We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Believe the hype” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Samaya Bali Seminyak

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
Ranked #4 of 141 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Believe the hype”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2009

We chose the Samaya - based on Trip Advisor. Sister had her honeymoon and stayed at The Villas.
We chose the Samaya - due to Private pool, main pool and beach and had a villa on the beach side of the resort.
Stinking hot in Bali at the time so was great to have your own pool. We walked the beach in the am ... followed by fanastic breakfasts then lazing by the pool, shopping or trips out of the area.
I would recommend getting a driver for anything as it is inexpensive personal and a great shelter from the heat. The hotel will also take you anywhere in Seminyak - Legian.
Great spots for eating/drinking - ku de Ta- went 2x but did spend alot!. Sarong- gorgeous spot, La Lucciola- next to The Samaya, Hu'u- Nutmeg Restaurant,
Was advised to go to Sardine and Metis- but ran out of time. Breeze at The Samaya - was also great - as was the complimentry fruit salad by the pool and afternoon tea- too good and of course the treats in the room delivered daily.
Red Carpet - champagne bar really nice owner who gave us a list of top spots to eat and drink. Shopping in Seminyak varied - good to go to the boutiques like LuLu also a couple of good guys designer wear. Grocer and Grind good for coffee etc
Discovery Mall for watches - good quality better than the rubbish in the markets.
Ubud and other spots - get a driver and do what you want rather than a tour. Snorkelling was nice but the trip itself was rather "Hi de Hi"
All in all The Samaya is the best , the staff wonderful and 99% of the time "spot on"

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BuffyLiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,711 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,517
    134
    35
    10
    15
See reviews for
258
1,221
31
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2009

Stayed for 5 nights in the Royal Courtyard Villa. Everything had been thought of to make our stay wonderful. The villas were large and luxurious and the staff were excellent. The Restaurant is a must, but book early to get a place and choise of tables.
First place we have ever stayed where we said we would love to go back!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MGL9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2009

I'm going to add a note here as it seems like Samaya's GM reads tripadvisor. We are already booked in another hotel in Seminyak but was tempted to inquire with Samaya, due to the excellent reviews on tripadvisor. Reservations was not 24 hrs (ok, fine, not all hotels have 24 hr reservations), the staff working the phones could barely speak English (I spelled out my email address (and phone number) easily 10 times) & after all this effort, they never even contacted me back, not once but twice. (I called again the next day to see why they never replied, they asked me instead to email them ... I said I was already on the phone with them (twice), do I need to leave another message? ... anyhow, I was basically ignored). The receptionist one call refused to give me a name and hung up on me. The second kindly gave me her name (and acknowledged that reservations was open all day but no one contacted me), but still no one contacted me afterwards. Who knows, maybe they are full but it's rude to not follow up -- many people are repeat visitors to Bali. I would have liked to have tried this hotel -- and we would have opted for the best villas -- but it just seemed far too difficult & one of my big pet peeves with Southeast Asian resorts -- however beautiful the experience -- is that their friendly (or not-so-friendly here) staff have trouble communicating in English.

Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank tinaWH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2009

The Samaya exemplifies luxury & made for a very romantic honeymoon. We adored our private villa & spent most of the holiday lazing by our own pool. We loved the option of having our breakfast served in our courtyard & having ice and freshly sliced lime bought to our room for evening drinks. The staff were very welcoming & made for a wonderful stay. The Samaya is a pricier option for Bali but worth every cent.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elli_Ferguson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth WA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2009

We recently stayed at the Samaya for 5 nights. It was quite the experience. We were greeted with lei and treated like royalty. Our room was magnificent, the staff were so friendly and helpful and the General Manager and staff all knew us by name. Little did I know that my boyfriend (soon to be fiancé!!) had organised with the hotel to pop the question in a very very romantic day of pampering and then a candlelight dinner with a violinist, flowers everywhere....felt like a princess. The Samaya even organised my very favourite French champagne - Billycart Vintage. Amazing experience and I have to say the holiday of a lifetime. Ray and his team are exceptional and every cent was very very worth it! Oh and I said yes once I stop crying!!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sastox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2009

I travel quite a bit and am constantly searching for a relaxing and luxurious experience. I found it at the Samaya in Bali. If you are looking for a private luxurious resort in an amazing location I recommend the Samaya, from the moment we arrived the staff were attentive, all our requests were taken care of, we even had our own butler available 24 hours, nothing was too much trouble. At a moment’s notice we were whizzed around town to our chosen destination in one of the house cars. The very private and luxurious pool villas were wonderful, cleaned and freshened every time we left the room. The bathrooms are huge, with a shower for two and a large marble bath. The beds and pillows are very comfortable. The private pool just meters from your door is a wonderful place to relax in between epicurean delights. Dinning on the beach in the house restaurant was absolutely stunning, the food amazing and those cocktails!!! The staff at the Samaya Spa looked after all our needs, the Spa has elegant treatment rooms overlooking the Indian ocean, tremendously relaxing. I recommend the Samaya Massage or the Chocolate Indulgence package, the chocolate scrub is something else! I was totally astonished at the level of guest care and service, the Samaya sets new standards. An example of this unexpected attentiveness is being brought compliementary chilled water, fruit and chilled towels as we sat by the main resort pool. It’s close to all the best restaurants, bars and nightlife in Bali. I highly recommend this hotel, it’s an experience, We will be going back.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mickibbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swanbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2009

We have stayed at The Samaya 5 times during the past 3 years and it just gets better and better.
The staff are friendly, courteous and very well trained.
The Villas are luxurious very clean and well maintained.
The new big screen TV's are a fabulous addition.
The Spa is second to none.
Ray Clark the General Manager and Johannes always go out of their way to ensure that all is well with all the guests.
We can thoroughly recommend The Samaya and will continue to stay there when we visit beautiful Bali,

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank relaxedholiday_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.1 mi away
The Legian Bali
The Legian Bali
#8 of 141 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,437 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
W Bali - Seminyak
W Bali - Seminyak
#25 of 141 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Kunja Villas & Spa
The Kunja Villas & Spa
#2 of 141 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Oberoi Bali
The Oberoi Bali
#12 of 141 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,548 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alila Seminyak
Alila Seminyak
#23 of 141 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Samaya Bali Seminyak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Samaya Bali Seminyak

Property: The Samaya Bali Seminyak
Address: Jl. Laksmana | Seminyak Beach, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Seminyak
#2 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#4 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
#4 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#6 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#9 Business Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Samaya Bali Seminyak 5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Samaya Seminyak has an outdoor pool, a steam room, a sauna, and a fitness facility. This 5-star Luxury Boutique Seminyak property features massage and treatment rooms, body treatments, and facial treatments. Business amenities at this 5-star Luxury Boutique property include complimentary wireless Internet access and business services. Samaya Seminyak has an award winning restaurant Breeze and a bar/lounge. 24-hour room service is available. Transportation services at this property include a complimentary airport shuttle (available on request) and a complimentary area shuttle within 2000metres. The staff can arrange wedding services, dry cleaning/laundry services, currency exchange, and computer rentals. Additional amenities include valet parking, a concierge desk, and a garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Agoda, Holiday Gems, Destinology, Travelbag, TravelUp and Odigeo so you can book your The Samaya Bali Seminyak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Samaya Bali Hotel Seminyak
Samaya Bali Seminyak
Samaya Bali Hotel Seminyak
The Samaya Bali Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing