We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bali without the hype”
Review of Hotel Vila Lumbung

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Vila Lumbung
Ranked #42 of 147 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Centrally located to all the great restaurants and shops of Seminyak.
Great value.
Comfortable, spacious and without too much hype.
Rooms are old but big and comfortable.
All you need for a quiet trip to Bali.

Room Tip: Get a pool villa
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,086)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Vila Lumbung
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

631 - 637 of 1,088 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed for four nights recently and loved every minute.

We stayed in a downstairs deluxe bungalow which was really lovely - only downside was the noise from the people upstairs (dragging chairs). Had a lovely balcony and the room was cleaned everyday.

The spa treatments were excellent (and very cheap) and all the staff were extra friendly (cocktails and cold towels on arrival). Breakfast everyday was great (made to order omelettes!). We had several other meals from the restaurant, all were mostly good - couple of not so great but very well priced also.

The hotel and pool area were very quiet at night but the location of the hotel is excellent and the night life is only a short walk/taxi away.

We had friends stay in the standard rooms, which were also pleasant enough.

We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bethany119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We booked two superior rooms months in advance for our stay in April 2014 and were looking forward to staying at Hotel Villa Lumbung as the photos of the hotel looked amazing. We have stayed in quite a few hotels in bali over the years but we have never come across a hotel that is so run down and grotty. Despite booking months in advance we were made to wait over an hour for our room once we arrived for check in. We were told that someone had extended their stay and they were preparing other rooms for us. Both superior rooms were barely furnished, no pictures on the walls, the one room had a broken air conditioner and despite asking reception staff four times to get it checked, nothing was done and the weather was really humid so it was not a pleasant start with no sleep on the first night. Both rooms had disgusting dirty yellow sweat stained pillows, mould on the bedside lamp, mould in the bathroom and very old and tattered bathroom towels and bath mat. We stayed one night and decided to check out and find a cleaner place for the other three nights. When we explained to the manager why we wanted to check out he offered to accommodate us in a villa, we decided that we would still like to check out as the state of the linen and towels etc would of been the same and we did not want to experience the same uncleanliness any longer and risk breathing in any more mould. Unfortunately we lost money on 3 nights accommodation for both rooms which added up to a fair amount of money. I certainly will not recommend this hotel to anyone, unless you want to lose your money that you have paid and still have to pay for another hotel on top of that just to have clean linen and no mould. It's just the normal expectation that when you book into a hotel that you will have clean linen etc, I have never stayed in a hotel in Bali prior to Villa Lumbung that has been so run down and unclean.

Stayed: April 2014
4  Thank ozieAsutralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed in Hotel Vila Lumbung for 4 nights in April 2014 - the location was ideal - literally around the corner from popular restaurants and bars in Seminyak, no need for taxi cabs. Also only a small stroll to the beach which was nice and quiet.The deluxe bungalows are great value for money, very spacious and beautiful balinese style furniture & finishings. The grounds of the hotel are also very pretty, we were very lucky with the weather so got to take advantage of happy hour by the pool whilst soaking up some last minute sun. The staff at the hotel were also very friendly and helpful and even prepared take away breakfasts for us to take with us when we had to leave the hotel very early before the time breakfast was served - which I though was a nice touch.
I would definitely come back to this hotel and would recommend it for all types i.e. families, young and older couples. If you are looking for a relaxing holiday in Seminyak, Hotel Vila Lumbung is the perfect location.

Room Tip: I would recommend to pay the little extra for the deluxe bungalows, whilst the hotel rooms looked ni...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NiamhLiam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

My friend and I made a 3 week (low budget) trip through Indonesia. To end our trip with a bit more luxury we booked 3 nights at Vila Lumbung.

Although we could have booked trough booking.com we thought it would be nice to book directly with Vila Lumbung. We agreed with an all including price which we paid in advance. As we did not want sent all our credit card details (copy of the front and back side) by email we agreed to transfer to amount by bank.

A few days before arrival we received an email that we paid only a part of the total amount and we could pay the other 20 dollar upon arrival. This email confused us as we were sure we transferred the complete amount.

After days of travelling through Indonesia we arrived at the hotel. As we were quite tired we decided to discuss the issue of 20 dollars at the moment of departure. In addition, the front desk told us that our room wasn't ready yet but within one hour we could receive the key. 2 hours later we were still waiting... Not a really good start.

To add something positive to the review; the room was really nice (especially when you're used to travel on a budget) and clean.

Before we checked out we double checked our email with the management and our bank accounts. We were sure that we paid the complete amount that we agreed in the email correspondence and that this was an all-in price. At the front desk they keep telling us that the 20 dollar was withheld by the Indonesian bank, what we could understand. However, they didn't told us that a bank tax is due at the moment of confirming our booking. As we agreed with an all-in price we did not want to pay the 20 dollars (our stay was expensive enough!). The staff did not want to help us in any way with this issue and in the end we just paid because we have to catch our flight.

Although 20 dollars might not be that much, the way this issue is solved isn't acceptable.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank Daphne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Can't believe how much this area has developed in the last few years, our sneaky short cuts have become bitumen roads lined with villas and shops. Lucky that Vila Lumbung retains that tranquil feeling with peaceful, lush gardens and an outstanding pool area.
15 family members spread amongst 5 bungalow rooms...we felt so at home and comfortable here again. The staff as always were friendly and accommodating. I especially loved the smiling service from Yuli and Kami. And Mr G'day at the front of the hotel always made sure we had everything we needed. I hope this hotel will not change with its new ownership and keep its wonderful staff, we love coming back here.
I think this is a great hotel for couples or families with children. The older bungalow rooms are spacious and have wonderful verandas or balconies that provide useful extra space. The Petitinget area is full of great placs to eat and shop and an easy walk to the Batu Belig street with even more choice of dining and spending the thousands of rupiah!!
Love Vila Lumbung and hope to be back soon.

Room Tip: Bungalow rooms are worth the extra $
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Natalie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

My wife and I took time out to relax in what turned out to be a perfect retreat. There were lots of restaurants within walking distance if you wanted to eat out and the Vila restaurant provided top class food and service. The staff were amazingly friendly and helpful and we had a beautiful show of Balinese dancing on Thursday night. Poolside Happy Hours were wonderful.
Thank you to the staff for a wonderful time away from home.

Room Tip: Higher floors at the back give view of the pool and sunsets
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sladen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
1.4 mi away
Villa Coco
Villa Coco
#28 of 147 in Seminyak
635 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bali Ginger Suites & Villa
Bali Ginger Suites & Villa
#30 of 147 in Seminyak
561 reviews
0.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Bali, Seminyak
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ize Seminyak
Ize Seminyak
#51 of 147 in Seminyak
987 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Haven Bali
The Haven Bali
#63 of 147 in Seminyak
1,810 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Breezes Bali Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vila Lumbung? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vila Lumbung

Address: Jl. Raya Petitenget no. 1000x, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Seminyak
#29 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#37 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#39 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
#42 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range: £49 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Vila Lumbung 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vila Lumbung is located in Seminyak area, just 15 minutes drive by car from Kuta or Legian and 10 minutes walk to Seminyak Square shopping centre. Set on 15.000 square meters of lush tropical gardens and just 800 meters away from Petitenget Beach, this hotel also close to several famous restaurant and beach club in Seminyak. The hotel features with 36 Superior Rooms and 34 Deluxe Bungalow and this is the perfect place for those who seek a fresh tropical atmosphere. All villas are in the Lumbung style with typical Balinese wooden roofs (sirap) in spacious Balinese rooms. Flooded with natural light, the well-designed rooms with a balcony and DVD player prepared in each room. All of them are fully equipped with individually controlled air-conditioning, in-room safe, minibar, coffee or tea maker facility, bath-up and shower, and free complimentary Wi-Fi access.In addition, an open air restaurant with an adjacent pool bar and 2 level swimming pool with waterfall and cave, tropical island, whirl pool, gazebo and day spa, kids playground, tour desk and recreation room. Luxury and style within a true Balinese atmosphere awaits you at this Bali resort hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Vila Lumbung reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Vila Lumbung
Vila Lumbung Hotel
Hotel Vila Lumbung Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing