We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Immaculate, lush, great location, great service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
Ranked #4 of 143 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Immaculate, lush, great location, great service”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stayed here for four nights and had an absolutely wonderful stay. The location is great - it's right on one of the main drags and directly on the beach, but still feels secluded and quiet. You can walk pretty much anywhere in town, and the hotel provides a free shuttle/taxi service with incredibly friendly, informative drivers. I had to use one of these shuttles to go to the pharmacy one day when my husband wasn't feeling well, and the driver waited patiently outside for a good 15 minutes while I went inside and picked the right medications. Throughout that day and the next, everyone we encountered at the property asked how he was feeling, and offered advice on local/holistic treatments he should try.

The breakfast is generous and pretty good. Service was sometimes a tiny bit slow and I noticed some other guests getting annoyed, but given the pace of the island, we weren't bothered much.

The property is incredibly beautiful and well-maintained. We booked one of the villas near the beach. The grounds are beautiful - our room was at the end of a grove of fragrant frangipani trees. As other reviewers have noted, the rooms and bathrooms are huge, perfectly air-conditioned, and unbelievably clean. On of our days, we happened to be on our way out as the cleaning crew arrived, and there were six or seven men working incredibly hard to make the place as immaculate as possible. (Something to keep in mind if leaving tips for the cleaning service, which we did.)

Our personal pool was cleaned twice a day. One day, I saw the pool man clean the pool to perfection. Five minutes later, there were little white things in the water -- just looked like some dust or maybe pollen of some kind, nothing too bad. I just note it because I've read some of the other reviewers saying their pool was dirty, and I wonder if this was what they were talking about. I hope it doesn't dissuade anyone from staying here.

Service by the main pool/on the beach was stellar. As soon as you appeared, someone would come out of nowhere with towels and set up your beach chair and umbrella.

The main pool was a touch warm, which may bother some people, but it didn't bother us since own private pool was always the perfect temperature and everything else was so perfect.

It's rare to stay at a hotel that has NO issues at all. The issues we encountered at the Samaya were INCREDIBLY minor -- slow wi-fi one day and a power short another day -- and they were fixed, literally, within minutes. No one tried to offer excuses and no one got defensive; they just apologized and fixed it. Perfect.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ECFLEUR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,755 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,557
    138
    35
    10
    15
See reviews for
265
1,249
31
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (390)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

I look forward to coming to the Samaya every year and this visit has lived up to the expectation, again. Great location, great people, great service and great accommodation. The staff at the Samaya are most accommodating to every need and desire and go above and beyond every time. A special thanks always to Karmaya who makes us feel at home every year.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JR082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 July 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Samaya Seminyak for our second time in late June 2014, like the first time it was exceptional, Ray Clark and his team took excellent care of us. We just love everything about this resort:
1. the Breeze Restaurant and their excellent breakfasts, coffees and their modern Indonesian cuisine.
2. The Villas are beautiful and very well maintained (clean with good quality linen & towels) the bathroom is amazing (I wish I could take it home with me).
3. The location, it is in close walking distance to a large number of Bali's most amazing restaurants.

You won't be disappointed if you decide to stay here, we are definitely going back in 2015

Room Tip: We have stayed both times on the ocean side, all rooms appear to be perfectly located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YvonneW27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2014

After the first step you experience at the Samaya Bali you will feel absolutely welcome and at home. The Service and the staff is absolutely outstanding. The breakfast is to die for as well as the rest of the culinary range. Very beautiful hotel area overlooking the beach.
It is hard to ever find a Hotel with this standard in the whole wide world again.

The sea is mostly very rough but the hotel pool is big as well as your own pool at the pool villas. The hotel own mosquito spray is worth mentioning and as a bonus it is all natural.
We will always stay in this Hotel in Bali! Thank you very much for the unforgettable honeymoon.

Room Tip: The Royal Garden Pool Villas are absolutely beautiful and very generously. The bathrooms, with huge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanessa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 July 2014

My wife and I started our honeymoon adventure at the Samaya. This was exactly what we needed after a busy wedding period. The pool villa was exactly like the photos and the facilities were excellent. The reason our stay was memorable was due to the top quality customer service provided across the resort, Ray Clarke was very personable and gave the hotel that 'personal touch'. We would love to go back in a heartbeat...

Room Tip: The pool villas are based in the main complex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VijayP2123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

My husband and I stayed at The Samaya in Seminyak for one week in June 2014 following our wedding. I could not agree more with MedaryB - exceptional customer service from Ray and all the team from the moment we arrived to the moment they waved us goodbye. After a long flight from London and three busy days of sightseeing in Singapore we could not wait to arrive in Bali and relax into married life. The pool villa we booked (226) was stunning - bright and spacious with elegant furniture and all the home comforts you would expect of a luxury resort, but what made the difference was the fabulous location, food and friendly service we received each day of our holiday. The spa was a haven of peace and tranquility and the therapists were highly skilled and professional - politely asking questions throughout my treatment to make sure I was comfortable and happy with their technique. Not only did the concierge book restaurants for us, he also took the time to find out what we wanted to do in Bali (relax, party, try out new restaurants, shop etc.) and made some excellent recommendations. We are already planning our next trip to The Samaya as we really do think it provides good value for money and enjoy staying at hotels that put the customer first and make every effort to learn how they can be better at what they do. When we arrived in Ubud at an equally luxurious resort (The Hanging Gardens) we genuinely felt home sick for The Samaya - this has never happened before! A sign that they had understood this was our "holiday of a lifetime" and they wanted to be a part of our happy memories.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Incredibly impressive resort, starting from the airport transfer. We stepped off the plane, walked about 10 metres and saw the Samaya steward waiting for us. We followed him through immigration (where we didn't have to wait in any lines, and by-passed even the pilots and air hostess exit - he took care of everything just flashing our passports a couple of times) and to get out luggage and emerged in the area where all the other Hotel stewards were waiting for their guests. We walked right past them to some type of "back" exit where we were escorted into a privately chauffered, ,air conditioned Samaya vehicle. All up we spent about 10 minutes between getting off the plane and getting into the Samaya car. Amazing given we were one of the last off the plane and most people were waiting for ages in the immigration line as multiple planes arrived at the same time! We felt like celebrities!

After a short ride we arrived at the Samaya and were greeted by a yummy refreshing "Samaya" juice and cold hand towels. I can't remember the fellow's name who met us but he did a great job explaining the resort and surrounds. We arrived at 8am and check - in is at 2pm so we were a bit worried but amazingly, they took us to sit at the beach for maybe 20 mins, and then led us to our villa which was ready 5 hours early! We were so happy as we were pretty tired from the flight and just wanted to relax in privacy.

The villa itself was HUGE and impeccably clean (and I am a bit OCD when it comes to cleanliness). The bathroom was incredible - double shower which opens up to the courtyard and onto the pool and timber decking on the floor, separate toilet, double vanities, large jacuzzi with TV in front and luxury toiletries. The bed was some kind of super king. My boyfriend is 6,5" and normally his feet hang off the end of a king whereas here his toes couldn't even reach the end of the bed when he tried. Super comfy too.

We woke up pretty late each day and loved the fact that you could order breakfast at any time (sometimes we were ordering it at 1pm!) and that you could order as much as you liked! My boyfriend would order 3 breakfasts while I stuck to one, plus fresh coffee (as good as any cafe in Perth), freshly squeezed juices and food which outshone a lot of other resorts I've been to in Asia as they try to make it taste "western" but it always just ends up tasting bland.

We stayed in a Royal Courtyard Villa (booked really late and all beach front villas were booked out) and didn't mind the shuttle to and from the main area at all. The shuttle was usually there waiting for us about 60 seconds after we called it (most of the time we weren't even ready yet and they had to wait for us!). Even though you are in the heart of Seminyak, we never heard anyone around us and may as well have been somewhere extremely secluded. We hired a scooter to zoom around in and they didn't mind at all, just made us park a little car park area before the entrance to the villas which is good so as not to disturb the other guests.

Service at the pool/beach was faultless and we had a degustation dinner at the Samaya restaurant which was lovely and better than the other top tier restaurants we went to during our stay. The only downfall was that we wanted to have a wine pairing with our degustation but the waiter told us he didn't know enough to explain the wines and the manager who was normally there was away, so we decided just to get a bottle as the enjoyable part of wine pairing is having someone explain how each wine matches each course. A great touch was that they let us bring 2 bottles of Bollinger which we had bought duty free down to the bar & restaurant with us, rather than making us buy them off the menu! I thought this was fantastic as most places have all kinds of "rules" about "BYO" and the butler even went to get the second bottle from our villa for us after we'd finished our first!

All in all, a wonderful experience. Expensive but worth every cent. A bit of constructive criticism I have is that the manager Ray Clark did not welcome us, or speak to us during our stay or say goodbye but we saw him speaking to/socialising with a lot of other guests. I appreciate he probably can't talk to every guest but it would certainly have made us feel a bit more special. The other thing was while the spa massage was great, when I asked them to massage firmer I don't think they really understood because the pressure didn't really change. Probably just the language barrier. Oh and the other things was that the Bose ipod dock had the old connector whereas we wanted to plug in our iphone 5 to play music, so we couldn't. And the butler could not find us a connector so we just played music from our laptop.

Would definitely stay again and would love to try one of the beach front villas next time.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.1 mi away
The Legian Bali
The Legian Bali
#7 of 143 in Seminyak
1,494 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
W Bali - Seminyak
W Bali - Seminyak
#19 of 143 in Seminyak
3,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Oberoi Bali
The Oberoi Bali
#9 of 143 in Seminyak
1,599 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Kunja Villas & Spa
The Kunja Villas & Spa
#1 of 143 in Seminyak
700 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alila Seminyak
Alila Seminyak
#23 of 143 in Seminyak
875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Samaya Bali Seminyak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Samaya Bali Seminyak

Property: The Samaya Bali Seminyak
Address: Jl. Laksmana | Seminyak Beach, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Seminyak
#3 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#4 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
#6 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#9 Business Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Samaya Bali Seminyak 5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Samaya Seminyak has an outdoor pool, a steam room, a sauna, and a fitness facility. This 5-star Luxury Boutique Seminyak property features massage and treatment rooms, body treatments, and facial treatments. Business amenities at this 5-star Luxury Boutique property include complimentary wireless Internet access and business services. Samaya Seminyak has an award winning restaurant Breeze and a bar/lounge. 24-hour room service is available. Transportation services at this property include a complimentary airport shuttle (available on request) and a complimentary area shuttle within 2000metres. The staff can arrange wedding services, dry cleaning/laundry services, currency exchange, and computer rentals. Additional amenities include valet parking, a concierge desk, and a garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Samaya Bali Seminyak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Samaya Bali Hotel Seminyak
Samaya Bali Seminyak
Samaya Bali Hotel Seminyak
The Samaya Bali Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing