We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem of a find”
Review of Hotel Puri Cendana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Puri Cendana
Ranked #84 of 148 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 October 2012

We usually stay in Legian when in Bali, and we felt like a change further along the beach where it isn't so busy. Puri Cendana is a traditional bungalow style accommodation hotel. The grounds are beautifully kept, pool good, and restaurant great! We stayed for 1 week and had a restful stay being just 200 metres from beach it is great value for $!!. Staff very friendly. We hired a bike and could get around easily back lanes and beachfront between legian and seminyak for shopping and restaurants. will be making this hotel my usual holiday spot!! If you hate staying in sterile large hotels this is the place for you!

Room Tip: We had upstairs room and was great as it was 2 story with bedroom upstairs. We asked to look in che...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (330)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

208 - 214 of 330 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2012

Puri Cendana was recommended by a friend. First time we have stayed at this property and we will stay there again. I made my initial inquiry by email and received a very prompt reply. My booking was confirmed via email and my credit card sent to confirm the booking but there was no charge to my credit card until we checked out.
This property is my style, a traditional old small Bali hotel with happy, friendly, smiling staff that could not do enough for you. Yes it is old, yes it is in a traditional style - not modern, concrete, steel and glass. I want Bali not the Gold Coast. I don’t go to Bali to stay in modern hotels. I want small, friendly, clean.
Beautiful, tropical well maintained and manicured gardens and lawns, small but nice clean pool and the restaurant serves excellent food. The pool side massage was very good and reasonably priced. The Bintang was cold but they did run out of small Bintang a couple of times.
Terima kasih to all the Staff at Puri Cendana – see you in February 2013……

Room Tip: Do not go for the Duplex Rooms if you do not want to climb stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Trish4040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

I recommend this hotel that is located in the heart of Semynak, walking distances from the main shopping area, beach restaurant. The hotel needs some maintenance, but the staff is very nice. The breakfast is good. The garden very nice. Better the rooms in the upper floor.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Norwayman1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

We stayed here for four nights so we could attend a wedding. Although I probably wouldn't stay in Seminyak again, this hotel was like a little oasis amongst the building works. The pool is lovely, the massage ladies are amazing and the breakfast is delicious.
The room was somewhat interesting being two storey with the bedroom but some quite rickerty stairs but the four poster bed was lovely. I had an invasion of bees one morning in the bathroom and I was quickly moved and upgraded even though it was really early.
Its older but it has character and I would recommend to others.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Well located very near the beach but without beach front prices. An older style hotel, which means the rooms are somewhat dark, but we were only in it to sleep. Only local TV but who watches on holiday? WiFi in the restaurant and around the pool, and we were able to get it on our terrace too, although service was a bit patchy. Very clean and well maintained. Loved the compact size of the hotel and the friendliness of the staff. The pool was great - we had breakfast beside it every morning. highly recommended, especially if you don't like huge hotels with hundreds of rooms.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 666Sally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We stayed at puri cendana for 5 nights last week (July '12) in their highest standard room. The only difference between this room & the standard below it was cable tv & DVD player. Only 2 room types out of the 4 have this. The duplex rooms are on the second level & are 2 story with bathroom & living down stairs (& large balcony) & the bedroom upstairs. The rooms are very large. The bedroom is accessed by a steep staircase & staircase & bedroom floor creak when you walk which feels a little unsafe. The aircon is not very powerful, so lucky for us the nights were cool. I don't think I could stay in this room during high humidity season. The rooms are older style & slightly dusty.. Sheets grey not white. All of this said however, the hotel is in a great location, the pool is nice with lots of sun & the poolside massages were amazing for 85,000 rupiah for 1 hour (thank-you Sri!). The hotel guests were also lovely & nice to see no bintang singlet wearing & bintang drinking yobos.
If you spend a lot of time in your room & like nice resorts, this is not for you. If you spend the days enjoying bali & it's beaches & need a quaint place to stay that is relatively clean, a reasonable price for the great location & like traditional style hotels, the puri cendana is a good choice. Next time, I would book one of the lower standard of rooms with cable tv & DVD to get the same value for money at approximately $20 cheaper a night.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NabLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

This hotel is well located verynear seminyak beach, an easy walk to many restaurants along the beach and main streets. Rooms with king size bed, fridge, tv, but only local channels, small safe good bathroom with bath/shower over bath. Breakfast and tax inc in price. Now peak time.
We are paying 685.000rp during july. Staff friendly, nice restaurant along sidewalk in the front, rooms at back. Great massage on site, properly trained girls.

Room Tip: Our room was downstairs no.7
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chardsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.2 mi away
Artemis Villa and Hotel
Artemis Villa and Hotel
#74 of 148 in Seminyak
277 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bali Agung Village
Bali Agung Village
#60 of 148 in Seminyak
487 reviews
1.3 mi away
Puri Madawi
Puri Madawi
#87 of 148 in Seminyak
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tijili Seminyak
Tijili Seminyak
#40 of 148 in Seminyak
500 reviews
0.2 mi away
PING Hotel Seminyak Bali
PING Hotel Seminyak Bali
#51 of 148 in Seminyak
494 reviews
1.2 mi away
Amalfi Hotel Seminyak
Amalfi Hotel Seminyak
#90 of 148 in Seminyak
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Puri Cendana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Puri Cendana

Address: Jl. Camplung Tanduk (Dhyana Pura), Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta District > Seminyak
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Seminyak
#45 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range: £26 - £53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Puri Cendana 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Puri Cendana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Cendana Resort
Resort Puri Cendana
Hotel Puri Cendana Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing