We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Ulin Villas & Spa
Nearby Hotels
The Oberoi Bali(Seminyak)
US$398
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$349
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$403
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$356
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$413
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$327
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$404
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$176
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa(Seminyak)(Great Value!)
US$260
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$225
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Amadea Resort & Villas(Seminyak)(Great Value!)
US$104
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$316
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$243
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$265
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$220
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Double-Six Luxury Hotel Seminyak(Seminyak)(Great Value!)
US$738
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$273
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Samaya Bali Seminyak(Seminyak)
US$676
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$638
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (709)
Filter reviews
709 results
Traveller rating
625
72
8
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
625
72
8
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshigh teabedroom villaprivate poolevery morningbbq dinneroutdoor kitchencomplimentary mini barfoot massagevilla bbqeat streetcool towelsturn down servicemosquito coilsthe main streetlittle extrasour honeymoondaily breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
540 - 545 of 709 reviews
Reviewed 30 September 2010

Staying at the Ulin is a truly wonderful experience. The villas themselves are stunning and the service impeccable. I have stayed in both the one bedroom villa and the three bedroom villas. The villas are centrally located in Seminyak and although a mere 5 minute walk away from the bustling main street, the villas are absolutely tranquil. The gardens are immaculate and the finishing touches in each villa superb. The friendly and helpful staff are what makes the stay at the Ulin remarkable. There is the perfect balance between attentiveness and respecting the privacy of guests to enjoy the privacy of their own villa.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason_ian_lee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
winawan, General Manager at The Ulin Villas & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2010

Dear “jason_ian_lee”

It was a pleasure to have you staying with us on your recent Bali holiday. Thank you very much for your review and we are delighted to find that you enjoyed your stay very much. It is also rewarding to find that you were satisfied with the service performed by our team. We are excited and look forward to welcoming you again.

Kind regards,

Wayan Winawan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2010

Wow, just returned from a stay at the Ulin Villas, what an amazing place! My partner and I have been to Bali numerous times and stayed at many villas but this one beats them all.

The villas themselves are even better than what is shown on the website. We loved the different breakfast selections and that fruit also came with your breakfast every morning. Loved that they come into your villa to cook it too, very convenient.

Also every night we would go out for dinner and when we would get back to the villa, the staff had put out lanterns with candles around the pool, it was so romantic.

The staff were fantastic, nothing was too much trouble and they were all very friendly a real credit to the Ulin Villas. Also we loved the location, it was a short, easy walk to numerous wonderful restaurants, great shopping and the beach.

In fact the only things I can pick on, and they are very small, is that the bathroom was a little bit dark at times and the bed was slightly too hard, but other than that these villas are perfect. We can't wait to go back again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank millyd33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
winawan, General Manager at The Ulin Villas & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2010

Dear “millyd33”

Thank you very much for your review and thank you for choosing The Ulin Villas and Spa for your recent holiday in Bali. It is a pleasure to know that you have considered us as one of the best accommodation on your list. We also pleased to hear that you loved the breakfast selections, the romantic candles around your private pool at night and our location. I am thrilled to hear you talk so highly about our team and I am very proud of them. We thank you also for the suggestions on some issues that you raised. We are committed to use your feedback and comments to enhance the experience for all of our guests. Thank you again for sharing your experience. We look forward to welcoming you again.


Stay well,

Wayan Winawan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2010

My husband and I agree that our stay at The Ulin Villas is by far the most relaxing holiday we've ever had.

The villa we stayed at was in its own compound (as are the other villas), with its own pool. This means that you can swim at any time you want to, and you have total privacy. The villa itself was very well maintained, as was the pool and the outdoor shower and spa and gardens surrounding the villa.

I loved that they had someone come in everyday to cook us breakfast (you can order from a selection). The hotel staff were also very friendly and helpful.

We had an amazing stay at this place and are already planning to stay there again when we go back to Bali later this year.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank corky_c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
winawan, General Manager at The Ulin Villas & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2010

Dear “corky_c”

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to post your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We are pleased to find that you enjoyed your stay, your own private pool, the privacy and the wide selection of breakfast. We also delighted to hear that you were satisfied with the services rendered. See you again in the future.

Happy days,

Wayan Winawan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2010

My wife and I did some extensive homework before going to Bali as I wasn't that keen to go to Bali I must admit, but once I got over the culture shock it was great.
Firstly, be prepared for the men at the airport to attempt to take your bags especially if your the last ones to collect them from the tcollection turnstiles . They will brisk you through customs and demand a hefty amount for you to get them back. Try and avoid them if you can as we got caught and they demanded 200,000 rupiah. Luckly I only pulled out 20,000 and boy were they unhappy.
Now to the Villas. What a great experience. We could have spent less $ down the road on cheaper food and massages, but want we got was suberb and worth every cent. Please give them a go and forget about trying to save a few dollars elsewhere.
We also recommend getting a driver as the traffic is not for the faint hearted. I have driven all over the world and I can tell you its not worth it.
We were given by a friend a driver named Adi. He knew all the places to go and was worth every cent (250,000 rupiah for his boss and we gave him 200,000 tip for a 6 hour day and 250,000 for a nine hour day). his email address is adichan79@yahoo.com.
Lastly, if you are thinking about going to Bali mix it up and a few days in Nusa Dua and a few in Seminyak (whilst seeing Depensar and Ubud with Adi the driver). We will be back to Bali and Ulin Villas!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andrewfd123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
winawan, General Manager at The Ulin Villas & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2010

Dear “andrewfd123”

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your experience. I am delighted to know that you very much enjoyed your stay with us. We are very sorry to hear the inconvenience which you experienced regarding the service provided by Bali airport (one of their sections). I would be very pleased to bring the issue further to Bali Airport authority as I know it would help them to enhance their services to the visitors. Thank you very much and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Warm regards,

Wayan Winawan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2010

I must confess, I was not overly enamored with Bali the first time I visited some years ago. My opinion changed when my husband and I visited the Seminyak area, and more specifically, the Ulin Villas.

Our flight was late and it took us some time to get through Bali’s customs area, however we were greeted with a smile and warmth and given cool towels and water in the car from the Villa’s driver who had also been waiting patiently for us.

The villas are absolutely beautiful. My mum and sister, who were also in holidays in Bali during our trip came and visited us for the day during out stay and were so envious! They both agreed that they would definitely spend the money next visit to stay at Ulin for at least a few nights.

The front of house officer/manager was fabulous and volunteered to have one of the staff drive us to a reputable money changer on our first night (NB: there are plenty of dodgy ones out there!). I would recommend this.

The room was perfectly cleaned every day and the staff made sure the insects stayed away each night with mosquito coils in decorative lanterns placed around the pool and outdoor area. It was both functional and very romantic.

Pool a lovely temperature and impeccably clean. Great to be able to cool off after a hot day shopping. Developed a great tan from spending quite a limited time in the sun (we are both quite fair and conscious of getting sun burned).

The complimentary mini bar was very welcome with soft drinks, local beers and snacks and the water cooler with fresh drinking water was a fabulous idea.

I couldn’t really fault this beautiful setup apart from the fact that the toilet malfunctioned a couple of times on our stay (but this was fixed by the lovely maintenance man very quickly on both occasions).

Now to the food…not a big breakfast person, but breakfast was good with a decent selection (all delivered and/or cooked in your villa kitchen). Room service meals just OK but could not really recommend eating in unless you are starving. But then, there are so many excellent restaurants within a couple of minutes walk, this should not detract from the resort at all. Ultimo, about a minute’s walk up the road is excellent and you can order take away to take back to villa. Contrary to the acclaim, Rumours was a big disappointment, but maybe we just had a bad night?

As mentioned above, the proximity to local eating places is a big plus. You can also walk a couples of minutes down the road to Seminyak Square where you will find fashion outlets, coffee shops, and a fantastic “deli” selling everything from international meats and cheeses, to fresh seasonal produce, local and international wines, snacks, and holiday essentials such as sunscreen etc.

The beach is about 15 min walk away…not a lovely beach…but then when you are from Western Australia, you get very spoilt. Still nice to walk along – not many people and you don’t get hassled. Some of the resorts along the beach look amazing, but I wouldn’t swap Ulin for beachfront. You will PAY and wonder was it worth it at the end of it.

OK, now to the spa…we had a massage included in our stay…you could do better (not beach, but Jari Menari perhaps??). The Ulin Spa wasn’t bad, but could be loads better and I wouldn’t pay those prices when you can just walk up the road…

Overall, we did not want to leave this beautiful place and look forward to returning very soon.

P.S. Tipping staff in Bali, whilst not expected, is definitely appreciated. We always try to make sure we tip housekeeping, butlers, concierge, drivers, etc. These beautiful people are what make our trips so memorable and it assists them in making a better life for them and their families.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Niiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
winawan, General Manager at The Ulin Villas & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2010

Dear “Niiki”

Thank you very much for your review and thank you for choosing The Ulin Villas and Spa for your recent holiday in Bali. It is a pleasure to find that you adored the friendliness of our team and their genuine services. We are also delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay very much and loved the ambience of our villas, the private swimming pool, our prime location, the foods and our free mini bars. Our commitment is to deliver truly memorable experience with genuine care to all of our guests. We are excited and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Wayan Winawan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews