We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa Air Bali Boutique Resort & Spa
Ranked #53 of 145 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed 3 March 2011

Had a wonderful stay the Villa, the rooms are so good, the bathrooms??? you will not want to get out of the shower..and tub..

The private pool just great, only thing was a bit far from the beach and other night life.. but a quick taxi ride got us there.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TianStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    44
    12
    2
    2
See reviews for
63
144
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2011

If you decided to stay in a villa in Bali, West Coast, seek no further. Villa Air Bali is the best choice - incredible customer service, beautiful grounds, new rooms, comfortable and very private villas. Privacy was a big concern for me for a stay in a villa, but although the hotel was fully booked at the time, i never heard any neighbours. Your privacy will be greatly respected by the staff - all "intrusions" were only with a prior phone call and only as initiated by our request.
The staff is incredibly friendly, going extra mile even for the nice and warm Balinese culture.
The hotel arranges cultural performances several times a week, which are quite a stunning encounter with local traditional culture.
The grounds are absolutely beautiful, in fact this was one of the reasons i chose this hotel, another reason being the fact that this property does not have a single bad review on Tripadvisor, as you have probably noticed. Not a single one - all "Excellent" and "Very Good" and the staff works very hard for this indeed.
The spa was wonderful, especially considering that we somehow accrued benefits on an 8 day stay: 60 min of spa treatment for both, and they weer very flexible in transferring or upgrading the included spa benefits. As the result, i got my last one hour treatment for 15 dollars and my husband ended up with 3 hours of free Balinese massage (about 50 dollars an hour). I had a great "Chocolate Lover" treatment and "Papaya Jelly+Tropical Flower Bath". I'm sure it is possible to arrange for spa treatments in-villa as well.
The restaurant offers delicious food and very cheap too - a dinner for two for some 30 dollars (no spirits as we don't drink). This compares well to the practice of large hotels that often charge European prices for their services, while the cost of living is very - VERY - low in Bali. An early diner in a Balinese restaurant in Ubud only cost us maybe 20 dollars for two salads, two tropical drinks, one desert, two Bali coffees and one meat dish (Balinese duck), while in Grand Hayatt at Nusa Dua we paid 50 bucks for a horrible lunch. By the way, Grand Hayatt has a great white sand-blue water beach, so if you are after that, go for Hayatt. The taxis in Bali are very cheap too - about 4-5 dollars (40000-50000 rupees) for a 30 min ride, about 10 USD for 1 hour trip, for instance from Villa Air Bali to the great beach of Nusa Dua on the East Coast of Bali.
Speaking of Villa Air Bali's restaurant, your breakfast will come included in the rate, which is quite convenient, and it can be served in the restaurant or in your villa. There are 5choices of breakfast menu with a good variety within the Healthy/American menu (cold drink, hot drink, cereal, egg dish, fruit platter/salad, vegetables). The choices are Indonesian, Healthy, American, Korean, Japanese. This again compares favorably to reviews of other villas that note poor selection for breakfast.
Speaking of food in the hotel: your afternoon tea will also come included in the rate. This is a small but nice feature: choice of tea/coffee/juice plus about 3 pastries per guest, different pastries each day, and the afternoon tea can be served as late as at 11 pm. Included also is a complimentary mini bar (pepsi, ice tea, beer, snacks) and daily fresh fruit, including the most delicious fruit of all - manggis, check it out on google, yummy!
The villa itself: is just like on the pictures! In fact, everything is just like on the photos here and official Villa Air Bali pics (check them on Facebook - very nice). The only difference with reality is the main garden - it's actually a lot smaller, official pictures of it are panoramic. Which does not make it less beautiful! As I said, the grounds of the hotel are indeed the most beautiful of all villas in Bali i reviewed before committing to Air Bali (and there were a lot of those, believe me!). We stayed in a one-bedroom villa, which again was exact match to the picture. You will have your own little garden in the villa with a great variety of exotic plants. Also, the walls are covered with plants too which creates impression of extra space. In fact, i was a bit worried that the villa would feel a bit like a box (this is my first time staying in a villa) - nothing of the kind! Feels like your own beautiful tropical garden.
The pool is great, about 4 m across, 3 m width, 1.4 m depth. It's been very clean (and cleaned up of leaves every morning) and got quite warm by the evening, i found it a bit too cool to swim in in the morning, but the evening swim after a long day out on trips/adverntures was wonderful. Having own pool was one of the reasons to go for a villa for us.
The bathroom is a girl's dream - modern, spacious, new and shiny, open air but with great privacy and again with tropical plants along the wall. Complimentary items (shampoo, hair conditioner, shower gel, after sun gel, body lotion, spa salt, repellent, skin freshener) are of great quality. I think you can buy them in Villa Air's spa. The bath tub is a jacuzzi, which is extra nice, the water pressure is perfect, no issues there. All clean and new. Perfect.
Bugs: im a bugs freak and was very very concerned with the large and ubiquitous tropical insects i've heard so much about, or mosquitoes - lots of reviews for other villas mentioned the need to bring repellents. Well, the open air leaving room of our villa (two walls of the leaving room are villa perimeter walls with plants, one wall is a bathroom wall and the fourth is open view to your little garden and pool area), came fully armed for fighting the insects: every night staff would light a special spiral thing made of some material that does not burn but smolders and obviously contains some repellent stuff AND smells nice on top of all, plus there was an electric racket provided, repellent air spray and very nice repellent spray for body, made with citrus and oils, very nice stuff. We did get bitten by little mosquitoes but that's because we sometimes had the bedroom door open at night instead of keeping the air conditioner on.
The bedroom has a safety box and a computer desk. The computer also transmits TV with 56+ channels. The bed is comfi and pretty with a mosquito net (curtains) around it.
However, the best thing about Air Bali is the customer service: fantastic, best i've ever seen and a lot better than in 5 star hotels in Bali (we've had dinners/used beach in a couple of them). I was absolutely stunned, when on our first morning there when we were passing through the reception we were asked if everything was ok in the villa. We mentioned that the bedroom PC did not have sound on on TV channels, and when we were back in the evening the thing was fixed! The other time, we asked to replenish our stock of skin freshener and repellent skin spray but the cleaning guys forgot to put the new ones (that was the only and very minor hickcup), we mentioned this again to the receptionist and immediately got like a 3 times stock of it and always got twice the normal stock every day ever since. You'd like those small spray bottles too, believe me! :-)
The only small problem with this choice can be a location: Villa Air was quite difficult for taxi drivers to find, especially non-Seminyak ones, so we always had Villa's business cards with us so that the taxi drivers could call for directions. That always helped instantaneously, i guess the hotel knows some secret code! We could never learn the correct way as the streets are narrow and congested and filled with shops. Also, the surroundings of the hotel, as of many other nice villas in Seminyak, are, errr, quite poor and the road leading to Air Bali is horrendous, to no fault of the hotel, of course. You can look for pics on Aston Bhavana Villas that are quite next to Air Bali to see what's outside. So if you want a beautiful park around your hotel, then stay with one of Nusa Dua's world chain hotels. Also, when deciding in which location to stay on Bali we incorrectly assumed that Bali is small, and it will be no problem to go across the Kuta peninsula from the hotel to the beaches of the East Cost. Aha. Bali is overpopulated with 3 mln people riding motorbikes each, it seemed sometimes, so the traffic is horrendous most of the time and it took us one hour one way to go from Air Bali to the beach of Nusa Dua, that we liked the most due to white sand, blue lagoons and quite waters. We figured the water on the West Coast is quite rough - always high waves/currents, and not as pretty, in my view. In fact, our original plan was to stay in Villa Air and use the "famous" Seminyak and Petitenget beaches, but after we've seen both in storm in the first two days, we never ever returned. I remembered a review here on tripadvisor of one frustrated honeymoon couple whose travel agent placed them with a hotel on Seminyak beach and they were complaining about the sewage going into water. Well, it's true! Horrified, we turned to the East Cost and found our paradise there, apart from the daily commuting congestion. But that's ok though, we still had a wonderful holiday. By the way, speaking of beaches, there is a great article here on Tripadvisor on Bali white sand beaches - it recommends the East coast, and rightly so. If we had enough time, we would definitely have tried Padang Bai and Lombok. We checked out Dreamland beach - beautiful, no question, but again, like on all West Coast, the water is very rough, and the worst of all, the facilities are horrible ruins from the 70s, including a huge unfinished concrete building overwhelming the beach. Quite ugly. I heard the same story is with the Padang Bai beach.
Anyway, again if you decided to stay in a villa in Bali, seek no further. Villa Air Bali is a beautiful resort of high quality offering incredible customer service.
Any questions, let me know, otherwise enjoy your stay in Villa Air Bali, as did we!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Helium12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2011

WOW, this place is just sheer indulgence... from the time we stepped out from our taxi onto the grounds of villa air, we were greeted with happy, friendly and welcoming staff.... The grounds are delighful, with 16 exclusive villas all with its very own private pool, living and kitchen areas.. The staff are all of a very high quality. They speak excellent english and ensure that every moment of your stay is memorable and enjoyable.
Favourites:
- The outdoor bathroom concept is devine with a beaut bathtub with excellent jacuzzi jets
- In room welcoming foot massage was blissful
- Internet available in the room
- Villa is very private, and has its very own private quarters
- Excellent bedding
- Villa Air makes its own soaps and bath products- all natural and beautiful on the skin
- very close to seminyak 5 mins
- hotel very accomodating and has transfer vehicle available
We would recommend this to anyone looking for an indulgent, relaxing retreat! Hope you enjoy your stay as much as we did.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank princessislander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2011

Stayed in the one-bedroom villa with the "Memory In Paradise" package. Villa is beautiful! The landscaping is lush, the bedroom clean and basic, the bathroom a delight. Private pool is extremely romantic.

Spa treatment selection was excellent. Try the bolus massage. The warm oil is divine!

Daily breakfast is excellent and very romantic. Overall, the food has a bit of a Japanese flair. Candle-lit Dinner was also super-romantic (haha, my review is sounding ultra-sappy, but the romance factor here is quite high).

Half-day tour with driver was very nice. The only thing is, we ended up wasting a lot of time going to various "shopping" detours. Avoid the suggestion to see a "classic dance" - not worth the fare: we left 10 minutes into it and it was clear that it was a tourist trap. Would have been much better had we just gone directly to our destination.

Staff was very friendly and off-site meal reservations were always smooth.

Overall, loved the trip and loved Bali. Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank migratorychic88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2010

Our wedding reception was held at Villa Air Bali's cafe. Everything exceeded our expectations. Our party had a blast!
The service was impeccable. I was an overly detail-oriented bride, but Jin was always patient with me throughout the months of preparation. On the night of the wedding, Corry and Jin made sure that our rundown was smooth. We did not have to worry about anything. The staff was very attentive. I even had a personal helper; she did not want me to lift a finger.
The highlight was the fireworks Air Bali arranged for us. They looked extraordinary in our wedding video.
The food was the best I had had in Bali.
The surroundings, though small, were great for pictures. I liked the venue a lot because there was adequate space for dancing, and because we did not have to move to a small, stuffy room even when it rained. My only complaint was that Bali was still too hot at night.
To sum it all, I would not hesitate to recommend Air Bali!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SMMSBR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2010

From the beginning of our correspondence with Villa Air regarding our reservations and arranging other nitty gritties, I knew we were going to have a great experience with Villa Air. General Manager Suzuki and his team of impeccable staff were extremely thoughtful and attentive to details. Our flight wasn't until 5.40pm and since their checkout time is at 12pm, I requested for a late checkout at 2pm thinking that's the most they could stretch. However, we were lucky they could accommodate and Mr Suzuki offered to arrange for our checkout to be at 3pm instead. We were definitely grateful for that consideration! That's just the beginning.

The Property
The grounds and landscaping are so immaculate and well-kept. Absolutely gorgeous. The Villas were very clean, lush with tranquil landscaping. Just gorgeous! They are pictured exactly what you would see on their website and for a 6-year old property, it's extremely well-maintained. We only got one or two stray mosquitoes but so not a problem at all. We were in Desa Muda before that and it was running wild with mosquitoes over there!

First Impressions
It's like nirvana. As we walked through the grounds, you'll see lush landscaping all around and the sound of running water all around. Stepping into the villa, you're greeted with soft, calming, relaxing music playing and you're immediately at peace. Afternoon tea is a delightful serving of delicious cookies and soft butter cakes with an array of teas and coffees to choose from. We chose to have our Japanese breakfast at Mat Air Cafe the next morning. The cafe overlooks yet another lush and tranquil setting of a water feature resembling rice terraces. A peaceful way to enjoy a wonderful breakfast.

The Staff
Efficient, friendly and very sincere. The service was excellent and efficient without being intrusive. They would make every effort to ensure that your needs are met including planning your schedule for the day and making sure all your needs are met. If you require any reservations to be made, they'll be at hand to make it for you. We had a complimentary massage and it was absolute heaven! The drivers would ensure without having to be asked, that you have the hotel's card in case we need to get back by taxi. Very thoughtful!

Location
Great location! To the left of the property, a mere few mins if you're walking to Laksmana (Eat Street) and to the right, a few mins as well to all the trendy bars in the likes of Ku De Ta, Samaya, Hu'u Bar. And if walking is not your thing, the hotel's transport is ever ready to take you anywhere you want in the Kuta/Seminyak area. On good days, they even have bicycles that you can take out with you.

Overall, I only have great things to say about Villa Air. My impression of them is one of great hospitality, warmth and sincerity, a calm and tranquil villa to spend your time in Bali. You feel safe and know that if you need anything at all, the staff will always be there to assist in every way possible. My only complain was that we only had one night with them. I highly recommend Villa Air and would absolutely come back again!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank beanandbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsingborg, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2010

We stayed 2 nights at this place after 5 days of full packed activities of our honeymoon trip and it was easily became the highlight of the whole trip.

We got villa no. 5 and I know sometimes what you see on the pictures is not what you get real life, but this time the picture didn't lie. You'll get what you see.. Because we got the villa through a travel agent and it was a honeymoon package so they put rose petal everywhere in the bedroom. It was really beautiful.

When submitting the breakfast list for the next day, I wrote that my husband don't like plain milk and if available can they change the milk to other flavor. The front desk (after calling the restaurant) told me that they only have plain milk and I was OK with that. But the next morning, during breakfast they gave us an ice chocolate for my husband as a change to the chocolate milk .. so it was really thoughtful of them.

On the second day part of the package we got the 2 hour spa treatment in our villa. It was nice massage. After 5 days going around Bali, a nice relaxing massage is what you'll need. And we also had the romantic dinner at the villa. They put candles near the pool which made the mood of the dining room changed.

So yeah, We had a wonderful time here, the staff were all friendly and we felt treated like royalty. The food was good.. If I can I want to stay longer. Too bad for the location. It's kinda hard to find the place because it's not at the main road and if you want to go out to the city or the restaurant and boutique area you need either having your own car or taxi but you can always ask the Villa to drive you there.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bebeku83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.4 mi away
Disini Luxury Spa Villas
Disini Luxury Spa Villas
#40 of 145 in Seminyak
351 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Amala
The Amala
#16 of 145 in Seminyak
630 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Villas Bali Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ize Seminyak
Ize Seminyak
#48 of 145 in Seminyak
957 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Ulin Villas & Spa
The Ulin Villas & Spa
#3 of 145 in Seminyak
652 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
#4 of 145 in Seminyak
1,773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Air Bali Boutique Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Air Bali Boutique Resort & Spa

Property: Villa Air Bali Boutique Resort & Spa
Address: Jl. Lebak Sari, Br.Taman | Petitenget, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#27 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#44 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#46 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Villa Air Bali Boutique Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by generous, lush, tropical gardens, Villa Air Bali is a peaceful and tranquil private boutique resort near buzzling Seminyak, combining Balinese and Asian design with Zen elements, ultimate privacy and personal service. 'Air', means 'water' in Bahasa Indonesia and symbolizes the flow of life, purity, serenity, healing and cleansing. The element has been woven into the resort's architectural design to let every guest experience the pleasures of the distinctive surroundings. Relax and unwind or actively discover Bali - the choice is yours. Villa Air Boutique Resort & Spa is just minutes away from white sandy beaches. Located close to the heart of Seminyak in Petitenget, within walking distance you are in the center of the lively and fashionable Seminyak, to discover chic fashion boutiques, unique art deco shops as well as some of Bali's best dining venues. We are just 30 minutes away from 'Ngurah Rai International Airport'. For a convenient and safe ride, the resort offers private airport transfers and shuttle services within Seminyak and Kuta with our own cars and drivers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Villa Air Bali Boutique Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Air Bali Boutique Resort & Spa Hotel Seminyak
Villa Air Bali Boutique Resort And Spa
Hotel Air Bali Boutique
Villa Air Bali Boutique Resort & Spa Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing