We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel/villa - great for kids!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Villa Kresna Boutique Villas
Ranked #98 of 145 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Charming hotel/villa - great for kids!”
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Family group with two kids of 4 and 5 years. We were in the original Villa's, closer to town, not the newer Suites next to the beach. We stayed in Villa 1 'Bromo' which was a delight - partially open air kitchen with a full size fridge and hob, small dining room and fully outdoor bathroom/shower, mozzie's were not too bad - it was fine to sit out for a while in the evenings. The outdoor section linked to a large bedroom with a small bed and sitting area upstairs on a mezzanine floor (lots of fun for the kids!). The pool was very pretty, but not traditional, it's long and narrow and has a 'rustic' feel, the kids loved it (bit chilly for the parents). Fabulous breakfast in the adjacent Straw Hut Cafe, great for kids dinner also. Had very good live music on one evening. About a 20 minute walk into town, but only 5 mins or 20k INR in a cab. The stairs in Bromo would not lend itself to toddlers, but the mezzanine was a great novelty for our kids. Highly recommend and fantastic value for money.

Room Tip: Not Bromo if you have toddlers that cannot manage stairs sucessfully, or if you do not like outdoor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rubyej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    144
    34
    12
    12
See reviews for
59
157
29
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013 via mobile

We booked a night at Villa Kresna based on Lonely Planet recommendation as bring 50 m from the beach. I was shocked to arrive at a hotel 400 m from the beach. They said they have 2 locations, they place where they have rooms. I was not happy, we moved to the one closer to the beach the next day. Make sure you ask first.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bella134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

there's two compounds from what i gather - one is more of a resort room style, and the other are villas.

on the villa: stayed in the villa with my best galfriend in april and immediately we were taken in by the outdoor shower and bathroom (less so when we saw lizards at night at the shower area), the beautiful loft with a sitting area adorned with balinese designed daybed, cushions and tatami mat. we also loved the chill out alfresco dining area that connected the bathroom and bedroom area. however, we did not enjoy the bed too much - it was a little uncomfortable (too firm). that said, we were mostly too tired to really bother. and we also had an ant problem in the bathroom, dining area and shelving area. the hotel staff were thoughtful enough to light a mozzie coil in the dining area to ward off the flying nightmares.

they provide two complimentary bottled water with those metal beer caps on which require a bottle opener to open, yet they did not provide a bottle opener in the kitchenette. we thought this was pretty ridiculous as we had to run to the restro to borrow one in order to access our bottled water. it would have made much more sense to provide those normal plastic turn-cap bottles.

we also had a private pool, shared with 3 other villas. this may not work for some but indeed it worked for us. our neighbours were all aussies and we had a lovely time bonding at the pool side. i don't think the pool and the common pool lounge area is as well maintained as it should be and you can see overgrown shrubs and weeds. the pool doesn't seem to be cleaned regularly enough but it is still okay for us.

on the breakfast: it's not a buffet but rather they have a few brekkie sets you may choose from. we had nasi goreng, full aussie brekkie which were delish but we found the portions not big enough for us (or maybe we are big eaters) and ended up ordering more which we had to pay for.

on the location: the villas are located on a quiet street; it is approximately 10 minutes walk to the beach and another 15 minutes into central seminyak in the opposite direction. it is unlikely you will get a taxi in this quiet street unless you're lucky to spot one dropping another passenger off.

nevertheless, we enjoyed the rustic charm of this villa and at USD$120 a night, we definitely thought it was money well spent. however, if you are not fond of insects and looking for something more modern, i think the resort-style rooms, with a communal pool which looks more appealing in our opinion, at the other villa kresna compound is more suitable for you.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rachel-natalie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

We only stayed one night here when our flight was delayed, but loved it. We had a junior suite which was large and cool. The communal pool/courtyard area is really pretty and well kept. The staff were very helpful, phoning to reconfirm/rebook our flights for us, booking us in late in the evening and they were very easy to talk to. The hotel is on a relatively quiet and winding road - very short walk to the beach. I thought it was inspired that they provided mosquito repellent alongside the usual shampoo and cotton wool. Breakfast was very good and plenty of choice.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fishflung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
493 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 372 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

We had booked the hotel next door, Casa Artista for our stay in Bali however as Casa Artista wasn't available for the first night of our arrival we booked Villa Kresna. The place is about 10 minutes walk from the beach and on a back road without pavements where cars and scooters sometimes ride at high speed, so be careful. Our room was in a courtyard of a long pond (used as a swimming pool) with several other rooms opening out onto it. It's a pleasant place however perhaps not to my taste.

Our 'suite' comprised of a semi outside area with a dining table, a bedroom with a small mezzanine floor, a small kitchenette and an outside toilet and shower. Though the idea of an outside shower appeals on an exotic front, it's slightly uncomfortable, especially at night when there are dozens of geckos about. The bedroom was ok, perhaps a 2 to 3 star standard with tiled floors. Oddly, there was a small mezzanine floor above the bed with a few beanbags - I couldn't work out when or how one might use that space. The kitchen was dirty with most of the cutlery and glasses with dust on them.

As I said above, it's not to my taste, but may well be to others. And I felt it was too expensive for the way it was decorated and it's location. I just wanted to outline the style for anyone planning to book here.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eat1Drink2Travel3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

We spent 3 nights at Villa Kresna boutique suites.

I thought I had booked an actual suite, but noted that our 'deluxe' suite did not have a lounge to sit on, whilst most of the others did, so this may be worth checking.

The location is good, a 10 minute walk into central Seminyak and a 4-5 minute walk to the beach.

Although there was a private pool, we shared it with 3 other suites, just at our end, so if everyone had been using it it would have been way too small.

The hotel forgot to pick up my husband from the airport, they got the days mixed up and told me that he was supposed to arrive the day before and had decided not to come! A simple 'we forgot' was eventually offered but would have been preferable in the first place.

Overall it was very pretty and the food was good but I think I would try somewhere else next time as it was not outstanding for the money.

Room Tip: Ask them to confirm exactly what you are getting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lorraine m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

We spent 5N at Villa Kresna Boutique Suites. Its remote location is both a blessing and a curse; just a stone's throw away from a gorgeous beach with beautiful sunset view, but also a ten-minute walk (through narrow, dimly lit alleys after dark) from the closest supermarket or restaurant on the main street. We actually haven't found any sign that the suites are located at the end of this road yet, and how the cab driver manage to find this place on our first day remains a mystery (80,000 IDR for cab ride from the airport)!

The hotel staff are extremely helpful! Breakfast starts from 0730 but I have to leave for a dive trip tomorrow morning at 0700, so they prepared a box of croissant and sweet bread as well as fresh pineapple juice for me the night before to take with me during the trip. The proper breakfast every morning is so good that I had a hard time choosing between going on the dive trip and missing breakfast, but their take-away box put a big smile on my face! The eggs benedict is a must-try!!!!

We didn't get any mosquito bites, but the staff do come in and spray the suite with insecticide every evening, and the first night they even had an electric mozzie repellent thingie on. They also come in to switch on the air-conditioning and table lamps while we're out during the day, and when we're back in the evening the suite really felt cozy and welcoming.

The pool is not very big, and there're only around six beach chairs. It's considered the low season in early May so we're having quite a good time with a lot of space, tranquility and privacy to ourselves. We booked the room through booking.com, but it seems like one gets a better rate if booked directly through the Villa Kresna's website (5-10% off and free two-way airport transfer if staying more than 3 nights). We tried emailing the hotel staff before we came to enquire if we could partake the free airport transfer since we were staying 5N, but didn't get a reply. If you're looking to take a cab to the airport, walk a little just outside to catch a normal taxi (~110,000 IDR). Otherwise airport transfer service via the villa costs twice as much.

Overall it has been a very pleasant stay and we highly recommend the place during the low season!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jingmei L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.3 mi away
Artemis Villa and Hotel
Artemis Villa and Hotel
#74 of 145 in Seminyak
266 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa Karisa
Villa Karisa
#78 of 145 in Seminyak
245 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bali Ginger Suites & Villa
Bali Ginger Suites & Villa
#31 of 145 in Seminyak
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bali Agung Village
Bali Agung Village
#60 of 145 in Seminyak
451 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa Coco
Villa Coco
#26 of 145 in Seminyak
616 reviews
0.3 mi away
Puri Saron Seminyak
Puri Saron Seminyak
#99 of 145 in Seminyak
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Kresna Boutique Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Kresna Boutique Villas

Property: Villa Kresna Boutique Villas
Address: Jl. Sari Dewi 17 | Badung - Bali, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Seminyak
#41 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#71 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Kresna Boutique Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Kresna's two locations in the ever popular Seminyak and within walking distance to the beach and from each other. Villa Kresna Boutique Villas and Villa Kresna Boutique Suites, have a combination of comfort and elegance in every room. The beach is literally just around the corner and it is easily accessible to Seminyak and all the popular areas of south-western Bali has to offer. World class restaurants, boutiques, galleries and bars are just some of the attractions within walking distance of Villa Kresna. Set in the ever popular Seminyak and within walking distance to the beach. Boutique Suites located at Jalan Sarinande 19 and Boutique Villa located at Jalan Sari Dewi 17, Seminyak. Both properties just 300meter away to each other. Villa Kresna boutique Suites offers 13 Suites rooms. Each suites are individually designed with space in mind. It is easily accessible to Seminyak and all the popular areas of south-western bali has to offer.Chic eateries, boutiques, galleries and Seminyak's famous nightlife are just some of the attractions within walking distance. The popular Seminyak Beach, with its spectacular year-round sunsets, is just around the corner. Villa Kresna's Boutique Villas, which have a combination of traditional features and luxurious modern amenities. Serviced by highly experienced staff and run by the same caring owner. Villa Kresna Boutique Villas offers 9 unit of share and private pool villa. Villa Kresna is owned by a Balinese-German family who has worked in the villas for two generations and has lovingly built each of Villa Kresna's 22 individual suites and villas, one by one, over the years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villa Kresna Boutique Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Kresna Boutique Villas Hotel Seminyak
Hotel Kresna Tropical
Resort Kresna Tropical
Villa Kresna Boutique Villas Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing