We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peace, personal & confusingly unique” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Kresna Boutique Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Villa Kresna Boutique Villas
Ranked #89 of 141 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Peace, personal & confusingly unique”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2012

The first thing you got to know about this place is there are 2 properties - separate from each other. Whilst not far to walk between them, you don't want to get to the wrong one for check in. Both are owned by the same boss and they do "upgrade" you (as in move you) from one to the other. They are about 1km apart along narrow little roads where cars and bikes jostle for space in the day time but not too busy to cause a disturbance. The suites are large rooms; the villas are standalone little houses. I will be referring totally to the villas here.

The villas are along one stretch of road about 150m long. There is security in front which means that people are checked going in. There are other properties not associated with Villa Kresna along this stretch as well. There is a lovely quaint art cafe where breakfast is served. If you have included breakfast, it's a choice of five from a menu - anything from the standard eggs/bacon/beans to the Indonesian fried noodles. First coffee/tea is free; second cup is chargeable. Service is pleasant and excellent throughout. Only one group of 4-5 villas have the narrow swimming pool in front of them. It makes them pretty exclusive but it can be noisy if there are kids in the group. The other villas are pretty much standalone little houses. All of them vary : some with kitchenettes, some without. All except one has open air baths and toilets. This can present a problem if you want to go to the toilet for #2 at night and the mozzies get supper from you. The villa we stayed had literally no hot water going at all and they could not fix it. Mosquitoes feature prominently in these villas and all they do is to put electric mosquito mats - which is useless. It would be strongly recommended that you come to this property bringing your own can of mosquito spray which you can get from the local supermarkets. They don't label the free water they give you, so do ask which ones are free.

internet is free which is good but in some villas, the reception is patchy. They have half a dozen routers with different passwords. You can get the reception to call for a cab if you want to get to the shops. Bring a pair of slippers as they don't provide any in the villas.

It is a peaceful spot to enjoy long breakfast or read in the small art cafe of about 10 tables. It is personal enough to get to know others but yet, it is confusing as you will be wondering where the pool is, or could you use it as it is in another group of villas. They also use names for the villas and it can be difficult to remember hindu names! And some villas have outside kitchens, some are air conditioned throughout, and some only have air conditioning in the bedroom. Some have lofts where you can go up to read and relax.

You should try to get to stay in different villas through your stay - but they don't have a package for that one. That would be a great experience. Just do not expect a uniform villa in this establishment.

Room Tip: Getting a villa based on their description is quite difficult. Go with a sense of adventure and a lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TwoSixFiveOh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    140
    33
    12
    10
See reviews for
58
150
29
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2012

We spent an enjoyable four days here at the end of September. Although the location is only a couple of minutes to the beach, it is a longer and unattractive walk to the main Seminyak restaurants and shops. Some noise from building work next door but not too obtrusive. Staff very friendly and helpful. Only minus was confusion over breakfast inclusions. Although our reservation included breakfast, on checking out we were presented with an account for cereal, toast and coffee. Very odd.

Room Tip: With the little pool close to the suites, we found our ground floor room convenient to avoid climbin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 84tony367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2012

Attention - Money stolen from locked safe!

I booked at Villa Kresna the Grand Deluxe Suite and left the place after 4 hours. I am a frequent traveler and what happened there I've never expected to happen in a 100+USD-priced hotel.

To cut a long story short: The hotel-staff stole money from the safe - Total stolen about 150USD.

THIS IS NO PLACE WHERE YOU WANT TO ANY SECOND LONGER. I went to an other hotel since I care more about my safety and privacy than money.

This was a very disappointing thing to happen on the very first day in Bali. I am really looking forward to read the reaction of the management here on Tripadvisor. I don't care about the money but if a crime happens to me in a place where I have to feel safe this is really sad and shocking.

PS: Look at the pictures - How common is it that the hotel opens the safe with the key? Looks like a daily routine!

Room Tip: Alamada Suite was very old and used. Bathtube was looking horrible.
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank where_is_at
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AylinKanginnadhi, Owner at Villa Kresna Boutique Villas, responded to this review, 12 October 2012
Dear where_is_at,

That you did not have a great time in our Villa is mostly unfortunate.

I would like to point out however that according to our record you never stayed in our villa at all. You were booked from 19 - 23 September. After checking in you left the hotel and phoned us to say that you have to leave the island and will notify us again. Your room was kept under your reservation but there is no item of your belongings inside the room. You also filed no complains during you brief time in the villa nor during your phone call.
Furthermore, most of our guest are very happy with our accommodation and services and continue to come and recommend us to family and friends.

Best Regards,

Aylin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2012

Stayed in Villa kresna last August, did Indo trip with my girlfriend and we stayed in royal suite for 2 weeks. Lovely room, clean and very peaceful.
Food is GREAT, for me its comparable to famous restaurants on the island. We really love art cafe( the restaurant) they hv great menu selections and the view n atmosphere is very relaxing...the staff are very friendly and always helpful..oh not forgetting the live bands, they are amazingly good! Pool is beautifully setup, is not too big, but really who needs gigantic swimming pool anw. Price are quite reasonable compares to any other Villa in the area. Location cannot be better, 5 mins walk to the beach, 5 minutes to the main shopping en eating street. Villa Kresna really gives me a mixed of luxury, simplicity and originality of bali living. Home away from home! We'll be back for sure!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KIMSVEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Albans, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

As stated this was our first time in Bali so we can't give a good comparison against other accommodations but I can say that overall we were happy with what we got for the price we paid. We stayed in the 'suites' on Jalan Saridewi which are a 1 minute walk to the beach (although a very quiet part of the beach). The 'villas' are another 5 minute walk away, hence making them further from the beach. Clarify exactly where you are staying before booking. It's about a 20 minute walk to 'eat street'. The way Seminyak is laid out makes it difficult to pinpoint a centre but I think if went again I would choose a better located, yet probably much more expensive, hotel.

The pool area is very nice and the rooms were a good size and clean. We had to move rooms as a water pump on the outside of the wall behind our bed was banging all night and kept me awake, although the move didn't help much as we were that bit closer to the construction of the hotel next door (banging and drilling starts about 7ish). But the manager was swift and polite in changing our room.

Only other gripe is that the entire week we stayed there we were never once able to order orange juice for breakfast as they were out of oranges! Get some more maybe!?

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2012 via mobile

While expecting a wow feeling it didn't really felt like it. Although there's actually nothing wrong with the rooms and hotel.

Expect normal nice clean rooms. Unfortunately the curtains are white so even when it's completely dark in the night the room is light. So if you need darkness to sleep you will have a challenge :).

Second the breakfast is not much, today I will discuss it with the staff and see how they respond.

Also there is a construction site next to the hotel. Not that it bothers because you don't here any noise. It's just that it doesn't give you the luxury, beach, sun and everything is perfect feeling.

If you want to stay for just a couple of days it's good. Beach is 3 minutes walk and you are not in the packed, noisy kuta.

For longer stays or honeymoon I would go for a 5 star hotel at the beach, but expect to pay atleast double of the price.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Watermouse79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

Ckara Suite / Three weeks

Me and my boyfriend stayed for three weeks in the Chakra Suite, the location next to Art Cafe. I fell in love with the great atmosphere they created. The room is very nice decorated and I think it is one of the newer rooms of the hotel. We spent a lot of our time in Art Cafe, they have a live band on wednesdays and fridays with some nice background music. These nights were very enjoyable. The room has a separate entrance with old wooden doors, behind the doors we had a big terrace with a wooden sofa were we could breakfast or chill at night. Rooms are extremely clean and they even have turn down service in the afternoon. If you like to sunbath at the pool, this is a good location. The hotel was very busy but cause it is so close to the beach a lot of guests choose to go to the beach. Almost every morning I was alone at the pool side. The staff is very friendly and remembered our preferences for breakfast.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone who loves a nice and good atmosphere. The hotel is also friendly for kids, they have children chairs available.

The owner has a very nice taste and decorated the whole hotel with a lot of inspiration.

Room Tip: If you like to have a quiet room, just some meters walk from the pool and restaurant / art cafe this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MerelB1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.3 mi away
Artemis Villa and Hotel
Artemis Villa and Hotel
#63 of 141 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa Karisa
Villa Karisa
#73 of 141 in Seminyak
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa Coco
Villa Coco
#30 of 141 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bali Agung Village
Bali Agung Village
#67 of 141 in Seminyak
4.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pelangi Bali Hotel
Pelangi Bali Hotel
#77 of 141 in Seminyak
4.0 of 5 bubbles 992 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bali Ginger Suites & Villa
Bali Ginger Suites & Villa
#28 of 141 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Kresna Boutique Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Kresna Boutique Villas

Property: Villa Kresna Boutique Villas
Address: Jl. Sari Dewi 17 | Badung - Bali, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Seminyak
#41 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#68 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Kresna Boutique Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Kresna's two locations in the ever popular Seminyak and within walking distance to the beach and from each other. Villa Kresna Boutique Villas and Villa Kresna Boutique Suites, have a combination of comfort and elegance in every room. The beach is literally just around the corner and it is easily accessible to Seminyak and all the popular areas of south-western Bali has to offer. World class restaurants, boutiques, galleries and bars are just some of the attractions within walking distance of Villa Kresna. Set in the ever popular Seminyak and within walking distance to the beach. Boutique Suites located at Jalan Sarinande 19 and Boutique Villa located at Jalan Sari Dewi 17, Seminyak. Both properties just 300meter away to each other. Villa Kresna boutique Suites offers 13 Suites rooms. Each suites are individually designed with space in mind. It is easily accessible to Seminyak and all the popular areas of south-western bali has to offer.Chic eateries, boutiques, galleries and Seminyak's famous nightlife are just some of the attractions within walking distance. The popular Seminyak Beach, with its spectacular year-round sunsets, is just around the corner. Villa Kresna's Boutique Villas, which have a combination of traditional features and luxurious modern amenities. Serviced by highly experienced staff and run by the same caring owner. Villa Kresna Boutique Villas offers 9 unit of share and private pool villa. Villa Kresna is owned by a Balinese-German family who has worked in the villas for two generations and has lovingly built each of Villa Kresna's 22 individual suites and villas, one by one, over the years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Villa Kresna Boutique Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Kresna Boutique Villas Hotel Seminyak
Hotel Kresna Tropical
Resort Kresna Tropical
Villa Kresna Boutique Villas Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing