We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst experience I have ever had in Bali”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seminyak
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
delMango Villa Estate
Ranked #259 of 426 Speciality Lodging in Seminyak
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We chose to celebrate our 12th wedding anniversary by staying at the delMango. The first villa we were given had no cold water, only very hot water. The staff requested that we shower in another villa and then return to our villa--we were shocked to say the least. After pushing the issue the staff finally agreed to move us. However, the villa we were moved to had no hot water but only cold water. After laughing and finally getting cleaned up, we checked the water heater and advised the staff to please increase the temperature, when we returned, we found they had so that was appreciated.

To give the owners their due, the design is unique and the location is close to the center of seminyak. The villas are private and very well suited for couples or those travelers not requiring a community pool. Spa is not finished but the staff will call a massage therapist if requested. The choice of furnishings and others items does not correspond with the price that is charged.

Overall, I don't recommend a stay here, the breakfast features bread that is as hard as a baseball and it was clear that no one had sprayed for mosquitoes in some time so even though the staff was kind enough to burn the anti-mosquito incense--it didn't help so we could not fully enjoy the outdoor area of the villa.

I have been in Indonesia as an expat since 1995 and have been to Bali well over 30 times staying in everything from no star to exclusive villas and this is the first time I have had an experience this disappointing. The price is high compared to what is being offered and service is well below the standard--better values can be found in proximity to delMango.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lobotravel8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DelMango B, General Manager at delMango Villa Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear lobotravel8,

Thank you for the time you have given in pursuit of our improvement.
The owners are delighted to hear that deLMango design as well as the location are well appreciated.

As for our concern on mosquito, we had to find the sweet-spot on ensuring our guest can enjoy the Bali open-style living concept without being attacked, henceforth, in every bedroom you will find a very comprehensive mosquito "defense kit" to protect you. Each kit consists of : Aerosol spray, coil, electric repellent as well as an organic anti-mosquito skin-safe spray.
We are deeply sorry that the bread you have had is not as crisp as how it usually is. It was toasted from the main kitchen and it have cooled down when you had them. With your valuable feedback, however, we'll have them toasted in-villa from now on (as each villa have their own toaster, microwave, Nespresso coffee maker & stove burner). We appreciate the information on our villa having no-cold-water on the night of your stay. It was duly fixed first thing in the morning. There had been a technical challenge on the cold water pipe that supplies the cold water which resulted in just having hot water.

Once again, apologies that you have had such a bad experience, and we wish you a better stay on your next visit to Bali.
We are grateful for guests such as yourself to keep us at a constant pursuit to improve.

Sincerely,
deLMango Villa Estate Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (28)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 28 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2014

Great place to hide in very busy Seminyak. The Rooms with private pool, own garden little garden and open kitchen and living room are really stylish and comfortable. The beach is a 15 minute walk away. Great for couples who seek total privacy and relaxation rather than beach fun.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Georg W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DelMango B, General Manager at delMango Villa Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear Georg W,

Thank you for your visit and stay with us,

Your comfort and relaxation is in our utmost priority, and it will be an understatement to say you have been an amazing guest! Till next time,

Thank you and we await your return to your Bali home!
deLMango Villa Estate Team,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Recently returned from a three night stay at Del Mango,and in a two bedroom villa. On booking the villa I did not realise that a two bedroom was actually two seperate villas in the same enclosed area! So, a very large space that would be more than suitable for either two couples, or, a family of four or five.

As mentioned in the other review, while the location is off the busy main street, it is very quiet and secluded, with many shops/cafes/restrauants just down the road.

If you are looking for a quiet, modern and trendy place to stay, this is an ideal place. I also found the food was of good quality and there was a large selection.

I do have one negative to report. On arrival at the airport, the driver picked us up, that was no problem, however he did not know where the villas were! He took us to the wrong villa and I had to point out several times that he was wrong. He did not seem to even know where Del Mango was. I have been to Bali many times so I wasn't overly concerned, however this would be a little unnerving to new visitors.

Also, small things like there being no bins in the villas or the kitchen area, and no tea/coffee making facilities. And one more thing, there is no bar, so if you feel like a cocktail, you can't get one there.

However, these are just small issues, and, as the complex only has a small number of villas overall, I can understand why there would not be a bar!

Overall, I would recommend this villa, we had a great stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jetjip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DelMango B, General Manager at delMango Villa Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Dear jetjip,

You are much too kind, thank you for your wonderful review.
And we are glad you had such a great stay. deLMango is truly a beautiful and relaxing villa here in Bali Seminyak.

We have noted on your opportunities for our beverage, now we are firming out widening our range. While on the transfers, the cabs are now getting more acquainted with our brand new property - it has been 7 months now. We can arrange a chauffeur on your next arrival to avoid this experience.

Thank you and we await your return to your Bali home!
deLMango Villa Estate Team,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 4 nights in October. We found delmango to really exceed our expectations all round. Upon arrival we were greeted with a welcome drink, taken to our room. Throughout our entire stay I did not hear any noise apart from the waterfall of the pool and the sound of nature which is very rare in bustling Bali. The one bed villa is v large, big living space and bedroom is large with two bathrooms, one outside and one inside. The small touches were appreciated, nexpresso machine, jacuzzi section of the swimming pool, epic sound system, waterfall in the pool, outdoor shower, a private garden located at the back of the villa with a set of table and chairs to read a book with its own private entrance. Decor wise, tasteful,white, understated. Service was good, breakfast was nice but there's plenty of near by options with taxis plentiful or a mere walk to one of the main streets of seminyak. The villas are guarded so you always feel safe as I've heard some bad stories of theft in Bali recently so this was a relief. Overall, I thoroughly enjoyed this villa and even though I went without knowing what others had thought of it (apart from the article in the Australian) I'm extremely glad I took the chance and booked my stay here rather than go where everyone else goes. I am looking forward I going back there again in the future. Give this place a go if you want a relaxing peaceful place to rest as it's beauty and charm make it a stand out in seminyak for me. The pictures simply don't do it the justice it deserves.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ljspurls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DelMango B, General Manager at delMango Villa Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Dear Ljspurls,

We are delighted that you had such a wonderful experience.
It is such a pleasure to be appreciated by impeccable guests such as yourself...

Rest assured we will keep it up and continue a customer-centric service as well as maintaining on being a 5* accommodation choice for the discerning travelers.

We await your return to your Bali home!
deLMango Villa Estate Team,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank erika705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2014
Google Translation

Room Tip: Die Villen sind so geräumig, das man auch als mit Kind und extra Bett immer noch sehr viel Platz hat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carmen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deLMango Bali V, Manager at delMango Villa Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Fabiana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DelMango B, General Manager at delMango Villa Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
1 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
1.7 mi away
W Bali - Seminyak
W Bali - Seminyak
#19 of 148 in Seminyak
3,523 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Legian Bali
The Legian Bali
#4 of 148 in Seminyak
1,604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Peppers Seminyak
Peppers Seminyak
#25 of 148 in Seminyak
816 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection
0.3 mi away
The Haven Bali
The Haven Bali
#60 of 148 in Seminyak
1,885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to delMango Villa Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about delMango Villa Estate

Address: Jl. Raya Seminyak | Gang Taman Sari, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta District > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #259 of 426 Speciality Lodging in Seminyak
Price Range: £117 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — delMango Villa Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the epicenter of lifestyle, deLMango exudes tranquility in spite of. This eco inspired estate is contemporary and sustainable with top-of-the-line amenities. Each of the 12 private villas exclusively surrounded by lush vegetation is yours to call home - from your every detailed specification, to your very discriminating taste.To capture the essence of Bali, each villa is furnished with design elements of recycled timber and natural stone; while reception and spa are laced with sturdy bamboo and showered with natural light.With wide array of in-villa services, deLMango appeals from the adventurous family to the individualistic business traveler in search of that lasting experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
DelMango Villa Estate Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing