We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing service, amazing villa”
Review of The Dusun

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Dusun
Ranked #12 of 143 Hotels in Seminyak
Perth
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“amazing service, amazing villa”
Reviewed 19 September 2012

i stayed here with husband and family in the three bed villa. it was absolutely amazing. especially after some terrible service at our previous hotel in uluwatu. the staff at the dusun are so attentive and will go out of there way to help you with anything you may need. the rooms were very spacious and clean, the pool was huge and so was the pavillion area. breakfast each morning was amazing and we all looked forward to it. i highly recommend booking an in villa bbq, they put on such a good show and nothing was too much trouble.
they have drivers that will take you to the local area or kuta,. i recommend using this service as someone on a moped driving by tried to steal my bag off me while I was walking with my husband on one of the nearby streets (it was dark and the street was very quiet).
besides the attempted theft, we had such an amazing time in seminyak and the dusun made it all the more enjoyable. it truly is a haven

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pottscar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    484
    51
    10
    1
    2
See reviews for
183
226
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

We stayed there from 17 June to 21. I just loved everything about it. The breakfast is perfect, specially when they make it for you in your own villa. The rooms are big and clean. Everything about it feels majestic and romantic.

We had the Romantic dinner for us. That was a 3 course meal, with wine. They prepared the villa and swimming pool with candles. It was a breath taking view. My partner was stunned for almost 10 mins, saying "wow".

The service there is great, the staff are really friendly and just make you smile.

I think i would go back there again next year. :)

Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sully_syed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2012 via mobile

Let me preface this review by saying we have been to Bali around 30 times and have been staying in villas since 1998. The Dusun is not the decadent, luxury villa you see in Bali (like you see in Ibiza). What it is however is an extremely comfortable and perfectly located oasis in the middle of the hussle and bustle of Seminyak. We rented a 3 bedroom villa. 4 adults and 3 kids. We had plenty of space and everything worked perfectly. What impressed me most however was the friendliness and the quality of the staff, which while always a highlight in Bali, was particularly so at the Dusun. While our family preference is to stay in a larger villa further away from the action, if we ever decide to stay in Seminyak again, it will be at the Dusun. 5 stars because it ticks every box, including value for money (which is, as always, a relative term).

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Zdrosenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quairading, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

We booked 2x3 bed villas and 1x1 bed villa in July for a family get together. Ages ranging from 10 -70+. For most of us this was our first trip to Bali. The Dusun was the perfect acccommodation for our needs. The villas were spacious, well appointed and very clean. Having our own pool was amazing and after a day shopping/sightseeing the villas provided a sanctuary for us to escape and unwind. But what made the Dusun so wonderful was the incredible staff. Nothing was too much trouble and they genuinely want you to enjoy your stay. Breakfast was cooked in our villa every morning and then the biggest decision of the day was where to have dinner. The Dusun is well located in the heart of Seminyak close to lots of restaurants and bars. Dusun staff will drive you to any location but you must devote one night to the included BBQ in your villa. We requested all 15 of us have the BBQ at one villa. No problem. From the moment we were met at the airport we were treated like royalty. I would definitely stay at the Dusun again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

We stayed in the 1 bedroom villa. We had an amazing and wonderful experience there. The pool was lovely and the queen bed under a mosquito canopy was quite pretty. The bathroom was a bit odd, as it has paving stones with loose stones lying in between them (which means that you kick them from time to time). It also has a window directly opening into thr garden, which have venetian blinds in there to minimize the mosquito entry. The bedroom itself is smaller than I would have liked and the bed is elevated onto a step, which they do warn uou about, but didn't stop us from stubbing our toes.
The breakfast served to you in the villa was lovely as well as the afternoon tea (although not as good as another hotel we had stayed in, because it was just tea and cookies, and no indonesian treats). The turn down service also includes turning on all the mosquito repelling devices in the villa. The complimentary car drop off serive is useful as well as the complimentary airport drop-off/pickup.
We also ordered the private "east meets west" BBQ which was 475,000 rupiah pp. it was probably the best part of the villa experience. We felt really special that night, as they decorate your outdoor sitting area with bamboo decorations, candles around the pool, a waiter for the evening and they bring in a charcoal BBQ and chef to cook for you. They also have 2 Indonesian musicians to play for you in the evening. Would highly recommend having that for the experience.
The only things that didn't give it a perfect rating were the bath didn't drain properly, the outdoor area wasn't mopped daily, the bathroom floor wasn't cleaned properly (hair on the floor) there was no complimentary body lotion and you have to request a hair dryer.
We still would go back there anyway, as they were really only minor issues, but if fixed it could've made all the difference.

Room Tip: Good for couples and families
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank etravel2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 July 2012

The Dusun is in a fantstic location - walking distance to all Seminyak has to offer.
The Villas although a little older - are very well maintained and extreme clean.
The staff are wonderful and always willing to help!
This was our second visit and we will certainly come back to the Dusun again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisjlyons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

My partner and I stayed here for five nights in May of this year, prior to our wedding. We were floored by the accom from the moment we arrived - beautiful pool, nice big bathroom, comfy bed, everything you could need! The location is great, close to heaps of great restaurants, beach etc yet secluded enough to feel relaxed and away from the hustle and bustle of Kuta or Legian (or even other parts of Seminyak). The in-villa massages were amazing, as was the cooked brekky prepared fresh every morning. I really can't fault this place. Perfect!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.4 mi away
The Kunja Villas & Spa
The Kunja Villas & Spa
#1 of 143 in Seminyak
702 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
The Oberoi Bali
The Oberoi Bali
#9 of 143 in Seminyak
1,602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Legian Bali
The Legian Bali
#7 of 143 in Seminyak
1,496 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
#3 of 143 in Seminyak
1,755 reviews
0.5 mi away
W Bali - Seminyak
W Bali - Seminyak
#19 of 143 in Seminyak
3,239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dusun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dusun

Property: The Dusun
Address: Jl. Kayu Jati No. 8, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#12 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
#14 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dusun 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dusun Hotel is located in the Petitenget area of Seminyak just a minute stroll from Bali’s famous sunset beach and Seminyak’s restaurants. The Dusun is a blissfully quiet property with 14 exclusively private villas. The Dusun takes a professional and friendly approach to hospitality. The service and ambience are natural and never intrusive, with all requests handled pragmatically, without any fuss. The hotel is laden with luxury; the villas, pools and gardens are spacious, set in a bright and tasteful decor. Pamper yourself at The Dusun with its charming atmosphere offering the perfect setting for romantic honeymoons, friends’ getaways or family holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Dusun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dusun Villas Bali Hotel Seminyak
Dusun Hotel Bali
Dusun Hotel Seminyak
The Dusun Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing