We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place given the price”
Review of Hotel Puri Cendana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Puri Cendana
Ranked #85 of 147 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Would echo all other reviews re old style Bali, great location etc. We stayed in a superior star ground floor. Huge room with outdoor style bathroom, glassed in. I loved the old style pool even tho many people say it needs tiling. Not a lot a room around the pool and so not many lounges or umbrellas which u really need with that hot sun. Grounds were lovely and well tended. Was a bit worried by Reception space when we checked in as pretty run down and unattractive so bit of relief when saw room and rest of resort were fine. Especially at those prices. Agree with the limited breakfast choice - would be nice to have an alternative and fresh fruit or juice seems a bit mean when fruit is so commonly offered thru out as part of meals in Asia. We had a power blackout in our room during a storm nice night. Maintenance staff quick to respond & about 45mins later had power but no air con (it being the problem). Quickly offered alternate room for sleeping which we accepted. Next day we could move to next door room if we wanted. As air con fixed by 1pm no need. Issue so well handled by staff. Not sure how much longer this resort will be here given proximity to beach and the increasing move to high rise boxes.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pamela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (317)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Puri Cendana
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

159 - 165 of 318 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

1. Sleeping. Big king bed with new firm mattress and mosquito net. Nice and quiet. Rooms are big all timber construction. Nice big clean bathroom.
2. Atmosphere. Beautiful gardens with big trees. Peaceful and quiet. If you are lucky the squirrels will come and visit. Great little pool area.
3. Location. 200m to restaurant strip & 200m to beach. Unfortunately the beach was covered with rubbish due to onshore winds in january but this is an indonesia problem, not hotel problem. Although we came to bali also for the beach so this is all hotels problem if people stop coming due to dirty beaches.
4. Staff. Helpful and friendly.
5. Food. Basic small cafe attached. Good for basic snacks and poolside munchies & beer. Included breakfast is fine but they could offer more choices. They include an american breakfast of bacon and eggs but you cant swap say for pancakes even though they are cheaper on the menu?! No big issue.
6. Summary. Good value old style bali hotel in good position. It is not a new modern concrete hotel like so many they are now building now. For us this is the real beauty of puri cendana.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank WayneTrain72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

I stayed here in January 2014. It is in a really great location, close to shops and beach, nice pool, had lunch a few times in restaurant and the food is great and they serve a nice latte! I loved the Balinese style of the hotel and the furnishings and all the rooms have lovely garden views and nice verandah out from to sit. But... the beds, sheets & towels! They really should be upgraded as the beds were really lumpy and could feel the springs! The sheets and towels were really grey. What a shame... Would love to stay here again but only if they upgrade the beds etc. Stayed in a ground floor room with twin beds.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SueThom2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

The Puri Cendana is a relatively inexpensive place to stay. I had one of the 2 story cottages since they were out of normal rooms and it was wonderful. It has an old feel to it, ceiling fan downstairs, rattan/bamboo finishes and furnishings. There's an aircon unit upstairs that worked perfectly but I rarely used it since I enjoyed the warm temperatures outside. The free breakfast is delicious; maybe not 5 star spectacular but it's better than I've ever had in the states. The coffee however did have a strange texture to me; but I felt like that everywhere in Bali. You have to get a massage there; about 6 USD for an hour (normal Bali prices). The young lady also does pretty good manicures/pedicures. The pool and grounds are gorgeous. Noticing some of the other reviews, I will say that this was not a western type of hotel. If you require a new perfect concrete enclosure then this won't cut it for you. It's right behind the Grandma's Hotel which is a new boutique (read tiny rooms) hotel that's super cheap but nice.

Room Tip: I stayed in a one-bedroom villa. Much more space than I needed but lovely. Travel Agents behind th...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dani D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

I would like to preference this review by saying that I have never given a terrible rating for a hotel but this place was unbearable. We were not expecting the lap of luxury but we were shocked at the poor standards of this hotel. Upon checking in there was a dog chained to the desk which has been cruelly over fed and just lies there unable to move. The restaurant which we received our welcome drink was run down and depressing. The room was furnished with an uncomfortable cane lounge and a bed which looks as though it was bought on the cheap in the 1980's. To cap everything off the towels provided in the bathroom were like old rags. We checked out within an hour forgo our money and stayed somewhere clean.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathleen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Very good location within three blocks of the beach. Breakfast is included but it is very average. Our room had peeling plaster and tired old sheets. The bathroom floor would get wet when it rained. Many of the staff were very friendly however the day manager Kadek, she was not very nice to us. If this is your price range and you don't plan on spending much time in your room then it is a decent choice.

Room Tip: Make sure AC is working!
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chuck S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Stayed for four nights. A more traditional Bali style resort compared to the concrete motels that are currently popping up. Sweet rooms, great staff and a great location. Beautiful gardens, nice but small pool. Breakfast needs a bit of a revamp - eg you can choose juice or fruit but not both, eggs any way. There was a minor issue with our shower not emptying - but it was attended to straight away. It is not 5 star, doesn't pretend to be, but it has enough comforts for a really good stay - good bed, good bath/shower, good A/C, good tele and free wifi.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DEB0077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.2 mi away
Artemis Villa and Hotel
Artemis Villa and Hotel
#74 of 147 in Seminyak
271 reviews
0.2 mi away
PING Hotel Seminyak Bali
PING Hotel Seminyak Bali
#50 of 147 in Seminyak
474 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grandmas Plus Hotel Seminyak
Grandmas Plus Hotel Seminyak
#75 of 147 in Seminyak
913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Villa Karisa
Villa Karisa
#78 of 147 in Seminyak
251 reviews
0.2 mi away
Destiny Boutique Hotel
Destiny Boutique Hotel
#88 of 147 in Seminyak
309 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tijili Seminyak
Tijili Seminyak
#40 of 147 in Seminyak
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Puri Cendana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Puri Cendana

Address: Jl. Camplung Tanduk (Dhyana Pura), Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Seminyak
#45 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range: £33 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Puri Cendana 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Puri Cendana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Cendana Resort
Resort Puri Cendana
Hotel Puri Cendana Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing