We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel - although remote from the action”
Review of Hotel Vila Lumbung

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Vila Lumbung
Ranked #43 of 148 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2011

Stayed for 5 nights on the last leg of our holiday around Bali. Hotel was good, pool lovely. Breakfast included, and there is a good range - but service poor - they would forget to bring Tea/Coffee (even though it was asked for) and when they did bring it they would always forget milk! No one eats in the hotel at night - not sure if this is due to the breakfast service!
Room's nice - although no showers! (bath with a low level hook on the wall for showerhead)
Its in north Seminyak, and pretty much the last hotel north of the area, so wouldn't recommend if you want to have a large selection of restaurants or the beach on your doorstep. - Pathways/no pavements on the main road outside the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ClaireP1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HVL469404, Manager at Hotel Vila Lumbung, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2011

Dear ClaireP1978,

Warmest greeting from Hotel Vila Lumbung,

Thank you for choosing us as your preferred accommodation during your recent visit to Bali and sharing your feedback with us.

Your suggestion on our restaurant has been noted by our Restaurant and Beverage Manager and will be taken into account for the next review.

It was a pleasure for us to be at your service and we all look forward to welcoming you again soon to Hotel Vila Lumbung

Kind regards,

The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

956 - 962 of 1,109 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2011

We were here for 7 days. Had a great time. It's the only place we have stayed in that looks better once you're there than it does on the net. Friendly staff. The garden and the pool were just stunning. We stayed in a superior room and it was lovely. After being out all day it is so nice to come back to. Lovely and quiet. The pool and gardens and all the little paths are lit up at night and we would often have a drink by the pool. Didn't matter what time it was. So pretty. Lots of nice restraunts around it. Great breakfast. Cleaned the room every day and left 2 bottles of water everyday. Lovley sitting on the balcony overlooking the gardens. Most comfortable bed we have ever slept in. Only complaint is that the main strip of Seminyak is a bit of a walk and we ended up hiring a motorbike which was great. Good driver for day trips within the grounds. We are going back in January with our son and his girlfriend and we will stay here again without a doubt. Pure paradise!

Room Tip: Flight centre do good rates here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sharonleigh63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2011

...we stayed here for 4 nights, having no idea where it was or too much about it.....what a lovely surprise. We arrived late, and had opted for the very professional hotel transfer...perfect. We had reserved an upstairs villa. The first room was probably in better condition, but we wanted to be closer to the pool, like a view! . We requested this at reception this next morning, nothing was a problem, in fact they gave us the keys to two villas, so we could check out which one we preferred. We were moved swiftly, with a smile. We loved our new abode. Daybed over looking the pool, big room, stunning bed linen on that big comfy king size bed. Staff were very friendly, breakfast okay, but not grand....great coffee and stick to the eggs cooked to order, they do that very well. The location is quiet but explore some of the fantastic restaurant around that area. The pool is beautiful, with the pool boy scooping up every dropped leaf and handing out fresh towels A great place to stay if you like a nice big room, lovely comfy bed and a very pleasant pool area. The one thing I would point out as a down side....the lack of atmosphere in the restaurant at lunch and dinner and the "swim-up" bar . They need to deck out the bar, so its inviting, not looking like its closed and unattended! Evenings at the restaurant are dead....go out!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nosbig2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2011

A tidy, comfortable hotel that is super friendly and we found it was great for us and our 3.5 year old. We stayed in a deluxe room which was big enough for a king bed and a single bed.

Close to everything in Seminyak: about a 2 minute drive to Ku de Ta (about $1AUD) and the shopping strip in Seminyak.

We arrived late from Sydney and found that they hadn't put up a bed for our son, but it was not a stress and they set one up within minutes.

Fantastic pool area for the kids! Drinks and food are cheap, Great wet bar. Awesome massages, if you don't mind not being in a spa set up, but rather in an outdoor hut near the pool area.

Will definitely come back here.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bc4774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2011

This was my 16th time at Vila Lumbung so you can see that I really like it. I generally come here with my sister and sometimes with my husband. We stay in the old Villa type rooms and have a favourite 9B which is very close to the pool and has a daybed on the front verandah as well as a table and chairs. The rooms are very big and ours has outdoor bathroom. I have also stayed in the much newer Superior rooms and find these to be of very good value. I have also stayed with extended family in the 3 bedroom villa which is great for a family of 6. The negatives about Vila Lumbung are 1. The staff have all been there for a long time and I think they are not thinking so much about the satisfaction of guests expectations any more. It is very hard to attract their attention when you are at the pool to get them to come and take food and drink orders. someof the staff at the front reception desk do not have a good grasp of the English language and it is difficult to get something done a lot of the time if you have a complaint. Regardless of these negatives,I love this hotel for its location and peacefullness. We have been staying here since 2001 and the staff have become an extended family for us. We love them all.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valmajoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2011

We have just come back from 10 days at Vila Lumbung. Even though we went with friends who had happily stayed there a few times before I was a bit apprehensive after reading some of the reviews on here. Many of the guests we met had stayed numerous times & keep coming back. Value for money is excellent. Breakfasts are tasty and despite what some reviews say there is a lot of variety. the staff were very friendly & helpful. Everyone was blown away by the setting & gardens. The linen was changed every day and the king size bed one of the most comfortable we've struck in any hotel.
Yes, it's a bit out of the way, but taxis are so cheap it isn't an issue. There is a very good laundry close by & the Gourmet Cafe about 50m away has the best coffee in Bali & excellent food. Most guests like the fact it's an oasis away from the noise. Great for families too.
The spa is clean & staff well groomed. I had fabulous massages & pedicure.
No, it's not the ritz, but value for money it would be hard to find better. We would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nellieDubbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2011

That is my 1st time trip to Bali and we chose Vila Lumbung to stay in. It's for our 1st anniversary, and we chose to stay in double storey bungalow (upstair). Well, don't underestimate the photos you've seen. It looks small, and yet, the real room was spacious, well decorated, cozy, nice friendly staffs and quiet environment. We just love it!!! The bed was marvelous. It's hard for us to get away from the bed. We barely used the reading bed (which has SAME size with the main queen bed). Overall, it helped us in making our anniversary vacation so memorable :)

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank epah_riyana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
1.4 mi away
Villa Coco
Villa Coco
#28 of 148 in Seminyak
644 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bali Ginger Suites & Villa
Bali Ginger Suites & Villa
#30 of 148 in Seminyak
571 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Haven Bali
The Haven Bali
#62 of 148 in Seminyak
1,847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Bali, Seminyak
0.5 mi away
Ize Seminyak
Ize Seminyak
#51 of 148 in Seminyak
998 reviews
0.5 mi away
U Paasha Seminyak
U Paasha Seminyak
#45 of 148 in Seminyak
1,246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vila Lumbung? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vila Lumbung

Address: Jl. Raya Petitenget no. 1000x, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Seminyak
#29 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#37 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#40 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
#42 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range: £46 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Vila Lumbung 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vila Lumbung is located in Seminyak area, just 15 minutes drive by car from Kuta or Legian and 10 minutes walk to Seminyak Square shopping centre. Set on 15.000 square meters of lush tropical gardens and just 800 meters away from Petitenget Beach, this hotel also close to several famous restaurant and beach club in Seminyak. The hotel features with 36 Superior Rooms and 34 Deluxe Bungalow and this is the perfect place for those who seek a fresh tropical atmosphere. All villas are in the Lumbung style with typical Balinese wooden roofs (sirap) in spacious Balinese rooms. Flooded with natural light, the well-designed rooms with a balcony and DVD player prepared in each room. All of them are fully equipped with individually controlled air-conditioning, in-room safe, minibar, coffee or tea maker facility, bath-up and shower, and free complimentary Wi-Fi access.In addition, an open air restaurant with an adjacent pool bar and 2 level swimming pool with waterfall and cave, tropical island, whirl pool, gazebo and day spa, kids playground, tour desk and recreation room. Luxury and style within a true Balinese atmosphere awaits you at this Bali resort hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Agoda, Hotelopia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Vila Lumbung reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Vila Lumbung
Vila Lumbung Hotel
Hotel Vila Lumbung Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing