We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Layar - Designer Villas and Spa
Ranked #59 of 146 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very relaxing”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Fabulous service received right from booking enquiry through to our check out. Villa is beautifully designed with lovely spacious living areas, bedrooms, bathrooms and fabulous pool . Gardens are nicely kept and no outside noise can be heard making this a gorgeous ,peaceful escape.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelling10151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The-Layar-Manager, Manager at The Layar - Designer Villas and Spa, responded to this review, 7 November 2014
Dear Travelling10151 ,

Thank you for taking time reviewing The Layar – Designer Villas and Spa on Tripadvisor.

We are happy to hear that you received fabulous service right from booking enquiry. Also for beautifully designed villa and spacious livingroom.

We look forward to welcoming you back at The Layar – Designer Villas and Spa.

Kind regards,
Anton Budiono
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    46
    16
    5
    5
See reviews for
85
57
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We stayed in a three bedroom pool villa. The design of the villas are very modern and have a great flow from indoors to the outside ,maximising the benefit of the huge flower filled gardens and massive private pool.
I wasn't as keen on the half indoor/outdoor bathrooms mainly because trying to put on makeup and style your hair in stifling humidity and whilst fighting off the mosquitoes in there isn't the most fun I've ever had.
That aside though, the villas are very spacious, well equipt and overall very comfortable, we had some amazing massages in the comfort of our villa from the layer staff.
i also tried a healing therapy from an outside therapist which sounded great but in reality is very pricey , and all you do is lie in the dark in silence with the therapist who just holds his hand under the small of your back and over your tummy for 45 mins! maybe i am more together than i thought as i can't say i felt any different after it and couldn't help feel a little ripped off after the experience ( or rather non experience)
The in house massages however were very reasonably priced and extremely relaxing so id suggest the layer ditches the more outlandish , alternative therapies and offers more variation from their own masseurs where the treatments do exactly what it says on the tin.
The staff were courteous and helpful , the only bad part of the stay was that a pair of my lounge pants , vanished from the villa which was a bit disappointing but didn't detract from the overall enjoyment of the stay.
the main area i think needs some work is the food. The breakfasts, in theory is good as the food is prepared and then brought to your own villa each morning from your personal order placed the day before, but in reality we were often brought something different from that which we had put on our order and the food was at best lukewarm, thought the selection of daily pastries etc were nice. it wasn't too terrible but by the end of the stay we were all a bit over it and wishing for a better variety and better quality.
If you are planning a holiday as couples , say three couples in a three bed villa this would be a very cost effective way to enjoy some quite fancy living and everything is just a cheap taxi ride away with some nice restaurants nearby!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

From the moment you arrive at the lobby you can tell this property is all class. After a quick check in you are transported to your villa by electric car which is silent, I was however disappointed when I was told I couldn't take it for a drunken joy ride through Seminyak.

The presentation of the villas are excellent. Breakfast was served each morning by the pool which was lovely. The staff where only a short call to reception away when ever we wanted/needed anything. The sound system in the lounge room area is much better for waking up the people in the villas either side of you then the one in the kitchen.

The lights around the pool area did not work and the lights around the outside area, well only half of those worked. The air conditioner in the rooms is terrible but apart from that everything else was good.

Room Tip: We stayed in Villa 6
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Micah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Hi , We stayed here during 2013 new years eve week. Rooms and service is great. In room dining food is horrible and always served cold. In house spa is nice. Nice amenities. location is excellent as well. Heart of seminyak.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hero415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

We came here for our honeymoon and chose to stay at a 1 bedroom villa. Upon arrival got an upgrade to a 2 bedroom villa. Although unnecessary for a honeymoon couple it was a very thoughtful gesture. The villas are very nicely furnished and well maintained. Staff are very friendly and room service is not too bad either. My only complaint would be the resident lizard in the kitchen that would never leave but that would be expected from the open setting of the villa. Apart from that the stay was perfect. An entire silent day was spent inside the villa with ease. Would definitely recommend

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Solidsaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

The layar villas memang menyediakan kolam renang tepat didepan setiap villa....
Cucu2 saya sungguh menikmati kolam renang ini.... Karena langsung terhubung dengan living - dining area... maka it really makes you wish to dip in the pool the whole day...
Good area... with lots of shops and gourmet restaurant around Seminyak...

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ghidayat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

Ok I know someone said they felt the villas were dated but we visited many villa while here to decide where to come next time. Including Karma Kandara and The W and The Layer has just so much space and privacy it's great. The staff could not be more helpful. We stayed in No.15 a 2 BR and have really enjoyed our stay. The breakfasts are so plentiful you could go without food until dinner where everything is just a 2 - 3 dollar taxi ride away. Thank you The Layar for being such great hosts and making our stay unforgettable this is my 4th visit to Bali and each time I've tried to stay somewhere a little better. I think I've now found where I would like to call home in Bali and it's The Layar.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MarioWeekEnds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The-Layar-Manager, Manager at The Layar - Designer Villas and Spa, responded to this review, 7 November 2014
Dear MarioWeekEnds,

Thank you for taking time reviewing The Layar – Designer Villas and Spa on Tripadvisor.

We are pleased to hear that you had a helpful staff and unforgateble stay at The Layar.

We look forward to having you stay with us again at The Layar – Designer Villas and Spa.

Kind regards,
Anton Budiono
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.1 mi away
One Eleven
One Eleven
#54 of 146 in Seminyak
160 reviews
0.2 mi away
Peppers Seminyak
Peppers Seminyak
#26 of 146 in Seminyak
764 reviews
0.3 mi away
eqUILIBRIA SEMINYAK
eqUILIBRIA SEMINYAK
#25 of 146 in Seminyak
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Ulin Villas & Spa
The Ulin Villas & Spa
#3 of 146 in Seminyak
652 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Elysian
The Elysian
#12 of 146 in Seminyak
452 reviews
1.1 mi away
Villa Kubu Seminyak
Villa Kubu Seminyak
#8 of 146 in Seminyak
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Layar - Designer Villas and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Layar - Designer Villas and Spa

Property: The Layar - Designer Villas and Spa
Address: Jalan Pangkung Sari 10X, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#49 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#50 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Layar - Designer Villas and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Layar - Designer Villas and Spa is a spectacular design-led villa resort in the heart of chic Seminyak, moments from Bali's best restaurants, boutiques and sunset beach bars. Cutting-edge contemporary architecture and ultrachic interiors characterise the 23 villas, which offer stunning living spaces sculpted by the planes of the architects signature sloping roofs. Each individual 1-, 2-, 3-, and 4-bedroom villa is set within a private landscaped tropical garden with large swimming pool, and from one to four spacious bedroom suites oriented for privacy. With its cool design, hot location, and five-star service provided by 150 staff, The Layar is designed for those with strong aesthetic principles seeking original experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Layar - Designer Villas and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Layar - Designer Villas And Spa Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing