We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“More than I could have possibly dreamt”
other travellers have booked this property
Sunset at Villa Kaira
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sunset at Villa Kaira
The Pool The Beach at Villa Kaira
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
77 reviews
Sunset at Villa Kaira
The Pool
The Beach at Villa Kaira
The Living Room
The Guest Suites
The Master Suite
The Games Room
The Java Bedroom
Dining room
Bedrooms floating on the Lake
The Chinese Bedroom
The Grand Piano
The guest bedrooms
The Garden and Beach
The Villa Kaira Estate
The Kitchen
The Entertainment Room
The Walkway
The Java Room
The Entrance to Villa Kaira
The Temple at Villa Kaira
The Ocean Bedroom
The Sunset and Massage Daybed
The Inside Dining Room
Sunset At Villa Kaira
View to the Ocean
Sunset On Beach - Directly Outside Villa Kaira
Bathroom
Outdoor Bathroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Dressing Room
Upstairs Additional Living Area / Kids Play Area
The Beach - Directly Outside Villa Kaira
The Garden & Main House At Night
The Dining Room
The Bale By The Pool
A Massage By The Pool
Sunset at Villa Kaira
The Pool
The Shallow Koi & Turtle Lake
Romantic Wedding Venue
Romantic Wedding Venue
Romantic Wedding Venue
Romantic Wedding Venue
Romance Is In Air - A Magical Place
Romance Is In Air
Romantic Wedding Venue
Romantic Wedding Venue
Romantic Wedding Venue
Linen House Australia Photo Shoot
Sunset Drinks
Interior Magazine
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
7 Bedrooms, 8 Bathrooms, Sleeps 20
Seminyak, Kuta District, Bali

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 77 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“More than I could have possibly dreamt”
Reviewed 21 August 2016 for a stay in June 2016

I am unsure that I could adequately express the gratitude I have for Craig & his incredible team of people who work in the villas.
It was my 50th birthday & I had people flying in from all over the world to attend. From the very beginning Craig was 'on the ball' with his response & service, it was the reason I decided to stay in his villas.
However when we arrived at the villas, which are truly incredible in view, hospitality offered & location, I was overwhelmed. The villas are immaculate, the staff are incredibly kind & generous with their time & willingness to assist & the meals that were cooked amazing.
The location is perfect. You have an infinity pool that looks over the ocean, a short walk you are @ the newest beach club, which is amazing & within walking distance are some great little cafes that serve brilliant breakfasts, Japanese etc. The drive into Seminyak is no more than 20 minutes & there is always someone at the complex willing to take you there.
I would highly recommend these villas as would all those that stayed. I will return with friends as it now holds a very special place in my memories.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramasaura...
Mount Gambier, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect for our group”
Reviewed 1 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Villa Kaira was perfect for our group including a toddler and 5 year old. Beachfront, away from the carnage of Seminyak and Kuta with plenty of Cafe's etc around, including 'Finns Beach Club' (Amazing!) a 3min walk down the beach. Rooms were well presented, roomy, outdoor bathrooms, huge bed, great pool etc. Wayan (In house Chef) and his team produced great breakfasts and dinners on request! We were hoping for an Ash cloud on our final day... didn't happen.

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
louisa b
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
“Great stay!”
Reviewed 7 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We had a great stay at Craig's villa in Bali. Excellent service, friendly staff and perfect beach front location.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karleewal...
Gold Coast, Australia
1 review
“Perfect wedding and holiday”
Reviewed 1 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

I had my wedding at the Villa and it was amazing. I would not have changed a thing. The staff made it so easy throughout my stay and on the wedding day. The chef was amazing. Anything we needed was just a phone call away. The staff were so friendly and made our stay relaxed and happy. We will definitely be coming back. The only negative was the air conditioning crashed a few times, and the big beautiful doors were hard to open. But overall I was so happy.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TEA46
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
“A FABULOUS VILLA”
Reviewed 24 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Our extended family, consisting of 12 members with an age span from 18 months to 75 years, spent New Year’s plus five days in this beautifully located villa. We enjoyed being so close to the ocean, listening to the sound of the waves, feeling the ocean breeze and admiring the beautiful sunsets. Four of us were keen surfers and the rest were happy with just relaxing around the pool or getting massages at the nearby club.
The villa is spacious and comfortable and is perfect for a large family group with its five large bedrooms. The layout of the villa with the 2 guesthouses was perfect for our family, with two youngest members being particularly fascinated by the fish in the surrounding ponds. Two frogs were guarding the pond on the ocean-side and after rainfall it was great fun to watch all the mini frogs hopping around the pond.
The food was perfectly prepared and served, and all mineral waters and beers were always kept cool, and within close reach in the open kitchen.
We did experience some minor problems in contacting the house manager in the beginning and it took a day to get communication going with the staff, who thereafter did a perfect job. Our biggest problem was the driver’s lack of English skills, making it difficult to communicate, but this was solved immediately when he was replaced by a new driver with better English skills. However, they were both excellent drivers and we felt safe. We tried playing the grand piano, but it obviously needed tuning and repair.
In general, the house was nice and clean, but I should mention that the tiles in the master bathroom needed a thorough clean, and the AC could cool the room better. We all slept very well in the large and comfortable beds, and we were not bothered by mosquitos nor bed bugs.
Because of the small children most of us stayed around the villa and truly enjoyed it. We can absolutely recommend Villa Kaira as a dream place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The closeness to the ocean
Liked least: Swimming in the ocean was difficult because of the rough waves
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Mar 2016
Hi Torild
Thank you so much for booking with us and for taking the time to leave a review. I’m glad you really enjoyed your stay and location of the villa right on the beach with its stunning sunsets.
The staff loved looking after you all and commented what a lovely family you were and so courteous. Yes, many guests do love Wayan’s cooking, he’s such an excellent chef!
You’ll be glad to know we’ve now had the chance to machine clean the bathroom tiles. I’m very sorry for the miscommunication at the start of your stay with our manager but this was all reolved very quickly. The initial driver was a last minute substitute as our usual driver for the villa was ill but then all was resolved quickly too with your full satisfaction. Regarding the piano, we are awaiting the engineer from Jakarta to schedule us in to be able to restring the piano keys as it’s not a simple fix unfortunately, there is no-one in Bali who is able to do it.
Thank you and I look forward to seeing you and your lovely family in Bali again soon!
Regards, Craig
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica S
Bali, Indonesia
1 review
“Amazing stay”
Reviewed 15 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We booked the Villa Kiara at the last minute after having a problem with our other villa booking for Chinese New Year. The villa is on the front of the ocean and has lovely views and breezey from the ocean. The chef in the villa (Mr Wayan) was always around to make delicious food for us whenever we needed it. We did island tour to see all Bali which was very beautiful. Driver take us to all places that we choose to see. At night we see sunset over ocean ans staff always helpful to get any thing we need. We hope we come back next year.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeoft...
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Dirty and over rated”
Reviewed 19 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My friend and I did some research on Flipkey and there are many many options for Villa's in Bali, but we wanted to get more assurance as we were organising a retreat for a group of friends and we decided to pay for this Villa which was more expensive than average and had one of the most reviews (60+ reviews) which mostly scored it 4/5 and 5/5.

The service provided with this villa is very decent, Craig was prompt and friendly, and he gave us the contacts of the local villa manager and managed to arrange our pick up from the airport etc. Other services such as massages, bfast and lunch provided in the villa are all fairly decent. The location of the villa in the Canggu area is also very useful for hanging out and exploring the popular seminyak area, probably about 10mins drive away.

However, the villa is very old and it feels like its falling apart. Photos on the website look nice and grand, but seeing the villa in person was a totally different and unpleasant first impression. Some examples:

Whole place felt grimy and dirty (despite us seeing the staff mop the floors etc)
Friend of mine who stayed in the outside room got 50+ bed bug bites. (I had a few)
Bath tub in the masterbedroom had stains and didn't look clean at all (rust?)
Bathroom was mostly marble, but looked like need severe polishing and cleaning.
Bath towels had stains
Snooker table had cues that had no tips, made it impossible to play pool
Only the bedrooms and TV room had airconditioning, which made the main hall too hot to relax in the day. (Despite fans being in place)
The cabinets in the kitchen had all sorts of junk in the cabinet, making hygiene a real concern.
Sofas and seats had stains and just didn't look too inviting to hang out.
Guest bathroom in the main hall had cobwebs in the corners.
Gym was big but equipment was all rusted.
Staircase steps was worn and faded
Grand piano was damaged and can't be played as some keys were spoilt.

I felt bad choosing this place because my group of 7 felt very disappointed and was looking for a much nicer stay, and given this was USD895 per night, it was way over rated. I don't even think paying less would be acceptable as the issue is really about hygiene and cleanliness.

This villa is in a great location with good friendly local staff, but it seriously needs a major deep cleaning. I'm really surprised how the other previous guests gave it such high ratings. I've also read the reviews which had poor ratings and Craig's responses seem fair but also a bit defensive. Seems like the issue of cleanliness has been raised many times by many guests. Hopefully the owner would look into this and take corrective actions immediately and not mislead other guests into booking it until its resolved.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Cleanliness
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Feb 2016
Thank you for your comments regarding the villa, we do welcome constructive feedback on how we can improve the villa product and service experience of our guests. Please allow me to respond.
I acknowledge some of your issues raised but also have to take issue with some of your comments. I’m also very surprised that you have raised these issues only after you departed the villa and at no point in your stay did you email or flag any of these issues to me or our managers Hery or Evvi who work across our villas. You had all three of our mobile numbers as well as my email address. This meant we were not able to address any of these alleged issues quickly and while you were in the villa.
First, there were extremely heavy rains during your stay in the middle of our rainy season which caused a couple of the issues. We also have 7 full days blocked out of the villa’s calendar starting from 22nd Feb to do some routine and annual maintenance. This will address some of your routine concerns raised. The villa was completed in 2009 and so is only just over 6 years old and we invest a lot of money each year maintaining this villa. It is far from ‘falling apart’ and, with respect, this comment in your title is extremely unfair.
The staff do clean the villa each day and we also do a deep clean of the villa every so often. A cobweb in the guest bathroom can occur, it is a tropical island and cobwebs can be created in just an hour or so. Simply letting the staff know means that they can quickly clean and remove it.
We have contacted you privately to ask which bedroom the alleged bed bugs occurred as none were found and the mattresses are relatively new and in good working order. Again, our staff were not notified of this which really surprises me if it was true.
Someone in your group actually broke a piano string and key during your stay. We have now ordered the replacement parts to fix this problem. Similarly we have now fixed the snooker cue tip which your group broke. These things do occur and we have no problem fixing them, we just need to be told when they do.
The master bathroom Jacuzzi bath is clean and is not rusty, the colour of the marble floor is its natural colour. We have marble cleaner and machine which we use to clean the marble floors. Again, I’m surprised by your comments.
Since your stay, we have bought new bed linen and towels.
We clean the sofas and chair covers on a regular basis. The dining chairs actually have chair covers and one set is on while the other set is being cleaned. Several cupboards in the very large kitchen have items stored which are required for the kitchen and villa. This area is clean and tidy so again I’m surprised and confused by your comments.
There is a constant cool sea breeze coming off the sea in front of the villa which is architecturally designed for this breeze to flow constantly throughout large, sociable open plan living and dining area.
The sea breeze is very moist and can cause corrosion which we constantly address and maintain. The gym room is barely used but the equipment works fine. We find the guests visit the large gym and fitness rooms at the Canggu Club (www.cangguclub.com) to exercise and do yoga which is included in the villa rate.
Finally, problems do sometimes arise and when notified, we do try our very best to fix things and keep our guests happy at all times. Some guest groups though are never satisfied although thankfully this is a very rare occurrence.
The Villa Kaira Estate is the best value absolute beachfront 5 bedroom villa on the South-West coast. I’d like to think this is just one of the many reasons why we have a substantial number of bona fide positive reviews from many, many previous guest groups. They enjoy a great villa experience with amazing staff on the beach with stunning sea and sunset views at a great value price.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing