We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Daunting”
Review of The Dusun

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Dusun
Ranked #11 of 146 Hotels in Seminyak
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Daunting”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

I 100% recommend this villas. It was a great place to stay with friends, families and great for honeymoons. very relaxing. Front office staff are friendly and we have our private butler who cooks on spot for our breakfast, it was an amazing experience feels like Hollywood star :). Will surely go back same place on my next visit.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 648Explorer648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gede M, Front Office Manager at The Dusun, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
Dear 648Explorer648,
Let me take this opportunity to thank you for your recently stay at The Dusun. We would also like to extend our sincere thanks for your generous comments. I am so delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and recommend The Dusun to others viewer and i am sure it will help us a lots. We will share this review to all The Dusun family for our improvement of services. Looking forward to seeing you on your next vacation. Thank you.


Sincerely yours,


Gede Meidiana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    494
    53
    10
    1
    2
See reviews for
188
232
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greater Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Having stayed in several villas in the Semnyak area I can say that we will be returning to the Dusun.

The level of service is excellent, but unobtrusive. Friendly greetings and conversations with the staff were welcomed.

We spent a lot of time I the villa, enjoying the pool, the peace and sometimes music . We ordered lunch from Grocer and Grind a couple of times from the room service menus. The staff will go and pick it up for you and then plate it up and you to eat at your dining table. I think 25% premium is charged, but worth it if you don't feel like going out.

The 3 bedroom villas looked roomy and the pool is spectacular, that's where we'll stay next time when we bring the family with us!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adelaidian10001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gede M, Front Office Manager at The Dusun, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Lizzy101,
Let me take this opportunity to express our sincere gratitude for have stayed at The Dusun. It was great to know that you had most relaxing time at The Dusun. The Dusun is located in the heart of seminyak where all can be reached with walking distance, however we still offer our guest peaceful when inside the villa. We offer a family service concept to all guest, where everyone friendly, smile, courteous, helpful, and warm welcome for any guest request. We will share your compliment to all the team for their acknowledgement and motivation of work. Once again, thank you for have chosen The Dusun and we are looking forward to seeing you again.


Best Regards,



Gede Meidiana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

I can only recommend these villas. I was with my family and we have a wonderful time in this little paradise on earth. You can really swim in the pool and it is not just a small pond as we know it from other villas. I have contacted the hotel directly to questions what is the best deal that they can offer me. The offer was very competitive compared to other villas in Seminyak. The conditions are perfect, we felt just like at home. There is also a driver to get you in and around Kuta driving around for free. This is also necessary because it is easy to walk through "Eat Street" but if you want to do some shopping you must drive longer distances. The KuDeTa e.g. is only 10 minutes of walking away. This is an excellent establishment with a very good price.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Floyd C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gede M, Front Office Manager at The Dusun, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Dear Floyd C,
Let me deliver our sincere thanks for your lovely posted toward our property and its services. It was our pleasure to know that you had such enjoyable time while stayed at The Dusun and highly recommend us to others. We offered a family service concept to all our guest where they look after each other like a family, friendly, smile and helpful. We did every effort to made them met their expectation. Once again thank you for all your compliment and looking forward to seeing you again.

sincerely yours,


Gede Meidiana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

Having purchased cheap fares to Bali and knowing very little about the place, we chose the Dusun based on our travel agent's recommendation. To say that we loved it was an under statement! Because we travelled outside of peak season we were lucky enough to be upgraded to a three-bedroom villa, so we loved the spaciousness and the huge pool to ourselves.

The Dusun is very private and like many in Seminyak, is high-walled and has security guards to presumably prevent anyone from walking in. Because of the high walls, the property is extremely quiet and private; it's really an idyllic oasis. The 3 bedroom villas have plenty of space both around the pool and in the communal building, so a party of six would have plenty of room. It essentially is fully self-contained (apart from a laundry) so you could easily cook all your own meals. Although that's not really necessary given Bali prices. We loved having breakfast cooked daily by the staff and they returned later in the afternoon with a small snack for afternoon tea.

The staff are all extremely friendly and I believe that's genuine, because that's what we encountered from all the Balinese people. Nothing felt forced.

I'm not sure of the official rating of the hotel but I'd say its a good 4+ stars. There are some cracks here and there and some painting touch ups are needed in places, but that's really being picky.

The Dusun is very close to the well known Bodyworks where you can have all sorts of massages, facials and other treatments. They are a fabulous treat! Many other places offer massages too, but sometimes the cheaper price gives you some indication of the quality of the treatment.

The property is also within walking distance of Seminyak Square, other shopping areas and eateries. The beach is approximately 200 metres away, but the area isn't known for its beaches and one quick walk was enough for us.

Given half a chance I'd leap at the opportunity to visit The Dusun again and hopefully with a group of friends.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gede M, Front Office Manager at The Dusun, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
Dear TreasureHunuterH,
We would like to thank you for your reviews on Trip advisor. We are very happy to know that you're enjoyed your stay at The Dusun and by the chance we had an opportunity to upgrading you into our 3 bedroom villa.
Thank you also for your constructive comments toward our property and meantime we are ongoing to upgrading and renovating our Dusun property. We are currently in the situation of changing and upgrading part of our property such as bathroom tile and bathtub design step by step and hopefully will be completely changes next year. Other part of property are also on our attention such as; garden, wall, furniture, and also crack issue.
Thank you also for your compliment in relation to our services. Our family at The Dusun offering you a family service concept where everyone are friendly, smile, helpful and look after each other..
Once again, thank you for have staying with us and looking forward to seeing you again.

Most sincerely yours,


Gede Meidiana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Stayed at The Dusun from 10-13 October 2013.

Reserving a room was fuss free. Even after the reservation was done, I contacted The Dusun one week out from my stay to confirm the reservation, airport transfer, and to ask if they could make a reservation for me at a restaurant. Their response was quick, friendly, and they made the restaurant reservation for me with no trouble at all.

During the stay we were upgraded to a three room villa, which was spacious and beautifully designed. Throughout the stay the staff were exceedingly friendly and attentive, and would cater to your every need. All you have to do is ask. We made restaurant reservations, had food delivered, and had massages done in the comfort of the villa.

In terms of location, you can walk to great restaurants like The Breeze and La Luciola, shopping at Seminyak Square, nightlife at Ku De Ta, and good massages at Bodyworks. You may not even have to walk at all as The Dusun would gladly arrange a car to take you to nearby places if you asked.

Could not have asked for anything more. Would definitely go back again.

Room Tip: A three bed room villa was mighty spacious for one couple, and would be a fantastic place to stay fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank benjamin_fxj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gede M, Front Office Manager at The Dusun, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
Dear,
Let me express our sincere thanks to you for have posted your experiences whilst stay with our Dusun family. We really appreciate about it. It was great to know that you had such a memorable experiences at The Dusun. We were also very happy had opportunity to upgrade your experiences into our 3 bedroom villa.
In terms of location , we are proudly saying that we are very good spot, where we close to the beach, shopping area, restaurant and bar area etc but we also providing a drop off service for free if guest would go further to Kuta or seminyak area.
Once again thank you for your lovely feedback and we are looking forward to your next visit.


Most sincerely yours,


Gede Meidiana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuriootpa, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

The Dusan is a little difficult to find being off a side alley however it did allow for a quiet and peaceful night sleep. While the villas are beautifully equipped the whole property was looking a little "tired". Loved having our own pool and chefs who cooked breakfasts daily in our outside kitchen area. Was close to Seminyak Square where local markets and eateries are held. Also close to beach. Beware of time share scammers, under construction sidewalks and rubbish littered along beaches. Overall a wonderful holiday stay!

Room Tip: Villa 8 had better daylight sun than villa 14. Also loved the huge shower area in villa 8 as apposed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caroline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gede M, Front Office Manager at The Dusun, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Dear Caroline G,
We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your recently stay at The Dusun. We are more than glad to find that you enjoyed the entire stay with our Dusun family.
Yes, you are right that The Dusun is located in a side alley however we still offer a quiet and peaceful night sleep and warm Balinese family service concept.
Thank you also for your constructive comments toward our whole property and we are currently ongoing of renovating and upgrading our facilities.
We are looking forward to seeing you again at The Dusun. Thank you


Most sincerely yours,



Gede Meidiana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Family of 5 holiday booking. Kids aged 14 to 7.
We stayed in villa 7. The best one as it was the most recently returned.
Amazing resort. So relaxing. The only thing people need to be aware of is the separate villa in the garden. Our 2 boys stayed there with no worries at all but it is detached ie each sleeping area is separate.
We had the BBQ in room experience which we loved and was very traditional.
Coffe and grind is about a 5 to 10 minute walk and makes the best pizza and coffee. The hotel staff will run up for you but we always walked
The location is about 1 min from body works massages a massive day spa. Very good and very cheap. It's a further minute to the beach but don't let kids swim here its got rips everywhere. Stay in the hotel pool.
Restaurants. La luciola is about 3 minutes away and is absolute beachfront. Amazing. Ku da ta was great and potato head is an amazing venue but food was pretty average and expensive.
The dusan was amazing. We'd be back anytime - magnif

Room Tip: Get to know the staff. They will bend over backwards to assist. Wayan especially.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.4 mi away
The Kunja Villas & Spa
The Kunja Villas & Spa
#1 of 146 in Seminyak
727 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
The Oberoi Bali
The Oberoi Bali
#10 of 146 in Seminyak
1,641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Legian Bali
The Legian Bali
#7 of 146 in Seminyak
1,544 reviews
0.5 mi away
W Bali - Seminyak
W Bali - Seminyak
#19 of 146 in Seminyak
3,342 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
#4 of 146 in Seminyak
1,792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dusun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dusun

Property: The Dusun
Address: Jl. Kayu Jati No. 8, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#11 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
#14 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dusun 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dusun Hotel is located in the Petitenget area of Seminyak just a minute stroll from Bali’s famous sunset beach and Seminyak’s restaurants. The Dusun is a blissfully quiet property with 14 exclusively private villas. The Dusun takes a professional and friendly approach to hospitality. The service and ambience are natural and never intrusive, with all requests handled pragmatically, without any fuss. The hotel is laden with luxury; the villas, pools and gardens are spacious, set in a bright and tasteful decor. Pamper yourself at The Dusun with its charming atmosphere offering the perfect setting for romantic honeymoons, friends’ getaways or family holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Dusun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dusun Villas Bali Hotel Seminyak
Dusun Hotel Bali
Dusun Hotel Seminyak
The Dusun Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing