We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely beautiful Hotel in a prime position”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Kunja Villas & Spa
Ranked #1 of 145 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Absolutely beautiful Hotel in a prime position”
Reviewed 6 February 2014

The Kunja Hotel was a beautiful setting for our family holiday...we had peace and quiet in our own villa with fantastic service in a setting that met all our expectations. The staff were very friendly and professional

Room Tip: central to restaurants in Seminyak both cheap & cheerful and fine dining
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MSmithy77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reza A, Front Office Manager at The Kunja Villas & Spa, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Dear MSmithy77,

Thank you for taking your valuable time to put a wonderful reviews of our villa trough trip advisor.

We are very pleased to learn that you thoroughly enjoy the service levels at the hotel whenever you stay with us together with your family. Thank you for the perfect reviews and looking much forward to welcome you back soon again.

Best Regards,


Reza A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    643
    54
    12
    0
    2
See reviews for
141
412
10
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed here last year .. Security staff very lazy, drivers half a sleep at the checkpoint
No response or ignorance, talking amongst themselves not doing there security job
Breakfast is terrible .. Had better at a hostel
How come this place is so expensive .. Don't understand how they charge so much .. Over $350 per night for 1 bedroom
Worst 5 star villas ever .. Stayed in over 50 and this takes bottom ranking!!

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
10 Thank Frankyschuman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reza A, Front Office Manager at The Kunja Villas & Spa, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Dear Frankyschuman,

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with us.

It is regrettable that your stay with us did not meet the expectations that the other 5 star villa have provided for you. We're sorry that your perception of our service was not good, all our staff is committed to do their best to give our guests a beautiful and perfect vacation.
We appreciate all your comments and suggestions with valuable information that we can review to improve on for the future. This is very important to us, we're always looking to be the best option to enjoy Bali.

Thank you very much, and we hope you can give us the opportunity to host you and provide you a better experience.

Best Regards,


Reza A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We spent four wonderful nights at Kunja Villa 17. Went with another couple for a 60th birthday. We had a beautiful 3 bedroom villa. We couldn't believe the pool - it was huge and very well looked after. The villa was enormous with more than enough room for the four of us. The bathrooms are massive, and although semi open air, were no problem as the aircon in the bedrooms was really efficient. The cheerful staff came each morning to cook our breakfast for us. On the 60th birthday night, five staff came with a cake and sang "Happy Birthday" which was a special treat. There are plenty of good local restaurants to order food from which will be delivered to your villa. The only thing that could be improved is the temperature at which some of the the food arrives. We found that some of our dishes were barely warm by the time they reached us. We had excellent spa treatments. 90 minute massage which was the best we have every had followed by a 60 minute facial. Loved it and we'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Blake_and_Krystle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reza A, Front Office Manager at The Kunja Villas & Spa, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Dear 2_almost_60_Aussies,

Thank You for taking your time for reviewed our Resort. We are pleased to read that you have particularly enjoyed our in villa breakfast and special birthday cake during your recent stay.

I am sorry to learn that you haven't been entirely satisfied with the food temperature upon served. Normally its take about 45 minutes to be ready. We use a special vehicle ( customized ) to pick up your order from the restaurant that belong to, and make it as quick as we can. But all is depend on the situations, such as the restaurant is crowded, number of your order, or the traffic jam / diversions issues.
We always try to make all the food still warm untill it served to our guest.

We hope it won't put you in bad experience to coming back again to stay at The Kunja Villa & Spa . Thank you for your valuable feedback & comments.

Best Regards,


Reza A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouve
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

The service here is amazing , staff come to your room and prepare breakfast which is delicious with a home made feel. The pool is cleansed properly every day and chlorine levels are checked which is nice to see. The spa is only OK. But you can get the services done in your room (which I would recommend). My only problem with the place is the kitchen could be wiped down a bit better after each cooking session because of the bugs (open air kitchen). But over we loved the place and the design of the pool and villa.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FizzPop21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reza A, Front Office Manager at The Kunja Villas & Spa, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Dear FizzPop21,

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with us.

Thank you for the kind reviews. We really apreciate it. We do much apologize if there's any inconvenience that might happened to you during your stay, regarding the kitchen cleanliness.
We will discuss it with the department related.

Thank you for your valuable feedback, and It would be nice to welcome you back again to The Kunja Villa & Spa upon your next visit to Bali.


Best Regards,

Reza A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Bali was made all the more special for us just because of The Kunja. We stayed there for 5 nights and just didn't want to leave. We rented out a huge villa with a hug swimming pool, full fledged kitchen, closet etc. The butler would come every morning and make breakfast exclusively for us in our room and served to perfection. The hospitality of this resort was mind blowing. Can't wait to go back....

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aditibhambhani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reza A, Front Office Manager at The Kunja Villas & Spa, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear AditibHambhani,

Warmest greeting from The Kunja Villa & Spa..

Thank You for taking your time, and share all of your wonderful experiences during stay with us.
it's been an honor for us, for being your best trip ever and we hope it won't be your last trip to The Kunja Villa & Spa..

Best Regards,
Reza A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We had an exceptional time throughout our 9 day stay at The Kunja Villas. The staff are friendly and more than happy to help you with every request, the complimentary car service around the area is great and makes it easy to go out to lunch / dinner if you don't feel like walking.

The villa's are beautiful, well maintained and provide a relaxing oasis within the busy Seminyak area. It's like having your own holiday house, we felt completely at home.

I would definitely return!

Room Tip: Villa 11 is great, as you are not surrounded by any other villas. Although all of the villas are ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nerida I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reza A, Front Office Manager at The Kunja Villas & Spa, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear Nerida l,

Warmest greeting from The Kunja Villa & Spa...

Thank You for your amazing reviews & making The Kunja felt like your home, we very proud of it.
We hope all of or service could meet your expectations which is automatically bring you back here to stay with us again.

Best Regards,
Reza A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

I booked the Kunja after a LOT of research. I wanted something different than your usual big chain beach resort hotel room experience. Given my price range, Kunja seemed like the best choice. A private pool villa would've costed a lot more at a hotel chain.

We were picked up at the airport and I almost bursted into tears when we got cold towels and bottled water from the driver after the 1.5 hr long line up at the airport.

We were able to do the check-in in our villa, where our delicious welcome drinks were waiting for us. Our driver/check-in person was absolutely delightful. He was polite and helpful, just like all the other staff members at the Kunja, I soon learned.

I've seen pictures of the villa, but the photos didn't do it justice. The pool was bigger than I expected. In fact, it was absolutely perfect. I can't swim so I greatly appreciated the shallow area. The outdoor living area was comfortable and spacious, the stereo with Kunja CDs was a nice touch. The bedroom alone was the size of a standard hotel room else where. The bathroom was HUGE although I'd have preferred it to be indoors instead of open air. Had to rinse the tub of dead Mosquitos every time.

We ordered room service twice. The food was wonderful as they were from some of the top restaurants in Seminyak then set up nicely by the Kunja staff. No eating out of paper plates at the Kunja!

Every morning a chef would come in and make breakfast for us. I got a little tired of the food selection in the short 3 days we spent here. I am vegetarian and would like to see more healthy options.

We both got an 1 hr massage at the spa on site. They were pretty good. Could've been better for sure, but it was decent overall. I'd say if you are willing to leave the hotel for a really wonderful massage, look up places on tripadvisor and go to those places, but if you are feeling lazy and don't want to go out, then by all means get a massage in your villa. It'll still be relaxing and prices are reasonable.

I liked that the mini bar is oh so reasonably priced we couldn't even be bothered to buy drinks from the grocery store to bring back.

Free rides are offered by the hotel to go to neighboring neighborhoods. It was a big bonus for me. They have the option to nickel and dime you, but they don't.

The only minor complains I have are as following:
- hot water is limited. Personally I like to take hot and long showers, and the hot water would only last me about 10-15 minutes at a time. I had to split my showers into the hair portion and the body portion with about a 20-30 minute break in between. The amount of hot water is not enough to fill the tub either. This made me sad because I really love my relaxing shower and bath time.

-internet was unstable at times. It would all of a sudden be gone for half an hour then come back on just as randomly.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank justinehsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reza A, Front Office Manager at The Kunja Villas & Spa, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear Justinehsu,

Warmest greeting from The Kunja Villa & Spa..

Thank You so much to share all your memorable experiences during stay with us completely. It's been a pleasure for us that our services could meet your expectations, although some non technical problem is happened to you. We have to admit it, on that period, we had a minor issues with our hot water tank, so it could't work properly. So do the internet connection ( weather issue ). We have fixed this problem, and now everything is running smoothly.
On behalf of The Kunja Villa & Spa's management & staff, please do much apologized for any inconvenience that ruin your vacation. We hope those issues won't put you in a bad experience during stay with us.

Best Regards,
Reza A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.5 mi away
The One Boutique Villa
The One Boutique Villa
#2 of 145 in Seminyak
355 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Legian Bali
The Legian Bali
#7 of 145 in Seminyak
1,516 reviews
0.6 mi away
W Bali - Seminyak
W Bali - Seminyak
#19 of 145 in Seminyak
3,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
#4 of 145 in Seminyak
1,773 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
The Oberoi Bali
The Oberoi Bali
#10 of 145 in Seminyak
1,623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kunja Villas & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kunja Villas & Spa

Property: The Kunja Villas & Spa
Address: Jalan Lebak Sari 8 Petitenget, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
#1 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#4 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#7 Family Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kunja Villas & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in breathtakingly expansive surroundings. The Kunja Villa Hotel boasts 18 exquisite one and three bedroom villas providing traditional yet sophisticated ambiance with standards to please the most discerning guests. Add to this complete privacy (except for private chef and in-villa dining staff at your service), a 24 hour vehicle totally dedicated to your every whim and you have an experience that exceeds all expectations ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Kunja Villas & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kunja Villas & Spa Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing