We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent hotel close to all our favourite restaurants”
Review of Hotel Vila Lumbung

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Vila Lumbung
Ranked #42 of 145 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“An excellent hotel close to all our favourite restaurants”
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Thank you for having us Hotel Vila Lumbung!
We had the pleasure of staying 5 nights in May in a downstairs bungalow. The room was clean & well appointed with a gorgeous outside bathroom that offered plenty of privacy. The room was made up each day & our water replenished.
We found the pool to be excellent. The temperature was not too hot, not too cold. It was just right. There is a pool bar which does close which is good considering the pool is open 24 hours. When we were there there was a group of men who stayed in the pool at the bar drinking & carrying on. Because the pool bar is on the lower level of the pool so we were away from the carry on the top level of the pool - which as a Mum was good. Also when we went to our bungalow you could only hear them a little bit from the open bathroom but not the room - another plus.
Breakfast was a good selection. The hot items weren't hot any of the mornings we stayed but the bread they supplied for toast was delicious. Fruit & pastries were good.
I had a massage at the spa & it was very good and only 88.000 Rp for 30 mins neck, back & shoulders. I was able to room charge which was very handy.
I loved the location. It is a little walk to get back to Eat Street but with so many great restaurants within easy walk or many taski's constantly tooting it's easy to get about.
Also there is a laundry just outside the hotel gates, slightly to the right called Cahaya laundry on Jl. Lebak Sari no.1. Get there early and the lovely lady will deliver it back to Hotel just after 5pm the same day. There is also a good money changer & convenience store up on Jl. Petitenget also to the right.
All in all I think we will be back because for the money we paid we got a lot of value.
Thanks again for having us.
Oh I forgot to mention just how lovely the gardens are! Well looked after, established garden make the hotel extra luxurious.

Room Tip: Go a Bungalow if you want more space & privacy away from the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MonoWilli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelVilaLumbung, Manager at Hotel Vila Lumbung, responded to this review, 13 July 2013
Dear MonoWilli,

Warmest Greetings from Hotel Vila Lumbung, Seminyak - Bali!

Thank you for your valuable time for sharing experience while stay in our resort. We really appreciated when you and your family had a pleasant stay with us. Our team always do the best effort for the best guest experience with us.

We are happy also when your family enjoy our beautiful tropical poo and garden, which is one of the most tranquil and Balinese style garden. Our resort strategically located in the golden ways of Petitenget and Seminyak, which is well known as Eat Street and Shop Street.

Also, thank you for the good response for The Lumbung Restaurant. Your good response of the food and fruit amenities, will be a great encourage to all staff to give the best effort to all of our guest.

Dear MonoWilli, we cant wait for you and your family next visit .

Best Regards
The Management
Hotel Vila Lumbung
Seminyak - Bali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,062 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    484
    416
    112
    27
    23
See reviews for
231
439
47
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

currently staying at Vila lumbung in a deluxe bungalow downstairs with husband and 1 child and parents and upstairs in deluxe bungalow with our 3rd child. I agree with quite a few comments already made. starting to show its age and could do with a spruce up. I do like my luxury resorts but also wanted a Bali feel....also didn't want a huge price tag since traveling in a large group. For price can't complain. Breakfast good. Staff lovely. Pool area great. Mozzies...mmmm. can't say I have seen what I call a proper mosquito, however plenty of small flying midgy types that must be biting as we all have quite a few bites. Nothing too serious and they do a large spray 2 x week to try and get rid of them. I do feel hotel is a bit isolated. A few restaurants within walking dist but most need a taxi. No shopping in this area. Need transport. Deluxe bungalow upstairs is nicer and larger. Both suitable for family with young kids that don't mind sharing a bed as the day bed is huge. Larger upstairs, but even the smaller is at least a queen size. Downstairs kids are in separate bedroom with a door off the main bedroom. Upstairs still private off to one side of main room but no door due to large cathedral type ceilings. No bath in upstairs. Outside bathroom in downstairs which is a bit quirky but showing its age.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Family5traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelVilaLumbung, Manager at Hotel Vila Lumbung, responded to this review, 13 July 2013
Dear Family5Traveller,

Warmest Greetings from Hotel Vila Lumbung, Seminyak - Bali!

First of all, we loved to say thank you for your time, for sharing an experience for you and your family stay in our resort. We are very pleased to know that you have a pleasure stay with us. This will be an encouragement for all of our staff, to give the best service for all of our guest.

Refer to mosquito issue, we admit this problem is our concern lately. As you mentioned, two times general mosquito spray a week already taken to reduce the mosquito. however the tropical climate and a large tropical garden given a big chance for the mosquito to live.

Dear Family5Traveller, we cant wait for your next visit to our resort with your family again.

The Management
Hotel Vila Lumbung
Seminyak - Bali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 June 2013

I agree with J C. Mosquitos everywhere, lucky that I brought mosquito net for my 6months old baby but still during the day he sometimes slept on the big bed with me and would get bombarded by mosquitos. I have already paid for 9nights online so I just put up with it which I shouldn't. At the end of the trip we we all got Mosquitos bites. Foods is not good at all I expected more from what they call themselves "4 stars hotel". Bath towels are so dirty looking. Staffs are friendly and helpful, though. Garden is beautiful as well as the pool. But the photos of the hotel you can see online and the real hotel doesn't look as new and fresh as in the photos.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fruity108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelVilaLumbung, Manager at Hotel Vila Lumbung, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
Dear Fruity 108

Warmest Greetings from Hotel Vila Lumbung, Seminyak - Bali!

First of all, we appreciate for your experience sharing to our Resort. .We are always make effort to assist and serve all guest with our best to ensure their pleasure time at our hotel. The same effort that we also perform to you and family when you arrive at our hotel.

Thank your for your good response for our staff as well our pool and garden. The photos was taken at 2012, and we will ensure the most update condition.

We admit the mosquito is our primary problem , and we have taken all possible planning and immediate action to minimize this problem. We have done the preventive and also proactive solution by maintain our pest control program such as daily spraying in the room, regular insect fogging around garden, and maintaining our garden structure and cleanliness. The tropical climate of Bali, and the hotel condition surround by large lush tropical garden is the main cause for the mosquito. For this situation,. We shall keep running this program and will also do the alternative solution till the problem is solved and will ensure none of our guest experience this at present and in the future.

Your experience and also the other guest experience that have been share to us will be our guidance to improve our service and performance in the near future.
We are very welcome to serve you once more with better service in the future.

Best Regards

The Management
Hotel Vila Lumbung Seminyak, Bali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We did not do enough research before booking this hotel and were extremely dismayed to find out that the rooms were mosquito infested when we arrived late on a weekday night with a baby in tow. The bedsheets were also stained and the toilets were outdoors and dim and full of insects. The rooms had wall paper peeling off too. The cot they provided for our baby did not look clean and only had a piece of cardboard at the bottom. Not even a mattress.

After more than an hour of being bitten by mosquitos and trying to swat them when we were first shown to our room, we requested another room. We were then given a room that has just been sprayed with toxic insect repellant. The staff said it was fine for us and our 9-month old baby to breathe the fumes.

With a sore throat and a chemical headache from the toxic fumes 20 mins later, we asked for another room and was told there were none.

We went to reception and said we must find another hotel since they cannot give us a suitable room, and requested a refund of the 4-night charge of $1000 dollars that we had been forced to pay on arrival without seeing the rooms.

This is when they show you the no refund part of your email agreement. There was no apology and the customer service was very poor.

We had no choice but to go to another hotel at 11pm with our baby exhausted in our arms. We were told to go back the next day at 9am to see the manager for a refund. The manager did not turn up, and they insisted we could not have a refund even though we did not stay a single night.

Long story short, we managed to get half our money back weeks after we arrived home from Bali - after a lot of wrangling with this hotel. We still can't believe that we had to pay $500 for never even staying one night there. If they had good customer service, they would have done the decent thing and paid us the full refund. Will NEVER book at this hotel again and I don't recommend that anyone else does.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank J C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelVilaLumbung, Manager at Hotel Vila Lumbung, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
Dear J C

Warmest Greetings from Hotel Vila Lumbung, Seminyak - Bali.

Thank you for sharing your experience during your stay at our hotel. We express our sincere apologize upon hearing that you and family are unhappy about our accommodation and services when you spent the time at our resort. We are always pleased to assist and serve all guest with our best effort to ensure they will enjoy their time at our hotel. The same effort that we also perform to you and family when you arrive at our hotel.

We admit the mosquito is our primary problem lately, and we have taken all possible planning and immediate action to minimize this problem. It appears the tropical climate and the hotel condition surround by large lush tropical garden increase the chance of the mosquito to breed. Given this situation, we have done the preventive and also proactive solution by maintain our pest control program such as daily spraying in the room, regular insect fogging around garden, and maintaining our garden structure and cleanliness. We shall keep running this program and will also do the alternative solution till the problem is solved and will ensure none of our guest experience this at present and in the future.

Refer to your concern about the accommodation services, we are pleased to inform that our staff just simply perform the standard hotel procedure and regulation. It is a common issue that the booking payment made in advance and it is already been inform to all guest when they made the reservation. Our team also perform their best effort to arrange the room changing for you and family, however due to limited deluxe bungalow availability make the room selection is also limited. it is a grief for us to not have you staying at our hotel. As our good willingness we have process the refund 50% of the room bill instead of full charge with non-refundable reservation policy.

Your experience and also the other guest experience that have been share to us will be our guidance to improve our service and performance in the near future.
We are also welcome at the change to serve you once more with better service in the future.

Best Regards

The Management
Hotel Vila Lumbung Seminyak, Bali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Stayed at Vila Lumbung again on yet another trip to Bali. Staff are just wonderful. Service great. Do thing the evening meal menu could be a bit more varied, but good. Also rooms getting a little in need of a little repair here and there. Would certainly stay again just love it there.

Room Tip: You will love the gardens and wonderful staff here. If staying in superior room try to get ground f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maggie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelVilaLumbung, Manager at Hotel Vila Lumbung, responded to this review, 22 June 2013
Dear Maggie B,

Warmest Greetings from Hotel Vila Lumbung, Seminyak - Bali!

Thank you for always choosing Hotel Vila Lumbung during your holiday in Bali. We appreciate for your time to write a review for our Resort. For the food variety and room, we already discuss to the Department related, and we will do the best for the guests experience.

Dear Maggie B, we also loved to serve your next holiday in Bali

Best Regards
The Management
Hotel Vila Lumbung.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wanneroo, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

My wife, self and friends stayed for 4 nights in this hotel and while it is not a new one it is very comfortable and peaceful. We had a villa and had the downstairs while our friends had the upstairs, both areas where very spacious. We where all very pleased with the hotel and the very friendly and attentive staff. The pool areas where more than adequate for the size of the hotel. The only problem that we had, was with the lighting around the grounds and rooms being very subdued

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elderberryWanneroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelVilaLumbung, Manager at Hotel Vila Lumbung, responded to this review, 22 June 2013
Dear elderberryWanneroo,

Warmest Greetings from Hotel Vila Lumbung, Seminyak - Bali.

Thank you for choosing Hotel Vila Lumbung during your family holiday and in Bal and i your positive response in this review. We are so happy to know that you have a pleasant stay with us and enjoyed here as a Lovely Hotel. For the quiet light, we have reported to related department, in the future we can provide you the brighter lightning.

Dear elderberryWanneroo, we are glad to serve you and your family for the next vacation in Bali.

Best Regards

The Management
Hotel Vila Lumbung
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bunbury, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

After a very average 2012 holiday in Bali ,Booked into the wrong and worst hotel in Kuta by our previous travel agent . Explaining to our new travel agent that we were looking for a quieter location in Bali and a more traditional Bali type hotel close to nice resturants and walking distance to the beach .Our travel agent showed us some imformation on Vila Lumbung ,we booked it for 25 May 2013.Upon arriving one of the friendly staff took us to our room 9a an upstairs deluxe room overlooking the pool ,my wifes reaction was i think were in heaven .The whole experiance was excellent .The staff were so friendly and helpfull ,the pool and gardens were lovely ,breakfast every morning was great .The room was cleaned every day. It was so quiet at night it reminded us of when we first stayed in Kuta 30 years ago .This year was our best holiday ever thanks to Vila Lumbung and the staff . We will be back next year .thankyou .

Room Tip: 9A upstairs Deluxe Bungalow overlooks the pool .
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelVilaLumbung, Manager at Hotel Vila Lumbung, responded to this review, 22 June 2013
Dear Kim J,

Warmest Greetings from Hotel Vila Lumbung, Seminyak - Bali.

First, thank you for choosing Hotel Vila Lumbung during your holiday in Bali. Our team are very thankful to your positive feedback for our staff, service, products and facilities. This would definitely encourage our staff's spirit to explore all excellent efforts to continuously providing excellent services, products and facilities to beloved guests. We always service all guests as a family, for the best experience with us.

Dear Kim J, . Our team can not wait to welcome a valued guest like you soon at Hotel Vila Lumbung in the near future.

Best Regards
The Management
Hotel Vila Lumbung, Seminyak - Bali.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
1.4 mi away
Villa Coco
Villa Coco
#25 of 145 in Seminyak
616 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bali Ginger Suites & Villa
Bali Ginger Suites & Villa
#31 of 145 in Seminyak
538 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ize Seminyak
Ize Seminyak
#48 of 145 in Seminyak
957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Haven Bali
The Haven Bali
#64 of 145 in Seminyak
1,748 reviews
0.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Bali, Seminyak
1.1 mi away
The Breezes Bali Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vila Lumbung? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vila Lumbung

Property: Hotel Vila Lumbung
Address: Jl. Raya Petitenget no. 1000x, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Seminyak
#29 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#36 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#39 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
#42 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Vila Lumbung 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vila Lumbung is located in Seminyak area, just 15 minutes drive by car from Kuta or Legian and 10 minutes walk to Seminyak Square shopping centre. Set on 15.000 square meters of lush tropical gardens and just 800 meters away from Petitenget Beach, this hotel also close to several famous restaurant and beach club in Seminyak. The hotel features with 36 Superior Rooms and 34 Deluxe Bungalow and this is the perfect place for those who seek a fresh tropical atmosphere. All villas are in the Lumbung style with typical Balinese wooden roofs (sirap) in spacious Balinese rooms. Flooded with natural light, the well-designed rooms with a balcony and DVD player prepared in each room. All of them are fully equipped with individually controlled air-conditioning, in-room safe, minibar, coffee or tea maker facility, bath-up and shower, and free complimentary Wi-Fi access.In addition, an open air restaurant with an adjacent pool bar and 2 level swimming pool with waterfall and cave, tropical island, whirl pool, gazebo and day spa, kids playground, tour desk and recreation room. Luxury and style within a true Balinese atmosphere awaits you at this Bali resort hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Vila Lumbung reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Vila Lumbung
Vila Lumbung Hotel
Hotel Vila Lumbung Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing