We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice pool but dirty rooms and a terrible restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Puri Dewa Bharata Hotel & Villas
Ranked #117 of 148 Hotels in Seminyak
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We stayed in room 205 in January 2014 and did not enjoy our experience at Puri Dewa. The floor of our room had a significant amount of dust and dirt on it which left our feet dirty from walking on it. Our bathroom had a godawful smell in it that made my partner gag- we think it was coming from the bathroom drains. The sink and bath had not been cleaned properly and had marks all over it. The air conditioning worked really well along with the wi-fi in our room. However, our family staying a few doors up had poor connectivity in their room. The bed in 205 was comfortable, but our family staying in the other room had two single beds pushed together to make a king which was very firm and uncomfortable. The pool area was very nice and we had great fun here. The breakfast in the mornings was nice and about what you'd expect for the price we paid. However on our first night we decided to eat dinner at the restaurant which turned out to be a mistake. Our meals took an hour to come out and tasted very unpleasant. I would not recommend anyone eat there.

Room Tip: Room 205 had a comfortable bed, good wifi but the bathroom stunk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fiona F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (260)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

106 - 112 of 260 reviews

Reviewed 16 December 2013

Just spent five nights at Puri Dewa Bharata. Lovely big room, good airconditioner, very comfortable bed and comfy pillows. Lovely pool with beautifullly maintained gardens.. All staff very friendly and welcoming. Short walk up Jalan Nakula to Legian Street. Would highly recommend if you are looking for a traditional feel hotel at approximately $45 per night with breakfast

Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank KarenPaulineCarole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Ok, so we got the hotel at a good price, Rp499.000,00 for the double deluxe room with breakfast. The pool was nice, and the staff friendly. But they where a bit "lazy". They didn't clean up very quickly. I saw 2 plates with leftover food outside one of the rooms be there for almost 2 days.

The rooms where okay, large with TV and fridge. But it wasn't very clean, the bathroom was the worst. It was not clean and there was mold and spots in the ceiling. And there was almost no water pressure.

So given the prize, if was okay, but not very good. And there was a lot of mosquito's. They "fogged" one of the days, that is they sprayed the whole place with pesticide (to limit mosquito's), which left our room full of it as well, not a very good experience. This happens because the room door is not very good. It's possible to lock with a keylock, but it opens a few inches if you press it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank espenhogbakk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Stayed here a year ago and its still a delightful,low key enjoyable hotel.I suppose its a personal thing,but it ticks all the boxes.Comfortable accommodation with pleasant staff.Great aircon.Satisfying breakfast buffet on offer.Wifi that works 24/7.Pool with free afternoon tea/coffee and cakes.Quiet and close to shops,restaraunts and taxis.About a 20 min walk to beach,but hey what a walk! stayed again in october 2013 and enjoyed it immensley.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jhjass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

I had a great two nights here - and would recommend this hotel. But do read my review first. The staff were very very helpful and made my stay enjoyable. Pool is lovely and cooling and open till 9pm . Breakfast was included in my $35 per night in a Super Deluxe room on the third floor. (booked on line)

Big room, good air con, nice balcony/terrace - even had a TV and toiletries in the bathroom Gardens and pool are lovely quiet areas set back off the road. Breakfast was good with plenty to choose from in the traditionally balinese hotel style breakfast. These types of hotels are dying in the South of bali and almost all are gone in seminyak and being replaced with modern replicas that could be any hotel in any country

I personally like the older balinese style hotels. I did not enjoy seminyak much but was only there on transit to and from other parts of Bali.
Yes cleanliness is an issue!!....but i don't really mind for the little money that i have paid for a room and pool and breakfast. I would recommend it to anyone who wants good value in Seminyak (Which is an expensive area)...and who enjoys and tolerates the uniqueness of the older balinese hotel. Cheaper hotels of this standard can be had in Legian/Kuta though.

But I suspect Puri Dewa will not exist in a few years time because it will have been built out by another homogenous modern chain.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travellerNZfromCHCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We've just returned from here and were totally disappointed
We were picked up by taxi from the airport which the hotel organized , which was great, charged 25 us $ for this , leaving to fly home , the taxi we booked only cost us 6$ ?????? First rip off
We were " greeted" by an old "miss world wannabe" who tried her best to smile but obviously didn't do it that often so it was a big struggle for her.
We were shown to our room, a downstairs villa ....... In fact this was a dark , damp room full of mozzies , a ramshackle camping stove with an old gas bottle was the cooker , the fridge was teeny and barely kept things cold
The bedroom was dark , a dirty , ripped mozzy net covered the bed and the air con was old and noisy and struggled to keep the room cool
The bathroom stunk of sewerage and the wall were covered in mould and peeling paint, the ceiling had obviously had a leak as was covered in water stains, we reported this and they were obviously aware of the problem, told us to keep the extractor fan on constantly, offered us another room which was just as bad as ours !!!!!
The pool was lovely when we first arrived but as the week went on it got dirtier , by our last day it was murky and obviously not cleaned all week , like the sun beds, full of stains and dirt , we wouldn't use them .
The breakfasts were lovely and the kitchen staff very pleasant and helpful
Most of the other staff were nice and friendly but the main reception staff need to learn to be more friendly and not whisper to each other in baleniese .
The gardens are beautiful and very well kept but can't help thinking that this is the reason for the enormous amount of Mosquitos , maybe if they put more effort into the upkeep of the rooms instead of spending all the time pruning the gardens , they would have a better class of accommodation
The free wifi which is advertised is non existent unless you go and sit outside your room and get bitten to shreds by the mozzies.

I would NEVER return to the puri dewa and wouldn't recommend it to anyone :(

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Jo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Hotel was OK. The rooms were quite large but the 'deluxe' bed was two single beds pushed together. Also fridge was useful. Staff were fine. Breakfast was OK. All stairs though which might be tough for some travellers if on a high floor.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank antonthenet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.9 mi away
Destiny Boutique Hotel
Destiny Boutique Hotel
#89 of 148 in Seminyak
323 reviews
0.6 mi away
Primera Hotel Seminyak
Primera Hotel Seminyak
#90 of 148 in Seminyak
1,011 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vansari Hotel Seminyak
Vansari Hotel Seminyak
#57 of 148 in Seminyak
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Grand La Villais Hotel and Spa Seminyak
1.9 mi away
MaxoneHotels.com @ Seminyak
MaxoneHotels.com @ Seminyak
#113 of 148 in Seminyak
113 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Liberta Seminyak Bali
Hotel Liberta Seminyak Bali
#122 of 148 in Seminyak
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puri Dewa Bharata Hotel & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puri Dewa Bharata Hotel & Villas

Address: Jl. Nakula no. 11 | Nakula Street number 11, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta District > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#81 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range: £17 - £39 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Puri Dewa Bharata Hotel & Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hotel with well-built Balinese concept. Designed in indigenous traditional architecture with fine stones - woods carving decorate each room of the hotel. 48 Rooms divided into 10 villas (with downstairs and upstairs rooms) and 28 spacious rooms in a building feature. The downstairs villas are in large double bed with kitchen, bathtub /shower with hot / cold water, spacious lounge room. All rooms equipped with air conditioning, satellite TV, fridge with mini bar and IDD phone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Puri Dewa Bharata Hotel & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Dewa Bharata Village Hotel Seminyak
Puri Dewa Bharata Village Seminyak
Puri Dewa Bharata Hotel & Villas Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing