We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic place!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Does this look relaxing? Enjoy your time in Bali
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
49 reviews
Does this look relaxing?
Enjoy your time in Bali
The Pool
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Kitchen
Dining Room
Kitchen
Kitchen
The Twin Bedroom
The Twin Bedroom
The Twin Bedroom
The Bedroom
The Bedroom
The Bedroom
The Second Bedroom
The Second Bedroom
The Second Bedroom
Bathroom (Twin Bedroom)
Bathroom (Twin Bedroom)
Bathroom (Bedroom)
Bathroom (Bedroom)
Bathroom (Second Bedroom)
Bathroom (Second Bedroom)
Entrance
Pathways
Welcome to your own private villa
Swim in your own private pool whenever you want
Pool at night
Sun yourself on the pool loungers
Some of our wonderful staff - Juwini, Adi & Putu
Bedroom 1 - Super King bed 200cm x 200cm
Bedroom 1 - individual touches
Bedroom 2 as King layout - Super King bed 200cm x 200cm
Bedroom 2 - overlooking pool
Bedroom 2 - Twin layout
Bedroom 2 - Twin layout
Bedroom 3 - Super King bed 200cm x 200cm
Bedroom 3 - Super King bed 200cm x 200cm
Bedroom 3 - Super King bed 200cm x 200cm
Breakfast in bed anyone?
Lounge at night
Lounge area
Looks good, doesn't it.
Dining / kitchen
Who's ready for dinner prepared by their own private chef?
Picture yourself here with a good book...
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Seminyak, Kuta District, Bali

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 49 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
cldy
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic place!”
Reviewed 15 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

What can I say? This was the perfect place to stay for a family with a young toddler. The villa is few minutes away from the bustling and noisy crowds in the main area of seminyak. Calling a cab to and fro the main areas of Seminyak also wasn't a problem at all and cost relatively little. The entire family had a very relaxing holiday with drinks by the pool and beautiful rooms. Juiwini is an excellent cook and has a beautiful personality. We ate in for dinner every night with no regrets! Cooking separate meals for the toddler also didn't faze her at all. Putu the driver is great and he knows Bali so well. My in-laws organised a day trip with Putu for sightseeing and had a great time. Plus he also brought us to a beach in Nusa Dua for swimming with beautiful waters. (note: Seminyak Beach is just a tad bit too rough). The pool is a good size and is very well-maintained.
Kay (owner) was also excellent in communication from the time of booking, to the actual stay itself.

No regrets. No complaints. Highly recommended and will try our best to return!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Nothing at all. :)
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Feb 2016
Thank you so much for your fabulous review. I'll be sure to pass on your appreciation to our staff.
We're so glad you had such a fabulous stay.
Kindest regards,
Anthony & Kay Shearn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kohster12
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
“It was our swathe of paradise”
Reviewed 1 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

If I had to sum up our stay at Umalas Retreat in one word, it will be, “fabulous”!

My wife and I with two kids and our helper found the place so thoroughly enjoyable that even arriving home two days ago, my wife remarked she could imagine herself still being there. The villa is allocated in Umalas district very near Seminyak. The three bedrooms are spacious with their own attached bathrooms. Although it is located in an urban area, the high wall surrounding the villa made us feel that it was our own little swathe of paradise. The villa looks as good as the photos on the page, but what really made the difference was the staff at the villa. Juwini is the house-keeper and cook. While we were there, we thoroughly spoilt by her excellent cooking and her very gracious manner in seeing to all our needs. Her culinary skills meant that we stayed in for breakfast and made sure we come home in the evenings for dinner. As Malaysians, we are very familiar with Indonesian cuisine, but Juwini’s cooking was something else. Her husband is a member of the 24/7 security staff at the villa and they were careful enough to walk around even at night just to check if everything was fine.

The only unfortunate incident during our stay was the brown-out on the afternoon that we arrived. It was not the fault of the owners of the villa or their staff. Indonesia does not have sufficient electricity generating capacity during the dry season and hence, the authorities implement a rolling series of brown-outs to help ration what they have. It was the turn of Umalas that afternoon. We had to wait till 10:00 PM that evening for power to be restored. Despite that, Juwini cooked our first dinner that evening at the resort, and it was great! Fortunately, brown puts do not happen often

What we really appreciated was the extra care Kay and the staff put into helping with my daughter, who is autistic. Kay made sure that there were some French fries in the resort for her and Juwini cooked for her and our helper on days they stayed in the villa instead of joining us out.

In all, our stay at Umalas Retreat was the holiday that we needed. I’d recommend it to anyone, especially those with families.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The staff were simply fantastic!
Liked least: The brown-out while we were there.
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Oct 2015
Hi R,
Thanks for your review. It was our absolute pleasure having you stay, and we're so glad that you got the relaxing holiday that you were after.
We really appreciate your kind words about Juwini and Morris. We are very lucky to have the staff that we do, and it's lovely to hear that others appreciate their efforts as well.
Please come back and visit again soon.
Kindest regards,
Anthony & Kay Shearn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juforb1
nz
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Villa,”
Reviewed 3 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Happy to review this beautiful villa my friend and I stayed at for 7 nights.
The villa was clean ,,comfortable, and above all safe , with a full time guard posted outside 24/7 . Wonderful staff, especially the lovely Juwini, who was full of information about where to eat, shop and best places for massages. She also made us the loveliest breakfasts ,and the odd lunch and dinner when required ,, and as she has been chef trained , they were our best meals in Bali ,
The villa is about a 8 minute cab ride into the centre of Samui which was never a problem as the guard always calls for them $3.00 - $5.00 NZ dollars , but nice to be out in the pretty Umalas area .The pool and outside area was beautifully clean. And very pretty . Can't wait to go back , will definitely stay here again .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Juwini , Pool, Bed, food , security ..
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Oct 2015
Hi J & K,
Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We're so glad that you were able to stay with us., and that you had such a great time. I'll pass your compliments onto our staff.
You're welcome back anytime.
Kindest regards,
Anthony & Kay Shearn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leanne N
Port Sorell, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Absolutely Outstanding”
Reviewed 15 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We booked Umala's because of great reviews & it really exceeded everything we hoped for. The attention to detail is exceptional...beautiful furnishings, great food...Juwini the gorgeous cook & house keeper, Putu the ever reliable driver, fantastic security & very private location... Don't hesitate to stay here..

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Oct 2015
Hi Leanne,
Thanks so much for your review. You have a beautiful family, and we loved having you stay.
We're hoping to come and enjoy a visit to your accommodation in Tassie soon.
Kindest regards,
Anthony & Kay Shearn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muriel A
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Affordable villa for the foodie”
Reviewed 17 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We arrived late evening, coming from Australia & Holland with a beautiful welcome drink.
It's a hidden villa that is close to Seminyak (short taxi ride). The bedrooms are spacious and the beds are very comfortable. We used the pool for a morning dip or to relax after all our shopping in Seminyak. We had breakfast, lunch & dinner at Umalas and it was so beautiful, everything was freshly made and better then any restaurant!
We would love her to cook at our home!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner, she is a fantastic cook, the food is so yummy!
Liked least: Noisy
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jun 2015
Thanks for your review Muriel. We're glad that you enjoyed your time at Umalas Retreat.
Kindest regards,
Anthony & Kay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzy1691
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very nice villa close to Seminyak with fantastic chef, security and services”
Reviewed 27 May 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Stayed for 10 days with a group of friends, had an awesome time, very clean, great pool, nothing was too much trouble for the very competent staff! Food prepared by Juwini is magnificent would highly recommend this villa

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jun 2015
Hi Sue,
Thanks for leaving us a review.
I know Juwini loved having you stay at Umalas Retreat.
We're glad you had a great time.
Kindest regards,
Anthony & Kay Shearn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robyn_Ain...
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hidden paradise exceeding all expectations!”
Reviewed 26 May 2015 for a stay in March 2015

From the moment we arrived we were made to feel very much at home. Nothing was any trouble for Juwini who made our stay so very enjoyable. Juwini would make a daily shopping list at our request and the food she prepared was so fresh and delicious. The extra task of making separate meals for a fussy 7 year old was no trouble. The villa is beautifully decorated and the areas for relaxation are comfortable and enticing. We felt safe at all times and being able to utilise our own driver when needed was convenient. The surrounding rice fields added to our stay, we just loved Umulas Retreat, it was a very memorable holiday.

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jun 2015
Hi Robyn,
Thanks for your kind words.
We're so glad you enjoyed your long awaited holiday.
Come back and visit again soon.
Kindest regards,
Anthony & Kay Shearn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing