We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Location”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Puri Cendana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Puri Cendana
Ranked #86 of 143 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Puri Cendana was our 2nd hotel we looked at in Seminyak when we arrived in Bali. We mainly chose it because it was like half the price from the first one, which was 1'200'000 IDR a night. Also the location suited us as we wanted to be near the beach.

First night we got a room downstairs. It is a bit noisy from the busy street right outside but we didn't mind.
The garden is beautiful and we found the breakfast good right next to the pool which was very nice.

The staff is friendly enough and I think if you are only looking for a place to stay for a few nights, want a nice bed (which seemed quite clean) and a fairly big bathroom, want to be close to the beach it is perfect.

I'm sure you'll find cheaper options in Seminyak but for us for 2 nights it was great.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ZsaZsaZsu8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    142
    35
    12
    11
See reviews for
53
138
29
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for 3 nights and found the place average. There was 3 separate occasions where we came back to our room at night to find that someone had been in there due to the TV being on and locks on our door different. This was after the room had already been cleaned that morning so made us feel uncomfortable that someone was going in there on more than one occasion when we were not there. The rooms were Balinese style however very dark and drains blocked in bathroom sink and shower and the room smelt mouldy. The massages however are good and cheap here.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kyleb1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

I and my partner stayed at Puri Cendena for 5 nights. We booked the deluxe room and It was like home. The hotel is well located and the buildings are surrounded by a beautiful garden. It is like an oasis in the middle of under-construction neighbourhood. Our room was two storey and had a terrace overlooking the pool area. The mini fridge was noisy and on the weekends the noise from the street might annoy you if you are a light sleeper. Bathtub is big, breakfast is good, Wifi and AC working fine and above all the staff was always attentive and helpful. I have been very satisfied with Puri Cendana and would recommend to others ...

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank cengizkhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

Good original style hotel, close to beach, good breakfast, good helpful staff
Noisy in the evening due to motor scooters with modified exhaust systems coming and going to the beach. The seating of the rooms need a rear cushion very uncomfortable.
the pool/lounge chairs being used by non guests of the hotel should be stopped due to guests not being able to use when occupied by non guests.

Room Tip: Choose the ground floor rooms as the up stairs rooms bed room is at the very top above the living/ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

If you are looking for a place that is clean, close to Seminyak beach but at top end (much more relaxed) and reasonably priced then this would be a good option. Set in a lovely garden setting, the hotel is a quite space to relax in.

After staying in Umalas area for most of our stay, we decided to move closer to Seminyak for last 2 days (with a red eye connection back to Australia, it was an affordable and good option to be able to have somewhere to relax the day away before mid evening departure for airport).

Had stumbled across this hotel during a day excursion out on the scooter. You can drop in, use their pool (you have to take own towel), and have a refreshing drink which is a nice way to cool down.

Didn't eat here other than a quick lunch, so can't really comment on the food but the drinks were refreshing.

Would recommend booking a star room (superior star or duplex star) if you are a westerner and want to watch a little TV as these are the only 2 room types that offer international TV.

We had a duplex room that was clean, and spread over 2 levels. Management could however look to replacing their towels as they were worn and grey, and the pillows could be upgraded. Air conditioning in the upstairs bedroom also didn't work particularly well, but that could have been because it was trying to cool down two levels.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank CazG63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

We couln't stay for the night, the hotel was full but we enjoyed the lunch and stayed with the kids near the swimming pool.
Average food but nice fresh juice.
Nice place, friendly staff, and good massage as well.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marianne_FR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

If you are looking for a place that is clean, you can rest well, close to the beach and reasonable pricing. This is the place for you.

We stayed there for 6 days in April. It's our 2nd time in Bali & we've seen other beaches, so we picked this place as we know it's close to the Seminyak beach (within 5 minutes walk), the beach we prefer. This is a surfer's beach, got lots of good wave, pretty good for body surf too, but definitely not swimming.(Last time in July, there were lots of rubbish on Nusa Dua Beach.)

We originally booked a superior star room but we got upgraded to the duplex star room because Expedia did something wrong on their side. Anyway, that's a good bonus for us. The room is very clean and no bugs issue. (Last time in Ubud, we had flies issue in the room) We think the room we've got is totally suitable for a family of 4 or simply just a few friends together. There's a king bed upstairs and it can totally fit a double bed downstairs in the living room. the TV wasn't working at all but we didn't care as we don't watch TV. The free wifi works well in the room and the restaurant.

The restaurant offers basic breakfast like all the other balinese style hotel. The breakfast is okay, we prefer fruit plate than orange juice from concentrate which tasted weird. We had dinner there once. We only eat local dishes when we are traveling. Their Nasi Campur and another Balinese curry chicken dish tasted great, but my one plate doesn't fill a man's stomach.

This hotel is located at the beginning of Seminyak beach, a great location to start off a sunset stroll, which you can go down south along the beach to Legian and Kuta beach or north (which we didn't have time to do so). This is also the more chill out part of the beach. We loved that it is less crowded, which is great for a relaxing sunbath. At night it is filled with more energy with some bars still operating with live music, so you can have a drink right on the beach. If you walk further south from there passed a smelly creek that joins up the beach. That marks the beginning of Legian, and you won't find bars right on the beach like Seminyak do.

We love walking around. You'll find a lot of interesting things along Jl. Camplung Tanduk, including good vegan food and delicious smoothy at Zula, a good music gig at Solki, an open- air bar that serves you popcorn as snacks (right next door to Zula), located in the beginning of this road. If you walk further, there is a bar on the left side called something "moon" (I forgot the name), they have good live band shows there as well. Midway through your walk back to the hotel, you'll walk pass a couple of gay bars, which get quite crazily crowded at night.
If you like to walk to see the world like us, try walking along the beach to Legian, then along the main road to Kuta, that's something else to explore.

Back to Puri Cendana, the negative things I'd say is they need to change up their towels, which are so worn out with grey stains and the edges fray. Also, the bed can be more comfortable. It's time for them to upgrade some of their amenities.

Room Tip: The room we had was G, it's great but we wish there's a bit more sun in the room. We have to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen_around_d_globe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seminyak
0.2 mi away
Artemis Villa and Hotel
Artemis Villa and Hotel
#69 of 143 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grandmas Plus Hotel Seminyak
Grandmas Plus Hotel Seminyak
#72 of 143 in Seminyak
4.0 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bali Agung Village
Bali Agung Village
#62 of 143 in Seminyak
4.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Puri Saron Seminyak
Puri Saron Seminyak
#98 of 143 in Seminyak
3.5 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pelangi Bali Hotel
Pelangi Bali Hotel
#81 of 143 in Seminyak
4.0 of 5 bubbles 998 reviews
0.2 mi away
Abian Biu Mansion
Abian Biu Mansion
#16 of 35 in Kerobokan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Puri Cendana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Puri Cendana

Property: Hotel Puri Cendana
Address: Jl. Camplung Tanduk (Dhyana Pura), Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Seminyak
#45 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Puri Cendana 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Puri Cendana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Cendana Resort
Resort Puri Cendana
Hotel Puri Cendana Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing