We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Just amazing!”
other travellers have booked this property
A view from the back of the pool towards the front of the property.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A view from the back of the pool towards the front of the property.
Your inside entry for privacy.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
75 reviews
A view from the back of the pool towards the front of the property.
Your inside entry for privacy.
Gardens all around you. Quiet beauty.
Our view out from the pool pavilion down one of our pathway to our entry.
The walkway from our entry to the Main Villa.
View of the main Villa, where the Guest Suite is. Queen Bed, Single Bed, AC, Garden Bath. TV.
The main Pavilion in front of the pool and the entry to the Guest Suite
View to the Pool & Bale where our guests can eat, visit, work, relax, with  fan, electricity, light.
Poolside dining. Breakfast by the pool or in our open garden dining room.
A view of our pool with our day bed from the Island of Madura
Our sun warmed pool in the evening.
A taste of our beautiful gardens and pond.Orchids, waterlilies, koi, plumeria tree, hanging moss
Our guests enjoying our naturally warmed pool
Our entry koi pond and Bale.
Main entry walk into the gardens, along the Koi pond.
Villa Guest Suite, from the Queen bed to the writing desk, the built-in window day bed on the right.
Guest Suite Garden Bath reflection in the mirror showing the outdoor shower
A view to the Guest Suite from the garden bathroom.
Side pathway to Bungalow Melati
View to the Kitchen/Dining/Sitting Pavlion from Bungalow Melati´s side porch.Open 24-7 for your use
Pathway to the back of the gardens to Bungalow Bunga Kecil, our private Honeymoon Bungalow.
Garden and pond on the pathway through the gardens of Bungalow Bunga Kecil.
Catching frogs
Secret Garden
Bungalow Bunga Kecil's entry pathway.
Lovely view of the front of Bungalow Bunga Kecil
A view from Bungalow Bunga Kecil to the Family Temple and Bales
A view to one of our lotus koi ponds from the porch from Bungalow Bunga Kecil
Bedside in Bungalow Bunga Kecil
Bungalow Bunga Kecil bamboo single bed
Long view to the shower and dressing area. in Bungalow Bunga Kecil
Vanity and wash basin in your garden bathroom in Bungalow Bunga Kecil.
Reflection of the garden in the mirror over the vanity in Bungalow Bunga Kecil bath room
Bunga Kecil's lovely side garden with yellow bamboo.
Another view of the Bale in front of Bungalow Bunga Kecil for breakfast,reading,mediation or yoga.
From the corner of our 2 rivers walking to Bungalow Bunga Kecil
Villa Sanggah Family Temple entrance.Sanggah in Balinese means Family Temple
A side view of the communal Pavilion. Kitchen / Dining Room / Sitting Room.
A favorite spot for our guests our kitchen/dining pavilion open 24/7 for you. Cook Dine Visit.
Side entrance to our main kitchen and dining/sitting room.
OUR New Bar B Que! A gift from a 5 STAR repeat guest of ours. Great for our family dinners & parties
The Buddha garden off the side door of the kitchen.
Open garden dining room for you 24/7.
Garden view when enjoying your time in our lovely open kitchen dining room sitting pavilion
Risotto cooking lessons from Micaela, one of our return guests in the main kitchen.
3 of our Balinese staff
Another lovely corner to pass through
One of our wonderful garden spots, this one outside the main kitchen back door.
BANANAS...we got ´em! We can´t stop them!
Next to the Bale, looking to where 2 rivers meet & the back of the River Temple. Magic corner.
The view across from the bamboo hut.
Our back Lotus and Fish Pond
Orchids growing off the coconut tree
A view up our river which runs along the whole property.
Offerings at the River Temple
Ibu Ketut carrying young yellow coconuts to the temple for cleansings.
Sanggah in Balinese means Family Temple and we have a beautiful Family Temple in the back garden,
Our Balinese Family Temple dressed up for a ceremony
We happily grow our own orchids papayas,mangos,bananas, limes. .
FRUIT! We grow as much as possible to serve to our guests.Bananas, Papayas, Mangoes.
We have open sky, palm trees. river & flowers. No buildings on our borders, no concrete jungle.
4 of 10 of our wonderful Balinese Staff.
Tanah Lot Temple, an incredible Temple only a beautiful 20 minutes ride away from our Villa.
Take a tour of the beautiful island of Bali
Rice Terraces, amazing to see, sense,smell.
Terrace View
North Bali rice paddies
Map of our corner of Bali. X marks our spot. You can see from this map how close the Indian Ocean is
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Seminyak, Kuta District, Bali

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 75 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kempenfel...
Sorrento, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Just amazing!”
Reviewed 9 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

I had the pleasure of staying at Villa Sanggah with my husband and almost 3 year old daughter for a week. I celebrated my 40th there and I wanted to stay somewhere special - this was the perfect choice!
Georgeanne arranged for her driver Gusti to pick us up from the airport and then personally met us at the gate when we pulled up. As soon as you enter the gates of the property, the peace and tranquility greet you.
We stayed in bungalow melati which was perfect for our little family.
We ate breakfast by the pool each day and spent much of the rest of our days there. Our daughter loved the big step at the shallow end and made good use of the pool noodles :) The gardens are stunning and lovingly tended to by Georgeanne and her staff.
Cafes and restaurants are a short walk away, or Georgeanne will help you order something in if you don't feel like leaving. The hustle and bustle of Seminyak is only a short taxi ride away too.
The staff were all lovely and we arranged for one of the ladies to stay with our daughter one night while we went out for dinner. There is 24 hour security and we felt very safe.
Overall, I just can't imagine finding somewhere better to stay. If you are looking for a relaxing retreat, this is the place for you.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Apr 2016
Thank you so much for choosing Villa Sanggah. We all had a wonderful time. It was delightful to have your lovely family here with us. Please come back soon.


Georgeanne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W
North Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Exceeded my expectations - Absolutely stunning !!”
Reviewed 8 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016

I had very low expectations for Bali and my wife was concerned I would not be happy with staying in a apartment building with party's going on all night etc. She chose Villa Sanggah based on all the great reviews and I must admit I had my doubts .... I now realise that staying here was what made our Bali trip so perfect, relaxing and amazing :)
On the drive in the taxi driver Gusty made a discreet call to let Georgeanne know of our imminent arrival and being met at the gate by Georgeanne was the first of many positive surprises about this villa.
What was best - well the pool, the staff, the outside Japanese style shower, the privacy, the comfy beds, discreet room cleaning each day (when we were out), only having 6-8 guests on site as a maximum, the relaxing friendly vibe........
Even though there are other villa's around this property it took a few days before we realised this. There was no noise or interference in any way from outside the walls. We felt safe with 24h security (which appeared to be unnecessary)
All in all it was a perfect 8 days, staying here allowed us to have a very safe and comfortable base to do a little exploring around Bali. Our daughter loved the pool so much we hardly found the desire to leave the property anyway - only for food and to walk down the beach a few times.
I would recommend this to anyone wanting a quiet peaceful and respectful place to stay, sheltered from the craziness of Bali which is just outside the gate !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Privacy / comfort / cleanliness
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Apr 2016
Hello and thank you.
What wonderful things to say about us. It is lovely to hear from you. It was a treat to have you and your beautiful very happy family here with us. VS draws such wonderful interesting guests. We are very fortunate.
Please come back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amicrazy
Boulder, CO
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Made me love Bali instantly!”
Reviewed 20 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

If you appreciate a garden that has been well-loved, where orchids peek, and every day brings a new discovery, or dining outside with the sounds of birds around, or bathing in a shower surrounded by plants and the sun shining just beyond, then this is the place for you.

I loved getting up each morning and crossing the garden to a plate of fruit, some of which grow in Georgeanne's garden, to start each day. The staff were so kind, and so thoughtful. Pak Heru and Ibu Ketut even got my phone a new SIM card. At night, I was very comfortable in a large room where I had a desk to work (yes, sadly I was there to work!) and lovely dark wood floors. I loved the veranda, the pool where camboja (frangipani) flowers floated every morning and a carved Balinese bed was reflected in the water as I swam. Georgeanne is a wonderful woman and artist who helped us even after we had to move out to Nusa Dua.

This is a place for quiet, for relaxation, for contemplation and the appreciation of beauty. It's not the spot for people who are in Bali to go wild. You can walk to the beach from the house on a busy road with no sidewalk, and there are restaurants, shops, currency exchange, telcom in walking distance, too. The house is off a narrow gang and does not have parking except for scooters. There are two dogs that guard the property, and you will need to make friends with them. (They will still bark, but it makes you feel safe!) I was there on my own for several days, so it was a haven!

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful setting and kind hospitality
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Nov 2015
We thank you so much for your beautiful review. You both were a delight and we all will be friends forever, truly. Looking forward to you next visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca R
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Paradise Found”
Reviewed 5 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Have been to Bali several times over the year's and this by far was my favourite place. We felt so safe and secluded, yet walking distance to all the restaurants you could need. Georgeanne and all the staff were wonderful, somehow always there when needed, but always provided privacy. Gardens were spectacular. I so miss my breakfast by the pool. Anyone looking for peace, beauty, relaxation, this is the place. We can not say enough wonderful things about our stay here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Oct 2015
Hello to you both and thank you for such a lovely review, you both were a delight, easy and fun. We do hope that you return to us soon.
Thank you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuziamah
Bedford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Everything we wanted for a perfect holiday”
Reviewed 23 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I looked at many many sites before choosing Villa Sanggah. We needed somewhere to get some much needed R and R. The best of many things was the space- to be together and apart as a family. Our Villa Melati had large rooms, verandah's, huge bathrooms and the grounds have lots of outside relaxing areas to quietly read without being disturbed. Another plus is the generous size of the pool - so many villas have tiny pools and this one is deep at one end, has wide steps to allow children to play at the shallow end and big enough to swim properly!

The other guests were charming, friendly but respectful of each other's space. The lush vegetation that Georgeanne has planted creates a peaceful garden and provides screening that allows complete privacy. One guest after two days asked where our villa was and yet she walked past it every day!!
The staff were discreet yet appear when you need them. It took them little time to know our breakfast preferences and they weren't phased by the fact that we arrived for breakfast at various stages of the morning. Nothing is too much trouble - changing money, taking laundry to the cleaners, ordering a taxi, buying fruits from the market, ordering a take out from the numerous menus available,all is possible.

We were so relaxed in the Villa that we had to force ourselves to go out to the beach which is great for surfing and walking. The vendors are plentiful but we bought some lovely souvenirs. Do be mindful of the flags telling you where is safe to swim and there is a sacred part of the beach near to the bridge walking towards Kuta where you are are requested not to sunbathe or swim. You will see a hindhu ceremony being conducted at the the beach at least every other day.

Georgeanne works tirelessly to update and enhance the beautiful environment she has created
and it is always in top condition. The photos don't do it justice because they cannot capture the ambience. Book now because it will not remain a secret for long!

Thank you to Georgeanne, Mede, Mede and Manggah for a really wonderful time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space and the pool
Liked least: The dogs barking in the morning small detail in otherwise perfect location
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Aug 2015
I must say, that your family was everything anyone could want for guests. Charming, interesting, knowledgeable, kind,respectful and lovely to be around. Your review was beautiful and we all thank you so very much. It was more than delightful, as I think you know, for all of us, we were a wonderful group. It would be lovely to be able to do it again. Stay in touch please.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Drudg...
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Shangri-la”
Reviewed 9 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We were pleasantly astounded by the warmth of our welcome to Villa Sanggah. The gardens are a wonderful oasis of tropical green plants and lush flowers on all sides. We were lucky enough to stay in Kecil Bungalow at the end of the garden, but don't let that "at the end of garden" put you off! The calming and secluded bungalow is a dozen steps beyond the two other individual accommodation bungalows and the pool and open kitchen room that are at the centre of this luxurious escape.
The bungalow has set an extremely high bar for us ever to even approach in terms of beauty and fitting. It is tastefully set up with a comfortable four post bed complete with curtains that act as mosquito nets. The furniture is all locally sourced and of the highest quality hardwood and tastefully selected to further enhance the overall impression of authenticity. The shower was a revelation, while being enclosed by walls and wooded screens, it was open air and was a pleasure to use at anytime, particularly at night before bed.
I mentioned the curtain around the bed and this was a great help to keep any insects away that had not been deterred by the two incense burners placed at both entrances to the villa by the ever attentive staff every night. The staff were always ready to help at any opportunity and we had to get used to being waited on so attentively. Georgeanne is a gracious host who is a fountain of knowledge with much local information and ideas to make your stay even better. She will phone through orders for food from local restaurants. Witness one evening when we arrived back after an excursion later in the evening. She gave us her phone to call the restaurant for the food order and we gave the money to the security guard to pick up from the front gate. A short while later, Georgeanne and the guard came to our bungalow with the food having already served it onto trays ready for us. Again lovely touches over and above our expectations.
Breakfasts were cooked to order by the staff in the kitchen and served where we asked when ordered by phone from our room. We awoke on our first morning to find that Georgeanne had got up early and laid out a beautiful tray with kettle and tea ready for us English folk to prepare properly for the day as we needed.
The Villa is close to quieter northern end of the Seminyak but still only a few minutes wander to the glorious beach that I could further wax lyrical about and local restaurants that will provide you with a delicious range of foods from around the world.
As you can tell we loved our time at Villa Sanggah and WILL go back if we ever get the chance.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Aug 2015
O My. How can your words be beat, they brought tears to my eyes. You both were so delightful and kind and the wonderful chats we all had with our other guests staying with us. The swimming lessons that you so beautiful gave to our visiting 5 year old, again brought tears to those of us lucky to view this. What a wonderful happy couple you are, you blessed us with your presence and you will never be forgotten. Yes, we hope to see you again...dear friends.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 15 April 2015 for a stay in January 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Too many good things. Simply amazing atmosphere.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
15 Apr 2015
Thank you so much for such a beautiful review. It was really wonderfully enjoyable to have you both here on your first trip to Bali, I know your trip did some wonderful things for your life and we are so happy that we were a part of that. Namaste....
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing