We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great room, poor breakfast and construction undergoing at the pool”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Vila Lumbung

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Vila Lumbung
Ranked #41 of 143 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Portugal
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great room, poor breakfast and construction undergoing at the pool”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2010

We stayed 6 nights at Vila Lumbung. We booked the deluxe Villa, that has a spacious room with shower and bath outside has we stayed in ground floor. The bed was the best we had in our stay in Bali. The breakfast doesn't have many variety of food for us, portuguese healthy couple, as they offer nasi goreng, fried bacon and stuff like that in the morning, and there's no natural juices or milkshakes.
The hotel has construction undergoing in the pool area, and we think that the guests should be adviced when booking. Because of the work the water and the bottom of the pool are a little bit dirty so we didn't even tried it.
The hotel has beautiful gardens, and it's a short walk from the beach. But the beach it's awfull!! Black, dirty sand, and a beach break with some dangerous looking waves. We rented a moto for all the 6 days because we stayed previously in Tanjung, and Nusa Dua beach and all the reef breaks in Padang Padang area are much more pleasant for sunbathing and surf.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank filipahugo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,009 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    455
    396
    108
    27
    23
See reviews for
219
417
42
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2010

The highlight of Vila Lumbung was the bed - it had the most comfortable bed we have ever slept in. The room also included a day bed which was fantastic for reading a book on a hot day. Everything was clean and hygienic and the shower was great. The only negative about the room was the dim lighting - made reading at night difficult. The service was satisfactory, as was the food - nothing spectacular though. The pool was lovely. The worst thing about Vila Lumbung is the location. It is somewhat isolated which means you really have to taxi everywhere, unless you love walking. However, this does make it a quiet place to stay. We began our honeymoon here and it was definitely a great place to begin a relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwis777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2009

A nice, clean hotel, with villas dotted around lush gardens and an attractive pool and restaurant area. Perhaps a little isolated, but with taxis costing so little, that's not an issue. And all the taxi drivers know it. Good facilities in room, including adjustable aircon, safe, TV, telephone, hairdryer, drying racks on balcony etc.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgia002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed here from late Oct to early November 09 and the staff and room were great. We had a downstairs bungalow with an outdoor bathroom which was very romantic but also beware the mosquitos! We had a little bit of an issue of perhaps being able to be seen while in the bath but the blinds seemed to always be down in that room we hope!
One downside was that we would have liked to be a bit closer to the beach and maybe to a few more shops. It would cost us about AU$5 in a bluebird taxi to get to Kuta (with a tip) from our hotel which isn't much but we would have preferred to be a bit closer.
Overall though the staff were very friendly and helpful, the room was lovely and big, the outdoor bathroom a real novelty. The pools were lovely too, hotel restaurant a little expensive but thought the food was pretty good. A nice relaxing stay, just check they aren't still doing repairs to the hotel lobby roof, they had started that just before we left around the 2nd Nov 09.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ames92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2009

We stayed in room 1A, one of the half bungalows, the room was HUGE, the biggest bed ever, plus a huge day bed, a sofa, and an outdoor day bed on the balcony, plenty of places to relax! Only complaint was that is sometime smelt a little musky but there was an dehumidifier function on the air con which sorted this out. The hotel is lovely, great grounds with a really fun pool area, great for kids. We didn't spend too much time round the pool as it was quite busy all the time, but it was very nice and gets the sun most of the day. The room has an a safe, a TV and DVD player, a fridge, an air con and a decent hairdryer!!The restaurant is lovely and breakfast was a ridiculously well stocked buffet! The staff were great, very friendly and helpful. There is a very simple fitness centre, 4 machines, which is free to use so you can't complain! The hotel is just up the road from the stunning Huu Bar and gorgeous Living room restaurant, however a short taxi ride will get you to the main strip. The beach is about a 10 min walk away, you can walk right to Kuta down the beach.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cldmanchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
1.4 mi away
Villa Coco
Villa Coco
#29 of 143 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
0.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Bali, Seminyak
1.0 mi away
Bali Ginger Suites & Villa
Bali Ginger Suites & Villa
#27 of 143 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Haven Bali
The Haven Bali
#64 of 143 in Seminyak
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,665 reviews
0.5 mi away
U Paasha Seminyak
U Paasha Seminyak
#46 of 143 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,029 reviews
1.2 mi away
Pelangi Bali Hotel
Pelangi Bali Hotel
#84 of 143 in Seminyak
4.0 of 5 bubbles 997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vila Lumbung? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vila Lumbung

Property: Hotel Vila Lumbung
Address: Jl. Raya Petitenget no. 1000x, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Seminyak
#29 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#35 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#38 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
#42 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Vila Lumbung 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vila Lumbung is located in Seminyak area, just 15 minutes drive by car from Kuta or Legian and 10 minutes walk to Seminyak Square shopping centre. Set on 15.000 square meters of lush tropical gardens and just 800 meters away from Petitenget Beach, this hotel also close to several famous restaurant and beach club in Seminyak. The hotel features with 36 Superior Rooms and 34 Deluxe Bungalow and this is the perfect place for those who seek a fresh tropical atmosphere. All villas are in the Lumbung style with typical Balinese wooden roofs (sirap) in spacious Balinese rooms. Flooded with natural light, the well-designed rooms with a balcony and DVD player prepared in each room. All of them are fully equipped with individually controlled air-conditioning, in-room safe, minibar, coffee or tea maker facility, bath-up and shower, and free complimentary Wi-Fi access.In addition, an open air restaurant with an adjacent pool bar and 2 level swimming pool with waterfall and cave, tropical island, whirl pool, gazebo and day spa, kids playground, tour desk and recreation room. Luxury and style within a true Balinese atmosphere awaits you at this Bali resort hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Vila Lumbung reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Vila Lumbung
Vila Lumbung Hotel
Hotel Vila Lumbung Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing