We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slightly Let Down, In need of a Renovation.”
Review of Hotel Vila Lumbung

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Vila Lumbung
Ranked #42 of 147 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We arrived late at night, our check was simple and easy, we headed to our room only to find the Aircon not working. This was no drama as the staff were very professional about it and took us to another room. Overall the two rooms we had the opportunity of seeing were very old and outdated, the paint was peeling off the wall in some places, the aircon was only just keeping the place cool and we had a bad smell wafting out of the drain in the bathroom. An upside to the room was that it was quite large, one of the biggest i have stayed in Bali. The bed was comfy and pillows nice.
The breakfast buffet was very small in choice, we have stayed many times in bali and this is one of the things i look forward to the most!
Overall i wouldn't stay here again, i really wanted to like Hotel Villa Lumbung, but in comparison to other Hotels on Bali, it just doesn't quite measure up.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dewith87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,084)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Vila Lumbung
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

693 - 699 of 1,087 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2013

Fantastic place to stay. We booked a 'superior room' but were upgraded to an upstairs bungalow for some reason, was awesome. Food was great, service was excellent, staff amazing especially Cipta who went out of his way to please. The girls in the 'day spa' were beautiful and I certainly enjoyed my daily massages. The pool area was beautiful and the quietness at night was definately a bonus. The money exchange and small supermarket right outside the front gate was also a bonus. Staff in both those places were trustworthy, helpful and extremely friendly. I would definately stay there again and recommend it.

Room Tip: Upstairs bungalow was beautiful.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Had another great stay here. We have two young boys, and we bought my Mother in law as well, and the staff were fantastic. The resort is almost ready for a makeover, but still in reasonably good shape. We loved the pool, and with Warung Eny's just outside the front gate, it is one of our favourite places.

Room Tip: From our experience the Vilas are the go. We have stayed downstairs both times, but would like to go...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

What an awesome place. Nice and quiet. Amazing pool area. We had an upstairs bungalow type overlooking the pool. Food was great and staff were warm and friendly. Will certainly return for the great overall hospitality, location and quietness at night. Met some great travellers too by the pool bar.

Room Tip: Seem where overlooking the pool is great. Grounds are beautiful
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wayne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We really loved our stay at Vila Lumbung. The resort was really well cared for, the breakfast was amazing, lovely staff, great pool and not too busy which was exactly what we wanted. The location was perfect, with walking distance to Potato Head and a 5 minute taxi to the main shopping strip of seminyak. I'd happily stay there again when returning to Bali.

Room Tip: We went for a bungalow which was enormous with a big outdoor bathroom - loved it. The spa was a litt...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona_M85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We stayed 4 nights in the hotel rooms at Hotel Vila Lumbung and were not impressed. The rooms smelt damp and the linen was terrible. The sheets and towels were a grey colour instead of white and towels so thin and stained they looked like they were ready for throwing out! As for the quilt inside the quilt cover that looked like it had never been washed. The shower was unreliable. You would either get hot water and no pressure or water pressure and no hot water.

We asked to be moved from the first room we were given as there was a mouldy patch on the wall and the shower was waist height. The next room wasn't a lot better but decided to give it a go. As we weren't in our room much and only there for 4 nights we put it down to you get what you pay for and will be aware of no refund on booking policies in future.

The bungalows are more expensive per night but must be a lot better going on past reviews of this hotel as the reason we stayed here was because of the good reviews and reasonable price. Looking back now most reviews are of the bungalows and not the hotel rooms so beware!

On the positive side the pool area is very nice and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is average, omelette's were nice but other hot food didn't seem very fresh.

Location is quiet and set back from the main road but there are plenty of restaurants and massage places nearby. Our favourite restaurant was Petitenget which is about a 10 minute walk from the hotel on Petitenget Road (opposite a park).

Probably better to upgrade to the bungalows if you want to stay here but for the price they are you could get a much nicer hotel.

Room Tip: Don't stay in hotel rooms.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank twopages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelVilaLumbung, Director of Sales at Hotel Vila Lumbung, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Warmest Greeting from Hotel Vila Lumbung!

Thank you for your sharing toward TripAdvisor, the information in regards of towel and the shower had forwaded to our management for further action. And it being followed up accordingly by our department related.

We are very delighted hearing your good review with our pool and our service, as well as our location. We are look forward to welcome you on your next holiday with no more issues and there will be special rate or special treatment are waiting you as our repeater guest.

Once again thank you for chossing Hotel Vila Lumbung as part of your holiday and we would do our best for our improvement and would definitely serve you our best in your next stay.

Please feel free to contact us for any further information or assistance for your next holiday.

Best regards,

The management..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

right where the action is in seminyak , you're a walk away from everything . service was great, breakfast was fine. rooms were clean. my only issue was that internet was a little dodgy, ofcourse i wasn't on it much but had to send a couple of business emails on short notice and it was a little slow even in the lobby. i would definitely recommend villa lumbung to friends as the location is amazing and the price is reasonable.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
1.4 mi away
Villa Coco
Villa Coco
#28 of 147 in Seminyak
634 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bali Ginger Suites & Villa
Bali Ginger Suites & Villa
#30 of 147 in Seminyak
561 reviews
0.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Bali, Seminyak
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ize Seminyak
Ize Seminyak
#51 of 147 in Seminyak
987 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Haven Bali
The Haven Bali
#63 of 147 in Seminyak
1,809 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Breezes Bali Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vila Lumbung? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vila Lumbung

Address: Jl. Raya Petitenget no. 1000x, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Seminyak
#29 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#37 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#39 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
#42 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range: £50 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Vila Lumbung 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vila Lumbung is located in Seminyak area, just 15 minutes drive by car from Kuta or Legian and 10 minutes walk to Seminyak Square shopping centre. Set on 15.000 square meters of lush tropical gardens and just 800 meters away from Petitenget Beach, this hotel also close to several famous restaurant and beach club in Seminyak. The hotel features with 36 Superior Rooms and 34 Deluxe Bungalow and this is the perfect place for those who seek a fresh tropical atmosphere. All villas are in the Lumbung style with typical Balinese wooden roofs (sirap) in spacious Balinese rooms. Flooded with natural light, the well-designed rooms with a balcony and DVD player prepared in each room. All of them are fully equipped with individually controlled air-conditioning, in-room safe, minibar, coffee or tea maker facility, bath-up and shower, and free complimentary Wi-Fi access.In addition, an open air restaurant with an adjacent pool bar and 2 level swimming pool with waterfall and cave, tropical island, whirl pool, gazebo and day spa, kids playground, tour desk and recreation room. Luxury and style within a true Balinese atmosphere awaits you at this Bali resort hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Vila Lumbung reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Vila Lumbung
Vila Lumbung Hotel
Hotel Vila Lumbung Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing