We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If that's not paradise, it is pretty close...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
Ranked #7 of 149 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 June 2011

My wife and I were off to Bali looking for a few relaxing days - we had picked Samaya based on the good Tripadvisor reviews and definitely don't regret it.

We were picked up by a friendly driver at the airport, who brought up promptly to the property. After a quick check in, we were introduced to our pool villa. The villa was located "across the road", in the part of the resort not located directly on the beach (part of the resort is being refurbished right now). This was located barely 5 minutes away by walk from the sand so we ignored the kind offers from the personnel to transport us on golf carts to the beach during those few days.

What we liked most:
- Luxurious villa: beautiful bathroom, with a large bath, plenty of amenities, and two rain-showers - the bathroom alone is at least 30-40 sqm. Comfy bed, and mini bar well filled with complimentary drinks
- Very friendly staff: always helpful, always smiling, making you feel really welcome. After leaving we even got a personal email from the resort manager who apologized that he hadn't met us - not a worry when the rest of the staff is so nice!
- Very nice "afternoon tea", delivered in villa or served on the beach. We tried both and loved both
- Large private pool, probably 8-10 meters long. Enough for a good swim, with a nice large sofa in the shade next to it. Beautiful place to doze away next to the water
- Great level of privacy: the garden is very secluded, protected by the greenery and high wall, lovely to spend some romantic days
- Pleasant restaurant, with tables along the sea, where you can watch sunset while enjoying a good dinner

What we didn't like:
- Hmm... still searching. Could have been a large selection of DVDs maybe? But again... a dive in your private pool at night is so much nicer than a DVD...

If we go back to Bali, we will know where to stay...!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gaillas1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,846)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,248 - 1,254 of 1,846 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2011

We booked the Samaya on a friend's recommendation and all the great tripadvisor reviews and we were not disappointed. We stayed at a Royal Courtyard Villa. The service was great, the villa was great, there's a wide selection of TV channels and a TV in front of the jacuzzi, the bed was comfy, wifi was free and the minibar was free (does not include alcohol except sparkling wine on the first day). The renovation didn't affect us at all.

The private pool was a little cold for me in the evening, but my boyfriend didn't have a problem with the temperature.

Dining at the Breeze was quite a standout, the food was amazing and the setting was beautiful, overlooking the beach.

We wouldn't hesitate to come back if we have enough money! It wasn't cheap, but you're paying for what you get.

FYI don't go to any "authorised" money changers on the street, they offer you unbelievably good rates (if it's too good to be true ... it is!) but after you've counted the money they distract you and drop some money out behind the counter. The villa staff will drive you to a proper money changer if you need this service. The villa rates are not that favourable, which they tell you upfront.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pearl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2011

Impossible to fault - this place is so well managed by Ray and his team. This year I was worried that the renovations would impact my stay, but aside from the obvious visual impact of the main resort being screened off there were no problems. When sunbathing beside the beach or sitting at the Breeze the sound of the waves drown out any possible noise from the renovations. The Royal Courtyard villas were full but even then it never seemed stretched or busy except sometimes with the buggy service at around 9.30 am, which seems to be peak breakfast time. It was, however, no problem as it's such a quick walk across the road to the Royal Courtyard. Staff always greeted me by name and the butler service was faultless. Every time I needed a driver to drop me off locally there was always a Samaya driver available and the great thing was that taxis are readily available in the area, but Samaya was sometimes able to pick me up too, which was a great service. Afternoon tea was the treat that we enjoyed last year and it was pleasing to return and find that it was as good as ever. One change that was welcome was that the Royal Courtyard restaurant now offers a Balinese menu....and what's more, it is competitively priced. It was surprisingly under utilised but currently it is not marketed so unlike Breeze where many of the diners are external this one is usually only guests. In my view Samaya continues to offer great value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mauritiusfan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2011

Just returned from 4 nights at the Samaya. Our third stay at this hotel and just when you think it can't get any better it does. The service from the staff is outstanding from the minute you arrive you feel like you are special. The staff at this property are definitely trained to please without anything being too much trouble. If anything they can't do enough for you. The management at this property is to be commended. The Royal Courtyard villas are amazing and the extras that go with the room make it extra special. Complimentary afternoon tea, mini bar, butler service, laundry.
The hotel is currently renovating their beachside villas but there was no disruption whatsovever to our stay.
We can't wait to book our next stay.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 63happytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2011

faultless really. they are renovating but this does not impact your stay at all in the existing villas. the staff are exceptional, villas amazing and location amazing. if you are looking to eat outmost good restaurants are a short drive or walk away, seminyak's best night spots are very close either along the beach or slightly inland and shopping is down the road. highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bkin0714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2011

The Restaurant BREEZE at Samaya is just fantastic. Marvellous view on the beach and delisiouse food.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GermanyJacky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2011

Again it is with great pleasure to write a review for a Samaya hotel. The Samaya Seminyak has a different ambience to Ubud. Here you can expect a far more cosmopolitan atmosphere but still with great service.
We opted for a Royal villa located on the other side of the road to the beach. However, this proved to be no issue as they have golf buggies to ferry you around on demand. The villas are nothing short of sumptious. As you would expect from a hotel of this quality, the rooms are 1st class, the quality of the linen and pillows are some of the best i have had the pleasure of sleeping on. The beds are huge, the bathrooms are the size of other hotel rooms with no exaggeration. The also are finished to the highest of standards along with the multitude of toileteries supplied courtesy of Samaya. Outside, you have a very comfy day bed and table and chairs for any in villa dining, there are also sunloungers with comfy coushins to match. However, the pool is huge! with a water feature at the end to provide the guests with a sound shield enabling conversations in total privacy.
Food. One of the best things this hotel group do is ignore dining times. I cannot eat for the first 3 hours in a morning, usually breakfasts are finished in most hotels by 10.00. Here they advertise breakfast until 10.30 i believe, however, if you wish to have the full breakfast menu available at 13.30, it is there for you. Simply fantastic!!!! The quality of food is some of the best hotel food i have ever eaten, the quality is upmarket restaurant grade. Breeze is a must for you to visit should you be in the Seminyak area. Get a table right at the front looking over the beach and occasional surfers, depending on what time you chose to dine. The other ace this hotel offers is every guest has the option to endulge in fantastic afternoon tea. You will receive 2 freshly made sandwiches and 3 different cakes, the preserves too are all made inhouse. Eating this looking over the beach watching the sunset is not a bad way to spend an hour a day!
The staff are very attentive and very happy, they are always smiling and do everything they can to make your stay as memorable as possible.
I would like to say a special thanks to Johanese, (assistant general manager) who not only sorted out a minor issue for us but showed a level of care and hospitality never experienced before. I do believe this hotel along with its sister hotels genuinely care about the guests it has and does not take them for granted. The best advice i can give, which should be done always is, if you are not happy, tell them, only then can you judge a business on it's customer service merits. Samaya was off the scale for this.
My wife and i look forward to going back to Samaya to be greeted by their frendly nature and finally meet Ray (general manager) who also showed how important guest satisfaction is to him and his staff.
There is a lot of competition in Seminyak with some outstanding hotels, yet this is the one with the awards and always in the top 2 with TA. Give it a try, you will not be disappointed, only when you have to leave!!!!

Room Tip: Any of the Royal villas
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Scubamania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.1 mi away
The Legian Bali
The Legian Bali
#10 of 149 in Seminyak
1,631 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
W Bali - Seminyak
W Bali - Seminyak
#20 of 149 in Seminyak
3,617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Oberoi Bali
The Oberoi Bali
#14 of 149 in Seminyak
1,745 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Kunja Villas & Spa
The Kunja Villas & Spa
#2 of 149 in Seminyak
779 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alila Seminyak
Alila Seminyak
#24 of 149 in Seminyak
1,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Samaya Bali Seminyak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Samaya Bali Seminyak

Address: Jl. Laksmana, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta District > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Seminyak
#6 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#6 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#7 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
#9 Business Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range: £315 - £530 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Samaya Bali Seminyak 5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Samaya Seminyak has an outdoor pool, a steam room, a sauna, and a fitness facility. This 5-star Luxury Boutique Seminyak property features massage and treatment rooms, body treatments, and facial treatments. Business amenities at this 5-star Luxury Boutique property include complimentary wireless Internet access and business services. Samaya Seminyak has an award winning restaurant Breeze and a bar/lounge. 24-hour room service is available. Transportation services at this property include a complimentary airport shuttle (available on request) and a complimentary area shuttle within 2000metres. The staff can arrange wedding services, dry cleaning/laundry services, currency exchange, and computer rentals. Additional amenities include valet parking, a concierge desk, and a garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Holiday Gems, Agoda, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Samaya Bali Seminyak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Samaya Bali Hotel Seminyak
Samaya Bali Seminyak
Samaya Bali Hotel Seminyak
The Samaya Bali Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing