We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Honeymoon at the Dusun”
Review of The Dusun

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Dusun
Ranked #9 of 148 Hotels in Seminyak
Reviewed 9 August 2011

What can be said about the Dusun but beyond expectations. We were dutifully cared for for 11 nights as part of our honeymoon and loved every last minute of it! We arrived at 1am and our room was beautifully decorated in flowers and ready for restful night sleep. There is more than enough space for a two people in the one-bedroom villa and the pool was simply amazing. We enjoyed reading by the pool and listening to the water trickle over the edge like an infinity pool. The daily breakfasts were simply fantastic and cooked to perfection each time. We tried all the options but particularly loved the banana pancakes and American breakfast. Banana juice everyday was a great treat as well! The Dusun staff were so polite and friendly and nothing ever seemed too much. Privacy is guaranteed and despite the privacy we never felt isolated. The Dusun is a short walk from Eat Street and the beach and there are numerous shopping outlets, beach clubs, and other sights within walking distance. We had an amazing time and the Dusun was part of that reason. We day tripped to Ubud and spent some time in Kuta and Legian and by far Seminyak was our preferred location. We will and have recommended the Dusun to all our friends and family and hopefully we can return at some point! Enjoy the privacy of your own villa, your own piece of Bali!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank scooter81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (582)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

485 - 491 of 582 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2011

I stayed at the Dusun in 2009 and absolutely loved it. I recently stayed there again (I had been recommending to friends) but found whilst the privacy and staff remain brillant the villas and their fittings are getting tired and outdated. We found pillow cases that had frayed through, sun unbrellas were holed and held up by nails, the music system does not allow for Ipods (tape and CD!!), lounge was very stained and cushions uncomfortable. Its time for the Dusun to invest some money in the facilities as I am afraid whilst we enjoyed our stay we can no longer recommend to others as there is better options around. We took the SPA package, the massages were brillant but the 4 course dinner was very average with no options but either the seafood or beef (both must take the same) and no selection within these options. The prawn salad had two prawns only! Better off going to Cafe Bali, La Luc or Sarong for the cost.

Enjoyable but probably our last there unless upgrades occur

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Europeoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2011

I couldn't recommend the Dusun more highly. The position is great and the staff couldn't be more helpful and friendly. It was our second stay and won't be our last. Thanks Gede and all staff for another fantastic stay. See you soon.
Sam and Naomi

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kingie72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2011

After 5 nights in Legian (Bali Mandira - pretty good!).....and lots of first time exploration of Ubud, Kuta and Legian etc it was simply wonderful to have the 'down-time' relaxation part of our time so perfectly catered for. Villa 9 at the Dusun became our haven ....simply soooo much better than the website images. Villa no.9 was not in any need of maintenance or painting or cobweb removal as suggested by another reviewer! The location of Dusun is perfect...taxi everywhere and sooo cheap.....we also had massages at Bodyworks....beautiful....and I grabbed another couple of foot treatments just left around the corner past Bodyworks ($AUS4.50 pedicure & $6.50 massage!!!!) and don't be afraid to get the little Turkish imported fish to nibble away at the dead skin on your feet.....such a 'adventurous' thing to do (not really - just feels like little massages) THe staff at Dusun are brilliant, so courteous and accommodating. We didn't even realise that afternoon tea was included!! And, don't freak out if you book to have the BBQ in your villa....they will decorate the place(candles& floral pieces) and cook on actual BBQ (not the cooktop) and provide enough food for 6 people! and you will be waited upon and entertained by your own private musicans. ..soooo spoilt.....I sooo want to re-book right now.......ENJOY!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank margfrommelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2011

Stayed at The Dusun for the 3rd time in June. We stayed in a 3 bedroom villa with 4 Adults and 2 kids. Overall I would say that the service and location are the main reasons to stay here. The staff are very helpful and have no problems attending to any needs. The location is great and very close to the beach, bodyworks spa, many restaurants and shops.

The property is now 10 years old and seems that no maintenance has been done over that time. All villa's are in need of a paint job and general repairs (like broken tiles in bathroom, pool etc). For the cost of the villa's you shouldn't have to see flaking paint, mold or broken tiles.

Pros-
Location couldn't be better
Drop off service is great
Pool fence provided is good to keep toddlers away from the Pool
Very spacious - good for kids to swim and run around

Cons-
Looking it's age
Breakfast is only just average - more options would be nice
Stereo System provided is old and not working

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travmonno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2011

Our family of five adults and one toddler has just returned from a 10-day stay at The Dusun, highly recommended to us by other family members. Behind the wooden doors lay our own " compound", comprising three, double-bed villas surrounding a large pool, a large expanse of shared relaxation space, a dining table and a fully equipped kitchen. It was the perfect location for a family that wants to engage with each other, as well as have the option of reading, watching DVDs or just resting in the privacy of your own villa. The staff are extremely friendly and efficient and offer a drop-off service to locations near and far; the office can also arrange visits to tourist sites, such as Ubud (their own or another driver) and the Wildlife Safari Park. The Dusun recommended that we try their seafood barbecue, so we booked this for out last night and watched transfixed as the staff members came as a team to transform our outdoor area into a genuine Balinese celebration - complete with gamelan players, appropriate decorations for the buffet table, candles around the pool, a chef and wait staff. It was the perfect way to end our stay at this beautiful location - which is just a very short walk from the Bodyworks Day Spa, the beach, Seminyak Square shopping centre (for provisions) - and a short drive from wonderful restaurants such as The Living Room, Biku, La Luciola and Potatohead. We hope to return to this little piece of paradise soon. The Dusun has other accomodation options for smaller groups and couples.

Room Tip: For the security conscious, ask for Villa 1: the security guard is just outside the wooden doors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maocat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2011

My wife and i have traveled extensively throughout the Asian pacific region and have stayed in a wide range of hotels / resorts / villa's etc. Our recent stay at The Dusun was absolutely amazing ! The villa's are an oasis and an absolute treat to return to after being out and about in Seminyak. We spent a total of 6 nights here and fell in love with the place. The staff are fantastic. You could not ask for a better location for the Villas - close to the beach/ shopping / numerous restaurants in Seminyak. We were happy to chill by the private pool most days, so the option for food delivery from numerous restaurants in Seminyak was unreal. Would definitely go back.

Recommendations whilst there:
Morning walk along the beach to Legian
Rent a scooter and explore the surrounding areas
Afternoon cocktails at Potato Head / Ku De Ta (both close walking distance)
Salads from Zuchinni in Seminyak - amazing !
Too many places to name for Dinners :)

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank martyrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.3 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
The Kunja Villas & Spa
The Kunja Villas & Spa
#1 of 148 in Seminyak
761 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Oberoi Bali
The Oberoi Bali
#11 of 148 in Seminyak
1,717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Legian Bali
The Legian Bali
#4 of 148 in Seminyak
1,604 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Ulin Villas & Spa
The Ulin Villas & Spa
#3 of 148 in Seminyak
685 reviews
0.5 mi away
W Bali - Seminyak
W Bali - Seminyak
#19 of 148 in Seminyak
3,523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dusun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dusun

Address: Jl. Kayu Jati No. 8, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta District > Seminyak
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#9 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
#14 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range: £188 - £416 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dusun 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dusun Hotel is located in the Petitenget area of Seminyak just a minute stroll from Bali’s famous sunset beach and Seminyak’s restaurants. The Dusun is a blissfully quiet property with 14 exclusively private villas. The Dusun takes a professional and friendly approach to hospitality. The service and ambience are natural and never intrusive, with all requests handled pragmatically, without any fuss. The hotel is laden with luxury; the villas, pools and gardens are spacious, set in a bright and tasteful decor. Pamper yourself at The Dusun with its charming atmosphere offering the perfect setting for romantic honeymoons, friends’ getaways or family holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Dusun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dusun Villas Bali Hotel Seminyak
Dusun Hotel Bali
Dusun Hotel Seminyak
The Dusun Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing