We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A treasure filled oasis”

Folkart Gallery Bali
Ranked #31 of 66 things to do in Seminyak
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: “If the Forbidden City had an attic it would be a lot like Folkart Gallery. Remarkable Asian Art from the farthest corners of Asia. Burmese art, textiles, tribal wearable art, altars and shrines, new and collectable jewelry. Cards, journals, essential oils , from the heart of the people that produced them. They reveal the better angels of our nature. It is a welcome haven from the storm of ghastly goods”.
Palo Alto, CA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A treasure filled oasis”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

This little shop is a true standout amongst the beachware and tourist tat shops that increasingly populate Seminyak. We wandered in almost by accident and were immediately entranced by the gorgeous art and jewelry, sourced from India, Burma, Indonesia, and even Japan. Linda, the owner, is great fun to talk to and very knowledgeable and passionate about SE Asian art and culture. She was happy to show us different textiles and antiques with absolutely no pressure to buy.

A souvenir means so much more when you know the story behind it and make a personal connection with the person whom you are buying it from. Also, after getting to know Linda, we felt confident in the high quality of the pieces that we purchased (for a very fair price). A true gem in Bali - we will be sure to visit on our next trip!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank sayvarelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    1
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
117 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Class act”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

This lovely upmarket gallery is a treasure trove of a wonderful mix of antique and tasteful homewares and jewerlly. Linda is very helpful and is a great character who is extremely knowledgeable .
Highly recommended.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank seniors2Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful jewellery, antique artifacts and textiles”
Reviewed 20 May 2013

We went to this shop twice, having stumbled across it when walking in Seminyak. There is handmade jewellery, some fashioned from antique beads and gems, beautiful textiles from around the world as well as ceremonial folk-art and items. We met the owner Linda and were impressed by her friendliness and knowledge. Gorgeous items, we will endeavour to visit when we are lucky enough to travel to Bali again.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank JBjellybeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrenceville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Folkart Gallery Bali”
Reviewed 7 August 2012

While wandering around the crazy streets of Seminyak I happened upon an oasis just around the corner from the Oberoi Hotel. It's an amazing shop called the Folkart Gallery and it's really like a mini-museum of Asian antiques and ceremonial art. But the best part for the weary traveler is Linda, the owner, who stands ready for a helpful chat with a glass of cool water and a seat in her air-conditioned haven. Not only can she tell you the back story on all the amazing things in her shop, she can also tell you all kinds of things that are handy to know about the area including a good driver to take you around, a nice inexpensive guest house to stay in, and how to locate a traditional Balinese healer. Treat yourself and check out the Folkart Gallery! You won't be sorry.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Teri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda B, Owner at Folkart Gallery Bali, responded to this review, 10 August 2012
Thank you Terri for the kind words. it was good to meet you and hear about your desires and the experiences you were looking for on your Bali trip.
I'm hoping to see you here again.
My Best,Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great collection! I kept going back for more”
Reviewed 17 July 2012

There is so much to see in the shop you need to go back a few times to take it all in. I'm back in Bali two weeks in September. It will be my first stop for shopping. I am planning on sending back a create this year to London.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank MichaelMcvay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda B, Manager at Folkart Gallery Bali, responded to this review, 27 July 2012
Dear Mr. Michael Mc.Vay,

Thank you for being a valuable customer for us. It is such a great pleasure to know that we are going to be your first stop for shopping on your next visit. Please do so. A lot of things that we have in Folkart Gallery Bali are waiting for you

Regards,
Santi Tandhaputra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Folkart Gallery Bali also viewed

 

Been to Folkart Gallery Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing