We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money”
Review of Hotel Puri Cendana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Puri Cendana
Ranked #85 of 147 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We have been one of the many `regulars' here. Regular as in going there for the last 9 years - approximate average stay of 7 nights every year! So that's many nights!

The staff is really good, very attentive and warm. They remember your names and what you like.
The location is the best - walking distance to the main Seminyak road. Being at the end of the Dhyanapura road, it is a 100 meter walk to the beach and also by a short cut, go to Oberoi street.

The rooms are large and simply furnished. The bathrooms are slightly primitive, with a shower in the in-situ tub which is just a hand-shower on a hook. How much would it cost to put a `proper' shower head and fix it on the wall?

The gardens are superb if small. The restaurant does reasonable food in a nice setting. The swimming pool, although attractive is really in need of new tiling. The floor is painted and the paint has been peeling for last decade already.

The little massage pavilion is one of the best and most reasonably priced one in Bali.

All in all with all the pros and cons, Puri Cendana is a wonderful little place. The shortcomings don't really take away the pleasure of the stay.

Room Tip: The upper rooms are on two levels - great if you have kids who can sleep on one level The rooms...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SuchetaPotnis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (319)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Puri Cendana
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

174 - 180 of 319 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2013

Me and my hubby stayed here 4 nights (and after went up to Ubud) and the place is cute and nice, but we would loved to see the real Bali, which is not here for sure. Seminyak is just a little beach town , very busy and loud. thanks for Puri Cendana, we got a glimps of balinese housing and style, but we couldnt wait to get into the real Bali. it is our fault, we choose wrong.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

I stayed here with 2 girlfriends in a duplex star room. The room was clean and tidy with a bedroom upstairs and living area and huge bathroom downstairs. The room had big old wooden doors with seating on the verandah overlooking the gardens. Breakfast was included and you could buy a cappuccino here that wasn't too bad. The pool area is small but lovely and deck chairs by the pool were available whenever we required them with no guests putting towels on them all day. We used the massage service by the pool and it was divine. We ate at the restaurant and the meals were nice and well priced. We also played pool on the pool table available for guests. Wehad no trouble with the free wifi in our room and the pool and restaurant area. All in all a lovely experience in Bali.. too many 'new' places are being built and there aren't a lot of older places left. The Puri Cendana is only about 150m to the beach. I would definitely stay here again and recommend this place to friends

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hoogs3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Puri Cendana is my favorite place to stay in Seminyak. The rooms were spacious and had a wonderful bathroom covered by large windows on 2 walls.
The pool area and restaurant (which has great food) is very cozy and looks lovely and romantic when they put the lights on at night. The little massage hut is superb as well and worth a visit!
The surroundings are very green, lovely and peaceful.
The hotel is also a stones throw from the beach where you can catch lovely sunsets!
We will definitely come back! :-)

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank monikaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Puri Cendana is perfectly located with both the beach and restaurants within easy strolling distance. Our traditional Balinese-style room was clean and spacious, with a large semi-outdoor bathroom and a veranda overlooking the lush gardens. We had a duplex room, which was great, although I was a little wary of using the steep staircase during the night.
Breakfasts at the restaurant were fantastic, especially the traditional ones, and the fresh pineapple juices were the best around! I highly recommend the poolside massages - approx. $8 for 1 hour - and the ladies really know what they're doing. The pool is small and intimate, perfect for a quick dip and a dose of vitamin D.

A couple of pitfalls were the lack of safes in rooms and the poor wifi connectivity. The staff at reception will happily store valuables for you, but it could be a bit inconvenient. I found it best to check my emails at the restaurant, as I couldn't connect in my room.

I would definitely stay here again, as I found the relaxed vibe and convenient location to be the perfect combination.

Room Tip: If you have a duplex room, don't lug all your bags upstairs: the wardrobe is on the ground floor
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MsLiz64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

mate and i walked in without a reservation after our plans to lombok went awry. we were tired, frustrated and looking for somewhere to settle in quickly. we were met with friendly staff who were happy to show us us the various accommodations, patiently waiting for us to make a decision, not pushy at all. we decided to stay for a night.

great location (3 mins to the beach), reasonable priced. the rooms are traditional in design, clean, and well maintained, although we still felt it was a lil run down. the mattress is a tad too hard for my liking. the tv in the hotel room is a tad to small. the bathroom is clean but the hotel does not provide toiletries, at least not in our room, except for toilet paper and sanitary bag. the walking paths to the rooms is not too well lit at night and we had to strain to follow the stepping stones to reach our apartment at night. there is only one powerpoint by the tv, across the room from the bed which is not sufficient for two people and a tad inconvenient as well.

breakfast was decent - we chose the american brekkie which was substantive.

one other quibble is we notice most of the guests are families or middle aged couples and above. may not be ideal for solo or younger travellers looking to make friends and have fun in the resort.

after staying in several accommodations during our trip to bali, we reckon that if it was not for the fact that we were in need of a place to stay and exhausted, we will give this a miss. for the price we paid, we could have gotten a more well-equipped and well-maintained accommodation.

major props to the staff who were courteous, patient and accommodating.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rachel-natalie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

The location is good, a few minutes walk to both the bars, restaurants and shops of Dhyana Pura and to the beach.

I booked the duplex room and it was really nice - as others have mentioned here, the rooms are not flashy, modern or hi-tech, but comfortable and simple with lots of traditional Balinese artifacts and interesting décor. With a duplex you get a lot of space for your money (approx. USD80 per night) and there's a really big, slightly 'rustic' bathroom.
A few minor negatives with the room: no safe, poor insulation - there's quite a lot of noise from the 'kampung' behind the hotel in the evenings, and the cable TV selection was pretty poor.

The grounds and pool are lovely, and there's a decent restaurant attached although you shouldn't expect quick service if you choose to sit at one of the tables by the pool - you'll virtually have to send up an SOS flare to attract the attention of the wait staff.

In the street outside the hotel there are many overpriced taxis waiting for tourists - don't bother with them at all - if you're going somewhere just ask reception to call you a Blue Bird taxi (they always use a meter).

If you need 24/7 Internet access this may not be the place for you; In the 2 days I was there I couldn't connect to the Internet once on my tablet, not in the room, not at the restaurant and not at reception. Luckily, there are some Internet cafes nearby.

Overall, I'd recommend this place - the rooms are really nice, the whole place has a pleasantly laid-back atmosphere, the location is great and the staff were quite friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.2 mi away
Artemis Villa and Hotel
Artemis Villa and Hotel
#75 of 147 in Seminyak
271 reviews
0.2 mi away
PING Hotel Seminyak Bali
PING Hotel Seminyak Bali
#50 of 147 in Seminyak
476 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grandmas Plus Hotel Seminyak
Grandmas Plus Hotel Seminyak
#76 of 147 in Seminyak
917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Villa Karisa
Villa Karisa
#80 of 147 in Seminyak
251 reviews
0.2 mi away
Destiny Boutique Hotel
Destiny Boutique Hotel
#88 of 147 in Seminyak
309 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tijili Seminyak
Tijili Seminyak
#40 of 147 in Seminyak
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Puri Cendana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Puri Cendana

Address: Jl. Camplung Tanduk (Dhyana Pura), Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Seminyak
#45 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range: £33 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Puri Cendana 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Puri Cendana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Cendana Resort
Resort Puri Cendana
Hotel Puri Cendana Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing