We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is no longer the quiet garden location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Vila Lumbung

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Vila Lumbung
Ranked #42 of 142 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“This is no longer the quiet garden location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2010

There are some excellent restaurants nearby. The bungalow rooms were very comfortable but looking at the pictures I realize there were should have been cushions on the daybed.. I found it too busy probably due to the blocks of rooms that have been added. Lots of children (I was assured there would be none when I enquired ) and package holidays tourists. According to friends this has really changed and much busy than a couple of years ago. Music in the evening was very good. Staff extremely pleasant. Fitness room and spa very basic.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LindaBamford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

997 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    446
    394
    108
    26
    23
See reviews for
215
413
42
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2010

We spent 10 nights in Vila Lumbung. The hotel was clean and tidy although the bathroom was a bit dated and at times the toilet had a bad odour. We did tell the cleaners who tried to eliminate it without success. However the rooms were spacious and very comfortable with lovely beds and a wonderful outdoor area. The staff were exceptionally friendly and welcoming. We found the drinks and food very expensive so did not eat or drink much in the hotel. The breakfasts were tasty and the coffee was great. The pool area was fantastic and there were enough loungers. We found some delicious restaurants nearby and a very reasonable minimart across the road. The hotel was about 20 minutes from the beach on a very busy road which was not much a problem for us. All and all it was great value for money

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Baileigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2010

We spent our honeymoon at the Vila Lumbung, and we could not have been more disappointed. The place looks run down, the rooms are tatty, towels stained and smell mouldy. The Staff are very pushy - constantly asking you what your plans are and can you eat in their restaurant, we even had one member of staff complaining about his wages and hinted to us that it was ok for guests just to 'give them money'.
Price wise - more expensive than the UK!!! Cocktails are £8+, meals very expensive, then there is the sneaky 10% 'tax' and 5% compulsory service charge you have to pay. Staff also striking 'deals' with taxi drivers for example if they quote you '70-80 thousand rupees you will definately pay 80k plus 'extras'.. (they will give the staff a cut of what it is)be warned ...Would definately give this one a MISS.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Littlemodchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall,England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2010

So, this was the first of my hotels. I didnt spend much time at the hotel becuase i had to shop. The pool was great. Friendly staff. AMAZING help yourself breakfasts. We got treated really well and i would defiently go back. I only had dinner once at the hotel and so many nice restaurants near by. The dinner i had was good, but the restaurant was TOTALLY EMPTY. also, the rooms werent great but you dont spend much time in them. the lighting was bad but acceptable.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlotteRB3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2010

We stayed in Vila Lumbung for 2 nights, and were immediately disappointed upon arrival. We booked a "vila" large enough for 4 people, but the adjoining room was pretty disgusting, so we asked to move to another spot. The 2nd vila was just as bad, so we decided to remain in the initial one. We just weren't impressed with the room at all, and confused on why they call it a vila, when it's really a glorified duplex with a bottom and top room.
Breakfast was laughable. We travel extensively across Asia, but this was by far the worst breakfast we came across. There was so little selection both mornings, and what we did eat was terrible. The service was also poor. Most of the those working the desks and grounds were fairly young and completely unaware of our presence or need. I felt like they were annoyed with any of our questions or requests. This was a huge change from the 1st 1/2 of our vacation in Ubud.
On the positive, I was able to get to the beach each early morning for surfing via a 5 min taxi ride for $1 USD, and get back for the same. Also, Seminyak was a great location as we hired a private driver to tour a lot of Bali each day.
We knew Seminyak would be expensive, but felt ripped off with the $150 USD price each night.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 4Tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2010

My friend and I booked this hotel at the last minute and couldn't be happier with our choice.
We stayed in a superior twin share room which we found to be clean and comfortable.
We spent most of out stay relaxing by the pool, which with two levels (lower with a swim up bar) was large, deep, and plenty of room for all guests.
We ate all breakfasts at the villa, good range of buffet, pastries, cereal, assorted hot food and great omelettes. The staff were friendly and helpful.
Only 20mins max to Kuta for shopping and good restaurants nearby.
We did eat in for dinner one night for a mongolian feast that was very enjoyable with balinese dancers for entertainment.

The only bad points I can think of was the place could bit cleaner, in so much as picking up leaves around the villas, the pool needs a bit of a scrub with some minor moss growing, but I am being very picky in that respect.......
Great cheap massage place few doors down the road, excellent organic restaurant next door and 24hour mini supermarket also very close by...
Beach for great sunsets 10/15minute walk away.
Very basic "fitness centre" stationary bikes and elliptical trainers that I should have used as I ate way too much of the great breakfasts and poolside lunches...

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Azhure76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2010

Having visited Bali only months ago with my husband and daughter, staying in Ubud and Kuta, I had a good cross section of accommodation to compare with. This trip was with 2 girlfriends and Vila Lumbung impressed all of us. With traditional style buildings and beautiful gardens and pool it was perfect. I don't like staying in five star resorts with no traditional buildings as you could be staying in a local hotel in Australia.
We had an upstairs villa overlooking the pool. The room was large, clean and comfortable. As there were three of us one had to sleep on the day bed which was a little on the hard side but huge. The bathroom was big and beautiful.
We even had a mouse come to visit.... he did like our fruit. If only we could have turned off the rain.
My only complaint would be breadfast. Very very average. Not a lot of variety.
Though there are some really good eating places .
Head out the gate and turn left, within a couple of minutes walk there are some great places to eat and the best cheap massage.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judi61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.6 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Bali, Seminyak
1.7 mi away
Villa Coco
Villa Coco
#29 of 142 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
1.3 mi away
Bali Ginger Suites & Villa
Bali Ginger Suites & Villa
#30 of 142 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Haven Bali
The Haven Bali
#62 of 142 in Seminyak
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,636 reviews
1.5 mi away
Pelangi Bali Hotel
Pelangi Bali Hotel
#77 of 142 in Seminyak
4.0 of 5 bubbles 992 reviews
0.8 mi away
U Paasha Seminyak
U Paasha Seminyak
#49 of 142 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vila Lumbung? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vila Lumbung

Property: Hotel Vila Lumbung
Address: Jl. Raya Petitenget no. 1000x, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Seminyak
#29 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#35 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#38 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
#42 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Vila Lumbung 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vila Lumbung is located in Seminyak area, just 15 minutes drive by car from Kuta or Legian and 10 minutes walk to Seminyak Square shopping centre. Set on 15.000 square meters of lush tropical gardens and just 800 meters away from Petitenget Beach, this hotel also close to several famous restaurant and beach club in Seminyak. The hotel features with 36 Superior Rooms and 34 Deluxe Bungalow and this is the perfect place for those who seek a fresh tropical atmosphere. All villas are in the Lumbung style with typical Balinese wooden roofs (sirap) in spacious Balinese rooms. Flooded with natural light, the well-designed rooms with a balcony and DVD player prepared in each room. All of them are fully equipped with individually controlled air-conditioning, in-room safe, minibar, coffee or tea maker facility, bath-up and shower, and free complimentary Wi-Fi access.In addition, an open air restaurant with an adjacent pool bar and 2 level swimming pool with waterfall and cave, tropical island, whirl pool, gazebo and day spa, kids playground, tour desk and recreation room. Luxury and style within a true Balinese atmosphere awaits you at this Bali resort hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp, ACCOR, Travel Republic (UK) and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Vila Lumbung reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Vila Lumbung
Vila Lumbung Hotel
Hotel Vila Lumbung Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing