We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful villa, exceptional service and attention to detail”
Review of The Dusun

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Dusun
Ranked #11 of 146 Hotels in Seminyak
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful villa, exceptional service and attention to detail”
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Dusun is lovely and secluded, an oasis of calm in Seminyak. All of the staff were fantastic, from the moment they picked us up from the airport and presented us with cold towels and water after our flight from Australia. Felt spoiled the whole time, exactly how a honeymoon trip should be! We took the advice of others and went for the in villa barbecue (Seafood) and this was amazing, including the two musicians. We got a great deal as we were visiting in the last week of January after the peak school holiday season. On our final day we didn't need to leave for the airport until 8pm, on mentioning this to reception they offered us an 8pm checkout at no extra charge! We definitely recommend the Dusun and the lovely happy staff.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gede M, Front Office Manager at The Dusun, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Dear BertieBassett123,
We would like to thank you for your lovely feedback posted on trip advisor. We would also like to thank you for your recently staying at The Dusun on your honeymoon trip. We are so happy to know that you enjoyed our hospitality from the moment you were picked up at the airport until check-out from the hotel. As always we do our best as long as we can fill up all guest request. for extending their check-out time with no extra cost. We assure your positive feedback will contribute us a lot in the future. Once again, thank you for have staying at The Dusun and looking forward to your next visit.

Sincerely yours,


Gede Meidiana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    493
    53
    10
    1
    2
See reviews for
187
232
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

Absolutely impeccable!

We were happy to get an upgrade from one-bed to a really lovely spacious three-bed villa when we arrived. Granted we were only using one room - me, my husband and our toddler. However, the swimming pool was a bonus as it was a lot bigger, double the size of those in smaller villas. The living area was also spacious.
We had some great staff come to cook us breakfast in the villa. Really enjoyed that.
Overall all the staff were extremely friendly including the drivers.

We had a fantastic stay at The Dusun.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank BertieBassett123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gede M, Front Office Manager at The Dusun, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Dear Bertiebassett123,
Let me take this opportunity to thank you for your lovely feedback posted on trip advisor. It was great to find that you highlight what we offer to you for upgrading villa into higher category. As always, we did our best to made our guest happy. Once again, thank you and looking forward to your next visit.


Best regards,



Gede Meidiana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

We went to flight centre and I wanted a private pool where nobody can see inside the villa and that's what I got! The daily breakfast is a must! Fresh juice and fruits, homemade breakfasts yummy!
My husband and I loved this place but rating 4 stars because the location is horrid. We got ripped off by a cab man. Locking the doors and forcing us to pay him $50 worth of money for a 5 minute trip to water bom park
Anyway it was our first trip oversees and we learned from our experience and hopefully will go back to the dusun if their surroundings where more friendly And safer

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaggedette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gede M, Front Office Manager at The Dusun, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Dear Jaggedette,
Let me take this opportunity to thank you for your recently stay and lovely feedback toward The Dusun. We are sorry to hear about the incident involving the taxi driver and i think that will be good experiences for your first trip to Bali so it won't be happened in the future. Making sure got a recommended taxi from the reception. Once again, thank you for your recently stay and looking forward to seeing you again.


With best regards,



Gede Meidiana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

My family and I recently stayed here and had a wonderful stay. I have stayed here before on a couple of occasions and as time goes on The Dusun is still the best!!! The 3 bedroom villas are all individual retreats, where you can get away from the hustle and bustle of Bali itself once you've had enough of the shopping and surfing for the day. Being spacious inside and out it's hard to leave the villa because everything you need is there and if there is something that isn't they will get it for you at the touch of a button. The beautiful staff are so lovely I wish we could bring them back to Oz with us. Location is awesome! Across the road from Body Works and only minutes walk to the beach and all the best restaurants, Ku de ta and Potato Head there really is no better place to stay!!!

Room Tip: There are 1 bed villas or 3 bed villas, so it really depends on whether you are having some couple t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanessa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gede M, Front Office Manager at The Dusun, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Dear Vanessa S,
We would like to thank you for your recently return to The Dusun. We would also like to thank you for your generous comments toward our property and its services.
We believe your generous feedback will contribute a lots for The Dusun in the future. Looking forward to seeing you again.


Sincerely yours,


Gede Meidiana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

Dusun Villa is an absolute delight. Stunning accom and the staff are superb. Great location. 10 out of 10 on every level.
I haven't had perfection in such a long time and this truly is.
The location means you can spend at Least 10 days and see all seminyak had to offer and then see many other spots in Bali as well. Such as Kuta, Tannah Lot, Ubud, Jimbaren Bay, Rock Bar, Nusa Dua, Benoa,lunch at an active volcano, and many more.

I can absolutely confirm that the cost of the villa vehicle (around seminyak and Kuta is free) but the surrounding day tours are way cheaper with the villa vehicle than hiring a taxi. Or using a local company.

We also had a fully catered and decorated Bali BBQ in our villa which was fantastic. Even had musicians!!

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nic6797
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gede M, Front Office Manager at The Dusun, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Nic6797,
We would like to express our sincere thanks for your recently staying at The Dusun. Thank you also for taking the time to post your comments toward our hotel and its services. We truly appreciate about it and ensure all your comments will contribute us for future business. Once again, we thank you for your generous comments and looking forward to your next visit.


Most sincerely ,



Gede Meidiana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a 3 bedroom villa (villa # 2) for 7 nights in late December 2013 with our family of 5 (kids 13, 11 and 7).

We loved the Dusun. The location is perfect, we ate at many local restaurants including Motel Mexicola, Sea Circus, Grocer and Grind, La Luciola and Lello Lello. We also made several visits to Bodyworks. All of these are 5 mins walk away. The Dusun really is in the perfect location in Seminyak.

The highlight of the villa for us was the pool. It was a really good size and the kids spent the whole week swimming. We were lucky with the weather and it was sunny every day. We brought some blow up pool toys from Australia and they were a great addition.

We stayed on the Family Fun Package which included a tour (we went to Uluwatu Temple) and a day at Waterbom (which was fantastic). It also included a BBQ in our villa which we had on NYE and was lovely. The musicians taught the kids to play the gamelan!

One of the bedrooms is in a separate villa across the pool, this wasn't an issue for us but good to be aware of if your kids are younger. It's literally 10 steps away.

We had breakfast and afternoon tea every day in the villa. Both were great. The staff were very friendly and very helpful.

The Dusun also had a free drop off service with cars readily available which was great. They also picked us up from waterbom and brought us home.

We booked directly with the hotel via email and at our request they also facilitated the VIP visa at the airport - we probably didn't need this as the luggage was slow coming out (but that's not the hotel's fault)! The Dusun picked us up at the airport - this was all very easy.

All in all a great place to stay, we would definitely return and recommend The Dusun to anyone.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mon_t332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gede M, Front Office Manager at The Dusun, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear Mon_1332,
Let me take this short note to thank you for your recently staying at The Dusun. We were really impressed and appreciate all your feedback related to our location, staff services and its surrounding area. We would also like to thank you for your constructive comment related to our floor slippery when wet and a VIP fast track service where commenting a bit slow for the luggage coming out. It was out of our control, however we will highlight this to the person in-charge for fast track service.
Once again, we thank you for your recently staying at The Dusun and looking forward to your next visit.


Best Regards,



Gede Meidiana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adelaide, australia
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We recently stayed 9 nights at The Dusun, three adults and two young children. We were in Bali in April this year and viewed a number of 3bdrm villas for this trip and found the Dusun the best (actually we slightly preferred the sister hotel, the Kunja but the location wasn't great for us). We found it excellent value for money. We are currently in a different villa in a different area and are so disappointed that we had originally decided on two locations!

The Dusun was everything it promised and more. Even though all the villas were booked, we did not hear noise from any other villa and you could barely tell that anyone else was staying there. The staff were excellent. Breakfast was quickly cooked and served and housekeeping efficient.

The villas themselves were great. Good lounge area, great pool. Everything very clean and well maintained. It isn't the newest property but we found that this wasn't a problem at all.

Location was good if you want to hang around Seminyak. Oh, and loved the little shop near security, nice touch. The area, and perhaps all of South Bali is so ridiculously busy at this time of year that you need to be prepared to add on much time if you are wanting to go outside the area.

Usually I write quite long reviews but I have nothing much else to say. It was the best villa we have stayed in through all our trips to Bali. If we decided to return to Seminyak would absolutely return. Was talking to another couple in Seminyak who also happened to be staying there and they said that the Dusun was always consistent.

I will make one suggestion though. The edges of the inside lounge get very slippery from the pool. Especially if it rains, which it did heavily. We bought some non-slip mats and used these. It would be useful if The Dusun had some on hand, it made a difference.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cassandnigel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gede M, Front Office Manager at The Dusun, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
Dear Cassandnigel,
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We truly appreciate your feedback of staying at The Dusun. It was great to know that you you have such enjoyable time with us eventhough we are not the best but we better. Your reviews will be shared to The Dusun team for further references. Once again, we thank you for your recently stay and looking forward to your next vist. Happy New Year 2014, may God blessing you and family.


Best Regards,



Gede Meidiana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.4 mi away
The Kunja Villas & Spa
The Kunja Villas & Spa
#1 of 146 in Seminyak
726 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
The Oberoi Bali
The Oberoi Bali
#10 of 146 in Seminyak
1,640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Legian Bali
The Legian Bali
#7 of 146 in Seminyak
1,543 reviews
0.5 mi away
W Bali - Seminyak
W Bali - Seminyak
#19 of 146 in Seminyak
3,338 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
#3 of 146 in Seminyak
1,790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dusun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dusun

Property: The Dusun
Address: Jl. Kayu Jati No. 8, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#11 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
#14 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dusun 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dusun Hotel is located in the Petitenget area of Seminyak just a minute stroll from Bali’s famous sunset beach and Seminyak’s restaurants. The Dusun is a blissfully quiet property with 14 exclusively private villas. The Dusun takes a professional and friendly approach to hospitality. The service and ambience are natural and never intrusive, with all requests handled pragmatically, without any fuss. The hotel is laden with luxury; the villas, pools and gardens are spacious, set in a bright and tasteful decor. Pamper yourself at The Dusun with its charming atmosphere offering the perfect setting for romantic honeymoons, friends’ getaways or family holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Dusun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dusun Villas Bali Hotel Seminyak
Dusun Hotel Bali
Dusun Hotel Seminyak
The Dusun Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing