We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace and quiet in the heart of bustling Seminyak”
Review of The Ahimsa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Ahimsa
Ranked #95 of 145 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Peace and quiet in the heart of bustling Seminyak”
Reviewed 6 April 2013

This is a nice place.

I have used two types of villas...both one bed pool villas with living/dining/cooking spaces. Both are walled and completely private. Attractively furnished in the 'modern' Bali style.

Breakfast is in the villa and very good. Room service menu available until late. (Note: no restaurant on site). The Bali Deli is virtually opposite for those who like their home comforts.

Best thing about the villa...the pool...just big enough to swim a few strokes and chill.

Recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank josefk68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    54
    14
    5
    4
See reviews for
63
64
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2013 via mobile

Don't get me wrong this place is good and in a good location, the pool big and the open air layout nice but bad for
Mosquitos and heat! Outside shower is a novelty but you don't cool down as the bathroom is outside also!
Service was ok, we were on our honeymoon so we were expecting a little more!
We stayed at sun island villas in seminyak in October 2012 and honestly we rate that higher! It had far better facilities and service plus all rooms were air conditioned!
Ahimsa is nice, pool is big and location quiet
Not worth the nightly rate - Would we stay again.. Sadly no

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KimCar82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2013

We love Balinese open style design, so the Ahimsa villas were perfect. We chose the Ahimsa primarily after looking at the website and secondarily due to the location...
Nice and quiet, nobody bothering you every five minutes... Loved the swimming pool and the layout of the garden. Some mosquitoes but what do you expect, you're in the tropics.. All in all a great place which suited us down to the ground. Our trip was July 2011 sorry to be so late with the review

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bali1104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madesuki, Manager at The Ahimsa, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Dear Ann,

We’re always happy when someone chooses to stay at our hotel. And we’re downright honored when you choose to spend your day during your holiday with us. Making your holiday a memorable one is the highest pride of us. We hope we can do this all over again in your forthcoming holiday. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon and appreciate your business and feedback, which will certainly be passed along to the team.

Sincerely,
Made Sukianto
General Manager Ahimsa Group
Email. made@theahimsa.com
Cell. +62 81 239 57 333
Skype. madesuki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 January 2013

We stayed at The Ahimsa for New Years 2012/2013 in the 3 bedroom Villa. The villa was nice and spacious although like previous comments have mentioned all but the bedrooms are open, this includes the bathrooms also. My friends and I were eaten alive, no amount of mozzie coils and insect repellent would suffice.
My main complaint was the service, although a few people have mentioned that this was great, my experience was not however.

My partner and I were previously staying in another Villa and had booked to stay at the Ahimsa from the 26th Dec onward, we went to reception to check in at 2pm, the staff told us that our Villa would not be ready untill 4pm that afternoon as the previous residence had Bali Belly and had to stay untill they had to go to the airport (not what you want to hear)
I wasnt overly thrilled by this as we had paid $6,000 AUD to stay here and had dinner reservations at 5. Feeling sorry for the previous residence I said that was fine. Come 4pm i went back to reception to check in, again i was told the Villa still wasn't ready and would need to wait half an hour more. By this stage i wasn't too impressed.

our friends were flying in late morning in the 26th, my partner and I had previously confirmed their transfers from the airport and the reception staffed ensured us that they were being picked up. Although they were left at the airport for an hour waiting, so instead got into a taxi.
The Ahimsa did pay for the cab fair but that wasn't the point, we had previously booked these transfers through a travel agent and had a confirmation email stating that this would be done.

On the day of departure i decided to confirm our transfers a day prior because of the drama we had previously had, we needed transfers from the villa at 6am (which was already confirmed by the villa staff before we left Perth) to my stock they said 'sorry we don't do transfers before 7am' .
They offered to call us a Taxi and pay for them, i agreed.

The next morning, pack and ready to go there was nothing, no taxi no one in reception to help, no money like they had promised, nothing and out of all the times it is so easy to get a taxi in bali, it took us nearly an hour to wave two down.

this in my opinion is extremely poor customer service, its such a shame because the Villas are quiet nice, but i wouldn't be recommending it to anyone

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JESSICA C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surabaya, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 December 2012

We stayed at the Ahmisa Villa in Seminyak. The villas are nice and spacious but beware of mosquitos. Everything but the bedroom is open to the elements and while the staff light mosquito coils every night, we were still eaten alive. The villas are in a good location, not too noisy yet walkable to restaurants. Service is very good and the staff is very helpful. The Ahimsa provides a transfer service which we used which really helps.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HenningDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2012

I stayed at the Amihsa Villas in Seminyak in Bali in September 2012. Two of us stayed in a two bedroom pool villa. (All villas have private pools. The villa far exceeded my expectations. We arrived after dark and long lane leading to the villas was beautifully lit, giving us an immediate feeling of serenity. The villa we stayed in had a really interesting design, with indoor/outdoor living very spacious. The private pool was huge. The villa was spotlessly clean with all the facilities provided. The breakfasts were cooked and served in the villa by the extremely friendly staff. The breakfast choice was either western or Indonesian. The banana pancakes with delicious. The staff were very happy to prepare any special meal requirements and they were always served with a smile. Nothing ever felt rushed, which made for a very relaxing atmosphere. The attention to delay made our stay very enjoyable. The staff at reception could not have been more courteous with the numerous request we had. The villa cars are available free of charge to be dropped off at local restaurants, subject to availability. The security guard will even blow his whistle to slow the traffic down and escort one across the road to the money changer. The location worked well for us as we wanted to be away from busy Kuta, but still wanted easy access to the restaurants in Seminyak. There is no spa at Ahimsa, but the villas provide an excellent massage servise at competitive rates and the massages I had were better than the bigger hotels and the local massages located near to the villas. We both agreed that we will return to Amimsa villas when we return to Bali. They really do have it all.

From Kathy in Adelaide

Room Tip: All villas are excellent and there are one, two and three bedroom villas
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 486kathyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Ahmisa Resort which is slightly out of town. The villas are nice and spacious but beware of mosquitos. Everything but the bedroom is open to the elements and while the staff light mosquito coils every night, we were still eaten alive. That said, the villas are in a good location, not too noisy yet walkable to restaurants. The beach and trendier part of Seminyak are not in walking distance. The Ahimsa provides a transfer service which we used which really helps.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirstywheats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seminyak
0.0 mi away
The Amala
The Amala
#16 of 145 in Seminyak
630 reviews
1.2 mi away
Pradha Villas
Pradha Villas
#65 of 145 in Seminyak
293 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Seminyak Suite Private Villa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Villas Bali Hotel & Spa
1.1 mi away
The Ahimsa Estate
The Ahimsa Estate
#198 of 338 in Kuta
56 reviews
5.8 mi away
Ahimsa Beach Resort
Ahimsa Beach Resort
#1 of 115 in Jimbaran
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ahimsa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ahimsa

Property: The Ahimsa
Address: Jl. Kunti 121, Seminyak, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#31 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#46 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#68 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#69 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ahimsa 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AHIMSA group redefines luxury accommodation by providing discerning guests with the ultimate boutique villa experience. Contemporary design and traditional Asian architecture coupled with impeccable five-star service ensures your stay will be an unforgettable one. Our philosophy is embodied in the Sanskrit word 'AHIMSA' - meaning 'to abstain from harm or violence to all earth's creatures'. Followers of the Hindu faith believe embracing this ideal will lead to a better way of life. Our hotel stands as a reminder to our valued guests and the people of the world that Bali is a gentle island with caring inhabitants. The Ahimsa is situated in the heart of vibrant cosmopolitan Seminyak. Choose from sixteen private villas, ranging from one to three bedroom. Our villas are strongly influenced by ideals of tropical, outdoor living. The Ahimsa Estate features five luxury villas comprising 2 one bedroom pool villa, 2 two bedroom pool villa and 1 three bedroom pool villa. Our villas have all the superior appointments of the Seminyak Villas but incorporate a more contemporary architectural treatment. Located 5 minutes walking from Seminyak Beach-just off Bali's most fashionable street for dining and entertainment. Jalan Oberoi - next to famous restaurant Kudeta, Ahimsa Estate affords guests all the pleasures they seek for the ultimate Bali experience. The Ahimsa Beach boasts eleven luxury villas situated 150 meters from one of Bali's best swimming beaches and only a stones throw from the Four Seasons resort and spa. The Ahimsa Beach consists of seven one-bedroom, two two-bedroom and two three-bedroom exquisitely appointed villas fitted with the air and essence that have made Ahimsa hotels one of the most popular boutique style hotels on the island. En-suite bathrooms, full-service kitchen, state -of-the art entertainment systems, open plan lounge and dining areas, ensure your every need is catered for. Our villas are strongly influenced by ideals of tropical, outdoor living. The use of local materials in the choice of interior fitments ensures the indelible spirit of Bali is captured in all its grace and beauty. Dining is a pleasure at The Ahimsa where a team of culinary experts will prepare a la carte breakfast every morning for guests as well as any special meal requests for nights spent relaxing in your own villa. Experience a better way of life The villas are constructed in a style that combines the very best of traditional Balinese architecture with luxurious Western amenities. This combination places the Ahimsa hotels the forefront of this beautiful island's boutique -style accommodation. Honeymooners, discerning travelers or families can look forward to the guest services the Ahimsa has become famous for, including secure private accommodation, in villa spa, beauty treatments, the famous Ahimsa Barbecue, a well-equipped business centre, personal tour guides and sight seeing packages plus much more. Travel arrangements, tours and cruises can all be organized by the resort's staff for guests. Popular activities include scuba diving, snorkeling and rafting. Whether you stay at THE AHIMSA, THE AHIMSA ESTATE or THE AHIMSA BEACH, you will enjoy the best this magical island has to offer and as a result - discover a better way of life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Ahimsa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ahimsa Hotel Seminyak
Ahimsa Hotel Seminyak
The Ahimsa Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing