We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
Ranked #6 of 144 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
san francisco
Level Contributor
79 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“amazing!”
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Wow what an experience. I just stayed in the royal Pavillion villa in the Samaya and it was truly amazing. Great beach, amazing room, great food, excellent staff. I cant praise this hotel more. Sunset cocktails were awesome. Breakfast fantastic. Bathrooms are huge. Bedroom was nice with a very comfortable bed. Location is very good as right on the beach and close to a good number of restaurants. Private pool was huge. All in all a perfect stay in Bali. Definitely recommended!!

Room Tip: The Royal Pavillions are closest to the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank asiatraveler1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,745 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,547
    138
    35
    10
    15
See reviews for
264
1,240
31
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (387)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

This place is beautiful with a nice beach and pool. The villas are very spacious and modern with a good sized pool. The staff are very friendly and nice to chat with. Their tea service is a very nice included service and the included breakfast options were also fantastic. We had an excellent dinner at Breeze as well. Deliciously prepared and beautifully presented. Another night at the bar at Breeze we had a great conversation with the bar manager about how they select their liquours (we were impressed they had some bourbon other than Jack Daniels and Jim Beam which is all you can find in Bali).

My only criticisim is that the service around the pool and at breakfast at Breeze was sometimes a little inattentive or unpolished. They are very responsive when you first get there. But other than initially taking an order and delivering it, they don't check in, or even just make eye contact regularly to give you a chance to get their attention to ask them for something. We had a few different minor mistakes with our order that became worse than they needed to be because we had to wait a long time to let them know what needed fixed. We also had one call for ice to room service that never arrived. All this was relatively minor and I'm still giving it 5 stars, but for a location shooting for top 20 resorts in the world status it's something they should tighten up. I know they are very responsive to feedback and want to know how to improve, so I'm putting it here.

Overall this was an EXCELLENT hotel and we loved our stay!

Room Tip: We stayed on the beach side of the road. Seems it would be inconvenient to be on the other side.
See more room tips
Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank darwin96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meopham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

They always say Heaven is a place on earth well we certainly have found a slice of it, fantastic holiday, villa and everything spot on can't fault in anyway, food and cocktails at The Breeze so yummy this will not disappoint and views spectacular such a relaxing time highly recommend!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 November 2013

A holiday my wife and I shall not forget in a long time, in fact we are planning to return again shortly. The hotel was wonderful and the staff could not do enough for us in fact they put some of our people to shame. The food we could not fault if we tried, Its a long way to go but well worth it just to see all those smiling happy faces. We dined out a couple of times which the hotel kindly organised for us and to our great surprise even supplied transport. If we could have brought some of the staff home with us we would have, anyway we have lots of photos to look at till the next time. A big thank you to Ray and his wonderful staff.
Best Regards David and Elaine Wilson

Room Tip: The Royal Villas are well worth it, close to everything, huge swimming pool, many extras and a com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam
1 review
Reviewed 12 November 2013

I took the Spa Indulgence Package - a 4-day, 3-night stay at the Royal Courtyard Villa. Everything - from sleep, cleanliness and privacy to dining and luxurious 24-hour butler service - was immaculate. The icing on the cake was the glorious, silky sunset looking out from the Breeze restaurant. Relaxing dips in the villa's private pool every night were sound proof from the streets and guests next door. What makes Semaya a choice accommodation is its attentive staff and immediate access to the beach - barely a walk from the hotel lobby.

Room Tip: Opt for the Royal Courtyard Villa if you prefer complete privacy. The Private Pool villas on the bea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TSandy914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We stayed for 5 wonderful nights at The Samaya. Great location, friendly staff for whom nothing was too much trouble. Great villa accomodation. Peaceful, luxurious. Can't recommend it enough. The resort always felt quiet and relaxed. It's the best place we have ever stayed at and we will definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusieandSteven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melb, Australia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We had been to the Samaya in August 2010, and had LOVED the Balinese character and feel of the private pool villas.... the stone walls, the tropical plants, sun decks with sunloungers, some grass - a private oasis, and also part of a greater hotel that was well manicured and luxurious! We agreed we'd come back this year for five nights again, because we had loved our first time at the Samaya.
Unfortunately this was a mistake!!! We were more than disappointed with the newly renovated Samaya, all of the character and 'Balinese feel" has been lost - the beautiful old stone walls replaced with white stark walls, poorly rendered and poorly painted, patched white paint, and rendering already chipping off. The elegant plunge pools have been re-dug into giant pools that take up the entire villa's outside area, with no outside sun decks, and no sunloungers - only chairs in a shaded gazebo. there are no sunloungers to sit by your private pool... and no other area to sit, except along a small narrow corridor.
the rooms have also been renovated - gone are the elegant rooms - but poorly designed villas with a multitude of doors and anti-chambers, light switches all about the place that don't correspond with the room you're in, and cheap-stained-wood that is no longer elegant - and the piece de resistance - the biggest bathrooms that you've ever seen which are a complete waste of space - the bathroom is twice the size of the living and bedrooms, and is just a waste - this would have been far better used as an outside deck to enjoy your villa.
the rooms have been renovated with no thought as to how guests stay - the light switches are all about the place, the doors don't close properly and the there are so many doors between anti-chambers you are constantly closing/opening doors to get anywhere within the villa.
To top this off - the rooms aren't made to a good quality.
We were sourly disappointed - and asked to see other rooms to enquire if they had a better outside space - we were shown two other villas, which were all of the same shape and layout.
As we were only staying five nights - we were then disappointed to experience electrical outings and no lighting, air-conditioning nor electricity on nights #2 and #3, and were then moved to a beachfront villa -which had an even bigger pool, with less space to sit around it - and to find it is the same layout as the pool-villas, and not worth more money... but at least we had air-conditioning and lighting again!
Lastly - upon checkout we were given another villa to move into ( our third move in five days) to change after the day and get ready to leave - and once again was the same layout as all other rooms we'd stayed in/inspected.

We can't fault the staff -they are exceptional - and will do anything for you. All smiles and all very friendly and helpful.
Afternoon tea is still served by the beach, and breakfasts can be had in your villa or by the beach any time of the day which is great and means you don't have to rush to get up. You also don't have to rush and 'save' a beach lounge as the hotel accommodates enough for all of the guests.

Cocktails on the loungers by the beach for sunset is a lovely viewpoint - but it was a shame that the staff start setting this area up for dinner/the restaurant from 4pm - and try to push you out - when you've paid $600 per night, you don't want to feel that you're being pushed from your sunlounge at sunset because they are trying to get external restaurant patrons in.

Overall - as much as the staff tried to help and assist us, esp with the electricity and air-conditioners breaking down on us for two nights in a row, and with shuttles to Seminyak, and so forth... we won't be returning...... If you read our last review written in Sept 2010 of the Samaya - which was positively glowing and we had loved our stay there - we now won't be recommending this hotel to friends...

A note to management: why try and fix something that wasn't broken!?!?!?! Your hotel WAS tremendous, elegant, UNIQUE and beautiful before. The serenity of the stonewalled villas, gardens, plungepools and private villas were beautiful. Now it's just like any other cheapened villa with white rendered garden walls and poorly built villas, and way too expensive for what it has become!

Room Tip: we stayed in 115 (standard pool villa), 1051 ( beach front villa) and 223, all these rooms were exac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Noodlesam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.1 mi away
The Legian Bali
The Legian Bali
#8 of 144 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,472 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
W Bali - Seminyak
W Bali - Seminyak
#22 of 144 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Kunja Villas & Spa
The Kunja Villas & Spa
#1 of 144 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Oberoi Bali
The Oberoi Bali
#9 of 144 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,579 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alila Seminyak
Alila Seminyak
#23 of 144 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Samaya Bali Seminyak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Samaya Bali Seminyak

Property: The Samaya Bali Seminyak
Address: Jl. Laksmana | Seminyak Beach, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Seminyak
#5 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#6 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#6 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
#9 Business Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Samaya Bali Seminyak 5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Samaya Seminyak has an outdoor pool, a steam room, a sauna, and a fitness facility. This 5-star Luxury Boutique Seminyak property features massage and treatment rooms, body treatments, and facial treatments. Business amenities at this 5-star Luxury Boutique property include complimentary wireless Internet access and business services. Samaya Seminyak has an award winning restaurant Breeze and a bar/lounge. 24-hour room service is available. Transportation services at this property include a complimentary airport shuttle (available on request) and a complimentary area shuttle within 2000metres. The staff can arrange wedding services, dry cleaning/laundry services, currency exchange, and computer rentals. Additional amenities include valet parking, a concierge desk, and a garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Samaya Bali Seminyak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Samaya Bali Hotel Seminyak
Samaya Bali Seminyak
Samaya Bali Hotel Seminyak
The Samaya Bali Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing