We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A real piece of paradise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Vila Lumbung

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Vila Lumbung
Ranked #42 of 141 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
East Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A real piece of paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2010

This was our 17th trip to Bali & our 8th stay at Vila Lumbung. When we first stayed at Vila Lumbung it had just opened & was set amidst small houses & rice fields however anyone knowing Bali now, realises it is now set in the 'chic' area of Seminyak which boasts both upmarket shopping & dining. Vila Lumbung is within easy walking distance of these attractions yet far enough away to still be quiet & a real haven for those needing somewhere to relax & unwind.
It has a wonderful pool area, great restaurant that has just been extended with a top quality menu & prices that are not over the top as some hotels. The bungalow rooms are huge & a real slice of Balinese architecture whilst the new hotel style rooms are still quite big & comfortable. Any room in the complex is no further than 50 metres from the pool, restaurant or reception areas. Once inside the hotel grounds there is absolutely no outside noise to hinder your relaxation. If travelling in a family group the bungalows have a huge day bed which can be made up for 2 or maybe even three kids of an evening. The hotel has a lovely 2 tiered swimming pool with swim up bar, waterfall & turbo pool to relax those aching muscles after a hard day shopping or touring.
However Vila Lumbung's real strength lay with it's staff. From Senior Management right through to the gardeners & room staff, they are so genuinely friendly & ever so helpful. These people are not 'Kuta Cowboys' but the Balinese real deal. Anyone who has visited Bali will understand what I am talking about & anyone wishing to visit Bali will hopefully enjoy a real Bali experience of mixing with these wonderfully kind & gentle race of people.
Vila Lumbung is somewhere I would recommend to anyone needing a quiet haven that is close to all the action of Seminyak, Legian & Kuta. There is also many great restaurants within an easy stroll of the hotel & these range from moderately priced with great food to those at the high pricing end of the restaurant scene.
Vila Lumbung could probably do with a few more pool beds for really busy times & a little better variation in the music piped around the restaurant & pool area & they are the only criticisms I can offer. If anyone would like to contact me about this property I would be only too happy to try & help with any questions.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank banteng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

995 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    445
    394
    107
    26
    23
See reviews for
215
411
42
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2010

We have stayed in Bali at least 9 times but this was our first time at the Vila Lumbung, where we stayed for 18 nights. We loved this hotel, we booked an upstairs bungalow (10A) which was huge. The bathroom is huge with a free standing shower (no climbing over the bath). Some on this site have complained about the poor quality towels, but our were lovely and fresh every day. The lighting in the room was poor but having read about this before I left, I took my book light and had no problem reading in the evening. The buffet breakfast was very good (some people on trip advisor complained about it but we thought it was good) The grounds were lovely but make sure that you don't get booked into 1A as it is very noisy as it is near the reception and the car park. We requested not to be in that area (after reading advice on this website) but they still put us in that room, after spending 1 night there and not getting any sleep, we requested a move and were put in 10A. I would recommend 10A or 11A out of the upstairs bungalows. The pool was lovely but deep and being only 5ft I could only stand on my toes, but that didn't really bother me. There is a big step area for children to play on and a slippery slide into the deep section. The staff were wonderful and friendly especially at breakfast. They were always happy to talk to us and meet out needs. We booked into the Friday night restaurant meal and wouldn't do that again, too expensive and the entertainment was terrible. Walking out around the streets is a bit of a challenge because there are no footpaths and there are open drains but we managed and found some back lanes that took us to the money changer on Kerobokan road and also straight to Seminyak village. The restaurants around the hotel were good and we managed to eat almost somewhere different every night although we found favorites to go back to a few times. A restaurant called Neno was really nice, vegetarian (we are not vegetarians) but the food was excellent and very cheap. We got a huge round bread scooped out with a creamy mushroom soup inside for 19000 RP on special, normally 24000RP which was delicious. We went there 3 times, everything on the menu was freshly made and tasted great. It is located up near the internet shop (which only charged 13000 RP for an hour) The Lumbung had a DVD player in the room and so we went 2 doors down and bought cheap DVDs and watched a movie every night. The advice I received on this site was correct, as the hotel fills up there is not enough beds around the pool, our first week there we had no problems but eventually the people who like to put their towels on the beds and then go out for a few hours arrived. These people are so annoying, if only the staff were a bit more pushy and told them they had to remove their towels when they leave the hotel for the day but the staff seem intimidated by them. Their pool lounges were quite comfortable not the wooden kind.Some of the issues mentioned in the reviews are just typical Bali problems in hotels. They are a very relaxed people and don't worry if there is some mold or peeling paint. In such a hot climate these things are a challenge to them. Apart from that issue we loved this hotel and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wallabyjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2010

There are some excellent restaurants nearby. The bungalow rooms were very comfortable but looking at the pictures I realize there were should have been cushions on the daybed.. I found it too busy probably due to the blocks of rooms that have been added. Lots of children (I was assured there would be none when I enquired ) and package holidays tourists. According to friends this has really changed and much busy than a couple of years ago. Music in the evening was very good. Staff extremely pleasant. Fitness room and spa very basic.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LindaBamford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2010

We spent 10 nights in Vila Lumbung. The hotel was clean and tidy although the bathroom was a bit dated and at times the toilet had a bad odour. We did tell the cleaners who tried to eliminate it without success. However the rooms were spacious and very comfortable with lovely beds and a wonderful outdoor area. The staff were exceptionally friendly and welcoming. We found the drinks and food very expensive so did not eat or drink much in the hotel. The breakfasts were tasty and the coffee was great. The pool area was fantastic and there were enough loungers. We found some delicious restaurants nearby and a very reasonable minimart across the road. The hotel was about 20 minutes from the beach on a very busy road which was not much a problem for us. All and all it was great value for money

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Baileigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2010

We spent our honeymoon at the Vila Lumbung, and we could not have been more disappointed. The place looks run down, the rooms are tatty, towels stained and smell mouldy. The Staff are very pushy - constantly asking you what your plans are and can you eat in their restaurant, we even had one member of staff complaining about his wages and hinted to us that it was ok for guests just to 'give them money'.
Price wise - more expensive than the UK!!! Cocktails are £8+, meals very expensive, then there is the sneaky 10% 'tax' and 5% compulsory service charge you have to pay. Staff also striking 'deals' with taxi drivers for example if they quote you '70-80 thousand rupees you will definately pay 80k plus 'extras'.. (they will give the staff a cut of what it is)be warned ...Would definately give this one a MISS.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Littlemodchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall,England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2010

So, this was the first of my hotels. I didnt spend much time at the hotel becuase i had to shop. The pool was great. Friendly staff. AMAZING help yourself breakfasts. We got treated really well and i would defiently go back. I only had dinner once at the hotel and so many nice restaurants near by. The dinner i had was good, but the restaurant was TOTALLY EMPTY. also, the rooms werent great but you dont spend much time in them. the lighting was bad but acceptable.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlotteRB3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2010

We stayed in Vila Lumbung for 2 nights, and were immediately disappointed upon arrival. We booked a "vila" large enough for 4 people, but the adjoining room was pretty disgusting, so we asked to move to another spot. The 2nd vila was just as bad, so we decided to remain in the initial one. We just weren't impressed with the room at all, and confused on why they call it a vila, when it's really a glorified duplex with a bottom and top room.
Breakfast was laughable. We travel extensively across Asia, but this was by far the worst breakfast we came across. There was so little selection both mornings, and what we did eat was terrible. The service was also poor. Most of the those working the desks and grounds were fairly young and completely unaware of our presence or need. I felt like they were annoyed with any of our questions or requests. This was a huge change from the 1st 1/2 of our vacation in Ubud.
On the positive, I was able to get to the beach each early morning for surfing via a 5 min taxi ride for $1 USD, and get back for the same. Also, Seminyak was a great location as we hired a private driver to tour a lot of Bali each day.
We knew Seminyak would be expensive, but felt ripped off with the $150 USD price each night.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 4Tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.6 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Bali, Seminyak
1.7 mi away
Villa Coco
Villa Coco
#30 of 141 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
1.3 mi away
Bali Ginger Suites & Villa
Bali Ginger Suites & Villa
#28 of 141 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Haven Bali
The Haven Bali
#62 of 141 in Seminyak
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,633 reviews
1.5 mi away
Pelangi Bali Hotel
Pelangi Bali Hotel
#77 of 141 in Seminyak
4.0 of 5 bubbles 992 reviews
0.8 mi away
U Paasha Seminyak
U Paasha Seminyak
#49 of 141 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vila Lumbung? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vila Lumbung

Property: Hotel Vila Lumbung
Address: Jl. Raya Petitenget no. 1000x, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Seminyak
#29 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#35 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#38 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
#42 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Vila Lumbung 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vila Lumbung is located in Seminyak area, just 15 minutes drive by car from Kuta or Legian and 10 minutes walk to Seminyak Square shopping centre. Set on 15.000 square meters of lush tropical gardens and just 800 meters away from Petitenget Beach, this hotel also close to several famous restaurant and beach club in Seminyak. The hotel features with 36 Superior Rooms and 34 Deluxe Bungalow and this is the perfect place for those who seek a fresh tropical atmosphere. All villas are in the Lumbung style with typical Balinese wooden roofs (sirap) in spacious Balinese rooms. Flooded with natural light, the well-designed rooms with a balcony and DVD player prepared in each room. All of them are fully equipped with individually controlled air-conditioning, in-room safe, minibar, coffee or tea maker facility, bath-up and shower, and free complimentary Wi-Fi access.In addition, an open air restaurant with an adjacent pool bar and 2 level swimming pool with waterfall and cave, tropical island, whirl pool, gazebo and day spa, kids playground, tour desk and recreation room. Luxury and style within a true Balinese atmosphere awaits you at this Bali resort hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, ACCOR and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Vila Lumbung reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Vila Lumbung
Vila Lumbung Hotel
Hotel Vila Lumbung Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing