We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Villa” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Seminyak Icon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Seminyak Icon
Ranked #6 of 141 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Napier, New Zealand
1 review
“Amazing Villa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2012

As previous reviewers have commented, our experience was equally as good. We stayed 8 nights in a one bed room villa, with own pool. The privacy and quietness was amazing, the pool was great , no clorine smells, and cystall clear water. The day bed and living area suits all situations. Great shower, with new razor/ toothbrush etc daily. The air conditioning in the bedroom felt like it needed to be a couple of degrees cooler.The staff are great, friendly, happy and just want to help, couldnt fault them at all. We ate at the restaurant daily for breakfast ( rather than the room) , as we liked the interaction with the staff. The food was again very good, good service, if i could complain the juices could do with more juice and less water. We had 8 bottle of water available daily !!!! plus 8 cans drink complimentary when we arrived.The location for us was great, 5 minute walk to Bali Deli, and through the local walkways 15 minutes to Saminyak square, our closest expresso shop( turn left out of the villas, take the first lane to the left and then left, 5 minutes).If you are into Botique clothing and furniture shops, they are near by.
A story on how good the service is : I bought a day old paper from a motor bike seller for 20000 Rup on the last morning, on leaving the villa to travel by taxi to ubud ( one hour trip) i left the paper on the desk, 3 hours after arriving at our villa in Ubud, a knock on the door, and the paper was delivered !!!! They knew where we were staying in Ubud, because Ronald ( on his suggestion) rang the villa in Ubud asking if they had a free pickup service.
My only complaint: You have 3 keys, front door/living room/bedroom would make it so much easier, especially afer a couple of Bintangs to be on one key.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
winawan, General Manager at Seminyak Icon, responded to this review, 1 November 2012
Dear "Anne B"

Thank you very much for sharing your holiday experience with SEMINYAK ICON at tripadvisor.com. It is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay very much, made of genuine sincere service from our team members, the beautiful pool villas and the food service. Our location is indeed prime, away from the hustle and bustle of the road and yet within walking distance to restaurants, fashion boutiques and the beach. I highly value your suggestion over the villa's key where i will address within department in the hotel. We very much look forward to welcoming you again.

Warmest regards,

Wayan Winawan
Corporate General Manager - KARANIYA EXPERIENCE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    268
    41
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
52
180
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012 via mobile

We booked two nights and I write this from our villa that is just too nice, we don't want to leave!!!

The villas are brand new, immaculately clean, shiny and lovely with everything you could want.

The staff are outstanding and very helpful- in fact they have been magically refreshing our room twice daily when we are out, providing new towels and restocking the (free) mini bar as well as lighting mozzie coils and turning the bed down. I was worried (only slightly) that there was nowhere to hang our wet towels but this problem was solved by just replacing them!

We have had breakfast served in our villa from the varied menu (mee goreng to eggs Benedict) with your choice of fresh juice, coffee, fruits and a main. They arrived on time and the food was tasty.

A town car service is also available with the staff happy to take us wherever, whenever and they picked us up from our hotel and will take us to the airport. The staff are all well dressed, the car brand new and the classical music a nice touch.

They have also assisted with dinner reservations and kept in touch via email before we left home.

The villas are exactly as you see on the net with a few nice touches such as robes, plenty of amenities, fresh fruit and the never ending supply of water and the free mini bar. The wifi works throughout the villa.

The location is not in Seminyak 'proper' (as in near the beach, shops and eat street) however is only a few minutes by car or taxi ($2aud) to Seminyak Square, 10 minutes to Sarong restaurant and 10 minutes to Legian Street. Tip, most taxis don't know the hotel so just mention Bali Deli and they will get you home as its at the end of the laneway of the villas.

There are plenty of brand new villas next door with more under construction in the vicinity so I'm sure it won't be long before the area gets busier.

For relaxation, peace and solitude, this is the place. We haven't seen any other guests so have felt like we had the place to ourselves and have enjoyed just relaxing in the quiet. I'm sure it will get busier so book now before the secret gets out and you have to share the driver and the other staff!!!

We wouldn't hesitate to recommend and were so pleased to arrive to a place that not only looked identical to the website but was as good as expected.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miss_gonewest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
winawan, General Manager at Seminyak Icon, responded to this review, 12 October 2012
Dear "miss_gonewest"

We thank you very much for your review. It is our pleasure to read that your stay with us was fabulously enjoyable, from the immaculately clean new pool villa, the tasty food, the wide selection of breakfast and the service level rendered by our team members during your stay. We wish to take this opportunity to inform you that we have just add our number of cars for the free drop off service to the beach and other restaurants while as you have said there are plenty of boutiques and restaurants which just about 5 minutes walk. Once again thank you very much for taking your valued time to write your review. Hope to see you again on your future visit to Bali.

Kind regards,

Wayan Winawan
Corporate General Manager - KARANIYA EXPERIENCE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
53 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2012

The pictures do give a fair expectation of what the villa would look like. Our experience on arrival wasn't that great, but the exceptional staff made all the difference and more than made up for it. Haven't been to Bali for 3 years, and the level of English in Bali overall has improved dramatically. Way better than Jakarta.

Here are some of my hits & misses from my personal experience

Hits:
The staff - awesome! They remembered our names, know which villa we're from and we're greeted every time we pass the entrance (that includes front desk, F&B, maintenance and security staff) Mena (front desk manager, not sure if i spelt her name correctly) was very friendly and helpful all the time.
Extra service - we wanted to get to the nearest motorbike rental place, and instead, they brought them to us, at appx US$5 per day. Fantastic
Breakfast - a nice selection of breakfast items, from the western eggs in all variations to pastry basket to indonesian breakfast. They are also willing to make minor changes to items you want: eg: fruit salad that you don't want a certain kind of fruit, etc. Oh... and breakfast is pretty substantial too and on time... in fact usually 5-10mins early.
The spa! - wasn't much to look at in terms of ambience, but we tried the 4 hands massage (2 persons working simultaneously on you at the same time) was a solidly fantastic massage! And at a pretty good price too, comparing to down the street Prana Spa (overall a better massage than Prana). You could have the massage in your villa too.
Wifi had a bit of problem, but generally all around the resort you could get Wifi. In fact, within the resort, Wifi was better than 3G
Extra touches - we came back to an night of nicely scattered frangipanis on the bedroom floor, and a flower bath in the tub waiting for me... guess its their way of saying Happy Birthday
The complimentary shuttle service - we only required 2 shuttles - one from villa to a restaurant in pettitinget, and another on check-out from villa to airport. Was a nice touch
Complimentary mini bar - 8 cans of drinks (including 2 beers) + 8 (500ml) bottles of water. More than you would need.
Convenience - Bali Deli was just around the corner, about 5mins walk through unpaved roads which pretty much would have everything you need. Oh. the selection of cheeses there is pretty great.
Lap pool size was pretty good for a small villa. Only complaint is that our daybed only got afternoon sun, and in the morning when we wanted to tan, there wasn't much options available.

Misses:
For a almost brand new property, there are lots of physical aspects that needs to be brushed up on. Scratch marks and uneven paint can already been seen from a month-old property.
Room service menu (not breakfast) was mediocre, and presentation of food was mediocre too
F&B (breakfast) consistency - some days the servings were much larger than other days, but in all, a really substantial breakfast.
Sheets in the room could be of a higher quality (threadcount) but bed and pillows were generally comfortable
Air condition problem - the first villa we checked in to had air-conditioning problems - something you wouldn't expect of a brand new villa
We didn't like the fragrance for the shampoo/shower gel/conditioner/lotion collection. Smelt like javanese massage oils which i wasn't really too keen on, but its just personal preference. Would have preferred it if it smelt more spa like.
Wifi had a little nagging problem for the first night, but they offered options while they got it fixed. Good enough for me.

Overall, a wonderful experience for taking a risk booking a property that hasn't been reviewed yet.
Kudos to all the staff, I would imagine that in a year's time, Seminyak Icon would be full all the time and everything would be seamless and perfect.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JazzyJas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
winawan, General Manager at Seminyak Icon, responded to this review, 25 September 2012
Dear "JazzyJaz"

Thank you very much for the high credit you made to our team members that their five stars exceptional service made a difference to your entire stay. I am happy to hear how much you enjoyed your time with us, the villa, your very own private pool, the massage and the in villa breakfast. We highly value your comments and suggestions on some issues. I will immediately liaise with all departments in the hotel and we are committed to resolve each point you made. Please accept our most sincere apologies and our commitment to using your feedback to constantly improve and to enhance the experience for all of our guests. We are happy to inform you that our restaurant and spa are now fully open. Once again thank you very much for your review and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Warmest regards,

Wayan Winawan
Corporate General Manager - KARANIYA EXPERIENCE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2012

Into our third day at the Seminyak icon. Very impressed with the villa. It is just as their photos show on their web site. Private villas with own pool, you can swim and sun bake to your hearts content in absolute privacy. Even enjoy a yummy breakfast in your villa. Ideal for honeymooners. Bathrooms huge, each room has its own spacious bathroom with all amenities including daily replenished toothbrush, toothpaste, razor, ect. Outdoor sun lounges with plenty of space around pool. Just loved it and the friendly staff.

Room Tip: Make sure you confirm your pick up from airport a day or two before. All villas are new
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie93b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
winawan, General Manager at Seminyak Icon, responded to this review, 25 September 2012
Dear "Bonnie93b"

Thank you for taking the time to share your holiday experience at SEMINYAK ICON on tripadvisor and I am very happy to find that your stay with us was very impressive and to hear you very much enjoyed your time with us. All of our villas jeweled by its own private pool where we believe also present great value and deliver what you possibly expect as a holiday maker. We are excited and truly look forward to welcoming you soon again.

Happy days,

Wayan Winawan
Corporate General Manager - KARANIYA EXPERIENCE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2012

This is property was brand newly opened in early/mid August 2012 and exceeded all our expectations... My partner and I recently stayed here in mid August. Everything about the place was superb… from the free transfer from the airport with cold towels and ice cold water; to the ease of in-room check-in; to the personal attention throughout our stay; we were made to feel warmly welcomed.

We were impressed with what we saw on their property's website and of all their professional photos when we booked direct getting a great deal, and as is often the case with a new place we hoped what we saw online was actually a fair representation… let me say it was all that and much more.

Excellent included in-villa breakfasts with a nice selection from the usual traditional Indonesian fare (Nasi Goreng and Mee Goreng etc.) to fresh fruits and yoghurts and great omelettes.

I believe we were the first to stay in our Villa and it was great! Nicely finished with great cross section of materials like local woods and stonework. A nice garden area overlooking the large lap pool (perfect for cooling off) with a large day bed area with comfy cushions. There was a comfortable lounge area next to the kitchen, and the bedroom was tastefully appointed. The bed was uber comfortable with great pillows that opened up onto the pool for a quick midnight dip. Off the bedroom area was a large bathroom with deep bath and separate shower area with lovely local stone. The bedroom had a quiet a/c (as well as the kitchen /lounge area).

The girls at reception were great in helping us book dinners at Sardine (in our opinion the best restaurant in Seminyak), orgabising/providing free shuttles to Seminyak area, as well helping us book a 2 hour spa treatments at the nearby Prana Spa. We also had in-villa massages on our last day and they were even better than those had at Prana!

A great (free) afternoon tea that was different every day was also included.

Just around the corner (literally a 3 minute walk) is Bali Deli with some great French pastries and other supplies if needed.

We highly recommend these new Seminyak Icon Villas and I wouldn't hesitate to to stay there again the next time we return to Bali. Just awesome.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sabdesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
winawan, General Manager at Seminyak Icon, responded to this review, 25 September 2012
Dear "sabdesign"

I am delighted to read your review and to know how much you love your recent stay with us, right from the moment you arrive to the service rendered by our team members till the time you depart. It was a true pleasure to have you staying with us on our opening phase and I am delighted to inform you that our restaurant and spa are now fully open which I believe would make your next stay even more exciting. Once again thank you very much for taking the time to post your review and we all look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Wayan Winawan
Corporate General Manager - KARANIYA EXPERIENCE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

Had a great experience at Seminyak Icon. The staff was magnificent. We were the first people in the villa as the property had just opened. Given the circumstances, it was flawless and would recommend it highly.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RangoMa55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
winawan, General Manager at Seminyak Icon, responded to this review, 25 September 2012
Dear "RangoMa55"

Thank you very much for taking your valued time to write a review and share your experience of your recent stay with us. It was a pleasure having you with us here at SEMINYAK ICON as one of our first guest, we are honored. I am delighted to know that your stay with us was wonderful and glad to find you loved the service performed by our team members. We are all excited and look forward to welcoming you again on your future holiday in Bali.

Warmest regards,

Wayan Winawan
Corporate General Manager - KARANIYA EXPERIENCE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
1.0 mi away
The Kunja Villas & Spa
The Kunja Villas & Spa
#2 of 141 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cicada Luxury Townhouses
Cicada Luxury Townhouses
#5 of 141 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Trans Resort Bali
The Trans Resort Bali
#13 of 141 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
#4 of 141 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,711 reviews
1.5 mi away
W Bali - Seminyak
W Bali - Seminyak
#25 of 141 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seminyak Icon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seminyak Icon

Property: Seminyak Icon
Address: Jl. Bali Deli (Jln. Dewi Madri), Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#6 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Seminyak Icon 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrating the laid-back vibe and island charm of Bali, SEMINYAK ICON is a stylish all villa retreat designed to anticipate your desires as a modern traveller. Each villa embodies the spirit of tropical living, cocooned within the walls of a Balinese inspired compound featuring a private swimming pool, relaxing daybed facilities, essential home comforts, native greenery and all the personal touches that really count. Strategically located in Seminyak, the villa compounds arranged like a small village where there is a true sense of belonging. SEMINYAK ICON is within easy walking distance to a host of popular restaurants, famous local eatery and fashionable boutiques. Vibrant nightlife venues are just a quick ride away with our complimentary drop-off service, so too is a long stretch of sunset beach for leisure-filled days spent soaking up Bali's carefree surf culture. Hospitality at SEMINYAK ICON is warm and welcoming in a way that is uniquely Balinese. With a friendly team on duty around the clock, nothing is ever too much trouble. SEMINYAK ICON is another exclusive collection of Karaniya Experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Seminyak Icon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seminyak Icon Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing