happy guest, I cannot complaint! :-))”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Grey Boutique Inn
Ranked #37 of 107 Seminyak B&B and Inns
Jakarta, Indonesia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Am a happy guest, I cannot complaint! :-))”
Reviewed 18 October 2012

Stayed there for 3D2N on 14-16 Oct'12 and i find it very nice i cannot complaint! ;-))

Found this small inn on asiarooms.com with a very good deal. On the websites (asiarooms & thegreyboutique), i saw the inn's pictures, which are very stylish and nice, checked also guests review who have stayed there and most of them are very positive. With all that said, i booked with no hesitation!

Check in was pretty fast and the staffs were very friendly and hands on. Got excited to see the room in real, will it be different from the websites? It turned out not to be fake! Loved the design, props (they recycle newspaper to be a trash dump) and pretty unusual toilet which placed in front of the room! ;-)). Clean bedsheet, cool tv channels, nice AC, pretty big fridge (for hotel standard), mineral waters, desk, large balcony, hairdryer, and big toilet with strong shower, clean towels. Ahh and also, the inn was pretty quiet, no noise, well just few motorbikes sound since the area is inside a housing complex but overall no annoying noise!

No breakfast included but the inn was pretty close to nearby eatery i.e. McD, S'bucks, Gourmet Garage and Petitenget/Seminyak is just 15mins away. S.pool is very small but we don't mind since we did not use it anyways. No phone available in the room, at first i disliked it, but got better idea, i ping the staffs via BBM! You could check the pin BB in their website ;-))

Service was excellent, all the male staffs were friendly, smiley faces, helpful, hands on, very responsive!

All in all, i was satisfied and definately will come back for sure!

Keep up and improve the good work! ;-))

Room Tip: go to agoda or asiarooms for good deal!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jules T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    38
    17
    4
    2
See reviews for
8
24
11
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2012

Stay there for a night for transit and it was lovely. Spacious room, well-designed interior, outdoor bathroom and really near Seminyak. Away from the bustling street and yet near by car. I would say it's a hidden gem of Semiyak at a really great price.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fakenylon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012

This hotel was beautifully designed. We really enjoy our stay in this greyish minimalist hotel. The bed and pillow was really comfortable, the open-air bathroom was wonderful, with a nice clean towel. Yes, there were some mosquitoes at night, but if you always remember to close the bathroom door you can still sleep like a baby. They also provide a hairdryer, small refrigerator and safe deposit box. The staff was really helpful, you can ask them for direction or even a nice local place to eat.
The hotel is not on a walking distance to major tourist attraction though, so it would be better if you rent a car. But still the location is quite good (5 minutes to Legian-Seminyak). I would definitely stay here the next time I visit Bali.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank astriditas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

with minimalist style, the grey is a really nice, cozy, and homey hotel...very clean, with a little touch of modern art here and there...and the staffs are very helpful...lucky we got the promo room rate... :)

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mayaku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
121 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We stayed here one night; had a wedding to attend Saturday and got in super late on Friday night, so we didn't want to blow a small fortune on a glitzy place that we wouldn't even get to enjoy till Sunday! we saved the glitzy place for Saturday night! So we decided to go with The Grey per the recommendations of the bridal party. With the rate that we got, we couldn't pass it up! And honestly, it looked very funky from the website.

For starters, with places like this, if you go in with the proper expectations then everything usually works out A-OK. I wasn't expecting to be on the beach, I wasn't expecting a full service hotel with a restaurant or anything like that, I was simply expecting a clean and comfortable place to crash for the night which is exactly what we got.

Staff was friendly, the facilities are basic but with a hint of modernity and "artsy-ness." Check-in was easy, they provide some bottled water with a straw upon checking in. You won't get some fancy concoction with a flower in it but you will get something to quench your thirst at least!

Room was very very basic; tiled floor, polished concrete walls. Bed was reasonably comfortable, pillows were OK. Room was VERY clean. Flatscreen TV with Satellite - awesome. Large sink and mini-fridge, check. So that was good. And a functioning aircon that didn't smell, also good!

The bathroom on the other hand is a fun story to tell. First-floor bathrooms are outside, this is a trend in Bali I have noticed over the years at comparable places. Nothing wrong with it. It can be romantic! Bathroom was clean, however, the shower area tiles when wet can be a bit of a slip-and-slide, they get EXTREMELY slippery so be careful so that you don't fall and break something. I almost took a few spills.

Water pressure of the shower was ok, nothing great. But the soap provided put us off. Yes, I am going to complain about the soap...of all things. It left a bit of a oily film that no matter how many times we rinsed it just never really seemed like we could get the 'slick' off ourselves. We wound up hitting up a mini-mart around the corner and getting some soap.

Other minor annoyances were the fact there wasn't any mosquito repellent device in the room, usually its nice to have that electrical thing to keep them away, and from my experience most places in Bali do have something in the room to do this regardless of price point. Needless to say I did get a couple of bites but nothing awful.

All-in-all, this was a good place. I will return. The price is right, and if you land late at night in Bali and don't want to fork out a lot of money for a resort for that night, then this place does the trick just perfectly to hold you over. I would even stay for more than one night. If you did stay longer, you could easily hit up Ku De Ta or Potato Head to chill for the day - you don't need a glitzy resort to do that. The Grey does have a pool but nothing large enough to enjoy in my opinion - a nice plunge pool is more or less all you get.

I look forward to returning here again someday.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SQ452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.9 mi away
bnb Style Hotel Seminyak
bnb Style Hotel Seminyak
#19 of 107 in Seminyak
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
1.8 mi away
U House Seminyak
U House Seminyak
#49 of 107 in Seminyak
4.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
0.9 mi away
d'Lumbung Residence
d'Lumbung Residence
#64 of 107 in Seminyak
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Summerhome Umasari Bed & Breakfast
0.9 mi away
The Studio Bali
The Studio Bali
#10 of 107 in Seminyak
4.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
2.2 mi away
Villa Bunga Hotel & Spa
Villa Bunga Hotel & Spa
#12 of 107 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grey Boutique Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grey Boutique Inn

Property: The Grey Boutique Inn
Address: Jalan Dewi Sri, Access - The Grand Kuta Residence Lane no 8x, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Grey Boutique Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Grey Boutique Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grey Boutique Inn Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing