We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as other Seminyak restaurants.”
Review of Teatro Gastroteque

Teatro Gastroteque
Ranked #21 of 551 Restaurants in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$40 - US$120
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Teatro Gastroteque is a boutique fine dining restaurant, located in the epicentrum of Bali's best dining destination, Seminyak. We offer something completely novel - a sophisticated Asian twist on the French cuisine. We source the best produce available in the market, and use most of local ingredients to deliver an authentic flavour yet alluring with bold presentation, highlighting quality ingredients. The name of Teatro Gastroteque literally means "Theatre" where our culinary team performs their passion and love of gastronomy, and to be presented to you in such immaculate and impeccable way by our butlers. We are passionate to give the best dining experience to our guests, for that reason, details and fundamental techniques are the foundation to pursue our goal, we call it "Infinity journey to find a perfection". Complete your unforgettable evening with us, and savour the luxury you deserve.
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

So, we have eaten at Mamasan, Metis, Sarong, Bambu, La Lucciola and Teatro Gastroteque this week.
Being honest, Teatro was the most expensive restaurant, and also my least favourite. Food flavor was not as good as any of the other restaurants mentioned above. Service and restaurant are somewhat pretentious. And pricing was unrealistic givens the 'OK' quality meals that we received. Outlook from
the restaurant window is also very ordinary compared to many other restaurants in a Bali which served better food. Oh, BTW, I am a huge duck fan. In my opinion, they have killed the duck on this menu.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Candi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teatro_Bali, Owner at Teatro Gastroteque, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Candi N,

We appreciate your candid feedback regarding your recent dinner with us. Learning of our guests’ feedback on our products and services aid us in improving and enhancing guest satisfaction. Thank you for sharing your insights with us.

We will be addressing your comments to our team members and will ensure that the lapses are not repeated in the future.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (612)
There are newer reviews for Teatro Gastroteque
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

359 - 363 of 612 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

If you're looking for a classy dinner in Seminyak, Teatro doesn't disappoint.

Some other reviews have noted that Teatro is expensive, but for the quality of food, in my opinion it is worth the money. What I really liked is that unlike some other fine dining establishments where you have to spend way more than initially anticipated due to the dishes all being very meager and necessitating multiple side dishes being ordered at substantial extra cost, at Teatro you actually get the welcome surprise of getting more than you expected due to the inclusion of delightful bonus dishes and amuse bouche.

The first few courses of our dinner had it rocketing towards "meal of the year" status. While the last couple didn't quite reach those same lofty standards, it was still an excellent dinner, and cheaper than what I would need to pay back home in Melbourne for anything near that quality.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Scaz23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teatro_Bali, Owner at Teatro Gastroteque, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Scaz23,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at Teatro with us on Tripadvisor.

We are glad to know that overall you had an excellent dining experience with us. We truly appreciate your feedback and wish to ensure that we address your comments about your last couple of courses.

We hope you'll be open to allowing us another opportunity to show you another great dinner at our restaurant.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We, unfortunately, did not make it to dinner. The reason being that the mere act of ordering our meal was very difficult. Given the price (being 20% higher than other high end restaurants) and limited 'a la carte' selection, this restaurant must make sure that the person taking the order is well read on the menu.

    • Service
4  Thank T V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teatro_Bali, Owner at Teatro Gastroteque, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Tehmine V,

Thank you for your comments. We were disappointed to read your review and more because that you did not make it to dinner. We appreciate your genuine decision, we are sure Bali has many options to offer that might suit your taste.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

For starters, the staff was phenomenal and the food was good, but not worth a couple hundred per head with wine pairings. None of the dishes were all that memorable and it did not push the "gastronomic" limits whatsoever. The wine pairings were truly awful especially as it's basically all white wine regardless of the dish. I strongly recommend saving your money and going elsewhere.

Thank NBMatthew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teatro_Bali, Owner at Teatro Gastroteque, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear NBMatthew,

Thank you for your nice comments about the staff and the food. We were disappointed that you felt that it was not worth the money and the wine pairing was not up to your expectations. We want you to know that we value your honest feedback and we are reviewing these comments with our management team for further improvement.

We would invite you to call us or email at Daniel@teatrobali.com, if you choose to give us another chance.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

This was michelin star quality food. A wonderful experience in Seminyak. Very different to any of the other restaurants around.

1  Thank Travelux7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teatro_Bali, Owner at Teatro Gastroteque, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Dear Travelux7,

Thank you for your kind words following your recent dinner with us. I'm pleased to hear that you had an exceptional dining experience.

We hope to welcome you back soon for another great night spent with us.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Teatro Gastroteque also viewed

 

Been to Teatro Gastroteque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing