We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Property in True Balinese style”
Review of Hotel Vila Lumbung

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Vila Lumbung
Ranked #43 of 148 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2012

We stayed at Vila Lumbung for 9 days in June, had 7 days at Lovina North Bali & then finished our holiday with a further 3 days at Vila Lumbung. We had a Villa, with us upstairs & our daughter, her husband & 7 year old son downstairs with an internal interconnecting door which was really handy. The rooms were large, huge bed, with everything needed & only a dozen steps from the pool. The pool is fantastic, on 2 levels with a whirlpool, waterfall, jumping rock & swim up bar with an afternoon happy hour. My wife, her friend & our daughter tried the massage which they raved about & quite reasonably priced for a hotel. The buffet breakfast was more than adequate with a good selection to suit all tastes. The restaurant meals are also excellent & very reasonably priced & the Head Chef Wayan has been there over 10 years. My son-in-law who is vegetarian was well catered for & it was no trouble at all for the kitchen to alter meals to suit his diet. We were travelling with a friend & it was her 50th birthday & we told her we were taking her out to Seminyak for her party. What she did not know was that I had liased with Chef Wayan & the Marketing Manager, Liquisa Dewi & designed our own party menu. Wayan & Liquisa were so helpful & kept the whole party a real secret, as did all the staff. I asked for a few balloons if possible. Not only did they supply about 30 balloons but also Balinese hanging decorations, table decorations, mood lighting & all set up right beside the pool. There were 12 of us, we had a fantastic time, the staff sang Happy Birthday to our friend in Balinese & the cost was really, really reasonable; it was such a great night that our friend & everybody there will never forget it. Keep that in mind for any type of party you may consider....birthday, anniversary etc & it is only a one minute walk back to your room!!!!
The REAL attraction at Vila Lumbung is their Staff, from the owner's rep Evelyn, Chef Wayan, Liquisa, Widy, Gede Yasa, & the rest of all the great people at Vila Lumbung including the pool staff, gardeners, room staff....they are The Real Bali Deal & why so many Aussies & others keep travelling back to this wonderful Hotel & Island Paradise.
This is not a 5 star hotel nor do the prices reflect this however value for money I would recommend this Hotel to people from 9 to 90, single, married, kids, honeymooners or anyone else. You are only a $3 taxi ride from Seminyak Square & there are plenty of restaurants, Circle Ks, laundries & shops within walking distance. You may think that my comments may be a little biased because we have stayed here before however if it was not good, we would stay here!!!
To EVERYBODY involved with Vila Lumbung matur sukesma dari Bpk & Ibu Banteng
Om canthi, canthi, canthi Om

Room Tip: All rooms are within a short distance from the restaurant, pool & reception. The Villas are more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank banteng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HVL469404, Manager at Hotel Vila Lumbung, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2012

Dear Bapak and Ibu Banteng our lovely guest,

Om Swasti Astu :)
Warmest Greeting from all of us in Vila Lumbung.

We are very happy that you have a safe flight and back to your first home after spend your holiday at your second home at Hotel Vila Lumbung.
On behalf of the management we thank you for your continuous support toward all staff at Vila Lumbung, we are very happy that you had recommended us to all of your friend, hope more guest will come and come and gonna be a guest as you.

Bapak and Ibu banteng, once again matur suksma for all the great support and be our friend
forever, hope to see you soon.
Please pass our best regards to Ibu Lindy, Sally, Rodney & Luke.

Om Shanti Shanti Shanti Om.

Best regards,
Hotel Vila Lumbung Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

860 - 866 of 1,109 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2012

We have a 3 year old and a 1 year old and had a fantastic time at Hotel Lumbung. The pool is one of the best i have ever come across, with rocks to jump off and a waterfall. Meals at the restaurant were OK, nothing spectacular, but there were loads of other options within a 5 minute taxi ride. I would defintely recommend to any family who has kids that love swimming. Only complaint would be that the kitchen in our room had an awful smell which was rectified by keeping the door shut at all times.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Danni A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

I stayed here with my husband and five-year-old daughter for a week towards the end of June. Hotel Vila Lumbung is truly a haven away from the noise and traffic! Just walking down the driveway seemed to calm us down (5-year-old + no footpath = stressed parents!). The luscious hotel grounds dropped the ambient temperature considerably.

We had an upstairs bungalow which we loved. Our bed was comfortable and enornmous! Our daughter slept on the (huge) indoor daybed which was in a nook surrounded by a ledge and windows. We loved the decor - modern with balinese touches - and the cathedral-like, peaked ceiling. I was surprised to read the negative comments about the bathrooms as ours was lovely - decadent and immaculate. Our towels were also thick and fluffy.
My husband enjoyed the TV - particularly the Setanta channel. We also found the mini-bar prices reasonable. Though maybe this was because we were right down the back of the hotel and really couldn't be bothered walking out to the shops for choccies.

The grounds really are lovely. Our daughter loved looking for geckos and squirrels. There are a few stray cats around though which we had to warn her away from. They're pretty cheeky and will beg for food while you're in the restaurant.
The pool was a huge favourite for us. Our daughter is a water baby and swam at least twice a day. Possibly it was just our timing but the pool was never busy or rowdy. The waterfall was cool, though I found out the hard way that the cave behind it has a very slippery floor! My husband quite liked the swim-up bar and made it his "beer and internet" spot. (The wi-fi only really works in reception, the restaurant and around the pool)

We ate at the restaurant quite a few times and were happy with our food. The breakfasts were amazing! I'd read reviews which said there wasn't much variety... I'm not sure how much more variety you could want! We had English breakfasts with eggs, bacon and sausages, Asian style with rice porridge or mi goreng, Aussie style with cereal and toast, European style with pastries, fruit, ham and yoghurt and American style with pikelets and the trimmings.

The location seemed fine to us (first time in Bali). Taxis were super-cheap (definitely have them use the meter) and all the drivers know Vila Lumbung. Lots of restaurants, shops and spas within walking distance. We ate at Sarong and were mildly alarmed at the prices (what happened to "Bali is cheap"??). We found The Deck to have good food and good value. Best of all though was right next door to Lumbung - The Love:Cooking, a tiny, almost hidden, place with mouth-watering sate and one of the best chicken and corn soups we've had!

The hotel doesn't have a kids club, but down the road is The Cubby House, where you can leave the kids for a couple of hours and they have a blast (probably you can leave them longer but we didn't).

Also try AMO spa (also down the road). We had many treatments here and were quite happy.

Possibly our only criticism of Lumbung was communication: several of our friends left messages for us with the front desk and we only received these on the last day of our stay.

Ultimately, we loved staying here and would book here again if we were to return to Seminyak.

Room Tip: We liked the upstairs bungalow for the space, privacy and the views. I think the downstairs bungalo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Candace R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We spent a week there at the beginning of June. Perfect weather.
Gentle, sweet staff, always polite as true Balinese are.
The rooms are quite basic but pleasant, they are spacious and look out over gardens.
The bathroom was a bit on the tired side and could do with a bit of smartening up. The hot water tended to run hot and cold, lucky it was Bali and not a cold climate! The bath towels were old - no pile and not white anymore. However, the towels provided at the pool were still fluffy and soft.
Breakfast area is relaxing with great food and they will cook you an omelette or scrambled eggs. Good variety of food and helpful staff.
Large swimming pool and plenty of sun lounges.
Try to avoid school holidays or ‘internet deals’ as it seems there are a lot of package travellers there. There was a group who must have taken their kids out of school and virtually took over the pool area. The father was louder than all the kids and it was unbearable to try and relax at the pool. The Balinese staff were too polite to say anything although it clearly annoyed them as well as the other guests.
Hotel management need a sign reminding guests to consider others around the pool.
Otherwise, the pool was lovely and once the noise subsided, we made the most of it.
It is close to great restaurants, Sarong is a two minute walk and possibly the best eating experience we have ever had in Bali. There is also a cheap and cheerful Thai restaurant just a few minutes walk away too.
Taxis are plentiful and cheap, however we were made aware that the ‘Bluebird’ taxis are government owned and not Balinese, so we always waved them on and took a local Balinese taxi instead. Maybe not quite as new, but still ok and made us feel better supporting the Balinese rather than Indonesia.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LesandPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Seven of us recently stayed at Villa Lumbung - the staff from the origin of my booking Ayu to the end of my stay 8 days were nothing short of professional, pleasant, wanting to assist in any way possible to make our visit memorable. Some of the rooms are need of renovating and upgrading, particularly the bathroom but obviously the owners are onto this and they have already commenced the upgrades. But overall, for the price, location, staff and amenities it is a lovely place to stay. Special thanks to Ayu - who is very professional when booking a holiday at this hotel. Chris G.

Room Tip: Villa rooms are in the best location - surrounded by beautiful gardens and more indoor space - the c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012

Beautiful hotel very conviently placed. 10 mins to Seminak square n 30 mins to kuta all by taxi. Found delish in restaurant. Sure bathrooms need a bit of a touch up but overall great place to stay with very helpful pleasant staff. Will stay again for sure.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lakehous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

Vila Lumbung is a very goos hotel for the cost.
The hotel is centrally located ; very closed to the beach and the restaurant/bar areas.
The breakfast buffet is excellent and the surrounding, lobby and pool area very BEAUTIFUL!!! The rooms are ok.
The only drawback are the bathrooms...the are old, smelly and need renovation ASAP.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GMayrar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
1.4 mi away
Villa Coco
Villa Coco
#28 of 148 in Seminyak
644 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bali Ginger Suites & Villa
Bali Ginger Suites & Villa
#30 of 148 in Seminyak
570 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Haven Bali
The Haven Bali
#63 of 148 in Seminyak
1,845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Bali, Seminyak
0.5 mi away
Ize Seminyak
Ize Seminyak
#52 of 148 in Seminyak
997 reviews
0.5 mi away
U Paasha Seminyak
U Paasha Seminyak
#45 of 148 in Seminyak
1,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vila Lumbung? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vila Lumbung

Address: Jl. Raya Petitenget no. 1000x, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Seminyak
#29 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#37 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#40 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
#42 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range: £46 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Vila Lumbung 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vila Lumbung is located in Seminyak area, just 15 minutes drive by car from Kuta or Legian and 10 minutes walk to Seminyak Square shopping centre. Set on 15.000 square meters of lush tropical gardens and just 800 meters away from Petitenget Beach, this hotel also close to several famous restaurant and beach club in Seminyak. The hotel features with 36 Superior Rooms and 34 Deluxe Bungalow and this is the perfect place for those who seek a fresh tropical atmosphere. All villas are in the Lumbung style with typical Balinese wooden roofs (sirap) in spacious Balinese rooms. Flooded with natural light, the well-designed rooms with a balcony and DVD player prepared in each room. All of them are fully equipped with individually controlled air-conditioning, in-room safe, minibar, coffee or tea maker facility, bath-up and shower, and free complimentary Wi-Fi access.In addition, an open air restaurant with an adjacent pool bar and 2 level swimming pool with waterfall and cave, tropical island, whirl pool, gazebo and day spa, kids playground, tour desk and recreation room. Luxury and style within a true Balinese atmosphere awaits you at this Bali resort hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotelopia, ACCOR, Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Vila Lumbung reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Vila Lumbung
Vila Lumbung Hotel
Hotel Vila Lumbung Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing