We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great all round hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection
Ranked #37 of 149 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 April 2012

We stayed in the hotel for 3 nights and really could not fault the hotel at all. Actually, it is our return after our 2009 visit. The staff was really friendly and very welcoming and the food was great. A lot to choose on the breakfast buffet but could do with a little variation. If you'd like to dine in the price would be a little bit expensive, but that's what you'd expect from a 5 star hotel anyway. The private beach front with big sofas was a great bonus!!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank east w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theroyalmanager, Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2012

Dear east W,

Thank you very much for your kind review. It's always a pleasure to receive nice compliments. Nothing better than knowing you appreciated your stay with us.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Camille Ringeard
Marketing Coordinator
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,912)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,092 - 2,098 of 2,912 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2012

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nicacis
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
theroyalmanager, Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Excellent service with a friendly staff. Food was of a high standard with a buffet breakfast included. The meals available on site were good value and a wide range available.

The hotel is set on the beach and has it's own large gardens. The room was a good size, comfortable and had it's own private balcony.

There were a couple of very good places to eat within walking distance, but even going further afield was not a problem as taxis are so cheap and abundant. One word of caution however. It would pay to take a map showing the hotel location as at least two drivers appeared not to know the location of the hotel on the return journey. Maybe this is because the name was changed recently from the Sofitel to the Royal Beach and the taxi drivers have yet to cotton on to the new name.

A true bonus was that WiFi was available, at no extra cost, in room. Other hotels please note!!!!

If I had one minor criticism it is that the breakfast restaurant appeared not to have smoking/non smoking areas and a couple of mornings I had the unpleasant smell of tobacco smoke whilst eating. I guess as a UK resident I have become overly sensitive to this issue since it is not a problem in the UK where restaurants are smoke free.

Having said that I would not hesitate to stay at the hotel again and indeed would recommend it to anyone staying In the Seminyak area.

Room Tip: From what I saw all rooms appeared a good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mikewhillis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theroyalmanager, Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2012

Dear Mikewhillis,

Thank you very much for your kind compliments and giving so may details of your experience with us. We are glad to know that you really enjoyed your stay at The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Camille Ringeard
Marketing Coordinator
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We enjoyed our 2 night stay at the Royal Beach Hotel. The position is great, with direct beach access. It's the first time we've experienced black sand - a little hard to get used to! Our rooms were nice but I would advise everyone to request rooms on the side of the hotel which has gardens and villas. Our rooms looked directly at the back of a new hotel which wasn't great. There is some garden but I think the hotel could do a lot more to make the outlook more enticing and in keeping with the overall standard of the hotel, eg a more luxuriant garden, perhaps a water feature. It feels like a forgotten area compared to the rest of the grounds. Breakfast was very nice, as were happy hour cocktails!

Room Tip: Ask for the garden side - not the side that directly faces the back of the hotel next door!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

This was our second visit to The Royal, which was then the Sofitel. Our first visit was in 2005, beginning on the fateful night of the second Bali bombings. We were members of the Accor Club and had booked a room, which was nice, but we were hoping to upgrade to a villa on the beach. No such luck when we checked in, but two days later we had our pick, as Bali had become a ghost town.we think we stayed in villa 103, which was right on the beach, and gorgeous, despite the tragedy that was happening around us. The staff were so glad that we stayed on, and we were treated like royalty, so of course we were keen to return.
This time my husband booked us into Villa 118, which we assumed was on the beach. Not so. It was absolutely lovely, but sandwiched between another double storey villa and the three storey
hotel rooms. We felt very exposed and upset, as our idea of a villa was complete privacy, and indeed, I spotted guests in the hotel rooms watching me as I read a book. That said, this villa adjoins the one next to it via a gate and the pool, and would be ideal for two families bolidaying together as long as they don't mind an audience from the hotel rooms! I am a lap swimmer so I loved the villa's pool, though the filter was not very strong. My husband was intent on full privacy and requested another villa. Management and staff could not do enough to help us, though the hotel was full, and after two nights in 118 we were moved to 112, a two storeyed villa which would be ideal for a family with older children. It did not have a lap pool but that was made up for by the stunning garden and jacuzzi in wthe middle of a water garden replete with lizards, birds and our own private fish spa! Privacy at last! Heaven! Thank you Royal Semlinyak! We will be back and may end up staying in every villa there!

Room Tip: As stated above, there are villas for every situation. Beach villas would best suit couples but vill...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pandora1japan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theroyalmanager, Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2012

Dear pandora1japan,

Thank you very much for your kind compliments and sharing so many details of your experience with us. It's always a pleasure for us to receive such enthusiastic reviews.

Regarding to your stay in Villa 118, I apologize for the inconvenience caused and I am glad to hear that you really enjoyed your journey in Villa 112.

Your feedback will be a great motivator to our team to maintain the standards and to continuously improving our services.

We are looking forward to making your next visit even more memorable!

Sincerely,

Camille Ringeard
Marketing Coordinator
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

My friend & I just returned from 7 wonderful days at the Royal Beach Resort in Seminyak. We had a fabulous time.

Check in was prompt and we were upgraded from a superior to a deluxe which was nice and the room was well appointed. We overlooked the lovely garden area. Small thing with the room was that we could only get wifi close to the balcony door or on the balcony. The rooms were serviced daily whilst we were at the pool and we couldn't fault anything.

Breakfast was delicious. Anything you could want including omelette station/pancakes/crepes/waffles etc.

We spent a lot of time in the main pool area. We didn't have trouble getting loungers because we were there early however you need to be there by 10am otherwise you may need to wait a while. By 2pm there were plenty of loungers. Loved the pool and the pool service. There is no swim up bar but they will deliver drinks to you in the pool. We had lunch there a few times and it was nice.

The food in the hotel is really good however I wouldn't recommend the teppanyaki. The food was nice but it was expensive (comparatively) and the restaurant was deserted when we went so it wasn't fun. Plenty of great places to eat on the beach in front of the resort or a short walk/drive.

To get to eat street you can get a taxi or the hotel has drivers which cost 25,000 rupiah to get there. Cheap either way. There was plenty of places within walking distance also to eat/drink/shop.

The staff were all really friendly and the service was great. I would definitely consider returning to the Royal Beach.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarlaSBris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theroyalmanager, Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2013

Dear Royal Guest,

It has been almost a year since you visit us and we would be more than happy to welcome you back to the resort to offer you another memorable moment.
Please visit our website and let yourself be once more enchanted by the charm and soul of Bali in the heart of Seminyak.
http://www.accorhotels.com/gb/hotel-5551-the-royal-beach-seminyak-bali-mgallery-collection/index.shtml

We are looking forward to making your next visit even more pleasant than the previous one.

Sincerely,

Camille Ringeard
Marketing Coordinator
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

This was our second stay at the Royal Beach, the staff and hotel are above and beyond in every way. The food is amazing my husband would order the tuna steaks 3 times a day and is craving all the time now and driving me nuts, tried to make it but it's just not the same. The pool and its surroundings are beautiful and are very well maintained. The rooms are comfortable and everything you need. Everything is close by and the people in Bali make my husband and I always want to return. We have booked Royal Beach again with all my family for Christmas and New Years and it could not come quick enough. Do yourself a favour book this hotel it is worth every cent and will not disappoint. Well done Royal Beach we will see you at Christmas... Karen n Campbell :-)

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KarenRGoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theroyalmanager, Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2012

Dear KarenRGoaldCoast,

Thank you very much for your kind review. :) It's always a pleasure to receive such nice compliments especially from our Royal repeaters. We are glad to know that you really enjoyed your whole stay with us. I will report your nice comment to our Chef concerning his delicious tuna steak .
Again, thank you for choosing our resort for your valuable holiday. I will share your compliments with our team which will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

We are looking forward to welcoming you for Christmas and making your next journey even more memorable.

Sincerely,

Camille Ringeard
Marketing Coordinator
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.6 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
W Bali - Seminyak
W Bali - Seminyak
#20 of 149 in Seminyak
3,623 reviews
0.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Bali Seminyak Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Double-Six Luxury Hotel Seminyak
0.1 mi away
Pelangi Bali Hotel
Pelangi Bali Hotel
#86 of 149 in Seminyak
1,103 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Amala
The Amala
#17 of 149 in Seminyak
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection

Address: Jl. Camplung Tanduk, Seminyak Beach | PO Box 3384, Seminyak 80033, Indonesia (Formerly Sofitel Seminyak Bali)
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta District > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Seminyak
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Seminyak
#19 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#25 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#34 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#35 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range: £89 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique hotel directly on the Seminyak Beach, surrounded by uniquely designed 4.5 hectares tropical garden. Featuring 128 rooms and 17 private villas, it is within walking distance to Seminyak fine dining restaurants, trendiest bars and luxury shopping. With outstanding modern Balinese architecture, the hotel offers a distinctive and memorable stay wrapped with the warmth of Balinese culture on every stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali Hotel Seminyak
Sofitel Hotel Seminyak Bali
Sofitel Hotel Denpasar
Sofitel Seminyak Bali
Sofitel Bali
Denpasar Sofitel
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing