We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“M is my favorite!!”
Review of M Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
M Hostel
Ranked #82 of 426 Speciality Lodging in Seminyak
Reviewed 28 June 2014

This is THE place to stay in Bali. Located in Seminyak, close to a really nice stretch of beach and a 20 min walk (or cheap cab ride to the clubs), location couldnt be better.

Rooms are nice, dark as said but that makes it easy to sleep and nap, not too big and comfy beds with all the amenities you could need.

What makes this hostel though is the people. I have had some of my best nights in Asia here, and as cheesy as it sounds I have made some friends for life. This hostel is just the right size for meeting people as not too big but there is something always happening, and for whatever reason all of the people are awesome.

As someone there said: the rooms may be dark but the atmosphere is light!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kamthorn16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (220)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

141 - 147 of 221 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2014

I booked a 4-bed dorm online but was put in a 6-bed dorm with no explanation. Not a huge deal though as room was fine and room mates were good. Comfy bed with bedding provided. Had own light and power point with small, dubious lockers under the bed. Air conditioning and wifi in room both worked well. On the negative side, the room and the whole place is very dark! Please add some more lights and paint some walls a nice bright pink or yellow or something to cheer the place up!! Toilets and showers were always clean although lots of the sinks weren't working while I was there. Pretty basic breakfast included. The communal areas are great to meet people - the garden area and the TV room. I made lots of friends very easily there and pretty much everyone else there was a solo traveler too. Overall, I would definitely recommend to solo travelers staying in Seminyak.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LivingL0ndon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Not the one to write good or bad about places I stay - as it may be biased, but taking the effort to do so for this specific place called M Hostel where I stayed while on a diving trip in Bali. While they had all the basics and lived up to what they promised in terms of facilities.....what truly sticks is the hospitality and staff's willingness to help ......forever ! Accomodating when one was late for breakfast , handy tips , willingness to negotiate for better local deals, assisting in local tours and most importantly thier integrity deserves a special mention. In my hurry to get on my flight, I forgot paintings worth 100000 rupaihs back in my hostel dorm. While I had given hope, as I had trouble connecting with their phone land line,but with just an email follow up they ensured that my paintings were returned to me without an hassles. Special mention for Ms Dheeni and the front desk staff that are always ready to help with a smile. Truly thank them and will not forget the getsure for a long long time.
Ash - India

Room Tip: Try and get the private rooms - and make sure you hang out in the foyer, its a fun spot to meet peop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 846ash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

I would recommend this hostel.
Good points- wifi in the bedrooms (but slow at times), helpful staff who all speak great English, amazing breakfast- eggs, toast, jam, fruit, tea/coffee, rice to choose from, really sociable and great communal areas, amazing hot showers and well kept bathrooms, lockers under the bed (but not very sturdy), and personal light and charger for each bed, and great location!

Not much to criticise but unfortunately the rooms are really quite dark, dingy and unattractive. Also, I booked a '4 bed female dorm' online and was put in a 5 bed dorm. As far as I know there are no 4 bed dorms in the hostel?
Overall really good stay, thank you!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skf273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The rooms are comfortable, spacious and very clean!! All the hostels facilites include a good sized TV room, an outside area with tables and comfy seats.
Staff were the nicest people ever! Very helpful with everything! Many lonely travelers, and a good envirolment to meet new and nice people!
I strongly recommend and look foward to stay there again!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isabella M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I usually don't write reviews, but I loved this hostel so much that I had to write one. I came to Bali as a female solo traveler looking to make friends while staying at a nice accommodation. M Hostel provided both of these needs. The beds are comfy(no bunk beds), a light and electrical outlet at each bed, ac, hot shower, clean, free breakfast and wifi, movie room, convenient to restaurants, supermarket, beach, etc. and the list goes on and on…I was most impressed by the owner. He was very kind to the staff and made an effort to talk to the guests staying at the hostel. Good owner=a good business. Thanks for everything and keep up the great work! Will stay here again if I'm in the Seminyak area.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tnk1121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Firstly location and staff = excellent, no probs.

The HBO tv channels were also first rate. However the room itself and the bathroom were quite grubby and needed a lick of paint. The walls aee paper thin also and loud conversation from the outside "garden" can be annoying.

Overall it's was okay.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Podgemonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seminyak
0.5 mi away
Bali Green Hostel
Bali Green Hostel
#104 of 426 in Seminyak
32 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kosta Hostel
Kosta Hostel
#57 of 426 in Seminyak
35 reviews
0 mi away
Bedplus Backpacker Seminyak
Bedplus Backpacker Seminyak
#311 of 426 in Seminyak
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Nau Here Hostel
Nau Here Hostel
#12 of 208 in Kuta
69 reviews
2.6 mi away
Bread & Jam Hostel
Bread & Jam Hostel
#9 of 208 in Kuta
64 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Green Room Seminyak
The Green Room Seminyak
#40 of 426 in Seminyak
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to M Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about M Hostel

Address: Jalan Raya Seminyak Nomer 19 | Behind Bintang Supermarket, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta District > Seminyak
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 426 Speciality Lodging in Seminyak
Price Range: £10 - £17 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At M Hostel our motto is CARE; Comfortable, Affordable, Rustic, and Exciting. We don't treat guest as customer but we view them as part of our big family. Stay and be part of our wonderful family, M hostel is your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your M Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
M Hostel Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing