We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Kunja Villas & Spa
Ranked #1 of 148 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 April 2014

My husband and I just spent an amazing 10 nights at the Kunja Villa's - It was the most amazing place we have ever stayed. The villa itself was just perfect and the service was exceptional!! Our breakfast every morning was perfect, the staff were so helpful, our in-villa treatments were bliss. We loved the i-pod dock in the room and how we could order take away and they would bring it to our room and even set it up on the table. The nightly turn down service was great :-) The car was great, taking us to restaurants at night or just to Seminyak square when we required. My husband even split his chin open in the pool (due to his own fault) and the Kunja staff took us straight to the Bali hospitali in Kuda and even waited the 90 minutes for him to get stitches and took up back to the Villa - we couldn't have asked for better!

We could not of asked for anything better during our 10 night stay and would recommended the Kunja Villa to anyone!!

For us - the location was perfect as we didn't want to be in town and we were just a 2 minute car trip if we wanted to go into town. We were walking distance to a massage place, money exchange, wine & coffee bar, Sarong and Potato Head and a AUD $5 to Metis, Ku De Ta. All which we visited and were amazing!!

Thank you so much!

Room Tip: We were in Villa 04 which we loved, there is honestly nothing to complain about.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aliesha F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reza A, Front Office Manager at The Kunja Villas & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Dear Aliesha F.

Warmest Greeting from The Kunja Villa & Spa...

Thank You so much for taking your taking the time to share such positive feedback with other potential guests. A 5 out of 5 rating -- an excellent review! Glad you had such a wonderful holiday with us; we strive for every guest to feel as you do.

We are sorry to heard about the bad experience that happened to Mr. Fisher , and we hope that he's getting better now.

We enjoyed having you, and rest assured, we will be happy to block the time for your next visit.

Best Regards,

Reza A.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (745)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

401 - 407 of 745 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2014

Can't believe I didn't review this place earlier!
We stayed here last November with our 2 children aged 5 and 6, as a travel agent Id sold so many holiday there it was my turn.
Firstly the service was excellent, nothing was too much trouble, the security and safety was also excellent, every cab and car entering the hotel complex was scanned and checked. The pool was the best of all the ones I have experienced in Bali, the breakfasts were always on time and delicious. The location is good and taxis are always organised for you. The problem for us is its so fantastic you need to book early, we travelled back to Bali soon after and the whole place was booked out so we missed out but wont make the same mistake twice!!
For those planning a wedding the chapel and surrounding grounds were beautiful. The 3 bedrooms villas are HUGH! Plenty of space for an extended family and all bedrooms are private.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travel_bugs_1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reza A, Front Office Manager at The Kunja Villas & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Dear Travel Bugs_1975

Warmest Greeting from The Kunja Villa & Spa..

Thank you for your support and recommendation to your valuable consumer. We're thrilled to hear you and your consumer enjoyed the stay with us. We hope this means you will be in our neighborhood more often.

We Look forward to having you back again soon.


Best Regards,

Reza A.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed for 3 nights at a one bedroom villa to spend our Easter holiday.

Service: The Kunja provides excellent services. We were picked up by our driver at the airport who was very friendly and was happy to introduce difference places in Bali to us (it was our first time to Bali). He drove us directly to our villa (we didn't even have to stop at the reception) to do the check-in and to offer us our welcoming drinks. Every staff was very well-prepared and helpful. The service desk also responded very quickly to every request we made. We had a little problem with our flight arrangements and told the reservations desk (Ms. Dea) that we might have to cancel one night of our booking. Due to the cancellation policy, the hotel was unable to give us a refund but Ms. Dea kindly offered us a complimentary candlelight dinner together with complimentary 2-hour spa for 2 persons. We really appreciate the flexibility The Kunja can offer.

The villa: We love the big pool, the spacious outdoor (but sheltered) living room, the hi-fi set, the outdoor shower facilities and the kitchen. The villa is very quite, very well-maintained and very clean (even though the bathroom and the living area are actually outdoor) and the hotel would arrange around 3 housekeepers to clean your villa every day. The staff came to our kitchen to prepare our breakfast and afternoon tea daily and it made us feel so at home. The TV was placed inside the bedroom so that we could enjoy the air-conditioning when watching TV. It is ideal to do your spa at the living room (you may also do it next to the pool but it may rain..). One downside is that the bathroom isn't enclosed so you may see ants, bees, lizards or other insects in the bathroom (though not very often).

There is a glass chapel within the villas and is a great place for photo-shooting during day time.

Food: The food quality was fair and the portions were big. Would prefer more choices for the afternoon tea (there were only 3 choices: cookies, jaffles and pancakes). The taste and the presentation of the food can be improved. The Kunja provides menus from nearby restaurants (it doesn't have its own kitchen I think) and they would help you do the ordering and serve the food at your villa.

Candlelight Dinner: It's a must-try for couples and honeymooners and is reasonably priced. We ordered a candlelight dinner prior to our arrival and our villa was decorated with a pool heart and surrounded by candlelights. The food was cooked by a chef in our villa and was served by a waiter - we loved it so much and we felt very privileged. The following areas can be improved: (1) The waiter should at least let us know the names of the dishes when serving them to us since we didn't quite know what we were eating. (2) The taste of the food. (3) The hotel gave us a complimentary birthday cake (for my boyfriend's birthday) which was really lovely but it would've been better if it were served as a "surprise" to my boyfriend (FYI, the waiter took out the cake then asked my boyfriend whether we'd ordered a cake...so no surprise at all..). (4) The waiter didn't know that the menu included a bottle of wine (but he promptly arranged for it to be delivered to our villa after we asked for it so the dinner was still fine). Overall, we still had a great dining experience and would highly recommend this option to other guests.

Location: Walking distance to the shops, bars and restaurants in Seminyak. Also close to many of the privately owned villas. If you are at The Kunja, we would recommend Merah Putih, which is one of the best fine dining restaurants in Seminyak and is in walking distance (you can do the reservation online). The Kunja also provides free drop off service within the Seminyak area and Kuta. If you are planning to drop off at other places, e.g. Nusa Dua and Ubud, the hotel will arrange it for you at a price subject to 21% tax and service charge but you may ask the hotel to book an outside driver to avoid the 21% additional charges.

An overall great stay which is worth the price. However, as a privately owned hotel, The Kunja doesn't have its own bars and restaurants, kids club, fitness centre and main pool. If you are going to Bali as a family with young children and would prefer a resort-type hotel, you may wish to consider other on-beach, golf or family resorts.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Beverly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reza A, Front Office Manager at The Kunja Villas & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Dear Beverly C,

Warmest greeting from The Kunja Villa & Spa,

Thank You for sharing your recent experience at The Kunja Villa & Spa. It is a pleasure to hear that you and your boyfriend had such a relaxing stay with us and enjoyed our service and facilities.

On behalf of the management, i do much apologized if we ruin your romantic dinner with "unsurprising birthday cake" . We promise we'll discuss it with department concern, and make sure this incident won't be happen in the future. We highly value your feedback and will work to improve and create a better experience.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back again at the resort for another memorable and relaxing experience.

Best Regards,


Reza A.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Its really very good staying out here, made our honeymoon the memorable for us. The staff was so kind, humble, so helpful nature always with smiling faces. Will miss u all. Starting from our Breakfast, that to the pancakes with tea, our honeymoon cake everything thing was exceptionally good. Also the location is good enough for the shopping joint, restaurants, pubs etc but little bit far from kutta..Thank you.." Tarima Kasih"...
We will Definatly be back again !!!!

Room Tip: Villa no 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SIDS1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reza A, Front Office Manager at The Kunja Villas & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Dear SIDS1987

Warmest Greetings from The Kunja Villa & Spa ...

Thank you for your lovely review. Such a delight to read.

I trust we will have the pleasure to welcome you back many more times

Best Regards,

Reza A.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Stay in Feb 2013.

Pros-

Villa is clean,spacious,peaceful and good private pool size for one bedroom with luxury finishing. All Services was very good and prompt. Staffs were friendly. The in villa BBQ was reasonable priced and special with decorations included and 2 men playing bali traditional musical instruments while you are dining which make you feel like royalty,the BBQ chef and waitress were very professional with explanation about the foods prepared which not many other villas provide for the same price. The daily in villa cooked breakfast and tea time provided where prompt. Air con was working well. The mattress for the king size bed was very comfortable. Bathroom was huge and luxurious. The complimentary honeymoon decorations and cake provided was excellent. The ambience inside the villa was very peaceful,homely and excellent which makes you feel to return.
Great for couples and families to relax even with young kids.Photos at the website doesn't do the villas justice as it looks much better in real life.

The complimentary shuttle drop off service is great as they even can send you as far to kuta area which not many other villas provide as far till kuta area. Our driver that time was Ketut,he was excellent,friendly,courteous and professional which I never came across so far compare with other villas driver. Hope he was still working there.

Security was excellent and professional as they will check all the taxis or vehicles which sent you back to make sure you did not forget any stuffs left behind.

During our stay there was a power trip at night but it was recovered within 10 mins which was excellent compare to other villas which may take very very long to recover.

Brochures about day trips,etc and food menus from nearby high end restaurants provided was plenty which is great. They even can make orders from the restaurants nearby to be delivered to your villa which is excellent.

Cons-

An additional tv should be provided in the living room or to have separate entertainment room.

More varieties for the daily in villa breakfast and tea time will be better and the taste can be improve.

The walls surrounding the villas should be painted to look new and better as it was start to show aging.

As the price which was among the high end category villas in seminyak and bali, Kunja should have a restaurant,bar and main pool. Price for the spa should be reasonable considering no views and ambience in the spa rooms and it should be renovated to create better ambience which is necessary for spa and to have more spa rooms to cater for guests.

Despite the cons, I would still recommend Kunja to others and hope to be back soon as I always miss the place and staffs even after trying other villas in seminyak and bali. Hope that the villas will always be well maintained and cons to be look into and improve to make Kunja a much better place.

P/s: Ketut was an exceptional staff. He was the best villa driver I ever came across. His service was excellent, friendly and very professional. Hope he is still working there. The receptionist was also worth to be mentioned but I forgot her name. Her English was good and she was very friendly,courteous and professional.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hairudin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reza A, Front Office Manager at The Kunja Villas & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Dear Mr. Hairudin,

Salam Hangat dari The Kunja Family,

Thank you very much for your complete reviews..It has come to our attention that you have recently reviews The Kunja Villa & Spa with all the feedback. We really apreciate it.

We have program to develop our facilities & services and do the maintenance periodically , however we need to consider it which one become of our top priority.

We can put a TV in the living area or any other request that might be not well mentioned in our Guest Directory Book.

We had repaint some wall in other villa during your stay, unfortunately we can't make it to your villa untill your arrival day. We doing this once in a year, to keep our villa looks new even its almost 8 Years.

Once, we have a restaurant inside . But after several years, our guest seems like more to do it outside, since there are plenty of nice restaurant & bar along Seminyak & Oberoi street. Besides, we also have join with some top restaurant to compelete all of your food need. So we decided to closed our restaurant. We also had improve our breakfast daily menu with Japanese breakfast.

Thank You for your valuable reviews. We look forward to the pleasure of a return visit and to welcome you back to the Kunja Villa & Spa soon. I will make sure to pass on your gracious comments to Ketut the Driver & Isna the Reception.

Best Regards,

Reza A.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Our third trip to Bali. We stayed in a 3 bedroom villa with our two adult children and their partners. Highly recommend The Kunja, the accommodation was lovely, staff and service fabulous, and the breakfasts and pancakes excellent. Great location, close enough to the shopping strips, resturants and clubs, and very quiet and relaxing.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JandG_49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reza A, Front Office Manager at The Kunja Villas & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Dear JandG_49,

Warmest greeting from The Kunja Villa & Spa..

Thank you very much for such a perfect review. We are delighted that you had an memorable and enjoyable stay at the Kunja Villa & Spa. We are very proud of our staff and your comments will also serve as an inspiration to consistently maintain the high standards that we aim for.

Best Regards,

Reza A.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed in villa 9 for our honeymoon
. Absolutely incredible would highly recommend. Only reason I didn't give a 5 is because you can't walk to shopping, it is slightly out of the way but to be honest they have a free shuttle to take you wherever you want to go.
Beautifully kept, amazing staff, I am a travel agent and I sell this property all the time now
Villa includes free wifi, fantastic stereo, great kitchen, pool and grounds incredible
Staff are lovely and amazing you just want to take them home with you
Well done Kunja villas and thank you for a beautiful honeymoon
Kelly
Melbourne

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Kelztar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reza A, Front Office Manager at The Kunja Villas & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

Dear Kelztar,

Welcome back home Ms. Kelly. It's been a pleasure to be chosen as your second home in Bali. We hope The Kunja shows its improvement since your first time stayed. Sorry to hear that our location is little bit far from the crowd and couldn't meet your expectation. However our professional driver always be able to drive you into Kuta , Seminyak and other Shopping centre.

Once again , Thank you so much for your feedback and recommendation. We really apreciate it.

Best Regards,

Reza A.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.6 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
The Legian Bali
The Legian Bali
#7 of 148 in Seminyak
1,575 reviews
0.6 mi away
W Bali - Seminyak
W Bali - Seminyak
#18 of 148 in Seminyak
3,448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The One Boutique Villa
The One Boutique Villa
#2 of 148 in Seminyak
383 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
#5 of 148 in Seminyak
1,826 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Oberoi Bali
The Oberoi Bali
#10 of 148 in Seminyak
1,689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kunja Villas & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kunja Villas & Spa

Address: Jalan Lebak Sari 8 Petitenget, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#1 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
#4 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#7 Family Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range: £211 - £452 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kunja Villas & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in breathtakingly expansive surroundings. The Kunja Villa Hotel boasts 18 exquisite one and three bedroom villas providing traditional yet sophisticated ambiance with standards to please the most discerning guests. Add to this complete privacy (except for private chef and in-villa dining staff at your service), a 24 hour vehicle totally dedicated to your every whim and you have an experience that exceeds all expectations ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotelopia, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Kunja Villas & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kunja Villas & Spa Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing