We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A great villa, that won't disappoint...”
other travellers have booked this property
pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
pool
Living room Pool View
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
pool
Living room
Pool View
Sun chairs
pool
Living Room
Living room
Garden view
Garden
Living room
Living room
Kitchen
Kitchen
Rice Field View
Guest Room Garden
Garden
Garden
Main Entrace
Garden
Main Gate
Garden
Guest Room
Dining
Dining
Gas Stove
Bathroom
Twin Bed
Twin bedrooms
Master Room
Master Room
Master Room
Master Room
Master Room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Seminyak, Kuta District, Bali

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
spring t
North Pole, Alaska
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A great villa, that won't disappoint...”
Reviewed 26 July 2017 for a stay in May 2017
4
people found this review helpful

After the exhaustive process of trying to pick the ideal villa to stay in for 5 days, we finally settled on the Gajah Villa (which is owned by an Australian couple). In the end, it had all the right features, at the right price, and seemingly good location (more on that later).

While researching the villa I was surprised to see hardly any reviews and videos, which is the main reason for this review.

Firstly, about the property itself. There are just 2 villas side by side, plus a small office area out the front where the staff reside. I’d done enough research to know the villas aren’t identical, and since we were travelling as two couples, I made a special request for the villa with 4 sun chairs (the other villa only has 2 chairs). Other than that, the villas appear to be the same in every other way.

Upon check-in the friendly staff gave us a full tour, explaining where everything is, and how things work. Then sat us down to discuss our daily breakfast orders. It was at this point, we were informed the room rate only came with continental breakfast, and if we wanted ‘hot’ meals, that would be extra. (I later checked my travel documents and it did say ‘continental’, so it pays to check the fine detail). In any case, adding a freshly cook breakfast was only a few dollar extra each per day, so we got them to add it to our bill. And we’re really glad we opted in, as the hot breakfasts were excellent, plus we still got the toast and fruit that was with the continental breaky.

The villa is only a few years old so everything is in great order, and the style is a modern twist on traditional Bali. It features the typical open plan living area with the main lounge and kitchen area, and two full size separate bedrooms. Unlike previous ‘outdoor style’ villas we’ve stayed in, this one has floor to ceiling glass sliding doors on two main walls, that offer the option of the outdoorsie style living, or closing them up at night, to control the temperature, and keep the bugs out.

There is one main air conditioner (plus ceiling fans), which I felt struggled to keep this large area cool enough on some of the 30+ degree days, but it wasn’t unbearable. The living area features an L-shaped lounge, a decent size TV, and a nice touch was the Bluetooth speaker which we made lots of use of, both indoors and out.

The outdoor area features an excellent pool, that was always clean. There is also a small garden area where the sun deckchairs are. The villa backs onto a huge rice paddock, which I’m sure looks great in certain seasons, but during our stay is was nothing more than a paddock of mud.

The kitchen is well kitted out, with full cooking facilities, plus a chilled/hot water dispenser, microwave, toaster and full size fridge. There was everything you’d need to cook and serve up any sort of meal.

The bedrooms are very spacious, with huge wardrobes and other storage spaces. The bed was firm but comfortable. And not only is it made every day as part of the thorough cleaning of the villa by staff, but they offer a nightly turn down service too. Each bedroom also features an air conditioner and ceiling fan, another TV and another Bluetooth speaker too. Both bedrooms feature an ensuite, which again, is spacious and well kitted out with all the amenities you’d expect in a hotel bathroom. The only down side was the notable lack of water pressure in the shower.

WiFi is complimentary, though it struggled with streaming video content most days, and there were even times when it didn’t work. Though it worked fine for basic emailing, etc.

Fresh bottled water is replaced daily in the bathrooms and on the bedsides.

The actual location of the Villa is at the end of a fairly long laneway which sees you pass half a dozen or so other villas. One benefit of this is the tranquil setting of being not wedged in between other villas which means peace and quiet but also a bit of a trek to get to the main action on the main road. I know this isn’t anything the villa staff can do anything about, but there are a few stray dogs constantly out on the street and on the laneway, which bark at you, but none of them appeared dangerous. There is also poor lighting in the laneway, which isn’t great at night. Again it's not something the villa can do much about.

At the top of the laneway there is a handy Circle K mini market, and then it’s another 10-15 minute walk either left or right once on the main street to where the closest decent shopping and restaurants are located. And as taxis are so cheap, getting to places such as Potato Head or Ku De Ta, or even into Kuta/Legian doesn’t cost much.

The staff are one of the best features of the villas. From their morning welcoming smiles, and freshly cooked breakfast, to checking in everyday to see if we needed anything, such as booking tours for us. Even on the first day, I’d left a bag in the transport we caught from the airport, and they helped me get it back! Obviously English is not their first language, so communication was sometimes tricky, but they made every effort to assist however they could. You are even given a mobile phone to use during your stay, for making local calls or contacting staff if you happen to be out and about.

If you’re interested, I’ve also made a video tour of the villa. Just search ‘Gajah Villas - Seminyak, Bali’ on youtube

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarahadam...
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Really quite perfect villa, location and staff!”
Reviewed 16 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

PROS
A luxury retreat in a great spot of Seminyak with rice paddy views. Amazing!! Wonderful, warm staff. The breakfasts are delicious. Location is fantastic, close to great restaurants and shopping. The pool is perfect. The living space is open and spacious and luxurious. I would stay here again and again and again!!!

Cons
This is not really a con, just a family preference.
The second bedroom is quite separate to the main living space and master bedroom. My youngest child was a bit nervous so we ended up sharing with a kid each.
Mosquito nets would be a nice addition over the beds.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
susiefrom...
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“WONDERFUL VILLA”
Reviewed 26 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017
3
people found this review helpful

You would be hard pressed to find any fault with these Villas

Great decor, pools ,beds ,bathrooms and attention to detail!Every comfort taken care of !

The Villa is very centrally located to the main areas Seminyak , short walk.

The staff at the Villas are so helpful ,nothing is a problem.They will book massage,restaurants ,drivers etc , ....All done for you.
Everyday a beautiful breakfast is provided in the tariff.

Wen were very happy with our stay here,was perfect!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jun 2017
Dear Happy Guest,

Lovely Greetings from Gajah Villas Bali Managed by Nagisa Bali
Thank you so much for your positive feedback. We are so pleased that enjoyed your recent stay with us here. We hopefully your travel Bali again and be sure let us know when you're coming so we can reserve your favorite Villa for you.

We also will pass your kind comment regarding our Villa staff & service, sure they will happy to hear that. Thank you So much!

Best Regards,
Mei Lin ( Sales & Marketing )
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ruthtighe...
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Bali Holiday”
Reviewed 21 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017
2
people found this review helpful

From the moment I walked into the stunning villa I knew I would have a wonderful week . The staff were there to greet us warmly and throughout the week they looked after us beautifully each and every day . They were always helpful , friendly , polite and hospitable. Beds were very comfortable, perfect air conditioning , spacious rooms , refreshing pool and a delicious breakfast prepared and cooked for the four of us each morning . What more could you ask for !
The Vila was in a great position ...close to fabulous restaurants and shops . It is so easy to catch cabs in Bali and they are very inexpensive . The staff were happy to book cabs for short trips or longer day trips.All in all a fantastic stay in a very comfortable and first class Villa .I will be back . Thank you

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jun 2017
Dear Happy Guest,

Lovely Greetings from Gajah Villas Bali Managed by Nagisa Bali
Thank you so much for your positive feedback. We are so pleased that enjoyed your recent stay with us here. We hopefully your travel Bali again and be sure let us know when you're coming so we can reserve your favorite Villa for you.

We also will pass your kind comment regarding our Villa staff & service, sure they will happy to hear that. Thank you So much!

Best Regards,
Mei Lin ( Sales & Marketing )
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cronksy
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Loved this villa ”
Reviewed 19 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016
2
people found this review helpful

LOVED IT!!!
This villa is exactly as the photos show! We all (4 adults) loved this villa. The location was perfect, you could relax in the peaceful surrounds however the Main Street is only a short walk away.

The staff were all outstanding and nothing was to much hassle, the rooms always cleaned to a high standard and the daily breakfasts which were prepared in the kitchen were amazing.

The villa is set up with everything you need, kitchen, tv, DVD player, fans, air con and a beautiful pool to relax in.

We can't wait to return to Gajah Villa.

Thank you to all of your staff.
Melissa
Kathleen
Rhys
Beau

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jan 2017
Dear cronsky,
Thank you for your nice review on Gajah Villas Bali. We are very glad to hear that you had a great stay and that you enjoyed our villa and staff. This feedback supports us a lot, thank you very much. Please come visit us again for another amazing stay in Bali. Take care. Regards, Emma
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
heidijon
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hassle free Bali Holiday”
Reviewed 9 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I would recommend Villa Gajah to anyone! Fantastic Villa with large well appointed rooms with air conditioning in all rooms. The pool was clean with lots of towels. Our in house meals cooked to perfection by Villa Gajah chef's in our kitchen, the service and care was truly amazing and the meals A+. The kitchen is self contained and even comes with its own water cooler, delivering clean office style water service. The location is terrific being a short walk to the main shops, restaurants and bars i.e. Potato Head, Corner House, Revolver Café, Water Bom park, Monkey forest etc. Villa Gajah can arrange transport with a safe trusted taxi driver at great rates. When we returned from an outings late at night, Villa Gajah staff were always waiting up for us, always ready to assist. Thank you again all Villa Gajah staff! Heidi,John,Grace and Harry.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Friendly service and well appointed Villa
Liked least: Three different door keys
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Nov 2016
Dear Heidi, John, Grace and Harry
Greetings from Gajah Bali Villas Managed by Nagisa Bali
Thank you very much for sharing your travel experience you had with us. Glad to hear that you enjoyed stay in our Villa. We always offer the best service for all of our valued guest.
Just let us know when you will back to stay again. We will happy to served you more better !
Will pass your kind comment regarding staff service, meals, and their assistance, sure they will happy to hear that.

Sincerely
Mei Lin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily D
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I can't wait to come back!”
Reviewed 29 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This Villa is amazing! We (3 girls) stayed for a week and did not want to leave at the end of it.

The photos are a true reflection of what the villa looks like. It is very spacious, clean and comfortable, plus the pool is huge. The villa is situated far enough away from eat street that you can't hear any traffic, however it is close enough to easily walk to all the main restaurants and beach. There is also a beautiful view of the rice paddies.

The staff at this villa are exceptional and made for a worry free holiday. They organised all our transport, dinner bookings and in house massages - I highly recommend these.

We will be booking with Gajah Villas again!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location, pool
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Sep 2016
Dear Emily,
Greetings from Gajah Villas Bali Managed by Nagisa Bali
Thank you very much for you sweet comment. Glad to hear that you enjoyed stay in our Villa. Just let us know when you will back to stay again. We will happy to served you more better !
Will pass your kind comment regarding our Villa staff & service, sure they will happy to hear that.
Sincerely,
Mei Lin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing