We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic villa and staff on an otherwise disappointing holiday!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mutiara Bali Boutique Resort & Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mutiara Bali Boutique Resort & Villas
Ranked #50 of 141 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fantastic villa and staff on an otherwise disappointing holiday!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

My friends and I stayed in a 2 bedroom deluxe villa and it was absolutely fantastic. The style and decor of the bedrooms and bathrooms could not be faulted and we loved the outdoor living/dining area. The pool area was lovelyn although not a lot of space around the pool for 5 people especially if everyone wanted to lay in the sun at the same time!

The staff could not be faulted, nothing was too much trouble for them. If you are ordering breakfast to be cooked in your villa though, make sure you leave enough time, it can take a while! Also they are very thorough with the cleaning which can be a little annoying if you are having a day lounging around the villa. But I don't think over-cleanliness is a reason to complain!

In terms of location, it cannot be beaten. Situated right behind eat street in Seminyak, it's a 2 minuted walk to all the bars and restaurants. At night though it is down an un-lit lane, which can be a little scary if you are on you're own. The beach is a 10 minute walk away so if that's a priority you might want to look for somewhere a little closer to the beach.

The spa is very small, so if you are looking for a true spa experience, you'd probably want to look elsewhere. This is reflected in the price of treatments though and was enough for most of my party. Some of the girls did visit bigger hotels to use their spas though.

As I say I really cannot fault the accomodation for what we were looking for which was nice accommodation in a good location at a reasonable price, if you have any questions please get in touch and i'd be happy to answer them.

I have to admit I was slightly disappointed with Seminyak, we chose this area as we wanted to experience the more upscale nightlfe than nearby Kuta. While there were more upscale bars, they were all completely empty which we weren't expecting in July, which is meant to be high season. Perhaps it's because they are so expensive? We certainly couldn't afford to drink in them all night that's for sure!

Food prices were more reasonable though, and we didn't find a bad restaurant on that street!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cancunfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mutiarabali, Director of Sales at Mutiara Bali Boutique Resort & Villas, responded to this review, 23 September 2011
Dear Ms. Cancunfan

Thank you very much for your review regarding our Villa. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us,and we are really agree with your opinion that Seminyak is not the same place like 3-4 years back, fortunately we are located a bit hidden from those hustle & bustle so you can still enjoy the privates and quietness during your stay and it was a big pleasure for us to served you at our best. Thank you for choosing us for your stay, we will have a special price for our return guest if you booked through our website and We hope to see you again for your next trip to Bali.

Best regard

Ivan Sutanto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

836 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    332
    383
    90
    21
    10
See reviews for
206
305
56
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2011

We stayed in a 1 bdr villa with pool, the price was a bit steep but they are all quite expensive in Seminyak. For the location and facilities of the villa it was worth i for our first trip to Bali.

Best points was the private pool in the villa and open air feel of the lounge area, the villa was pristine, the location was great (close to restaurants and short walk to bars, yet quiet at night) and the staff very helpful.

Not so good points was the shower, the pressure was astounding, if you had sunburn it would really hurt. I also got injured from one of the massages, the woman seemed to focus on massaging along my spine a bit too much and 2 hours later it seized on me and I could not move my neck at all, I was in tears from the pain and I have had many massages before. Just be careful and if it doesn't feel right at the time just stop, I am still suffering pain as a result almost 6 weeks later.

We would still go back to Mutiara, but next time would book a normal room as we couldn't justify the price, although it would be worth going with another couple as the 2 bdr private villa is only marginally more expensive.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Penn_00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mutiarabali, Director of Sales at Mutiara Bali Boutique Resort & Villas, responded to this review, 17 September 2011
Dear Mr. Pen_00

Thank you very much for your review regarding our Villa. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We really apologize if there is any inconvenient during the massage session, our therapist had been well trained before they allowed to perform the massage, nevertheless we will following up your complaints and thank you for put it into my attention. We hope you will still enjoy our villa as we really appreciate our valued customers therefore we always come up with a new facilities and promotions rate especially for our return customers. Thank you for choosing us for your stay and We hope to see you again for your next trip to Bali

Best regard

Ivan Sutanto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

For 4 people it was a great place, private pool our own little home!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frietje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

This was a great hotel that was surprisingly well located in the heart of Seminyak. The staff were great also was the service. Place looked gorgeous all the time and was fantastic.. Lobby looks very neat and the staffs are very polite, you can really depend on them and ask questions. Location is perfect! Ku De Ta is just a walking distance away from Mutiara Had a wonderful time staying here having our own private pool. For the price this is one of the great value hotel that I've been to.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ishierish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mutiarabali, Director of Sales at Mutiara Bali Boutique Resort & Villas, responded to this review, 12 September 2011
Dear Ishierish

Thank you very much for your review regarding our resort. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We really appreciate our valued customers therefore we always come up with a new facilities and promotions rate especially for our return customers. Thank you for choosing us for your stay and We hope to see you again for your next trip to Bali

Best regard

Ivan Sutanto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2011

My wife and I stayed here during our honeymoon. The twin beds room we got was the only bad surprise, and was fixed very quickly by the staff. The staff is definitively one key asset of Mutiara, always friendly, smiling and helpful. The location is ideal, allowing for privacy and relaxation, also in walking distance to one of the vibrant "food and drink" street of Seminyak. Would be excellent if a bit closer to the beach, and the pool compensate nicely.
We also tried the Balinese massage, a bit pricy, but well worth it!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MariaandOlivier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mutiarabali, Director of Sales at Mutiara Bali Boutique Resort & Villas, responded to this review, 2 September 2011
Dear MariaandOlivier

Thank you very much for your review regarding our resort. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We really agreed with your opinion where the staff is one of the most important key points for a hotel industry and therefore here at Mutiara Bali we always believe that our hospitable,honest and helpful staff are the biggest asset that we could offers to our guest and It was a big pleasure for us to served you at our best. Thank you for choosing us for your stay and We hope to see you again for your next trip to Bali

Best regard

Ivan Sutanto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2011

We stumbled across Mutiara after the villa we had originally booked elsewhere in Seminyak had rats in it. One of the other local villa complexes recommended to us and we were initially worried as most places were fully booked out but what a lovely surprise we had. The one bed private pool was clean, comfortable and truly private, no high rise hotel block overlooking us. It is a road back from the main street in seminyak which meant it was very quiet and peaceful but only a five minute walk to all the shops and restaurants.
Staff were friendly and the massages in the hotel were good and asonably priced.
Breakfast was average so we went to the Grocer and Grind which is a 2 minute walk away.

Overall an excellent stay and much better value for money than some of the other overrated villas in Seminyak. If you want somewhere relaxing but close enough to the hustle and bustle it's a great option. Improve the breakfast quality and it will definitely be 5 out of 5.

Room Tip: All one bed villas seemed very good, not sure about hotel rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine2010_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mutiarabali, Director of Sales at Mutiara Bali Boutique Resort & Villas, responded to this review, 31 August 2011
Dear Catherine2010_10

Thank you very much for your review regarding our Villa. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, and you are right that Seminyak is not the same place like 3-4 years back, fortunately we are located a bit hidden from those hustle & bustle so you can still enjoy the privates and quietness during your stay and it was a big pleasure for us to served you at our best. Thank you for choosing us for your stay and We hope to see you again for your next trip to Bali

Best regard

Ivan Sutanto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2011

We stayed here in one of the 2 bedroom villas for a family holiday with our 2 young children. At first we were in the deluxe villas which would have been great if our children were a bit older - upstairs room with steep external staircase, but it just didn't work with young kids. The next day I spoke to the staff who very incredibly helpful, and upgraded us to a suite villa. This was amazing!! It is worth the extra money to stay in one of these to take your stay from really nice, to very grand - amazing. The breakfasts were enjoyed by all 4 of us - not a big buffet feast, but very nice and enough for brekky. Location is fantastic as we could just walk to lunch, dinner and the shops. It's a bit of a hike to the beach, but the Bali beaches with the volcanic sand are not great compared to the pools anyway. I'd highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mutiarabali, Director of Sales at Mutiara Bali Boutique Resort & Villas, responded to this review, 28 August 2011
Dear Shelley M

Thank you very much for your review regarding our Villa. I still remember that you have a lovely times at Mutiara Bali and your kids is so lovely and amazing. We still keep the gift that your son gave to us and we save it at our office. It was a big pleasure for us to served you at our best. Thank you for choosing us for your stay and We hope to see you again for your next trip to Bali

Best regard

Ivan Sutanto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.7 mi away
Bali Ginger Suites & Villa
Bali Ginger Suites & Villa
#30 of 141 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
1.0 mi away
Villa Coco
Villa Coco
#28 of 141 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ize Seminyak
Ize Seminyak
#48 of 141 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Tijili Seminyak
Tijili Seminyak
#41 of 141 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
0.1 mi away
U Paasha Seminyak
U Paasha Seminyak
#49 of 141 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 990 reviews
0.7 mi away
Artemis Villa and Hotel
Artemis Villa and Hotel
#64 of 141 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mutiara Bali Boutique Resort & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mutiara Bali Boutique Resort & Villas

Property: Mutiara Bali Boutique Resort & Villas
Address: Jl. Braban No. 77 x Banjar Taman, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Seminyak
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Seminyak
#26 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#26 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#41 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mutiara Bali Boutique Resort & Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wonder if you’ve ever wanted to find a place where culture, nature, and style are mixed to form the unique touches of the heaven? The Bali Island will definitely occupy those needs. And while you spending your time experiencing the peaceful paradise island of Gods and Goddess, we are here at Mutiara Bali Boutique Resort Villas & Spa offering you our own unique touch of Balinese hospitality that will ensure you have a pleasant stay during your holiday away from home with the consists of resort and private villas designed with a touch of modern convenience is blend perfectly with the traditional Balinese Architecture.Each villa is equipped with designer kitchen, dining pavilion, beautifully manicured garden, private pool, wireless internet access, air-conditioned bedrooms with stress-reliever stylish bathroom giving an atmosphere where you can truly be yourself. Nestled at the heart of Seminyak district, Mutiara Bali Boutique Resort Villas & Spa is only 30 minutes away from the airport, centrally surrounded by high fashion boutiques, art galleries, world class dining venues and night life entertainment. Our welcoming and friendly staffs are looking forward to make sure everything is right during your stay at Mutiara Bali Boutique Resort Villas & Spa.Mutiara Bali Boutique Resort Villas & Spa is pleasantly welcoming you to experience Balinese hospitality at its best. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp and Southall Travel so you can book your Mutiara Bali Boutique Resort & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mutiara Bali Boutique Resort And Villas
Mutiara Bali Boutique Resort & Villas Hotel Seminyak
Mutiara Bali Boutique Hotel
Mutiara Bali Boutique Resort & Villas Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing