We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mild comfort.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Grey Boutique Inn
Ranked #37 of 107 Seminyak B&B and Inns
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Mild comfort.”
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Stayed for 4 nights on arrival. Location... well, not as close to the beach and shops as you would hope. Quite hard to find, in fact the taxi from airport let us down in the wrong hotel next door! I think the name was "Grand Kuta". Rather grand that we'd hope that we've booked that one instead of The Grey. But overall, staff are friendly and helpful. We've managed to book a tour guide and driver through them.

Walking into the room, it's like what most other reviewers have mentioned: straight into the bathroom. Then through another sliding door, you'll get to the bedroom with really basic settings. A king-sized bed, tv set (no dvd players) with minimal channels selections and a tiny fridge. Hairdryer and a kettle is provided for convenience too. Yes, room is quite dark unless you open the curtain to invite the full sunlight in. Night time, unfortunately, have to unplugged some lightings to give way to charging battery and boiling water etc. Bed is quite comfirtable though, and we got extra blanket when asked for it. Air-con worked fine, but there's no water heater in the shower.

Would say you can get better bargain with better attractions elsewhere. Which explains why there weren't many guests seen during our stayed. Was told by staff that you could take a 20 mins stroll down the beach, but we never tried. Swimming pool is quite small I doubt that anyone would be tempted to soak in it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Memphia77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    38
    17
    4
    2
See reviews for
8
24
11
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013 via mobile

I spent one night here, intending to spend two. Very cool modern simple design. Free wifi worked in room. TV with several channels. Fridge and pot to boil water, hair dryer, shampoo and body soap. Air con was ok-- not powerful but worked ok throughout the night.

Very Comfy bed!!! Had a room on the 2nd floor with balcony. I had a regular door to enter the room, but after entering, you are immediately in the toilet and shower area! Next there was a sliding wood door to open and then enter the studio style room. I found it a bit dark-- dim lights which look nice but aren't good to read by. In the day, the sliding door to the balcony is the only window light for the room. If the curtains are open, you don't have much privacy as it faces direct to the street below and anyone sitting across or in cars parked or in the house across can look in. Be nice if they added some sheer drapes to be able to open for light and still get some privacy.

I had issues with my shower water not ever getting hot. Not cold, not quite warm either.

Also be nice if more plug outlets, as you must unplug a light in order to use the hot water pot or charge your batteries, etc.

Room was clean enough, but still had some tiny ants in the bathroom and someone's hair around toilet area. Towels were well worn and need replacing. Bedding was clean but had stains/ spots which happen with wear/time. Pool is small but nice to just sit and cool off in, however it is right next to the reception area. Sadly no lounge chairs to relax in by the pool, although no space maybe.

The staff was very welcoming, friendly and hospitable. Seemed to be more Indonesian guests.

For me, I found the location inconvenient since I was walking or having to take a taxi. It was pretty quiet at night. It took me 30-45 min to walk to the beach ( Double 6) along a busy road with too many motorbikes making it impossible to cross the road at times. If you have transport it would be 5-10 min. to the beach. With transport, it's easy to go to Kuta or Seminyak since you are right in the middle but just farther back from the beach areas.

Across from The Grand Kuta which is next door, you can find a Mc Donald's, Starbucks, Cold Stone Creamery, and a Japanese restaurant. There was also a convenience store around that same area.

I would only stay here again if I had my own transport. Otherwise for the same price, or cheaper you can find nice places closer to cafes, shopping/ beach areas.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ozzykhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
116 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

The hotel has unique design with simple and minimalism. The room is clean with big bed, shower room in front of the toilet is the first part of the room when we enter in, and balcony outside. Wondering this hotel would be perfect if the location is in front of the beach. The location quite far from the beach, so maybe you need a ride to go to the closest beach. But the location is very strategic, right to the city (sunset road, denpasar, dll) and left to the beaches (kuta, seminyak, doublesix). People there are very nice, only the swimming pool is poor and they dont have breakfast or food service.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swiradja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Like the title of my review, the room rate is very reasonable. So much so that I booked a room to myself instead of bunking in with the rest of my party.

The hotel was a little hard to hunt down because it's tucked away on a quiet street, our driver was going round and round till we finally found it. Because of it's location, our stay was a tranquil one. There's a food square just across the road some 3 minutes walk away which has an American restaurant, McDonalds, Starbucks, a Japanese restaurant and somemore that I couldn't recall. If you walk down the road, you will come across a nice standalone spa as well.

Sadly, we did not get to experience the spa because we arrived on the eve of Nyepi Day - Bali practically comes to a halt on this festival as the Hindus observe a day of silence. So if you are planning to travel in March, be sure to check if your trip falls on Nyepi day. All restaurants close early to prepare for Nyepi which happens from midnight onwards, the spa was fully booked till 5pm on Nyepi eve and closed thereafter... you get the drift.

Back to the hotel - room was clean, comfortable and tastefully done. I did not have mosquito problems like the rest of the reviewers. My room was on the ground level so I had an open shower. The pool is small and looks slightly murky so we did not risk a dip in it.

If I don't intend to splurge on a villa on my next Bali visit, I probably will stay here again.

Room Tip: I liked my ground floor room with the open shower concept.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taraonhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Good budget choice if you don't mind taking taxis or mototaxis.
Stayed there for 2 nights mostly because of the price but also because we didn't plan to spend much time in the hotel (diving every day) so the amenities didn't matter much. There is a very small pool. The rooms are "designed" but unless you are into this kind of stuff, it doesn't really matter. To enter the room you use a sliding glass door which is also the only window so in this respect your privacy is compromised unless you keep the curtains closed all the time. Perhaps 2nd floor is better (I don't know, didn't check).
Taxis are cheap in Bali but the hotel is located a bit far. The staff is all young guys and they to their best. There is a little corner store on the main road.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacektravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We stayed for 3 days & 2 nights for our honeymoon. The taxi driver found it a little difficult to find the location as it's a new hotel and it's best if you say it's located behind Grand Kuta hotel to give them a brief idea. The room given we stayed was the one right above the reception with the spacious balcony. WE LOVED IT! apart from the lightings, we really liked the room, atmosphere and most importantly their member of staffs who were very friendly and helpful. We also rented a motorbike for Rs50,000/day. Regarding the motorbike, make sure it's new and the helmets are the adult ones with clips. The hotel is approx.. 70m away from Mc D, Starbucks and so on.. so no worries about food :) Swimming pool is small and not deep. It's suitable for kids. What you see on the website is what you get. I would assure you on that :)

This stay was purchased via Groupon.my. Part of the deal states that we should have received welcome drinks and also a 50% off for spa services. Both of these were not mentioned nor provided. So please ensure you get what you've paid for.. Besides that, we truly enjoyed our stay and we are definitely looking forward to stay again in future..

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prawnoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

this is really long overdue, but we would love to thank the staff at the grey boutique inn for the amazing service last october. we switched our room from 1st floor to 2nd floor (as the bathroom on 1st floor is open air concept, and we lost a huge battle to the mosquitoes) without any problem, and we love the super comfortable king size bed and spacious room. we rented a bike from the desk and they delivered it to the hotel in less than 30 mins. the pool was a little small but why go to pool when you are surrounded by the beautiful bali beaches? there's fridge, dryer, amenities and enough towels to go around for us, and we love how it's not smack in the middle of busy kuta street so we can enjoy some tranquility. we missed our flight unfortunately, and when we came back to the hotel without informing them, the staff put us right back to our old room on discounted rates and was extremely helpful when we have to arrange flights. overall, one of the most best value and clean boutique hotel you'll ever find in bali. definitely staying here again :)

Room Tip: email the hotel beforehand especially if you're staying for more than 5 days. they gave us a dis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xmelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.9 mi away
bnb Style Hotel Seminyak
bnb Style Hotel Seminyak
#18 of 107 in Seminyak
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
1.8 mi away
U House Seminyak
U House Seminyak
#48 of 107 in Seminyak
4.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
0.9 mi away
d'Lumbung Residence
d'Lumbung Residence
#64 of 107 in Seminyak
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Summerhome Umasari Bed & Breakfast
0.9 mi away
The Studio Bali
The Studio Bali
#11 of 107 in Seminyak
4.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
2.2 mi away
Villa Bunga Hotel & Spa
Villa Bunga Hotel & Spa
#13 of 107 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grey Boutique Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grey Boutique Inn

Property: The Grey Boutique Inn
Address: Jalan Dewi Sri, Access - The Grand Kuta Residence Lane no 8x, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Grey Boutique Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Grey Boutique Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grey Boutique Inn Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing