We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A true balinese hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Puri Dewa Bharata Hotel & Villas
Ranked #113 of 143 Hotels in Seminyak
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A true balinese hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2010

welove our stay here
yes rooms were not all perfect but gorgeousn in balinese style
staff were eager to please even though very poor english still managed to bridge the barrier
lots of rooms being renovated ours was gorgeous
pool was beautiful
for the price just wonderful

Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank GarryH1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    98
    68
    19
    15
See reviews for
42
94
26
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
St.Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2010

We have stayed 10 days in the Downstairs Villa. In general - we liked it. We first paid for the first 3 nights and than extended the stay.

Pros:
+Spacious. Big bathroom. Big terrace that is private to a room.
+Friendly and responsive staff
+Breakfast was OK. Natural (fresh) juces and fruits besides the normal omlets and serial
+Nice buildings. True balisian style
Cons:
- Mosquitos.
- A bit far from the beach (15 minutes of not-so-pleasant road)
- All equipment was low-power (hair dryer, teapot). Takes a lot of time to make a cup of tea.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IvanFromSpb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern part of the US
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2010

At the time of booking, a room was 50USD. For only 15 additional USD we stayed previously in a much, much, much nicer hotel only 2 km away. It's clean, but all the furnishings and linens are very old, not as luxurious as other budget accomodations I've seen. (considering other hotels in the area are cheaper and newer or better kept). Staff is fine. Breakfast is decent.

However, this hotel seems to attract those who prefer a louder, more exciting nightlife. Not good for families or couples wishing for a quiet night's rest. Other hotels provided some sort of mosquito repellent already equipped in the room, but this one did not.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank luckyfinds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braunschweig, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2010

The hotel is built in traditional Balinese style. Its garden and pool area is beautiful. I wish we had had more time to enjoy this little paradise within the hotel. Breakfast was really nice and – in comparison – the choice was good. Tasty fresh juices and a yummy banana pancake. Our room was really big, but it lacked atmosphere. Bathroom amenities weren’t really up-to-date but clean. The hotel’s biggest disadvantage is its location, if you want to walk to the beach. German travelers might enjoy the “German Warung” which is a few meters away, with original German dishes ina little Warung. Jalan Legian isn’t far, so shopper’s paradise is close, but as said to the beach you rather have a (motor)bike…

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mullere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2010

We stayed for 2 nights at this hotel in room 117. Our room was on the second floor. When we arrived there around 5PM, the staff in the front desk looks un-friendly, and we have to wait about 10 minutes just to enter our room. First thing i checked soon after i got in was checking the bathroom. It was big bathroom but the condition wasn't properly design for it. The shower area didn't have split level or glass coverage wall to split the closed and the shower; only little curtain which was not helpful to keep the water splash everywhere. There's not even a place where we can put the soap or shampoo bottle! The towel smells rotten & old too..Uuurrhhggg!
When i checked the bed, i found stained almost every parts in the middle of it and the worst was there's 'blood' spot at on the bed side!! I quickly asked them to change the bed sheet & while waiting them (took about 15 mins) i found out that 2 windows sills just beside our bed couldn't be closed securely. It seems that it's caused of the rain that made the wood panel shrink & changed it's normal form. When i showed them to the staff, they looks as if that's the first time they saw it!! (Ohh Jezzz....)
Overall, we're really disappointed with this room and since there's no other available room, we have to stay at this room. Not to mention of the sound of busy road, motor cycle roaring whole night and continuing till morning ;-( We'll never choose this place again nor recommend this place to other..So, better find other hotel around where having almost the same rate but much better condition & services..

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MedusafairyJakarta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Seminyak hotels

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2010

This is a no-fuss hotel in a really central Seminyak location. Easy walk to main shopping street, good restaurants etc. Rooms are quite basic but clean and tidy. Breakfast is basic buffet style (ask for mixed fruit juice rather than orange juice). Pool is small but good, gardens are well maintained. Do try the German Extrablatt Warung a few metres outside the hotel for great food. Hotel prices are very reasonable and the free airport shuttle is a convenient bonus. Comfortable bed, room cleaned well and quickly every day. Better than you would really expect for the price.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karinaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2010

This is a hotel with a traditional atmosphere, a nice garden, a small but nice pool and very friendly staff. The hotel itself is just terrible!

It’s an old and rotten hotel, with nearly everything falling apart. The worst is the mould and the nasty smell in the damp rooms and villas, the disgusting fetidness in the bathrooms due to serious sewerage problems, resulting in a nasty smell of excrements.

The overall cleanliness, especially in the rooms and bathrooms is the major problem. In the bathrooms nothing looks really clean.

Old, tired and even broken furniture everywhere, bad mattresses are full of bed bugs. Ripped and stained bed sheets, old and stinking towels, no shower curtains, no towel hangers. No mosquito nets in the rooms, only in the so called villas (Beware: There’s a high risk of dengue fever in Bali). The villas are like dark caves, no daylight, only one window that lets you stare against a concrete wall. The wardrobe we found in the bathroom, in an extremely damp bathroom with nasty smell coming out the toilet, a bathroom like a steam sauna, without windows and a not working moisture exhaust fan.

With rain our bathroom became flooded with brown water entering from the ceilings. Air conditioning appliances are also very old and not cooling at all, only reducing the air humidity a little bit. Rooms and villas are very bad lit. There are rats in the whole area, even in the rooms and the restaurant. Complaining about this resulted only in a big smile.

The breakfast buffet is very poor and dirty. Dishes and tables are speckled with termite crumb and ants. Ants and other insects are sitting on the food.

Termite crumb also in the rooms, on the sofa, chairs and tables. Pool is very small with very few chairs, so in high season it’s very difficult to find a chair. Pool chairs are also old and tired and have disgustingly dirty mattresses that are apparently never washed.

Old TV appliances in the rooms with mainly Indonesian channels and only a handful of international news channels. WiFi Internet access is officially available in the whole hotel, not for free and charged by hour, but in fact not working in the rooms. You can carry your laptop to the front desk where you find a week and slow signal, but after 10 minutes you’re bitten by dozens of dangerous dengue mosquitoes.

The fridge in the room was also dirty, far too small and only making a lot of noise, but not cooling properly.

Hotel is quite far away from the beach, restaurants, nightlife and shopping. Nothing is really in walking distance. You need a taxi or motor bike for everything. Hotel is situated on a noisy and at night very dark and a bit scary road that is the main access to a highway. It’s hard to sleep in the main building due to the noise disturbances from the traffic. In the so-called villas it’s more quite.

Guests seem to be mainly Indonesians from other islands, especially large groups from Java, which can easily result in a bit of annoying mess at breakfast and the pool.

Summary:

This hotel is totally overpriced with lousy rooms, lousy facilities and a lousy breakfast. No value for money at all. Beware of checking in at the front desk, like us. Then they are trying to rip you off by charging rates up to 100, - USD. Only later we found out that internet and agency rates are only the half of it. But at this time we already decided to move out, after trying out several rooms and even the so-called villas, which had all the same problems.

There are plenty of other newer, cleaner and cheaper hotels in Bali.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank aggrepos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
1.9 mi away
The Taman Ayu
The Taman Ayu
#103 of 143 in Seminyak
4.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
0.9 mi away
Destiny Boutique Hotel
Destiny Boutique Hotel
#82 of 143 in Seminyak
4.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sense Sunset Seminyak
Sense Sunset Seminyak
#109 of 143 in Seminyak
3.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Bali Ayu Hotel
Bali Ayu Hotel
#88 of 143 in Seminyak
4.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vansari Hotel Seminyak
Vansari Hotel Seminyak
#54 of 143 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
1.9 mi away
MaxoneHotels.com @ Seminyak
MaxoneHotels.com @ Seminyak
#114 of 143 in Seminyak
3.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puri Dewa Bharata Hotel & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puri Dewa Bharata Hotel & Villas

Property: Puri Dewa Bharata Hotel & Villas
Address: Jl. Nakula no. 11 | Nakula Street number 11, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#79 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Puri Dewa Bharata Hotel & Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hotel with well-built Balinese concept. Designed in indigenous traditional architecture with fine stones - woods carving decorate each room of the hotel. 48 Rooms divided into 10 villas (with downstairs and upstairs rooms) and 28 spacious rooms in a building feature. The downstairs villas are in large double bed with kitchen, bathtub /shower with hot / cold water, spacious lounge room. All rooms equipped with air conditioning, satellite TV, fridge with mini bar and IDD phone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HostelWorld, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Puri Dewa Bharata Hotel & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Dewa Bharata Village Hotel Seminyak
Puri Dewa Bharata Village Seminyak
Puri Dewa Bharata Hotel & Villas Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing