We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A chillaxing 5D4N stay with 6 & 8yr olds”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Kunja Villas & Spa
Ranked #1 of 146 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“A chillaxing 5D4N stay with 6 & 8yr olds”
Reviewed 28 November 2013

My family & I visited Seminyak Bali in 2011 and this time we were looking for a nearby villa get-away so I sourced on Tripadvisor and decided on The Kunja.
Below are my personal opinion and feedback after my recent 5D 4N stay at the villa in November 2013.

1. Location of villa
We had airport transfer provided by the villa and it took us approx.an hour due to the bad traffic jam in the late afternoon. Usually it takes only about 30mins. The villa is located pretty exclusively on its own, there are some small cafes and burger stalls nearby but would take about 15 mins by foot. There were minimarts nearby too so you could get the buggy service to bring u there. We didn't go to the beach nor to Ubud or anywhere else. But I heard that it would take about 2hrs or so by car.

2. Comfort & quality of stay
I would give it a 8.5 out of 10. Now bear in mind that I am a fussy person, particularly in terms of hygiene and cleanliness, especially with regards to hotel stays and such. Stale smells, pillows, clean sheets etc..I am quite anal about such things. The villa was generally pretty new and well-maintained. Greenery at the pool neatly groomed and trimmed. Every late afternoon or so, the staff would visit to spray the insect repellant and switch on the electric repellant as well. There are mosquitoes around but not overwhelming, like the time when I was in Bali at the end of Dec. Just ensure you smack on some repellant lotion and they prob wont bug you much. Pillows, sheets and bed was comfy, no odours whatsoever. The bathroom was huge with the bath tub, shower and toilet all in one. The water dispenser was great too, as we could drink however much we wanted.

3. Room service
They had quite a few restaurant menus on the Room service list. Each from different restaurants so you might have to wait a little if you order from different places. The wait was about max 40mins or so. The staff would ring the bell, come in and set the table each time, laying out plates, glasses and cutlery neatly. Every morning, we had breakfast cooked in-villa by the staff and also tea-time snack which was either banana & strawberry pancakes or choc cookies. Unfortunately, the food quality was a disappointment. Noodles, fried rice and fish & chips were nothing to shout about. I'd say the best were the pancakes and prob orange juice. They also lacked a variety of breakfast choices so hopefully they would offer more in time to come.

4. Spa & massage
My husband & I did in-villa Body Bliss massage, which was 60mins each. I felt it was good, just the right amount of pressure. However he felt that it was normal and could be a lot stronger. We tried it again a day later and this time I also asked for a scrub done. The scrub was not fantastic as it was just spread over my body. The massage was thorough and I actually dozed off. They then prepared a flower bubble bath for me, which was lovely.

5. Service of staff & villa
Greeted with smiles and most of them speak pretty good English so it wasn’t a problem. We also asked for a short buggy ride treat for the kids (aged 6 and 8 yrs) just around the villa. Each time they finished preparation of your meals, they would inform u to say they are done, which was nice of them.

6. Weather conditions
We were there 22-26 Nov and this time, the weather was awesome. Sunny most of the times, with occasional drizzle. We managed to laze by the pool most of the time and the pool was "abused" by us.

7. Pool
Pool was clean but take note that its 1.1m on one end and 2.2m on the end which is pretty deep if you have young kids. So gotta keep an eye on them.

8. Cons
I'd say only the food needed improvement and also perhaps the choices of complimentary coffee and tea sachets. Apart from that, the stay was fabulous, comfortable and a great villa to cosy up in with your family and kids.

Room Tip: The villas were all relatively on its own so privacy was ensured.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shpink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reza A, Front Office Manager at The Kunja Villas & Spa, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear Shpink,

Warmest greeting from The Kunja Villa & Spa..

Thank you so much for taking time to share your experience during stay with us.
We do much apologized for any kind of our service that didn't meet your expectation , especially for Breakfast & Spa. One of the major purposes of online reviews is to highlight areas for improvement and your feedback provides our hotel with valuable information that we can review to improve on for the future.
We will share your feedback & comments with all department concern. And please send our regards to your Children.

Thank You,

Best Regards,

Reza A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    657
    54
    14
    0
    2
See reviews for
147
418
10
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We stayed at the Kunja in October for our wedding and honeymoon , we didnt use the Santi Chapel (which is beautifull) but instead had a private ceremony in our villa .
The Kunja staff made sure that everything was perfect and went like clockwork .
The villa was beautifully appointed with a Frangipani pathway and a bath full of red rose petals ,
needless to say it was a perfect day , including the romantic dinner prepared for us that night .
The location is great not far from Seminyak square and a host of good restaurants and clubs , Kunja staff will drop off or it is a very cheap taxi ride (4AUD Max).
We have been to Bali many times but this will forever be a time of great memories , thanks Suteja and Dia and all the staff ...definately be back !

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shanks63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reza A, Front Office Manager at The Kunja Villas & Spa, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Dear Shanks63,

Thank you very much for choosing The Kunja Villa & Spa and taking the time to write a review on your stay with us. We are truly pleased to read that you enjoyed the service and facilities of Villa as well as the special moment of the intimate wedding.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Happy Wedding !


Best Regards,
Reza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yardley Gobion, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We stayed at the Kunja for the second week of our honeymoon and cannot be happier with our choice of villa. We stayed in a one bedroom villa which is completely private and encolsed. The pool was large and the size of the villa was too. The staff were helpful at all times. You have to be a little careful sometimes when giving them times as they don't always understand the intricacies of English so say 10:45 rather than quarter to 11 for example. However, their shuttle service to all the local venues was very welcome and they are happy to book anything for you. The morning breakfast and afternoon tea come as complimentary and they cook it in the villa for you which is welcome. The friendliness of the staff at all times was a real bonus. Nothing was too much trouble. They have a service for a lot of the local restuarants where they can deliver direct to your villa from the menu. This is added to the bill at the end and we found this a very convenient service when we first arrived.
Overall we just had the most relaxing and pleasant stay at The Kunja and cannot recommend it highly enough. We originally had somewhere else booked and moved to The Kunja after having to reschedule, we are so glad we did.

Room Tip: Go for a higher numbered Villa if possible as they are further from the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DavidPautsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reza A, Front Office Manager at The Kunja Villas & Spa, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Dear DavidPautsch,

Thank you for your great comments & feed back.
First of all we do much apologize about your uncomfortable situation regarding our "weak times pronunciation". We had to admit it, that we are more familiar to say 10:45 rather than quarter to 11.
But we always try to increase our level of english in order to complete all the guest requested.
Once again, thank you for your concern, we will share all your comments & feedback to our team.

Best Regards,
Reza A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We stayed here as our friends were getting married here. This was my first trip to Bali and I really enjoyed it. The rooms are just amazing - as good as the pictures. The pool is a wonderful size. The staff are wonderful and will do anything to help you. Free rides into Seminyak as its just a little bit too far to walk back. Really enjoyed my trip - didnt want to leave.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank becky_boo_321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reza A, Front Office Manager at The Kunja Villas & Spa, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Dear becky_boo_321,

Thank you for the wonderful reviews. All the facilities that we have, are proudly served to satisty our guest. We are always try to make our guest feel like their own home. Thank you once again, and we see you in the next future.

Best Regards,
Reza A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Amazing staff that are dedicated to making your stay memorable. Friendly and accommodating in every way. Enjoyed the drop off service. Everything about the Kunja exceeded our expectation over our 12 night stay. Breakfast cooked in our villa every day along with morning and afternoon tea if we wanted it. Pure Luxury!

Room Tip: 1 bedroom villa is very large for a couple, private and very quiet too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kraines2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reza A, Front Office Manager at The Kunja Villas & Spa, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Dear Kraines 2013,

Thank you for your great comments. We are more than happy to serve every our guest during their stay, and nothing can't proud us but the guest compliment & satisfaction.

Best Regards,
Reza A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

My new wife and i recently stayed here for a week in a 1 bedroom villa. The villa itself is large with a massive pool to enjoy. It has a large bedroom and bathroom with king size bed.
From the moment we got there to the time we left the staff couldnt be more helpful. The villa offers inroom spa facilities i recommend the couples massage $70 for both, the inroom BBQ dinner which provides you with a massive amount of food at great quality $120.
Would highly recommend this to any honeymooners or couples if you want privacy.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bassben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reza A, Front Office Manager at The Kunja Villas & Spa, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Dear BassBen,

Thank you so much for your best reviews, we really appreciate it. The Kunja family are always waiting for your next coming.

Best Regards,
Reza A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 November 2013

I would highly recommend the Kunja to anyone staying in Seminyak. We went for our honeymoon and stayed in a 1 bedroom villa (Villa 14 from 9th-16th October). It was so spacious and the pool and gardens were immaculate. The staff were so friendly and professional and made the stay a real treat. We used the spa services on numerous occasions and these were also great. All the restaurants and shopping are only a short trip away, and the Kunja provides a complimentary one-way shuttle from the villas to anywhere within the area. We ate at some wonderful restaurants in the nearby Seminyak area and had the in-villa seafood BBQ one night (they set the outdoor area up very romantically but unfortunately we didn't enjoy the food as it was all overcooked and dry) We had a fantastic 7 nights at the Kunja. Will definitely go back on our next trip to Bali. Thanks to all the staff for an amazing experience!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reza A, Front Office Manager at The Kunja Villas & Spa, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Dear Alexi S,

Warmest greeting from The Kunja Villa & Spa,

Thank you for taking your time to share your experience during stay with us with exellence rating.
On behalf of The Kunja Staff & Management, i do much apologize regarding bad Bbq dinner that happened to you & your fiance. We promise we will put this issue on our concern.

Best Regards,
Reza A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.5 mi away
The One Boutique Villa
The One Boutique Villa
#2 of 146 in Seminyak
369 reviews
0.6 mi away
W Bali - Seminyak
W Bali - Seminyak
#18 of 146 in Seminyak
3,346 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Legian Bali
The Legian Bali
#7 of 146 in Seminyak
1,545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
#4 of 146 in Seminyak
1,792 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Oberoi Bali
The Oberoi Bali
#10 of 146 in Seminyak
1,642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kunja Villas & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kunja Villas & Spa

Property: The Kunja Villas & Spa
Address: Jalan Lebak Sari 8 Petitenget, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#1 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
#4 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#7 Family Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kunja Villas & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in breathtakingly expansive surroundings. The Kunja Villa Hotel boasts 18 exquisite one and three bedroom villas providing traditional yet sophisticated ambiance with standards to please the most discerning guests. Add to this complete privacy (except for private chef and in-villa dining staff at your service), a 24 hour vehicle totally dedicated to your every whim and you have an experience that exceeds all expectations ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Kunja Villas & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kunja Villas & Spa Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing