We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”
Review of Hotel Vila Lumbung

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Vila Lumbung
Ranked #43 of 144 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Average”
Reviewed 27 October 2010

Stayed at Lumbung for 7 nights. First 3 were aweful, I am disabled, they put me and my friend in the worst room 18C do not go there. Uneven pathway to room Deluxe Room don't think so. I rang my tour Guide and when she rocked up they were running around like monkeys with their tails cut off. Soon got the Deluxe appartment that i paid for. Will never stay their again. The one in Ubud was brilliant.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bindy06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,023 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    461
    403
    109
    27
    23
See reviews for
224
421
43
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2010

I'll start with the front gate security, very little respect for guests of the hotel. Everytime we walked past they would be staring at my wife, laughing and gestures in Indonesian. The staff member at the travel tour desk was extremely pushy and after we refused services he became quite rude and made us feel uncomfortable when walking through to reception.
Language/Communication barrier with staff members 80% of the time, Overpriced restaurant for the quality of the meals.Buffet breakfast limited variety each morning, the food tasted though it was stale. When sitting around the pool on daily basis very slow service with receiving drinks etc., even when quiet.
When we researched this hotel it was stated in a numerous amount of avenues that they were no children, although screaming children all day every day.
We had on several occasions noisy guests coming back to their rooms at all hours of the night and continuining to drink and yahoo in the pool. This hotel been rated as a 4 star accomadation you would expect the reception to minimise noise at night due to respect for other guests, considering reception is adjacent pool.
Insects and mosquitos in room, on a number of days after room service had cleaned our room, we returned to find some sort of animal droppings on our floor or freshly made bed.
Very dissapointed with our stay at Vila Lumbung and would not recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aussietraveller087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2010

When you arrive at Vila Lumbung you are greeted with warm smiles, and this continues with eveyone we came accross, be it restaurant staff or ground staff. I like to low rise garden setting resorts which have a big pool and a swim up bar (look if I need to keep an eye on the kids I want to be able to have a bevvy at the same time!). We had and an adjoining room on the ground floor and this I would reccommend as you enter off the verandah area with direct access to the gardens or pool (Rms103,104,105 or 106 seem the best). I have seen the villas and look great but to be honest, your never in your room anyway so get what we did and you will be fine. If there is a big group, say 6-8, take a villa (18a,b,c) and it would be more economical, it has 3 doubles and 2 singles so good for fams with kids.
There were many mosquitos and the hotel sprayed the rooms one day but they are peresistent litter biters (but it is apporaching wet season so their may be more now than other months). I would strongly reccomend aerogard and use it every evening, even before bed as we all know kids get bitten bad no matter which county you are in. Also spray your room whenever you leave. The rooms are basic but fine and the shower head his hand held but for AUD 110 per night, who is complaining. Just remind cleaners to change bed sheets, not that you should have to but we noticed this on a couple occasions. The restaurant brekky was fine, the ususal stuff, bacon , chef cooking omletees etc and we were very full each morning, lunch pool menu were great, no complaints there (about $10), local beer bintang-but drink it slowly until you get used to it or it will go thorugh you ($3.50) heineken ($5), cocktails (expensive for bali at $10). Happy hour 30% off 4-6pm. Still, when you really look at it it was very affordable given ehat you pay in a hotel in Aus. I would like to see the staff wander around the pool a bit more for service but you so relaxed there it doesnt really bother you.
There is a kids slide and waterfalll they jump in and out of, but no lifegurad so be onto it. I reccomemend a massage, for $12 how can you go wrong, just go to the lady direct, dont book through reception.
All in all you go to Bali to chill out, the balinese are a very relaxed lot and this is evident in Vila Lumbung.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chillin66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2010

My husband and I have recently returned from our 33rd trip to Bali where we stayed at Hotel Vila Lumbung for 5 nights before moving on to Ubud and Sanur. We had stayed there before on 5 occasions, albeit some years ago, and have also stayed at the original Villa Lumbung next door before the owner, Mr Bernard, built Hotel Vila Lumbung. We have recommended the hotel to many friends in the past however after this stay they have lost us forever we will not stay there again nor recommend.

We booked directly with the hotel and received confirmation of an upstairs Deluxe Bungalow US $170 (high season rate) we had advised we would not be arriving until after 10pm another confirmation "not a problem" even told us our room No. 12A.

We checked in at 10pm as advised so you can imagine our surprise when we were told our room was not available tonight however they would put us in a similar room and move us to 12A after 2pm the next day. Not much we could do just meant we could not unpack and had to hang around the next day until we could move rooms ...we were getting a similar room to what we had paid for so not a drama......... WRONG!
We were completely gobsmacked when the so called "similar room" just happened to be the second bedroom of one of their multiple bedroom bungalows! We opened our curtains to find a couple enjoying a quiet Bintang right in front of our window and they had every right to be there it was their terrace we did not have one.
Now we were not happy! So my husband went back to reception where he was told what we long suspected they had given our room away, the hotel was full and there was nothing else to be had.
The downstairs room was exactly that a "room" ....no terrace, no Bale day bed and full of mosquitoes the floor was gritty it had not been swept properly. It smelt musty it was obvious they were not expecting to use it so off my husband went to reception again. Sorry,sorry we will give you a US $20 discount...$20 making the "room" US $150 I don't think so! Oh and they gave us a can of spray after spraying the room the white bed cover was polka dot with dead mosquitoes. Now it was very late nothing more we could do we would take it up with them again when checking out....big mistake!

So the hotel in brief:
Rooms: are a little tired compared to prevoius stay. Bed linen stained and towels a bit thin on quality. Room clean and spacious. Lighting poor.
Breakfast: is ordinary however we knew that, the staff in the reastaurant are very friendly however love a bit of a chat so it was hard to attract their attention for a forgotton egg dish and tea refill etc.
Grounds and the pool area: are beautiful however it is a real pity some days the music was blaring from a speaker in the pool spoiling the tranquil ambiance. Cocktails are very expensive, except at happy hour, and they are not that good.
The hotel is kid friendly: (and there were heaps of them) A slippery dip into the pool however it is rather deep and no shallow end for the little ones. Unfortunately for us and the others relaxing by the pool one morning there were 3 out of control boys under 12 running amok with no parents to be seen for a couple of hours. We actually saw the parents walk back in with back packs and shopping completely oblivious to the havoc their children had caused constantly "bombing" the pool. Hotel staff should have spoken to the kids. One good thing there were no Pool Chair Hogs during our stay however could be a problem as there not that many chairs.
Location: that's why we stayed there to savour the wonderful restaurants close by. However It was a bit difficult walking along the busy roads (times have changed since we last stayed no rice paddies which is sad) as there are no footpaths so you need to have your wits about you to avoid the traffic, open drains and roadworks.

So time to check out and my husband expressed his dissatisfaction with the price of the "room" for the first night he felt it should be further reduced. The lovely receptionist called a Duty Manager whom we had not seen before. From the first second he was quiet rude turning the whole thing around blaming us for not addressing the issues before check out time. Voices were raised he kept telling us this was a deluxe room, maybe the whole bungalow was Deluxe but this was a second bedroom. He never once
asked what we thought we should pay just said we had our $20 discount and that was all he could do. We know our friend only paid $90 for an upstairs Deluxe room low season even that would have been outrageous for this room.
No point we were getting no where so I told the DM that this is really sad for me as we have had a long association with the hotel and now we would not be coming back to which he responded "I'm not sad you are not coming back"! We were absolutely astounded as were the staff by the looks on there faces of sheer embarrassment as we had had an excellent rapour with them over the five day there was absolutely no reason for him to say that. So much for customer relations!
Hotel Vila Lumbung is not the hotel it was there are plenty of wonderful hotel/villas to stay at in Bali this is not one of them.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank mimifroufrou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2010

We stayed in the ground floor of a two-level bungalow, with friends up the top. This worked quite well for us. The deluxe family bungalow is not as spacious as I expected - there is really no living room and the kitched is poorly equipped with nowhere to sit and eat - but it has been decorated with some charm and was cool and dark in the main room, so good for sleeping. The main bed is huge and very comfortable (the kids slept in a double day bed in a small room you could shut off from the main room.)

The pool area is lovely and the breakfast was good. The location is pretty convenient to some great restaurants (Eny's warung right outside the gate on the left serves cheap good food).

The staff were very responsive. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melbmeg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2010

My partner and I have just return from a week on Bali where we stayed at Hotel Vila Lumbung (it was booked for us by an agent). I have thought about this review over a little while because although the Hotel has shortcomings its not too bad for the money.

The Hotel is in an excellent location in Seminyak. It's removed a little bit from all the main action, which is however only a short walk or taxi ride away, and makes it a quiet place to stay. There are a number of great bars and restaurants only a stones throw away. Pettinget beach, which connects to Legian and Seminyak beaches is again only a short walk away.

A number of little things however hold the Hotel back from being great. We were upgraded upon arrival to a family size bungalow, which was nice, but this room turned out to be only accessible down an alley at the back of the complex where construction was being undertaken. This was somewhat annoying in trying to access the room past workers and equipment while walking through the mud.

The room itself was extremely large with its own kitchenette, however, it was very tired and in need of renovation/updating. The room was constantly invaded by mosquitoes, however, the cleaning staff gave us insect spray in order to keep them under control. Although not a huge issue for us the linen avalavailable iable in the room each day always seemed to stained and old (funnily enough there was a card beside the basin in the bathroom instructing us not to take the towels and ask reception to purchase some if we liked them so much).

Although the room came with a free breakfast each day we only ate it twice. The breakfast food really wasn't that great. Thank god for the Gourmet Cafe across the road. The food and coffee there is awesome!

The whole hotel, although having potential is all just a little bit tired and basic. it really could be an awesome accommodation option but needs some extra money spent on it to get it up to speed.

Having outlined some of the negative issues the hotel really was a pleasant place to stay. The pool is fantastic! A split level pool with swim up bar. This little garden oasis in the middle of a hot Balinese day was tremendous!

The service of the staff is great. The staff go out of their way to assist and make your stay as pleasant as possible.

As I said earlier although not beach front the location is excellent.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel to others to stay but you need to be aware of a number of limitations. If you are looking for a 5 star resort then go elsewhere. However, if you are after a solid, yet cheaper, stay on Bali then the Hotel Vila Lumbung is for you.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bewhirly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2010

I stayed here for 3 nights in the middle of April 2010. It was the best hotel I stayed at throughout my 4 week trip.

The hotel was out of the way of any roads and was in a very quiet location. The staff are friendly and welcome you with a cocktail. We arrived early however they kept our luggage for us and let us use the pool while we waited for our room to be ready.

The hotel consists of individual two story villas or rooms in two buildings. We stayed in one of the rooms which was massive. The king size bed was comfy and had a lovely balcony outside. The bathroom was nice too. There was however a strong smell of sewage in our room which either left a day later or we just got used to it.

On arrival, one of the staff comes to your room with a fruit bowl.

The pool was split level and was lovely with a pool side bar, waterfall and cave. There was also a jacuzzi.

There was a constant play of music which wasn't too loud and added to the secludedness.

The breakfast in the morning was ok however not the best.

I would definitely stay here again as it was great value for money.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank benas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
1.4 mi away
Villa Coco
Villa Coco
#30 of 144 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
0.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Bali, Seminyak
1.0 mi away
Bali Ginger Suites & Villa
Bali Ginger Suites & Villa
#28 of 144 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Haven Bali
The Haven Bali
#64 of 144 in Seminyak
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,694 reviews
0.5 mi away
U Paasha Seminyak
U Paasha Seminyak
#45 of 144 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
1.2 mi away
Pelangi Bali Hotel
Pelangi Bali Hotel
#80 of 144 in Seminyak
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vila Lumbung? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vila Lumbung

Property: Hotel Vila Lumbung
Address: Jl. Raya Petitenget no. 1000x, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Seminyak
#29 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#37 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#40 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
#42 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Vila Lumbung 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vila Lumbung is located in Seminyak area, just 15 minutes drive by car from Kuta or Legian and 10 minutes walk to Seminyak Square shopping centre. Set on 15.000 square meters of lush tropical gardens and just 800 meters away from Petitenget Beach, this hotel also close to several famous restaurant and beach club in Seminyak. The hotel features with 36 Superior Rooms and 34 Deluxe Bungalow and this is the perfect place for those who seek a fresh tropical atmosphere. All villas are in the Lumbung style with typical Balinese wooden roofs (sirap) in spacious Balinese rooms. Flooded with natural light, the well-designed rooms with a balcony and DVD player prepared in each room. All of them are fully equipped with individually controlled air-conditioning, in-room safe, minibar, coffee or tea maker facility, bath-up and shower, and free complimentary Wi-Fi access.In addition, an open air restaurant with an adjacent pool bar and 2 level swimming pool with waterfall and cave, tropical island, whirl pool, gazebo and day spa, kids playground, tour desk and recreation room. Luxury and style within a true Balinese atmosphere awaits you at this Bali resort hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotelopia, Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Vila Lumbung reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Vila Lumbung
Vila Lumbung Hotel
Hotel Vila Lumbung Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing